Larkspur, CO 
Jellystone Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #10 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very Nice P2P

2-4    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 83  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is great to see a private RV Park embrace a high-quality pay-to-play course. They had an interesting piece of land to work with and utilized it well.

Vegetation is a mix of taller pines and short oaks. The oaks grow in dense thickets that define many of the fairways, and if you miss on your drive you will find yourself in thick, thick rough. It isn't tall, but you won't have any room to maneuver, run-up or even use a normal throwing motion.

All teepads are now concrete. Maps and tee signs show two pin positions for each hole, but the course manager told me that they're adding a third position at all holes.

Tee signs were useful, even though they are temporary (according to the manager). They give the hole info, distances to each tee, and a good diagram of trees/vegetation.

Good use of the available elevation. Many holes have a significant element of driving up or down to the pin which adds interest and challenge to those holes.

Hole 6 (long pin) is a great hole, as the basket sits out on a raised island. Missing left, right, or long results in a rollaway or your disc sitting way down below the basket. Great risk/reward opportunity.

Cons: There were several holes that I had to walk forward to see which of the positions the basket was in. Not really a big con as I like to get an eye on the basket anyway. It looks like they have concrete pavers that are supposed to indicate "A" or "B" but most were too faded to read.

Holes 16, 17, and 18 are open throws through a grass field, and are not as interesting as the previous holes. I understand that there are alternates for 16 & 17 that are utilized when the large field is turned into a "Pumpkin Patch" in September & October. I'd would have liked to see those holes.

Navigation was a little confusing in a couple of spot. Bring a map your first time. A "next hole" arrow or indication would be appreciated by first-timers.
Other Thoughts: The $5 fee (or $50 annual pass) seems more than fair to me. This private business has invested a lot of money in baskets, concrete, stairs, signs, etc. (not to mention time) and they've created a very nice course. Compared to the overcrowded park courses in Colorado Springs this one is a gift.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

best course in metro denver

5+    11/24/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: roryconrad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Variety of shots
-Good Use of Elevation
-Good Line Dictation
-Good Flow to through the course
Cons: -Not all pads are concrete (most are)
-navigation can be confusing, however once u play it a few times it has a good flow
-pay to play- this is only a con bc the $ doesnt go back in2 the course but to the camp ground
Other Thoughts: This is your answer for the Greater Denver Metro Area Courses. I am from Michigan, and was spoiled with quality courses-denver has some of the poorest metro courses. Expo, Paco Sanchez, Lighthouse, and Badlands are all extremely forgive-able courses with little to no line dictation (i understand badlands has blairwitch, which has no pads and a shotty lay out for half the of nine). Jellystone is the cure for ur metro denver DG blues w/out hitting the mts- Jellystone offers variety of shots, elevation, ace runs, and line dictation. Since the last post, the redundant last three holes have been changed, adding to the quality. Colorado Heights University course rivals the quality with 27 holes, but misses the mark on the back 18-27 or so bc of the lack of everything stated that Jellystone has to offer (after the "green mile hole," there are so many wide open shots with so many out of bounds u certainly loose the feel that ur on a legit course cuz its on a shotty college campus with streets and run down building coming into play). The designer of Jellystone is a great guy, and is really trying to get the Denver area to the next level in DG- The mile-high-flyers dg club has been here for decades and have only developed casual to amature courses- the group at green fly, and pauly in the mountains are evolving the sport in the area from casual to actual intermediate to advance with a new course set to be put in at Alameda and Buckley sometime in 2014 and pauly just added concrete pads to conifer. On weekends dont waste ur time playing the casual metro courses unless thats ur skill level; if ur a "gamer," hit Jellystone or the Mountains to get ur fix- ALL the metro courses CHU included, leave much to be desired

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Jellystone - Larkspur

5+    12/2/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Hoosier Al
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Course with plenty of technical throws for the intermediate player. Great landscape and lots of fun. Worth the Drive.
Cons: Trees can snag discs pretty easily and there are lots of them.
Other Thoughts: Concrete pads on most holes. Not too crowded most of the time. At $5 for all you can throw, it is well worth the drive.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique piece of property with an extremely fun course to play

1    9/15/2011   9/20/2012
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a surprisingly fun course! I was truly glad I made my way down to play this one. Extremely unique terrain that was utilized to the max for some creative, fun, and risky holes. Multiple pin placements added to the variety and showcased more of the unique terrain. There were a number of memorable holes here, not necessarily awe-inspiring, but truly neat holes that were a blast to play. Hole 3 plays up toward a pin perched in a South Dakota Badlands style butte. Holes 2, 4, 6, 8 were all neat downhill throws that required some distance, but more touch and accuracy. Hole 6 had a great risky green perched on the edge of a dropoff after throwing a downhill touch shot. Hole 8 was a neat downhill halfpipe style hole. Hole 7 is a neat ridge to ridge toss across a pine tree valley, real tight lines and unique terrain. Once the brush grows up on Hole 9 it will become an even better multiple route hole. Hole 10 also has a good center brush island divider. Hole 13 was a nice fun wooded ace run hole. Hole 14 is a type of hole that I consider beautiful and picturesque to disc golf. It offers a few options off the tee, throws across a gentle rolling and wooded area of larger trees, offers moderate distance, and allows you to sail out a drive toward a pin perched on a small ridge. Many of the tees were blind pin placements (1,5,6,7,8,9,10). This entire area was on a ridgeline line with washout valleys and introduced the need for a lot of accuracy and finesse, blind pins made it even better. "Next Tee" arrows were present by almost all greens. Great views were present on a number of holes.
Cons: Huge con for a course at a campground full of beginners is that there is only one tee. Newcomers would be turned off by the need for such finesse and accuracy here. There appeared to be some gravel short tees in some places, but I wasn't sure and they were not marked by any means. Maybe they were drop zones. There were no tee signs when I played either, navigation for someone unfamiliar with disc golf would be tough. Poison ivy/oak was present in numerous areas, be aware and be prepared to wash and quarantine your clothes. The distance listed on the scorecard was pretty hard to read. You will not "lose yourself" in a peaceful round of solitude here. The road noise from the interstate is horrible! Too many throwaway holes across the open area (holes 12 and 16-18). 16-18 give some variety and let you bomb some long throws, but three in a row is too much, especially without obstacles or defining traits to the hole. I thought the neat woods around 13 and 14 could have been much better utilized (especially considering how beautiful #14 is).
Other Thoughts: On the way from Denver area you can hit up a microbrewpub right off the freeway. For a campground course, which are typically haphazardly thrown together by non-disc golfers for the enjoyment of RVers, this course was designed and finished by a true disc golfer. The property has some extremely unique features and disc golf shines on this property. For being sandwiched against the interstate, the variety here is great, all but the water hazards are present (I know, front range doesn't have water). If it weren't for a large number of unimaginative throwaway holes (12 & 16-18), this course would be a 4.0 in my book, but for now it doesn't live up to matching other 4.0 rated courses I've played. The fun factor due to the unique terrain was much higher than the other 3.5 rated courses I've played though! I liked playing it a lot though and was very glad I did make time for it out of my business trip. The area is chock full of private courses too, great ones! Make yourself a friend and get an invite!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course!

1    8/10/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: larryp40
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time played...worth the $5 fee. Course kept up nicely, multiple pin placements and good variety of terrain. They seem to have made some improvements from when earlier reviewers have played...some low branches on pines cut for cleaner shots on basket.
Cons: The course is open to 'campers' and there are some 'newbies' which might hold up play. A couple of places to jump holes though.
Other Thoughts: Worth the $ and short drive down from Denver. Every course can't be free and with a minimart, port-a-lets, clean course and disc's available at the main lodge, it makes it worth the cash.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Very good course

1    7/26/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: Rockiesfan4ever
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course (at least for me) and caused me to pay if I made some bad shots (which I did). Lots of good hole placements with signs and hole markings up to date (which I loved!).
Cons: There is a $5 fee to enter the park which sucks but I think it is worth it for the disc golf experience. It becomes more open at the end which is probably a good thing after you battle your way through the trees, but there could be a little bit more technicality needed on the back 5 or so holes.
Other Thoughts: It is somewhat of a hike so bring some water. I think it's a course that needs to be played if you are in the CO Springs area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 hmmmm...

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2012
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: ---Good signs, full color and easy to follow
---Small but firm teepads that are set at a good angle
---Interesting level of challenge based on Terrain and environment
---Good baskets
Cons: ---Blind drives all over the front 9
---Paid 5 dollars to play a course littered with garbage and broken glass
---Tree eating shrubbery! (That might be my fault though LOL)
Other Thoughts: I don't really know what to say about this course except for : waaaaaaayyyyy overrated. Its a decent course, but for a pay to play (5 bucks per person including my 7 year old daughter) course with glowing reviews I was expecting a lot more. I may still play their tourney series, but I don't think Ill be playing here again for fun. There is much better pay to play courses nearby.

Another note is the Fly Green "pro shop". Online and on shay they have an awesome selection but all they have at the supposed "pro shop" on site only has a few DXs...and not even the good molds. Hopefully this improves eventually.

BOTTOM LINE: interesting course with a few problems. Overhyped but still fun...just not something I would pay for a lot (they do offer yearly passes if you like the course.) I would say its good for non-traditional tourney play and would be awesome if you were passing through and were staying at Jellystone.

If I seem like I'm being harsh, well, I am. Colorado has tons of free courses that are just as good and better than this. If you're going to pay, head north.

***UPDATE SEPTEMBER 1ST, 2012!***
After Fishy and the guys from Fly Green invited me back to play a couple times with them, I can say that I have definetly changed my opinion of Jellystone. While I do still thing the price is a bit steep, they have made some VAST improvements since I first played this course. Teepads are all in with the exception of one, and in great shape. The Jellystone staff has taken a MUCH more active role in keeping the course clean and free of ne'er-do-well campers who made for such a horrible experience last time.

Also, they have stopped charging non-players, which is great because I never go anywhere without my wife and daughter even if they don't feel like throwing.

The biggest take-away for me about Jellystone is that they and the Fly Green crew read my review and implemented changes that myself and others had mentioned, turning Jellystone into a fantastic course. Thanks SO MUCH to everyone involved, and I can now confidenetly say I am VERY excited to play the winter tournament series here!

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hey, Hey, Hey, It Started So Well!

1    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I tried to think of all the Yogi Bear references I could use in my review but in the end I just stuck to the picnic baskets and the facts. The course sits just off the freeway between Denver and Colorado Springs. It's a private campground, hence the Yogi Bear and Jellystone references. The courses starts off like gangbusters with awesome terrrain and a couple of difficult throws and one of my all time favorite disc golf holes. I'll get to it. The signs are Jellystone specific showing the distance, trees, A & B positions, etc. The A & B positions are designated by building blocks on the ground with A painted on one side and B on the other. Whichever side is flipped up is where you're throwing too. Since this is a private course, there is virtually no grafitti and no-one's flipping the markers. The teepads are concrete and are different sized depending on the run-up needed. Good idea and a cost saver. The terrain was rolling hills and wooded making for some great disc golfing. The pars were not for the faint of heart like # 3, a PAR 3, 401' with the basket part way up a hill. That's a tough PAR for me.

# 6 is one of my all time favorite holes. It's 287' slightly downhill. The entire left side is an open canyon. The basket is perched on a little plateau with steep drop offs all around and some trees guarding right and center. You need just the right anhyser touch to drop your tee shot onto the plateau without it dropping off into the abyss.
Cons: The front nine was great. I was all excited to give this course a 4.0 rating but then I played the back nine and was less than impressed. I wouldn't call the last 4-5 holes filler holes but I would probably say they were wide, open and unimaginitive.
# 16 was another tough PAR 3 with 470' slightly uphill all the way to a basket inside the teepee stakes (and into a strong wind the afternoon I played).

$5 to play and they charged my wife $5 to walk along and she ended up sitting in the car reading.
Other Thoughts: For my $5, I was going to wander over into the campers and make off with a few picnic baskets. Oh yeah, I promised no more Yogiisms. How about this one," When you come to the fork in the road, take it." Oh sorry, wrong Yogi. With my regrets to Yogi Bear and Yogi Berra both, stop and play Jellystone DGC, "You'll Have A Gay Old Time!"

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Yabba Dabba Dooooo!

1    12/10/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is right off the freeway just south of Castle Rock. The local crowd here draws from both the Denver and Colroado Springs area but because it is less well known and a slight drive you will typically only find the more serious players. The course design itself is admirable though there are a few filler holes. The elevation changes on this course make it interesting and fun. There are some very technical holes and some good open bomber holes. Holes have multiple pin locations with a staff on site that takes care of the course along with some guys from a not so near by disc gold store that take care of and run this course. While the course does have some good difficulty, it is not beyond the capabilities of beginners. There are some great views of the local hills. The ameneties nearby are really nice. Jellystone is a campground that is modeled after Yogi Bear, making it really kid friendly with plenty of other things for the family to do. There are cabins to rent and sites for camping.
Cons: This is a great course and will be taken well care of but it is a pay to play course, still a negative in my book. The tee pads are dirt and do not always have the best footing. There are some disc eating bushes that come into play on several holes. There are several blind holes where you will need to walk the hole the first time through. Signage is limited. The flow of the course is not necessarily logical in all places. The filler holes are filler holes and I am not a fan of those. There are some really short technical holes which end up not being so technical because of how short they are. Distances here do not always seem accurate as most locals say you should add about 20 feet to all the numbers.
Other Thoughts: This course was a good time for sure and with all the ameneties of Jellystone it would make for a great family get away with little kids while still allowing you to play disc golf. It is $5 a day to play at this point and you will need to stop at the rangers station to pay for this. They do have annual passes that will be $60 starting in January 2012, but only $50 between now and then. It is a course that is definately worth playing but one should not expect an elite experience despite the cost that might suggest this is the case.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Review

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to find. Great customer service. This is a campground and rec area so there is more than just disc golf here. Ian, the owner was there to meet and greet when I arrived and was a really nice guy. Course will use every shot you have so be prepared and go with your gut. Interesting use of land and features. Decent hike as well. One of the more technical courses down the hills in Colorado. Tee pads are in great condition for dirt.
Cons: The map was needed to guide me in the general direction of the next hole and was still hard to find. Quality signage is needed. Half of this course is all blind shots, I had to scout the majority of the course. Thick brush makes errant shots a pain to retrieve and shoot from. Course plays more like a par 57 than a 54.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round at Jellystone and will be back sometime in the future. However, the course design feels like Fly Green was trying to prove something that they did not need to. For the piece of land this course is on, I feel like they could have done better in utilizing an up and down strategy into and out of the hazards. Overkill is a close description. I shot par, but am a seasoned player. If you are new to the sport expect to shoot atleast bogey golf. I still loved some of the crazy shots and creativity on some of the holes. Prepare for tommy's, thumbers, massive over the top hyzer flips and more. This should be on your list of courses to play. All reality it is a 3.75 a solid four if you factor in the people who run the place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.