Larkspur, CO 
Jellystone Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #11 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Playing this course for the first time was a lot of fun and a great course to add to the front range. Overall I thought the course had some great technical aspects forcing a number of different shots styles from the tee-pad and with the approach shots.

The terrain along with the scrub-oak added a lot to this course. We were constantly surprised by the course with hidden ravines, tricky pin placements, and hidden open spaces in the middle of the scrub-oak. We had minimal problems finding discs even with several erratic throws. Also most holes are secluded from each other and from the rest of Camp Jellystone making it a nice and private.

We played on a hot day and luckily at least several of the holes are in the shade. It can get really hot out if there is no cloud cover.

Even though the signage is currently limited and the directions between the tees is minimal, we only had to reference the map to find the teepads for #1, #9 and #10
Cons: A few of the holes the pin is hidden from the tee-pad and we had to spend a lot of time scoping the holes. This will obviously not need to happen the second time you play the course and once the permanent signage arrives.
Other Thoughts: The only thing I didn't like about the course was that a few holes were right next to I-25. Really not that big of a deal unless you are really use to playing Beaver Ranch all the time.

Cheap ice-cream sandwiches and COLD non-alcoholic beverages at the Ranger Station!!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  More developed in 2012 *Update

5+    5/10/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: RealityCheck
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads are installed now, and awesome. Permanent tee signs go in before June 10th. They have been adding more benches, tables, trash cans, and even design or theme elements, such as old wagon wheels, cow bones (some sort of bones) and things that are just rustic and fit the mountain course style it has. They also hold an unsanctioned monthly tournament on Sunday once a month. All 5 divisions get cash awards, gift certificates for Fly Green, and trophies for the Top 4 places in each division. Intermediate was $90 last week for 1st place! They started their Pro Shop too.

The rough has been improved greatly in almost every spot it was thick in 2011. You can now access the rough on the left of #10 if you throw clear over that rough using various cleared pathways they installed through it. I had no idea that right on the other side of that rough is the #1 tee, until it became accessible. Much of the material that was in the fairways from clearing the scrub oak is now gone, and fairway #6 as an example is grassed over with no stick material present. They set out more trash cans, and benches, and continue to improve the rough, but if you have not played it this year, you are in for a shock already. #9 has a left and a right dog-leg, but they carved large clearings in the scrub oak in the middle, so you can go for it and if you fall short, get your disc and throw a thumber or tomahawk and still par if all goes well.

They added a permanent water hazard past the #1 baskets, if you overthrow, you can end up in a large pond.
Cons: They still need to put in permanent steps in a couple of areas, it is only a problem when wet.
Other Thoughts: A few "C" pin positions that will be over 765' each, to make it a true White/Blue combo course. As an example #11 will have a "C" pin that is not in the open like "A" and "B", but located out onto the hill in the far distance. The White will have 3-5 par using the same tees as the Blue which will be 3 par. New tee signage will be installed to reflect this. The parking lot is being improved and enlarged. Without going into too much detail, there are also plans for some alternate tee pads, that will be so unique and wild, Jellystone will be a must play course for that reason. Although this lists the course as established in 2010, that was another course located here, this course is less than a year old still. They were placing baskets still at the start of May last year.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yabba Dabba Dooooo!

1    12/10/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is right off the freeway just south of Castle Rock. The local crowd here draws from both the Denver and Colroado Springs area but because it is less well known and a slight drive you will typically only find the more serious players. The course design itself is admirable though there are a few filler holes. The elevation changes on this course make it interesting and fun. There are some very technical holes and some good open bomber holes. Holes have multiple pin locations with a staff on site that takes care of the course along with some guys from a not so near by disc gold store that take care of and run this course. While the course does have some good difficulty, it is not beyond the capabilities of beginners. There are some great views of the local hills. The ameneties nearby are really nice. Jellystone is a campground that is modeled after Yogi Bear, making it really kid friendly with plenty of other things for the family to do. There are cabins to rent and sites for camping.
Cons: This is a great course and will be taken well care of but it is a pay to play course, still a negative in my book. The tee pads are dirt and do not always have the best footing. There are some disc eating bushes that come into play on several holes. There are several blind holes where you will need to walk the hole the first time through. Signage is limited. The flow of the course is not necessarily logical in all places. The filler holes are filler holes and I am not a fan of those. There are some really short technical holes which end up not being so technical because of how short they are. Distances here do not always seem accurate as most locals say you should add about 20 feet to all the numbers.
Other Thoughts: This course was a good time for sure and with all the ameneties of Jellystone it would make for a great family get away with little kids while still allowing you to play disc golf. It is $5 a day to play at this point and you will need to stop at the rangers station to pay for this. They do have annual passes that will be $60 starting in January 2012, but only $50 between now and then. It is a course that is definately worth playing but one should not expect an elite experience despite the cost that might suggest this is the case.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Review

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to find. Great customer service. This is a campground and rec area so there is more than just disc golf here. Ian, the owner was there to meet and greet when I arrived and was a really nice guy. Course will use every shot you have so be prepared and go with your gut. Interesting use of land and features. Decent hike as well. One of the more technical courses down the hills in Colorado. Tee pads are in great condition for dirt.
Cons: The map was needed to guide me in the general direction of the next hole and was still hard to find. Quality signage is needed. Half of this course is all blind shots, I had to scout the majority of the course. Thick brush makes errant shots a pain to retrieve and shoot from. Course plays more like a par 57 than a 54.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round at Jellystone and will be back sometime in the future. However, the course design feels like Fly Green was trying to prove something that they did not need to. For the piece of land this course is on, I feel like they could have done better in utilizing an up and down strategy into and out of the hazards. Overkill is a close description. I shot par, but am a seasoned player. If you are new to the sport expect to shoot atleast bogey golf. I still loved some of the crazy shots and creativity on some of the holes. Prepare for tommy's, thumbers, massive over the top hyzer flips and more. This should be on your list of courses to play. All reality it is a 3.75 a solid four if you factor in the people who run the place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Risk/Reward is the name of the game

1    7/24/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: gordon1018
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had heard about this course a little over a year ago, and had heard bad things. THIS IS NOT THAT COURSE. The guys at Fly Green have come in and made this into a top-notch Colorado Mountain style course without hving to drive to the mountains. If you are a Big-Arm thrower, there's a bunch of holes for you. If you are a technical specialist, there's a lot of challenge for you as well. You will need your forehand, your backhand, S-curves, Mid throws, long drives, and most likely a tomahawk or two

The course goes in and out of a wooded area and offers a good blend of tight technical shorter holes, and a few LONG open holes (that go in or around some Teepee poles).

I found the short holes to be challenging enough that they didn't feel too short, and the long holes to be open enough that they didn't feel too long.

For natural tees they are very nicely done and the designers have taken a lot of time to make the trails to the teepads really nice, even going to the effort of carving stairs out of the rocks.
Cons: It is pay for play. $5 a round is worth it though. the singage needs work as stated before. I don't think so much with finding the next holes. Those signs were easy, but actual teepad signs would be nice, as we had to scout the hole location a lot.

the scrub Oak is brutal. If you go in, good luck finding your disc. the course very much punishes errant throws, but there are ample places to safely play your disc.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. I live in CAstle Rock, and the only close course to me before was Matney park, which is okay for working on your windy game and long drives, but t never prepared me for tournaments in mountain courses. I'll be back a lot to play this one, and have found out they do Friday night tag matches now too.

I met the owner while playing the round and he has said that there will eb upgrades in the future from the greens fees, and he is really excited about people coming down to play the course. It's all on his property, and he welcomes people in with a smile and open arms.

I think the season pass price is a little high, but that being said I'll probably pay it so I can come down more often.

the campground is a really nice place to camp so you could spend a few days if you like. There's also an all you can eat pancake breakfast on Sunday mornings.

Overall, I'm really glad to have a tourament quaity course such as this so close to my house.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Smarter than the average course

2-4    7/18/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: turchynowicz
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jellystone offers an easily accessible (right off of I-25) disc golf game that uses the topography and vegetation to create a good game for both beginners and advanced players.

The staff at the "Ranger Station" is extremely friendly and eager to help. You do have to sign a silly waiver before you play, as apparently Yogi and his friends do frequent the area.
Baskets are in good condition and moved between their "A" and "B" positions periodically.

Some baskets are marked with flagging when out of view of the tee. Hopefully more of these will be coming on line as they are very helpful.

Tee pads are dirt and are in good shape.

Signage is not complete, but the all-important "next tee" arrows are present and therefore presented no difficulties navigating the course.

Hole number 9 wraps back towards number 1 which is convenient if you're only up for playing 9 or going for 27. There are very few conflicting holes, so this course could handle a crowded day easily.

It is typical vegetation for this part of Colorado. Closed shoes are advisable- if you throw one off the fairway, you'll likely be digging through some scrub oaks, and poison ivy is present on a couple of holes.

The course is clean and a few holes offer benches and pic-a-nic tables.
Cons: It would be nice to see a two color system here utilizing the same tees. It's easy for young ones and folks new to the sport to get frustrated with holes that are par 3 that are 400+ feet, especially with the fact it is located in a family campground. It is certainly a "white" par 3 course (possibly with the exception of no. 16 which is 536'), but the holes over 400' really should be "red" par 4's. (Perhaps a Yogi par and Boo Boo par?)
Other Thoughts: Jellystone offers a great mix of woods and open shots, testing tight technical lanes as well as grip and rip holes, certainly making it worth a stop on any Denver/ Colorado Springs/ Front Range disc golf itinerary.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wandering in the wilderness

5+    9/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setting, light use even on a sunny weekend. This course challenges you on all but the final four holes (but they are long for the big arms) and makes you really think about where you want to throw (and how). Lots of picnic tables and places to take a rest. Had a deer laying in the fairway on #6, great scenery, good tee boxes.I've played this course about 10 times now, and as a noob it has done wonders for my game. I love the fact that you are punished in the scrub oak (sometimes severely) for even the slightest error in your shot. High risk/reward on almost every hole in the woods. Demands that you learn to thread trees and have a bag full of shots. It's making me a better player as i learn the sport. Hole #3 has a creative basket placement halfway up a butte. Hole 6 demands a nice touch shot to an island green with canyon drop offs on all sides. 8 is a great elevated tee down a half pipe canyon. 14 is a nice thread through the woods. Tags on Fridays, cool and helpful staff, Fly green did a great job on design. Multiple pin placements (currently playing longer). The more i play this course, the more i appreciate it. It's like the teacher you had in school that kinda kicked your butt during the year but you hugged him at the end and think he was one of your best teachers ever.
Cons: Played alone the first time and it is not intuitively easy to navigate, since signage is almost non existent. Hole #10 will eat your disc on the left if even moderately errant. Lots of scrub oak, so wear long pants if you are a newbie like me. Occasional poison oak, mostly on hole 4 if you don't clear the scrub oak in front of the hole.
Other Thoughts: Now that the concrete pads are in, and more benches/trash cans were added, the rating goes up another 1/2 point.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential...

1    7/8/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Built on a beautiful piece of land offering several technical holes with obstacles like trees and bushes forcing you to make a good shot or pay dire consequences. I like that there are a few holes at or above 500 ft which is nice if you are looking to air one out.
Cons: This course needs better signage & concrete pads. As a pay to play course, a first time player expects a little more than what is offered at other free courses.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 10 will eat your lunch if you have an errant throw to the left. Just a courtesy heads-up.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course

1    6/26/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: bksterling
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has great variety. There are great technical holes and nice, long open holes. The scenery is awesome, with lots of dense trees and vegetation lining the fairways and areas around the pins. The elevation changes make for some challenging holes....this course makes the most of the available landscape. Multiple pin placements offers changing layouts. Just really overall a great, challenging, fun course.
Cons: The only con is lack of good signage. However, I hear they are putting in new signage this summer. I also hear they are going to put in concrete tee pads next spring, which will bump this up into the 4.5 rating.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Yogi bear outdid himself

2-4    6/23/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: Tony
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety, awesome scenery, at hole 6 we had deer walk within 10 feet of us. Nice baskets and good directions from hole to hole
Cons: No concrete tee boxes, need more trash cans throughout
Other Thoughts: All in all a great course even with a 5 buck charge !!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.