Larkspur, CO 
Jellystone Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #3 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 431ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf Paradise

1    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good concrete tee-pads
-Nice baskets that catch well
-The course requires a large variety of shots and you will definitely use a fair share of the discs in your bag.
-Lots of variety on the holes (there are some wide open shots, lots of up and down, narrow fairway shots) and the holes never feel like they get repetitive.
-This course has a ton of elevation on it (with a majority of the holes incorporating either uphill or downhill or both within the same hole). The elevation the course has is one of it's greatest strengths.
-The holes on this course will definitely provide a good challenge but always feel fair too
-The course encompasses a large variety of distances (The distances ranges from just under 200 to over 500 feet).
-A lot of the holes have benches, trashcans, and picnic tables at them, which is nice to have a place to rest since this course is a bit of a hike.
-The course has a lot of risk and reward due to the brambles on the side of most of the holes and also some of the drop-offs near or behind the basket.
-Good use of interesting terrain features, like the little ravine in front of the B pin position on hole 6.
-Nice tee-signs that give all the necessary information for each hole.
-Each hole has two pin positions to help vary the course up a bit.
-Each hole has a brick at the tee-pad that tells you if the pin is in the A or B position.
-You can see goats on the course, and according to their website you can get a goat caddy, which I will have to try out sometime.
-This course punishes you for a bad shot as the brambles off the fairway are really thick and it will definitely take a shot or two to get out of them if you go into to them.
-Right off of I-25
-The staff in the ranger station were really friendly and helpful. They will also provide you with a useful map and scorecard.
Cons: -The brambles that make up the rough definitely are quite pointy and sticky and could easily give you a cut or rip your shirt if you are not careful.
-The course can be slightly hard to navigate at few points due to miscellaneous trails going off into the woods. For the most part they are wood signs with arrows pointing to the next hole but a couple of them have fallen down now.
-The tee-sign for Hole 18 was missing
-If it is your first time playing there are a few times you might have to walk a little ways up the fairway to see where the basket is but the tee-signs do help with this.
-If would be nice if a couple of the tee-pads were a little larger (mainly hole 7).
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an awesome course and a ton of fun. There are a few small flaws but this course is definitely a must play. It is well worth the $5 fee they charge. If you are anywhere Larkspur, make sure you make a stop at this course, you won't regret it!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Fantastic Course.

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pulling off I-25 at exit 174 and heading into what seems to be a small camping area with RV's and tons of small children running around at 9 in the morning, I questioned the possibilities of a really wicked DGC here, but with a really awesome reference from Fly Green Discs, and the determination to play every course in CO (eventually) I figured why not right?

As soon as you pull into the Jellystone park area you park over to the right and head into the ranger station to take care of payment ($5). The older gentleman inside with the awesome sidekick dog that follows him everywhere was super friendly, taking our car information for tags that hang from your rear view mirror, getting out first time player waivers for us to sign, and getting our whole group strapped with a wristband saying we paid for our all day pass to the course. He then gives you a course map and score sheets and directs you to the parking area for the course.

Once you hop back into your car and head down the dirt road in front of the ranger station, you will follow the road to the end, passing RV parking, a dog run area, and making a slight right with an immediate left into the course lot. At first you cant spot the courses first pad, but you will see hole 18's basket, letting you know that your headed in the right direction. As you work up the dirt road headed to the left of the lot, it will wrap up and around a bend to the left dropping you at the first tee pad. You will know your in the right place because of the table next to the pad. Now get ready for some fun!!

All the holes are marked with really nicely made signs presented by Fly Green Discs. Each hole has a cinder block next to the sign with an "A" or "B" facing up. The entire course (every hole) has an a or b pin location; the blocks will tell you which direction your headed. From what I remember, almost all the holes have concrete tee pads. I think only hole 8 was actually still in dirt. As you start out, hole 1 through about hole 7, you are shooting across some nice open areas with large trees here and there for obstacles. The walk through the holes up to 7 is an easy slight uphill, and slight downhill crisscross that provides a great view of the surrounding area and allows for smooth drives into open areas; I would consider these first holes awesome warm up holes for what you're headed into once you catch hole 8 to about hole 14. As you get back into 8 to 14 you will see the trees closing in and reaching out for your discs as you throw. The views and drops to the pins from these tee boxes are awesome. 8 and 11 are by far worthy of a few discs from the drive. I personally wanted to empty my bag at 11. It was a truly awesome throw from up on a hill edge down toward the open plains.

NOTE: Once you wrap around hole 12 you will see some bathrooms off to the right. Its always good to have a place to take a quick stop!

As you move on through the course to 14, you will find a great little spot at the pad back in the trees for a break. There is plenty of shade, and with a cool breeze, it makes for a great spot to just relax before you hit the last few holes which are back out on the plains in the open sun. Once you finish up at 14 and head around through 15 to 16 you will find a sweet hole with the basket situated inside a TP. Keep in mind these back holes are really long, so save a little of your arm for the power to finish off your round strong. Once you reach 18 you will see that the pin wraps right back around and drops you at your car. TADA!!
Cons: Honestly I couldn't think of a single con beyond ppl flipping over the cinder blocks and leaving us shooting at the wrong pin location. It wouldn't make too much difference except that there are quite a few blind throws that you may have to walk up the fairway for to determine if the location listed is in fact the correct pin location for the basket.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course. Am looking forward to heading out to this one again in the near future. For more pics, I have an album on my profile called "Jellystone DGC." Feel free to take a look to get a good idea of each hole, I have them all.

On a side note: This course works great between Colorado Springs and Denver to get groups together from both cities because it is literally half way between the two. I had friends come up from CoS and meet us there. I'm sure it will become a normal thing for us now!

Much thanks to Fly Green Discs for all the work on this course. Its well worth the $5.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wandering in the wilderness

5+    9/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setting, light use even on a sunny weekend. This course challenges you on all but the final four holes (but they are long for the big arms) and makes you really think about where you want to throw (and how). Lots of picnic tables and places to take a rest. Had a deer laying in the fairway on #6, great scenery, good tee boxes.I've played this course about 10 times now, and as a noob it has done wonders for my game. I love the fact that you are punished in the scrub oak (sometimes severely) for even the slightest error in your shot. High risk/reward on almost every hole in the woods. Demands that you learn to thread trees and have a bag full of shots. It's making me a better player as i learn the sport. Hole #3 has a creative basket placement halfway up a butte. Hole 6 demands a nice touch shot to an island green with canyon drop offs on all sides. 8 is a great elevated tee down a half pipe canyon. 14 is a nice thread through the woods. Tags on Fridays, cool and helpful staff, Fly green did a great job on design. Multiple pin placements (currently playing longer). The more i play this course, the more i appreciate it. It's like the teacher you had in school that kinda kicked your butt during the year but you hugged him at the end and think he was one of your best teachers ever.
Cons: Played alone the first time and it is not intuitively easy to navigate, since signage is almost non existent. Hole #10 will eat your disc on the left if even moderately errant. Lots of scrub oak, so wear long pants if you are a newbie like me. Occasional poison oak, mostly on hole 4 if you don't clear the scrub oak in front of the hole.
Other Thoughts: Now that the concrete pads are in, and more benches/trash cans were added, the rating goes up another 1/2 point.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  All New Baskets, Layout, and Tee Pad

1    5/31/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: flygreendiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where do I start. This course is 100% all new. 18 New Baskets, 2 placements per hole. nice flat tee boxes. Well marked course with incredible elevation and terrain changes. Bring your Camera for the incredible views and vista's. Yo u will fall in love with this all new course. 40 acres of some of the best disc golf any where. Share the course with deer, elk, fox, hawks, rabbits, and so much more. The trail alone is worth hiking.
Cons: So few. It could use a cool stream or pond to make this course perfect. It also is new so the paths are not knocked down yet so you need to stay aware of where your going.
Other Thoughts: So much fun!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course!

2-4    6/15/2011   10/8/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I first played this course in October when it was a 9-hole pole course and it was hands down the worst course I had ever played. Now, it might be the best course I have ever played.

-The terrain is breathtaking and constantly changing. Trees, hills, cliffs, caves, wide open fields, oh my!
-Each hole is different and presents unique challenges that will cause you to use every disc in your bag.
-The baskets are excellent.
-The tee boxes are nice and big and all are pointed in the right direction at a basket(which isn't always the case at some courses).
-Lots of picnic tables throughout the course and plenty of shade.
-This might be the biggest course I have ever played, they have plenty of space out here and use it really well and kind of reminds me of the HP Rockrimmon course in that regard.
-There is plenty of trails and open areas cut in the scrub oack which is nice when looking for a stray disc.
-Most importantly there are are NO PEOPLE on this course since it is a pay course. No stupid high school stoners loitering and throwing beer cans all over the place. No groups on 6+ that you need to play through on. No waiting.
-Course maps are provided, make sure you get one when you check in, you'll need it.
-$5 to play is more than fair and you can also buy an unlimited season pass for $50 which I am going to do. It is totally worth it especially considering how much money they put into this course and they are going to be working on it all summer as one of the guys who helped build the course is living there and working on it full time.
Cons: -Lots of scrub oak and other rough that make it really easy to lose discs if you have an errant throw.
-Lots of blind shots. (The map helps with this)
-Difficult course to navigate from hole to hole if it is your first time (again make sure you get a map.)
-Since it is such a big course with lots of elevation change you definetly need to bring lots of water.
-Also being so big I doubt it will be a course I would want to play everyday.
Other Thoughts: Simply an amazing course. They did a great job with it and I am so happy it is finally here. Since I live in Monument this will def. replace Cottonwood as my new home course. Make sure you come and check it out ASAP and tell your friends to spread the word.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center