Larkspur, CO 
Jellystone Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #15 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Bring long pants, plenty of water and all your discs.

2-4    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of stuff going for this course. First it is an easy stop right off I-25, you can't miss it. Check in at the main office and grab some drinks, you will need it. Easy parking and a little walk to the first tee. Lots of elevation on this course that is used quiet well. Teepads are dirt but in great shape. Baskets are brand new Discatchers so no problems there. The nice birght yellow sticks out making it a bit easier to try and see the basket from the teepads. There are a few blind shots on this course. Multiple pins on all the holes that look like they would really add some more variety as they are moved about. There is quite a bit variety in terms of shots needed. A few of the holes are downhill and straight off the tee which are a bit tricky. Then there are some holes that are uphill with narrow fairways that require a good deal of accuracy. A nice flow to the design as the holes switch from long to short, open to wooded. Risk/reward is the name of the game here. If you feel really lucky and want to go for it off the teepad and get the great shot, then some birdies await, but miss and get in the rough, then good luck with even a bogey. Great views of the surrounding mountains and the terrain itself was pretty cool, especially hole three against a rock face. Pay to play that keeps the course clean and with less crowds to deal with. Hole three is very scenic and hole six provides a difficult challenge with a steep ravine and drop offs al around the basket.
Cons: Signs and navigation are definately an issue with this course. The fact that it is a pay to play, this should not be an issue, but at the time this review is written, it definately is. Very hard to navigate in it's current form, but I know improvements are being made and if they want repeat customers, then you need to make a good first impression. Teepads are dirt which are in great shape now, but I am afraid these could get worn quickly. The rough is very rough. You end up in that and sometimes you really have absolutely no shot to get out of it. It completely surrounds you cutting off all types of shots, including any sort of overhead shots. A few of the holes you really have to play it conservatively on to avoid this issue. I enjoyed some of the open holes, but didn't think some of them added much to the course design. The last four holes are basically open and thought it was a filler to get from 14 back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot going for it in it's current condition. A worthy course for the drive up from Colorado Springs or from Denver. Lots of types of shots needed with good use of the elevation. If your game includes accuracy, you should do well here, if not the rough will punish you severely. While five dollars is not a lot to pay to get a great day of disc golf, I would like to see some improvements at some point including cement teepads and signs and navigation arrows. As it stands now though, that won't stop me from coming back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What a course should be

5+    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Fishy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After driving by and seeing the new Baskets to the side of the interstate I had to make a plan to get up here. Everything is new on this course, the baskets, the tees and the layout. I'm adding pictures to show that this course should be "extinct" and re submitted as a new course. The layout is great, it's everything a mountain course should be, only without the hour plus drive. Great elevation changes, very technical holes, some good ace possibilities (the first one was hit yesterday on 7). Someone took the time to do some serious planning, and there might even be more holes in the future! I think I used every disc in my bag, there were dogleg rights, lefts, uphill, downhill, across ravines, hidden baskets, you name it it was there, the last 3 were pretty open except for the basket sitting in a tepee! We met the owner and he was very excited about it being open and was genuinely interested in our thoughts about it and what improvements we would like to see. Mike and Dave of Flygreen did an excellent job with the layout, simply the best course I've played on the front range. It really has a lot going for it, easy access off the interstate, it's exactly halfway between Denver and Colorado Springs (30 minutes). Also there are plenty of risk/ reward situations. You miss and it's heavy trees and difficult upshots, or both. There are signs guiding you from the basket of one to the tee of the next, usually just a short walk, there is enough cover so that you don't really see any other groups.
Cons: Not sure if the rough being ROUGH is a negative, you just really need to plan to wear long pants, also I wore Vans, not the best idea on Pine needles. My poor planning does not a negative make. The last 3 seemed slightly repetitious long open, but after a lot of technical through the woods, it was a good way to end the round. Signs at the teeboxes would be nice, there were a few times we had to walk up to check where we were throwing at, I'm sure they are in the works.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course, well worth the $5 to play for the day, a must stop along the front range! everyone I met was super cool from the owner on down to Mike from flygreen, I can't wait for the annual passes to become available and for them to open a pro shop. I'll add some pictures, so you can see the difference between what it was, to what it is now. Be sure to wear longer pants or not be afraid of some scratches, and good shoes. And lots of water! This course is so much not like the first 3 reviews, those were for an old course that nolonger exists except for a pile of signs.. They will probably reuse the cool Yogi Bear signs, it is Jellystone!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  All New Baskets, Layout, and Tee Pad

1    5/31/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: flygreendiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where do I start. This course is 100% all new. 18 New Baskets, 2 placements per hole. nice flat tee boxes. Well marked course with incredible elevation and terrain changes. Bring your Camera for the incredible views and vista's. Yo u will fall in love with this all new course. 40 acres of some of the best disc golf any where. Share the course with deer, elk, fox, hawks, rabbits, and so much more. The trail alone is worth hiking.
Cons: So few. It could use a cool stream or pond to make this course perfect. It also is new so the paths are not knocked down yet so you need to stay aware of where your going.
Other Thoughts: So much fun!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course!

2-4    6/15/2011   10/8/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I first played this course in October when it was a 9-hole pole course and it was hands down the worst course I had ever played. Now, it might be the best course I have ever played.

-The terrain is breathtaking and constantly changing. Trees, hills, cliffs, caves, wide open fields, oh my!
-Each hole is different and presents unique challenges that will cause you to use every disc in your bag.
-The baskets are excellent.
-The tee boxes are nice and big and all are pointed in the right direction at a basket(which isn't always the case at some courses).
-Lots of picnic tables throughout the course and plenty of shade.
-This might be the biggest course I have ever played, they have plenty of space out here and use it really well and kind of reminds me of the HP Rockrimmon course in that regard.
-There is plenty of trails and open areas cut in the scrub oack which is nice when looking for a stray disc.
-Most importantly there are are NO PEOPLE on this course since it is a pay course. No stupid high school stoners loitering and throwing beer cans all over the place. No groups on 6+ that you need to play through on. No waiting.
-Course maps are provided, make sure you get one when you check in, you'll need it.
-$5 to play is more than fair and you can also buy an unlimited season pass for $50 which I am going to do. It is totally worth it especially considering how much money they put into this course and they are going to be working on it all summer as one of the guys who helped build the course is living there and working on it full time.
Cons: -Lots of scrub oak and other rough that make it really easy to lose discs if you have an errant throw.
-Lots of blind shots. (The map helps with this)
-Difficult course to navigate from hole to hole if it is your first time (again make sure you get a map.)
-Since it is such a big course with lots of elevation change you definetly need to bring lots of water.
-Also being so big I doubt it will be a course I would want to play everyday.
Other Thoughts: Simply an amazing course. They did a great job with it and I am so happy it is finally here. Since I live in Monument this will def. replace Cottonwood as my new home course. Make sure you come and check it out ASAP and tell your friends to spread the word.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

1    7/28/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 85  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The terrain was terrific. Playing around scrub oak, and pine trees was nice for a course not in the mountains.
Cons: There are no baskets and only poles. There are no nicely cut fairways, and you risk losing a disc on every hole. The tee boxes don't point toward the holes, and they are made of loose gravel.
Other Thoughts: I SAW A BEAR! No joke, fifth hole, heard branches snap looked up and saw a bear. There have been several bear sightings here the last few weeks. Including an instance where a bear jumped into a persons car. The staff is ignorant, but very eager to improve the course. While at this course, the maintainence guy was asking how to improve the course. He said next by next summer the course should be significantly improved. Let's hope so.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Review

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: wohoops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: They have made several changes since I played there last summer. There are now baskets in place of poles, the course is more open/spread out and better maintained There are a lot of obstacles to work around (if you like that type of course).
Cons: -i still think paying $5 to play this course is insane, especially when most courses are free.
-tee boxes need improving

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.