Larkspur, CO 
Jellystone Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: RealityCheck Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: A & B pin positions indicated

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Nice rugged course

1    6/20/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 341  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that has a good mix of open and wooded holes to make for challenging shots. It uses the present elevation very well. Both L and R dog leg shots are accounted for as well as short, moderate, and long holes too.
The tee pads are plenty long allowing for a proper run up.
The view of the mountains in the foreground are spectacular as well as the terrain and scenery on the course itself.
Signage was adequate and there were some benches throughout the course.
Multiple pins on most holes keep things from getting stale and the risk reward on many holes was fun.
There were a few holes where you could air out a drive as well.
Obviously being located at a campground complex there are other amenities here for your enjoyment such as swimming, archery, horseback riding, etc.
A few of my favorite holes were 6,8, 10, and 18.
Cons: $10 is a bit of a steep price in my opinion for a round based on the conditions that I encountered. The grass and weeds were getting past a mowing upon my visit. I don't mind paying to play disc golf and the price is reasonable if it is going for course maintenance. I hope that I just caught it at the wrong time and they keep this course up for other disc golfers. Obvisously when the grounds are in need of a mowing then you will spend some time looking for your disc even if it is in the fairway. This might be avoided if you have a spotter.
Navigation is a bit tricky in spots even with the map as others have mentioned. Some scouting ahead to see what position the basket is in might be necessary for the first time player.
Directional arrows or painted rungs would really help with this issue IMO.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid course that is worth the play if you are in the area or traveling between Denver and Colorado Springs. The shot variety is great here and the golfing is fun. I enjoyed the golf shots here and the challenge of the course itself. With a few minor improvements it would really make this course seem like a good value for the buck. If you can play with a group IMO it would be a easier to help each other out in the areas where finding a disc could be troublesome but it can be played solo.
Play for yourself if you are in the area. I think you will enjoy the shot variety on this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jellystone - A fun course with lots of potential

1    3/15/2015   3/18/2015
Review By: Chromezero
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course is located at the Jellystone RV camp area, which has a small store and restrooms. The camp ground area has a pool and other activities as well.
- Some of the holes are very unique, allowing for shots you might not normally use.
- The course is challenging but doesn't require a 400ft drive.
- The tee pads are concrete and in excellent shape.
- The course was clean and has trash cans and benches throughout.
- The staff at the store were friendly, although they're not disc golfers.
Cons: - The $10 course fees might deter some people but I realize it costs money to keep a course in good shape.
- The course map I was given wasn't very accurate and I had troubles finding some of the tee boxes.
- Many of the baskets are hidden and difficult to find. Perhaps some bright colored paint or flags would help out here.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has a ton of potential and I'm glad I got the chance to play here. They just need to fix a few minor issues and this could be a really fun course. I thought the layout was good and made for an interesting course. Unfortunately, I spent a good chunk of the morning trying to find the next tee box or walking the fairways looking for baskets.

I would love to go back some day with a group of friends and spend the weekend camping and playing disc golf here. I think the idea of having a disc golf course at an RV/camping area is great and might introduce the sport to more families.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Yogi Bear DGC?

1    9/6/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every now and again you find a hidden gem amongst the hundreds and thousands of courses here that just played better or more fun than what you were expecting from the ratings, reviews and pictures and this is one of those courses.

This is a course that is difficult for a certain skill level that I just so happen to fall under. Those that have been playing a while but wouldn't consider themselves great players and probably couldn't compete in open or even advanced divisions will find this course both fun and demanding. Hole distances vary greatly as do obstacle amount and elevation change. Some holes have you throwing up, down and sideways on a hill while also making you hit your line. There are several options for landing zones off of the tees here, several times I found myself wanting to throw multiple drives on several holes. I recommend this course to just about anyone but I believe those playing in the 880-950 rated PDGA rankings will find it most interesting due to length and throw potential.

Being a course with trees, bushes, sand, water, hills etc. finding your tee shot was very easy with little or no searching. From the tee pad many landing zones looked a little scary but as soon you get down where you think you disc is you find it. Other may disagree as I'm from the pacific NW where underbrush is never eradicated, constantly growing. We also had no issues with navigation, we were using the small map handed out at the pro shop and only stopped to look at it once or twice.
Cons: Although there are many obstacles I felt like many of the holes could be completely destroyed by someone with a great tomahawk/thumber or other kind of overhand shot. Many holes could be much easier with an overhand. I don't have that shot in my bag other than 100 feet so I was constantly throwing over obstacles. It seems like this is the main way of forcing any type of line out here.

I think this course ends weak. The first 12-14 holes are amazing and then the course opens up and you have a few open holes. I'm not completely against open holes as long as there is some way to challenge bad throws or make you think about something other than chucking the disc as far as you like with reckless abandon. Holes 16 and especially hole 17 are what I call 'chuck and run' holes. It seems like the designer(s) ran out of good land for the course and then threw in the last few ones to meet the magic number of 18. This is a pet peeve of mine.
Other Thoughts: Yes it costs $5 to play the course and trust me I've payed more for far less return! I would say a couple of hours worth playing a better than average course is well worth the money, I mean that's $2.50 per hour for a fun course.

They have a pro shop as well on site but it needs an upgrade really bad. Maybe someone in the local community can let the owners know that most golfers aren't looking for $11 DX discs. They had only about 8 discs left, this could be a good or bad thing!

Obviously the name of the campground and DGC course here is referring to Yogi Bear, even the tee signs had Yogi on them. Right away I started with saying" Let's see if I can get it in the disc golf-a-basket" and "I'm smarter than the av-er-age chucker". You'll have about as much fun as Yogi did stealing people's food and me twisting around Yogi's catch phrases to be funny/annoying.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the $5

2-4    8/3/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: RibDaddy
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: One of the few courses in the area and close to I-25.
Cons: You have to pay to play this course. I don't mind paying but there should be better course maintenance for a pay to play course. Tee boxes are short. 17 & 18 have been moved. The pin placement markers are faded so you are not sure which one is in play. Much of terrain around the holes needs to be mowed making it difficult to find your Disc. They need to install next Tee signs on several holes. Much of the rest of the place looks unkept as well.
Other Thoughts: What is the $5 going for...?

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fun, beautiful course

5+    7/20/2013   6/8/2014
Review By: djros
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees on every hole. Nice tee signs. Nice mix of long and short, open and wooded, left-turning and right turning holes. Nice use of elevation on this course, especially the valley holes (downhill tee shot, uphill approach), as well as a couple fun downhill hills. Multiple basket locations. Nice scenery, including some cool clay cliffs near a few of the baskets/tees. A couple of the holes have basket positions placed inside teepee frames. Kind of silly, but a fun target, and in the case of #16, it is the only real challenge on the hole other than distance. The fairways are mainly sparse grass and bushes, but do appear to be mowed fairly regularly.
Cons: There are a couple hills next to baskets that are a little steep, and could be slick in the right conditions. The oak scrub that grows on part of this course (mostly the front nine) is difficult, but not impossible to penetrate. If your disc goes in to this stuff, it isn't fun getting it out in the thicker spots. The scrub oak is somewhat of a pro too, as it does force accuracy on what would otherwise be open holes.
Other Thoughts: There are square paving stones next to each tee with an "A" or "B" on it to indicate the basket position. I didn't notice these until half way through my first round and after having thrown to the wrong basket location a couple times, and they really made the course easier to play once I realized what they were for. A couple holes have big drops near the basket, so watch your distance control (this is especially the case on #6). Navigation is generally not a problem, as there are usually next tee markers at or near the baskets, but hole 2 is a little tough to find if you haven't played here. Basically just go towards the clay cliffs, beyond a small man-made pond, and it will be near the right end of the exposed clay cliffs. This is surprisingly fun and challenging for a course located at a campground. The variety of shots played here, plus some of the unique features, like the clay cliffs and teepees make this a really fun course. The staff at the camp office is friendly, and maps are available if you are not familiar with the layout.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Campground DGC

1    4/10/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most good DGCs start out with a solid piece of property. This one is no different. There are some interesting rock formations, drop offs, hills, trees, etc.
-Good use of elevation. Some ups and downs.
-Good risk reward, mostly around the green. Definitely some fun tosses here.
-Nice tees
-Discatchers in good shape.
-Decent signage- could be more permanent but it works well.
-Next tee signs and worn walking paths help navigation.
-Not usually crowded.
-Pretty far away from most other camp activities.
-Can bring the whole family here as there are things to do to entertain the non-discers
-A mix of shorter and taller trees give you another throwing lane if you decide to go over.
-Good mix of open and wooded holes. Good variety of length with nothing super short. Some holes that were longer than I prefer but not ridiculous. It was fair and balanced.
-General store with goods
Cons: -Could lose a disc here, not exactly likely but it could happen
-More permanent signage and a marker to tell which basket position is in. You have to walk the hole to see the basket pretty often.
-$5 to play. It is probably worth it.
-Really close to the interstate, especially on the last 3 holes. Not a big deal but it kinds of ruins the mountain course feel that you have built up while playing holes away from the interstate.
-Last 3 holes were open, windy, underwhelming, and just not that fun. I expected a quality course to end with something interesting. These holes also had potential conflict with other camp users.
-It was a bit muddy and even a bit of snow was left over at this high elevation. It is probably much more dry all summer.
Other Thoughts: -I had a lot of fun here. It was a good challenge and amount of fun for my intermediate/advanced skills. I think beginners could have fun here as well as long as they are patient and keep their cool when they throw an inevitable bad shot. It is a little tight in places and the elevation is tricky.
-Besides the true mountain courses, I would say this this is my favorite course in the Denver area. CHU and Camenisch Park are next.
-I would recommend stopping here. It is super easy to find just off an exit of i25 and it is a fun round. It is at least worth a try for your $5.
-The general store closed at 5 today so I didn't get to go in there and had to pay via envelope after I found someone to break my $20. I wasn't about to pay $20 for disc golf more than once in the same trip!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice P2P

2-4    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 127  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 3.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is great to see a private RV Park embrace a high-quality pay-to-play course. They had an interesting piece of land to work with and utilized it well.

Vegetation is a mix of taller pines and short oaks. The oaks grow in dense thickets that define many of the fairways, and if you miss on your drive you will find yourself in thick, thick rough. It isn't tall, but you won't have any room to maneuver, run-up or even use a normal throwing motion.

All teepads are now concrete. Maps and tee signs show two pin positions for each hole, but the course manager told me that they're adding a third position at all holes.

Tee signs were useful, even though they are temporary (according to the manager). They give the hole info, distances to each tee, and a good diagram of trees/vegetation.

Good use of the available elevation. Many holes have a significant element of driving up or down to the pin which adds interest and challenge to those holes.

Hole 6 (long pin) is a great hole, as the basket sits out on a raised island. Missing left, right, or long results in a rollaway or your disc sitting way down below the basket. Great risk/reward opportunity.

Cons: There were several holes that I had to walk forward to see which of the positions the basket was in. Not really a big con as I like to get an eye on the basket anyway. It looks like they have concrete pavers that are supposed to indicate "A" or "B" but most were too faded to read.

Holes 16, 17, and 18 are open throws through a grass field, and are not as interesting as the previous holes. I understand that there are alternates for 16 & 17 that are utilized when the large field is turned into a "Pumpkin Patch" in September & October. I'd would have liked to see those holes.

Navigation was a little confusing in a couple of spot. Bring a map your first time. A "next hole" arrow or indication would be appreciated by first-timers.
Other Thoughts: The $5 fee (or $50 annual pass) seems more than fair to me. This private business has invested a lot of money in baskets, concrete, stairs, signs, etc. (not to mention time) and they've created a very nice course. Compared to the overcrowded park courses in Colorado Springs this one is a gift.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

best course in metro denver

5+    11/24/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: roryconrad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Variety of shots
-Good Use of Elevation
-Good Line Dictation
-Good Flow to through the course
Cons: -Not all pads are concrete (most are)
-navigation can be confusing, however once u play it a few times it has a good flow
-pay to play- this is only a con bc the $ doesnt go back in2 the course but to the camp ground
Other Thoughts: This is your answer for the Greater Denver Metro Area Courses. I am from Michigan, and was spoiled with quality courses-denver has some of the poorest metro courses. Expo, Paco Sanchez, Lighthouse, and Badlands are all extremely forgive-able courses with little to no line dictation (i understand badlands has blairwitch, which has no pads and a shotty lay out for half the of nine). Jellystone is the cure for ur metro denver DG blues w/out hitting the mts- Jellystone offers variety of shots, elevation, ace runs, and line dictation. Since the last post, the redundant last three holes have been changed, adding to the quality. Colorado Heights University course rivals the quality with 27 holes, but misses the mark on the back 18-27 or so bc of the lack of everything stated that Jellystone has to offer (after the "green mile hole," there are so many wide open shots with so many out of bounds u certainly loose the feel that ur on a legit course cuz its on a shotty college campus with streets and run down building coming into play). The designer of Jellystone is a great guy, and is really trying to get the Denver area to the next level in DG- The mile-high-flyers dg club has been here for decades and have only developed casual to amature courses- the group at green fly, and pauly in the mountains are evolving the sport in the area from casual to actual intermediate to advance with a new course set to be put in at Alameda and Buckley sometime in 2014 and pauly just added concrete pads to conifer. On weekends dont waste ur time playing the casual metro courses unless thats ur skill level; if ur a "gamer," hit Jellystone or the Mountains to get ur fix- ALL the metro courses CHU included, leave much to be desired

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    7/18/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 19.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the perspective of an east coaster, this is what you would expect a Western Plains disc golf course to look like. It is set in a valley with great views of the mountains in all directions. This course is not terribly difficult, but you still have to execute high quality shots to shoot well. I enjoyed what the course has to offer. Hole #3 was especially cool playing up to the dirt/rock cliffs.

There is a nice balance of open and wooded holes, no extreme elevation changes but several holes play up and down and others are flat, several holes play to blind baskets, and hole length varies with long, short, and medium along with left and right shaped fairways. There are several ace runs and other holes where strategically placed shots are required and then other longer open holes where you can let it rip.

The first 15 holes are all unique (until the last 3 which are relatively wide open). Clearly defined routes to the pin with well-defined fairways. Pretty easy to find your disc in the trees and taller grass, even off the fairways.

Mostly concrete tees here. Discatcher baskets (not my favorite but helpful to spot as there are many blind holes here and you have to do some walking on the fairway).
Cons: Navigation is a little confusing- 1 and 2 did not match map (redesign?) so it was hard to find #2 (actually had to make up a tee). Map shows 2 tees for every hole but I did not see but 1 set (which is fine to have only 1 set). There were a couple other spots where I had to search for the next tee, but when I looked at the map given to me, it was easy.

Hole 1 was a natural tee- the only one. A lot of the signs were knocked down. I don't mind blind baskets, but not having quality tee signs means you have to walk the hole twice to find the basket.

The last 3 holes are kind of boring, and appear to be just long open holes to get back to car. 2 of the baskets are placed in the tee pee like structures, but that is about it. There are a couple obstacles (unless it is windy which can really make it tough) but they are not nearly up to the interesting level as the rest of the course.

Some of the "grass" is kind of spiny and the little oaks bushes do not give and can scrape up your legs pretty good if not careful. The giant flies were annoying landing on you and buzzing in your ears and were the only insects I saw on any course in the Denver area however.
Other Thoughts: Really easy to get to. Literally just off I-25 between Denver and Colorado Springs. The exit is basically the campground. No problem to check in to pay the $5 and sign the waiver and get a scorecard, map, and wristband. The worker was very friendly and non-camper people playing disc golf is common. Bring water with you as you don't really come back to your car until after 18.

Course design/sponsor is FlyGreen. Be sure to check out their store in Denver for a tremendous selection of discs of all brands.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Paradise

1    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good concrete tee-pads
-Nice baskets that catch well
-The course requires a large variety of shots and you will definitely use a fair share of the discs in your bag.
-Lots of variety on the holes (there are some wide open shots, lots of up and down, narrow fairway shots) and the holes never feel like they get repetitive.
-This course has a ton of elevation on it (with a majority of the holes incorporating either uphill or downhill or both within the same hole). The elevation the course has is one of it's greatest strengths.
-The holes on this course will definitely provide a good challenge but always feel fair too
-The course encompasses a large variety of distances (The distances ranges from just under 200 to over 500 feet).
-A lot of the holes have benches, trashcans, and picnic tables at them, which is nice to have a place to rest since this course is a bit of a hike.
-The course has a lot of risk and reward due to the brambles on the side of most of the holes and also some of the drop-offs near or behind the basket.
-Good use of interesting terrain features, like the little ravine in front of the B pin position on hole 6.
-Nice tee-signs that give all the necessary information for each hole.
-Each hole has two pin positions to help vary the course up a bit.
-Each hole has a brick at the tee-pad that tells you if the pin is in the A or B position.
-You can see goats on the course, and according to their website you can get a goat caddy, which I will have to try out sometime.
-This course punishes you for a bad shot as the brambles off the fairway are really thick and it will definitely take a shot or two to get out of them if you go into to them.
-Right off of I-25
-The staff in the ranger station were really friendly and helpful. They will also provide you with a useful map and scorecard.
Cons: -The brambles that make up the rough definitely are quite pointy and sticky and could easily give you a cut or rip your shirt if you are not careful.
-The course can be slightly hard to navigate at few points due to miscellaneous trails going off into the woods. For the most part they are wood signs with arrows pointing to the next hole but a couple of them have fallen down now.
-The tee-sign for Hole 18 was missing
-If it is your first time playing there are a few times you might have to walk a little ways up the fairway to see where the basket is but the tee-signs do help with this.
-If would be nice if a couple of the tee-pads were a little larger (mainly hole 7).
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an awesome course and a ton of fun. There are a few small flaws but this course is definitely a must play. It is well worth the $5 fee they charge. If you are anywhere Larkspur, make sure you make a stop at this course, you won't regret it!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.