Larkspur, CO 
Jellystone Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #10 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Yogi Bear DGC?

1    9/6/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every now and again you find a hidden gem amongst the hundreds and thousands of courses here that just played better or more fun than what you were expecting from the ratings, reviews and pictures and this is one of those courses.

This is a course that is difficult for a certain skill level that I just so happen to fall under. Those that have been playing a while but wouldn't consider themselves great players and probably couldn't compete in open or even advanced divisions will find this course both fun and demanding. Hole distances vary greatly as do obstacle amount and elevation change. Some holes have you throwing up, down and sideways on a hill while also making you hit your line. There are several options for landing zones off of the tees here, several times I found myself wanting to throw multiple drives on several holes. I recommend this course to just about anyone but I believe those playing in the 880-950 rated PDGA rankings will find it most interesting due to length and throw potential.

Being a course with trees, bushes, sand, water, hills etc. finding your tee shot was very easy with little or no searching. From the tee pad many landing zones looked a little scary but as soon you get down where you think you disc is you find it. Other may disagree as I'm from the pacific NW where underbrush is never eradicated, constantly growing. We also had no issues with navigation, we were using the small map handed out at the pro shop and only stopped to look at it once or twice.
Cons: Although there are many obstacles I felt like many of the holes could be completely destroyed by someone with a great tomahawk/thumber or other kind of overhand shot. Many holes could be much easier with an overhand. I don't have that shot in my bag other than 100 feet so I was constantly throwing over obstacles. It seems like this is the main way of forcing any type of line out here.

I think this course ends weak. The first 12-14 holes are amazing and then the course opens up and you have a few open holes. I'm not completely against open holes as long as there is some way to challenge bad throws or make you think about something other than chucking the disc as far as you like with reckless abandon. Holes 16 and especially hole 17 are what I call 'chuck and run' holes. It seems like the designer(s) ran out of good land for the course and then threw in the last few ones to meet the magic number of 18. This is a pet peeve of mine.
Other Thoughts: Yes it costs $5 to play the course and trust me I've payed more for far less return! I would say a couple of hours worth playing a better than average course is well worth the money, I mean that's $2.50 per hour for a fun course.

They have a pro shop as well on site but it needs an upgrade really bad. Maybe someone in the local community can let the owners know that most golfers aren't looking for $11 DX discs. They had only about 8 discs left, this could be a good or bad thing!

Obviously the name of the campground and DGC course here is referring to Yogi Bear, even the tee signs had Yogi on them. Right away I started with saying" Let's see if I can get it in the disc golf-a-basket" and "I'm smarter than the av-er-age chucker". You'll have about as much fun as Yogi did stealing people's food and me twisting around Yogi's catch phrases to be funny/annoying.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun, beautiful course

5+    7/20/2013   6/8/2014
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees on every hole. Nice tee signs. Nice mix of long and short, open and wooded, left-turning and right turning holes. Nice use of elevation on this course, especially the valley holes (downhill tee shot, uphill approach), as well as a couple fun downhill hills. Multiple basket locations. Nice scenery, including some cool clay cliffs near a few of the baskets/tees. A couple of the holes have basket positions placed inside teepee frames. Kind of silly, but a fun target, and in the case of #16, it is the only real challenge on the hole other than distance. The fairways are mainly sparse grass and bushes, but do appear to be mowed fairly regularly.
Cons: There are a couple hills next to baskets that are a little steep, and could be slick in the right conditions. The oak scrub that grows on part of this course (mostly the front nine) is difficult, but not impossible to penetrate. If your disc goes in to this stuff, it isn't fun getting it out in the thicker spots. The scrub oak is somewhat of a pro too, as it does force accuracy on what would otherwise be open holes.
Other Thoughts: There are square paving stones next to each tee with an "A" or "B" on it to indicate the basket position. I didn't notice these until half way through my first round and after having thrown to the wrong basket location a couple times, and they really made the course easier to play once I realized what they were for. A couple holes have big drops near the basket, so watch your distance control (this is especially the case on #6). Navigation is generally not a problem, as there are usually next tee markers at or near the baskets, but hole 2 is a little tough to find if you haven't played here. Basically just go towards the clay cliffs, beyond a small man-made pond, and it will be near the right end of the exposed clay cliffs. This is surprisingly fun and challenging for a course located at a campground. The variety of shots played here, plus some of the unique features, like the clay cliffs and teepees make this a really fun course. The staff at the camp office is friendly, and maps are available if you are not familiar with the layout.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Campground DGC

1    4/10/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most good DGCs start out with a solid piece of property. This one is no different. There are some interesting rock formations, drop offs, hills, trees, etc.
-Good use of elevation. Some ups and downs.
-Good risk reward, mostly around the green. Definitely some fun tosses here.
-Nice tees
-Discatchers in good shape.
-Decent signage- could be more permanent but it works well.
-Next tee signs and worn walking paths help navigation.
-Not usually crowded.
-Pretty far away from most other camp activities.
-Can bring the whole family here as there are things to do to entertain the non-discers
-A mix of shorter and taller trees give you another throwing lane if you decide to go over.
-Good mix of open and wooded holes. Good variety of length with nothing super short. Some holes that were longer than I prefer but not ridiculous. It was fair and balanced.
-General store with goods
Cons: -Could lose a disc here, not exactly likely but it could happen
-More permanent signage and a marker to tell which basket position is in. You have to walk the hole to see the basket pretty often.
-$5 to play. It is probably worth it.
-Really close to the interstate, especially on the last 3 holes. Not a big deal but it kinds of ruins the mountain course feel that you have built up while playing holes away from the interstate.
-Last 3 holes were open, windy, underwhelming, and just not that fun. I expected a quality course to end with something interesting. These holes also had potential conflict with other camp users.
-It was a bit muddy and even a bit of snow was left over at this high elevation. It is probably much more dry all summer.
Other Thoughts: -I had a lot of fun here. It was a good challenge and amount of fun for my intermediate/advanced skills. I think beginners could have fun here as well as long as they are patient and keep their cool when they throw an inevitable bad shot. It is a little tight in places and the elevation is tricky.
-Besides the true mountain courses, I would say this this is my favorite course in the Denver area. CHU and Camenisch Park are next.
-I would recommend stopping here. It is super easy to find just off an exit of i25 and it is a fun round. It is at least worth a try for your $5.
-The general store closed at 5 today so I didn't get to go in there and had to pay via envelope after I found someone to break my $20. I wasn't about to pay $20 for disc golf more than once in the same trip!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jellystone - Great Course

5+    10/16/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun and interesting holes with plenty of natural obstacles. Beautiful surroundings, not crowded. Chance to see some wildlife (and some not-so-wild life: goats, horses, etc).
Cons: We call the scrub brush "the brambles", and don't mind them, but you might. What we do mind is lately they've been going in and fencing off areas and (I assume) killing the brambles with herbicides or something. We've kinda grown to like and accept them, so leave the brambles alone! They definitely can make you pay for a bad drive.

Also, some of the concrete tees were poured too short, and they need to make sure to level the ground behind them so you have enough runway to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course around Denver. A group of friends and I play here every week. I should probably not rate it so highly to make sure it doesn't get crowded, but it really is a great course!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great All-Around

1    8/9/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: shawnspraguer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept, LEVEL concrete tee boxes. So much of shot mechanics off the tee requires good footing. Glad they took the time and money to invest in this crucial aspect.

Great variety of shots. There's uphill holes, downhill holes, a good mix of tight technical stuff in the woods and huge grip 'n rip holes.

The holes have good signs with distance and pin placement. I actually had to think about my shots and plan a bit. Most holes have good sign placement to direct you to the next tee. Also the course map is very helpful.

Very friendly staff.

No water! :D

Well kept ground in general. There's not an over abundance of overgrown shrubs and grass which are irritating. Not a lot of places to lose discs.
Cons: $5/round or $50/season pass. Although the price is a bit up there, it's really a great course and well worth the money.

Was a bit confusing the first time out where to find the parking for disc golf, as it isn't marked.
Other Thoughts: If the location is right for you (for me it's 15 mins on the highway) it's a great place for regular play. They also have tourneys every month. I would recommend this course for players of all levels, as it is challenging but not likely going to cost you any discs. This will likely be my main course once I get a pass.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive

5+    7/30/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: new concrete teepads
lots of level change
lots of different shots
you will use almost every disc in your bag
short and long holes
never crowded
pins change often and always marked appropriately
dog friendly
beer friendly (at least i think so)
not very windy like most CO courses
maps are available
lots of wildlife and sometimes goats being herded

BLIND DRIVES are awesome
(if you don't like blind drives you suck)
if you have to go walk ahead to see where the basket is your first time playing that is ok. you will know for next time. blind drives are a sign of good course design in my opinion.
Cons: teepads need to be back filled so you can run up to them and not just start hanging off the back
it is a bit of a drive from anywhere
5$ to play per person
last 3 holes are wide open
easy to lose discs in the scrub oak
could use some steps on some holes
it would be nice to have a bathroom somewhere close
Other Thoughts: i love this place. more courses should be like this one. i have shot 8 down here but i have also shot 8 up here in the same week. that is the sign of a good course. only DX crap in the "Pro Shop." Flygreen is working on trying to get them to carry something useful in there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hot, but nice day to play

1    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: PHARP
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course seems to be well taken care of. Concrete tees are always a plus. Has a mixture of wooded and open holes. The open holes really allow you to open up your arm.
Cons: Several blind drives.
Other Thoughts: Growing up in TN, this is a nice change. The fact that I can play in 100 degree weather and not be miserable, and be in direct sunlight, is a huge plus. The front nine have a few blind drives, so you can't really tell where you are throwing at all times. Gladly, I met a couple of locals that helped me navigate and tell me where the pins were. Overall, I had a great time here and will come back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Playing this course for the first time was a lot of fun and a great course to add to the front range. Overall I thought the course had some great technical aspects forcing a number of different shots styles from the tee-pad and with the approach shots.

The terrain along with the scrub-oak added a lot to this course. We were constantly surprised by the course with hidden ravines, tricky pin placements, and hidden open spaces in the middle of the scrub-oak. We had minimal problems finding discs even with several erratic throws. Also most holes are secluded from each other and from the rest of Camp Jellystone making it a nice and private.

We played on a hot day and luckily at least several of the holes are in the shade. It can get really hot out if there is no cloud cover.

Even though the signage is currently limited and the directions between the tees is minimal, we only had to reference the map to find the teepads for #1, #9 and #10
Cons: A few of the holes the pin is hidden from the tee-pad and we had to spend a lot of time scoping the holes. This will obviously not need to happen the second time you play the course and once the permanent signage arrives.
Other Thoughts: The only thing I didn't like about the course was that a few holes were right next to I-25. Really not that big of a deal unless you are really use to playing Beaver Ranch all the time.

Cheap ice-cream sandwiches and COLD non-alcoholic beverages at the Ranger Station!!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  More developed in 2012 *Update

5+    5/10/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: RealityCheck
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads are installed now, and awesome. Permanent tee signs go in before June 10th. They have been adding more benches, tables, trash cans, and even design or theme elements, such as old wagon wheels, cow bones (some sort of bones) and things that are just rustic and fit the mountain course style it has. They also hold an unsanctioned monthly tournament on Sunday once a month. All 5 divisions get cash awards, gift certificates for Fly Green, and trophies for the Top 4 places in each division. Intermediate was $90 last week for 1st place! They started their Pro Shop too.

The rough has been improved greatly in almost every spot it was thick in 2011. You can now access the rough on the left of #10 if you throw clear over that rough using various cleared pathways they installed through it. I had no idea that right on the other side of that rough is the #1 tee, until it became accessible. Much of the material that was in the fairways from clearing the scrub oak is now gone, and fairway #6 as an example is grassed over with no stick material present. They set out more trash cans, and benches, and continue to improve the rough, but if you have not played it this year, you are in for a shock already. #9 has a left and a right dog-leg, but they carved large clearings in the scrub oak in the middle, so you can go for it and if you fall short, get your disc and throw a thumber or tomahawk and still par if all goes well.

They added a permanent water hazard past the #1 baskets, if you overthrow, you can end up in a large pond.
Cons: They still need to put in permanent steps in a couple of areas, it is only a problem when wet.
Other Thoughts: A few "C" pin positions that will be over 765' each, to make it a true White/Blue combo course. As an example #11 will have a "C" pin that is not in the open like "A" and "B", but located out onto the hill in the far distance. The White will have 3-5 par using the same tees as the Blue which will be 3 par. New tee signage will be installed to reflect this. The parking lot is being improved and enlarged. Without going into too much detail, there are also plans for some alternate tee pads, that will be so unique and wild, Jellystone will be a must play course for that reason. Although this lists the course as established in 2010, that was another course located here, this course is less than a year old still. They were placing baskets still at the start of May last year.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Risk/Reward is the name of the game

1    7/24/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: gordon1018
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had heard about this course a little over a year ago, and had heard bad things. THIS IS NOT THAT COURSE. The guys at Fly Green have come in and made this into a top-notch Colorado Mountain style course without hving to drive to the mountains. If you are a Big-Arm thrower, there's a bunch of holes for you. If you are a technical specialist, there's a lot of challenge for you as well. You will need your forehand, your backhand, S-curves, Mid throws, long drives, and most likely a tomahawk or two

The course goes in and out of a wooded area and offers a good blend of tight technical shorter holes, and a few LONG open holes (that go in or around some Teepee poles).

I found the short holes to be challenging enough that they didn't feel too short, and the long holes to be open enough that they didn't feel too long.

For natural tees they are very nicely done and the designers have taken a lot of time to make the trails to the teepads really nice, even going to the effort of carving stairs out of the rocks.
Cons: It is pay for play. $5 a round is worth it though. the singage needs work as stated before. I don't think so much with finding the next holes. Those signs were easy, but actual teepad signs would be nice, as we had to scout the hole location a lot.

the scrub Oak is brutal. If you go in, good luck finding your disc. the course very much punishes errant throws, but there are ample places to safely play your disc.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. I live in CAstle Rock, and the only close course to me before was Matney park, which is okay for working on your windy game and long drives, but t never prepared me for tournaments in mountain courses. I'll be back a lot to play this one, and have found out they do Friday night tag matches now too.

I met the owner while playing the round and he has said that there will eb upgrades in the future from the greens fees, and he is really excited about people coming down to play the course. It's all on his property, and he welcomes people in with a smile and open arms.

I think the season pass price is a little high, but that being said I'll probably pay it so I can come down more often.

the campground is a really nice place to camp so you could spend a few days if you like. There's also an all you can eat pancake breakfast on Sunday mornings.

Overall, I'm really glad to have a tourament quaity course such as this so close to my house.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.