Larkspur, CO 
Jellystone Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #11 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Quality Front Range Course

1    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I was deciding whether or not to go to Jellystone, it was hard to get a feel for the course from the reviews I read... and now I see why. This is a very unique "mountain-style" course that is not in the mountains of Colorado. The course is 18 holes with a wide mixture of shots, dipping into and cutting out of the woods various times. This is to say you will get 4 fairly open shots to begin, followed by 6 tightly wooded shots, then 2 open shots, 2 wooded shots, and 4 open shots to finish off the round. To further clarify, when I say wooded, I mean most of these are tight, technical holes/fairways with loads of trees. This is unique for Colorado, because many tight mountain courses do not have the ability for wide open fairway shots. The course also has far more deciduous than evergreen trees, making it easy for the large stands of trees to consume your disc if you throw poorly. This is one factor that makes this course harder! There are tight alleys, which if missed, can result in a very hard second shot… but even worse a buried disc. There are many blind shots here, so you may want to do some scouting, but blind shots always make a course more fun and harder.
It is easy to get to, and costs $5 to play, which is certainly well worth it. You will more than likely not see any other people while you are here… Jellystone is mostly a campground area for tourists, and the disc course is tucked off to the side, away from all other visitors. All of the baskets here are BRAND NEW.

This was certainly an extremely fun course. While I am never a fan of wide open courses, Jellystone does a good job of mixing them in with some VERY technical shots. I feel that most courses that have the technicality do not have the openness… and most courses with openness lack EXTREME technicality. This course does a great job of showing both, something unique within itself that I greatly appreciated.

Holes 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are all mostly open holes. They are certainly the longest distance holes on the course, but there is highly minimal technical challenge.
Holes 1-4 are fairly open, but each hole has the pin hidden in or behind some trees. These are also semi-hard and entertaining enough to not be considered a boring-nontechnical hole. They are certainly enjoyable holes
That leaves 8 AWESOME holes that go through the woods of Jellystone. Holes 5,6,7,8,9,10,13, and 14 are all very technical holes, many of which require different shots. I threw most (but not all) of the throws in my bag. These holes are all much shorter, but the technical aspects will certainly have you in trouble if you are the least bit inaccurate. You will need hyzers, anhyzers, s-curves, forehand flicks, and perhaps a tomahawk or two if you get into trouble. Many of these holes have elevation factors, and extremely tight windows… so be careful. Risk & reward within the woods here for sure.
Cons: The natural tees here are not of the best quality. I am normally a fan of mountain-style natural tees, however the dirt at this course is extremely soft and any amount of moisture will muck up the tee instantly. Some seem to be more developed than others, and the underdeveloped ones can be bad fairly bad.

The "rough"… or prettymuch any are that is not the fairway is THICK & DEEP. There are many spots here that could easily eat any bright colored discs. The fact that there are so many low-to-the-ground deciduous trees acts like mat that will let your disc go through, and then cover it once it does. This is truly risk and reward so be wary. Some may consider this a con… I consider it an extra factor to increase difficulty… "mountain-water-hazards" if you will.

The map they give you is semi-hard to follow. However, if you are good with directions, using the map will be easy. Having said that, the signage here is not the greatest. After every pin, there is a very small wooden sign (about 8-12 inches off of the ground) with an arrow and hole number pointing to the next hole (written in black marker). Some can be hard to find, but if you stand at the pin you just finished and look in 360 degrees, you will eventually find the sign.

The large amount of open holes is always considered a con to me. In the end, the last 4 are truly the ones that bothered me. I was having an awesome time, and it felt like a bit of a let down to play a great course an end on 4 wide open holes which greatly lacked creativity compared to the rest of the course. It was just hard to go from amazing to boring in my opinion. I understand they have to work with the land they have, but I felt a little underwhelmed at the end. At least hole 16 is in a teepee.
Other Thoughts: They did a great job using the land they had to create a very unique Colorado course. I am not sure how much more land belongs to them, but I can see this place having so much potential by cutting through the woods further to the west. It looks like they could continue the run of 6 amazing technical holes by delving further into the woods. That being said, the technical holes that are already present are top notch. A wide variety of throws, and a wide variety of views to each pin. And with two pin placements on each hole, I imagine this place can mix it up enough for locals to enjoy.

Comparing it to top-notch Colorado Mountain courses, this may not be the greatest… but it is one of my top 3 favorite courses before getting into the Rockies.

USE THE NEW COURSE MAP (6/20/11) IF YOU ARE TRYING TO LOOK AT THE COURSE!! They will give you a map when you enter to pay $5 and get a wrist band. But if you want to view the course beforehand, the new map that I uploaded is up to date. The other map on DGCR is an old course that Jellystone used to have.

This course is worth driving a decent amount for... and a definite play if you are in the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bring long pants, plenty of water and all your discs.

2-4    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of stuff going for this course. First it is an easy stop right off I-25, you can't miss it. Check in at the main office and grab some drinks, you will need it. Easy parking and a little walk to the first tee. Lots of elevation on this course that is used quiet well. Teepads are dirt but in great shape. Baskets are brand new Discatchers so no problems there. The nice birght yellow sticks out making it a bit easier to try and see the basket from the teepads. There are a few blind shots on this course. Multiple pins on all the holes that look like they would really add some more variety as they are moved about. There is quite a bit variety in terms of shots needed. A few of the holes are downhill and straight off the tee which are a bit tricky. Then there are some holes that are uphill with narrow fairways that require a good deal of accuracy. A nice flow to the design as the holes switch from long to short, open to wooded. Risk/reward is the name of the game here. If you feel really lucky and want to go for it off the teepad and get the great shot, then some birdies await, but miss and get in the rough, then good luck with even a bogey. Great views of the surrounding mountains and the terrain itself was pretty cool, especially hole three against a rock face. Pay to play that keeps the course clean and with less crowds to deal with. Hole three is very scenic and hole six provides a difficult challenge with a steep ravine and drop offs al around the basket.
Cons: Signs and navigation are definately an issue with this course. The fact that it is a pay to play, this should not be an issue, but at the time this review is written, it definately is. Very hard to navigate in it's current form, but I know improvements are being made and if they want repeat customers, then you need to make a good first impression. Teepads are dirt which are in great shape now, but I am afraid these could get worn quickly. The rough is very rough. You end up in that and sometimes you really have absolutely no shot to get out of it. It completely surrounds you cutting off all types of shots, including any sort of overhead shots. A few of the holes you really have to play it conservatively on to avoid this issue. I enjoyed some of the open holes, but didn't think some of them added much to the course design. The last four holes are basically open and thought it was a filler to get from 14 back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot going for it in it's current condition. A worthy course for the drive up from Colorado Springs or from Denver. Lots of types of shots needed with good use of the elevation. If your game includes accuracy, you should do well here, if not the rough will punish you severely. While five dollars is not a lot to pay to get a great day of disc golf, I would like to see some improvements at some point including cement teepads and signs and navigation arrows. As it stands now though, that won't stop me from coming back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What a course should be

5+    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Fishy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After driving by and seeing the new Baskets to the side of the interstate I had to make a plan to get up here. Everything is new on this course, the baskets, the tees and the layout. I'm adding pictures to show that this course should be "extinct" and re submitted as a new course. The layout is great, it's everything a mountain course should be, only without the hour plus drive. Great elevation changes, very technical holes, some good ace possibilities (the first one was hit yesterday on 7). Someone took the time to do some serious planning, and there might even be more holes in the future! I think I used every disc in my bag, there were dogleg rights, lefts, uphill, downhill, across ravines, hidden baskets, you name it it was there, the last 3 were pretty open except for the basket sitting in a tepee! We met the owner and he was very excited about it being open and was genuinely interested in our thoughts about it and what improvements we would like to see. Mike and Dave of Flygreen did an excellent job with the layout, simply the best course I've played on the front range. It really has a lot going for it, easy access off the interstate, it's exactly halfway between Denver and Colorado Springs (30 minutes). Also there are plenty of risk/ reward situations. You miss and it's heavy trees and difficult upshots, or both. There are signs guiding you from the basket of one to the tee of the next, usually just a short walk, there is enough cover so that you don't really see any other groups.
Cons: Not sure if the rough being ROUGH is a negative, you just really need to plan to wear long pants, also I wore Vans, not the best idea on Pine needles. My poor planning does not a negative make. The last 3 seemed slightly repetitious long open, but after a lot of technical through the woods, it was a good way to end the round. Signs at the teeboxes would be nice, there were a few times we had to walk up to check where we were throwing at, I'm sure they are in the works.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course, well worth the $5 to play for the day, a must stop along the front range! everyone I met was super cool from the owner on down to Mike from flygreen, I can't wait for the annual passes to become available and for them to open a pro shop. I'll add some pictures, so you can see the difference between what it was, to what it is now. Be sure to wear longer pants or not be afraid of some scratches, and good shoes. And lots of water! This course is so much not like the first 3 reviews, those were for an old course that nolonger exists except for a pile of signs.. They will probably reuse the cool Yogi Bear signs, it is Jellystone!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  All New Baskets, Layout, and Tee Pad

1    5/31/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: flygreendiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where do I start. This course is 100% all new. 18 New Baskets, 2 placements per hole. nice flat tee boxes. Well marked course with incredible elevation and terrain changes. Bring your Camera for the incredible views and vista's. Yo u will fall in love with this all new course. 40 acres of some of the best disc golf any where. Share the course with deer, elk, fox, hawks, rabbits, and so much more. The trail alone is worth hiking.
Cons: So few. It could use a cool stream or pond to make this course perfect. It also is new so the paths are not knocked down yet so you need to stay aware of where your going.
Other Thoughts: So much fun!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course!

2-4    6/15/2011   10/8/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I first played this course in October when it was a 9-hole pole course and it was hands down the worst course I had ever played. Now, it might be the best course I have ever played.

-The terrain is breathtaking and constantly changing. Trees, hills, cliffs, caves, wide open fields, oh my!
-Each hole is different and presents unique challenges that will cause you to use every disc in your bag.
-The baskets are excellent.
-The tee boxes are nice and big and all are pointed in the right direction at a basket(which isn't always the case at some courses).
-Lots of picnic tables throughout the course and plenty of shade.
-This might be the biggest course I have ever played, they have plenty of space out here and use it really well and kind of reminds me of the HP Rockrimmon course in that regard.
-There is plenty of trails and open areas cut in the scrub oack which is nice when looking for a stray disc.
-Most importantly there are are NO PEOPLE on this course since it is a pay course. No stupid high school stoners loitering and throwing beer cans all over the place. No groups on 6+ that you need to play through on. No waiting.
-Course maps are provided, make sure you get one when you check in, you'll need it.
-$5 to play is more than fair and you can also buy an unlimited season pass for $50 which I am going to do. It is totally worth it especially considering how much money they put into this course and they are going to be working on it all summer as one of the guys who helped build the course is living there and working on it full time.
Cons: -Lots of scrub oak and other rough that make it really easy to lose discs if you have an errant throw.
-Lots of blind shots. (The map helps with this)
-Difficult course to navigate from hole to hole if it is your first time (again make sure you get a map.)
-Since it is such a big course with lots of elevation change you definetly need to bring lots of water.
-Also being so big I doubt it will be a course I would want to play everyday.
Other Thoughts: Simply an amazing course. They did a great job with it and I am so happy it is finally here. Since I live in Monument this will def. replace Cottonwood as my new home course. Make sure you come and check it out ASAP and tell your friends to spread the word.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

1    7/28/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The terrain was terrific. Playing around scrub oak, and pine trees was nice for a course not in the mountains.
Cons: There are no baskets and only poles. There are no nicely cut fairways, and you risk losing a disc on every hole. The tee boxes don't point toward the holes, and they are made of loose gravel.
Other Thoughts: I SAW A BEAR! No joke, fifth hole, heard branches snap looked up and saw a bear. There have been several bear sightings here the last few weeks. Including an instance where a bear jumped into a persons car. The staff is ignorant, but very eager to improve the course. While at this course, the maintainence guy was asking how to improve the course. He said next by next summer the course should be significantly improved. Let's hope so.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Review

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: wohoops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: They have made several changes since I played there last summer. There are now baskets in place of poles, the course is more open/spread out and better maintained There are a lot of obstacles to work around (if you like that type of course).
Cons: -i still think paying $5 to play this course is insane, especially when most courses are free.
-tee boxes need improving

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center