Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - The Bear Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Like getting some in the 1970s.

1    5/30/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: davidrboy
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good because, like any time you are getting some action, it is very good. But The Bear is like getting some in the mid-1970s.

The bear sortof slides across the disco in some high-waisted skin-tight bellbottoms looking fly as can be. You've been waiting all night for a look at something like The Bear. Something that is really going to make you work for it, but you know the payoff is going to be so worth the effort.

The Bear's got something so sexy and secret about it, and you can't wait to see what is going on in there. You build up your confidence and put yourself out there.
Cons: But once you get The Bear's jeans peeled off, the whole damned thing is thicket. There's a beautiful hole in there no doubt. More than one hole, you are certain. Somewhere. In. There.

And it would be so fun to get a good look in there and know how to attack it. Get all up in there and do what you do. But it is totally obscured by tangles and brambles and overgrowth and underbrush.

Sure, you might intuitively know that it is a 4.5, but you shouldn't have to use that much imagination.
Other Thoughts: Obviously, you have to hit it. I mean, you already put in the effort to get there. But you don't have to hit it twice.

Trim it up all nice and neat though, and you've got magic. You don't need to scalp it bare, but clean it up a little.

Also, (and this is where the metaphor fails), it was too wet when we were there.

22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Bear is an apt name.

1    5/26/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 265  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2016
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bear is the monster at HBH. 18 holes of "screw you, buddy...you suck at this".

Concrete tee pad on each hole, all in decent enough repair and similar to other courses on site. Long enough, and wide enough, but starting to show wear.

If you like long, wooded, and tough, then Bear is your course. It is a beatdown that doesn't quit, but in a good way. If you're throwing well, you can score decently here. If you're not, well, you may stop keeping score altogether.

Rolling hills abound through this course, and factor into nearly every hole. It's very aesthetically pleasing, to say the least. You'll catch great views on several of the holes, and the holes themselves are quite beautiful, especially when freshly mowed.

There are multiple lines for nearly every hole, but none of them are what you'd normally call easy. Layup areas abound, as well as hero shots. At some point in the round, you'll throw nearly every shot you know how to throw.
Cons: The baskets here SUCK. Many of them are rusty crap from Woodland Greens, and the rest are a mish mash of junk. The faded yellow/black basket is difficult to find.

Even with a map, you'll need to do a lot of scouting, as the holes tend to be quite long, and there's a ton of blind shots.

What makes Bear so awesome is also what can make it so brutal. It's long. It's tight. It will wear you out, disc golf-wise, and physically. Don't be a moron like me and leave it to be the last round of your day (after copious amounts of libations).

No water...trust me, you won't miss it.

Bear tends to be the last course to get full manicuring, so depending on when you go play it (especially if earlier in the summer), it can be in terrible shape, or great shape. Later in the summer is always better at HBH.
Other Thoughts: All the courses at Highbridge are different and unique, which is awesome. Bear is the designated ass kicker. If it were a standalone course, it may be rated higher, but at this complex I fear it gets overshadowed by less brutal great courses, and actually suffers from it as a result, in my opinion.

Bear is a course you'll probably play once, and be good with it because of the other courses onsite. But you definitely should play it, just to feel the wrath!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

A course that lives up to it's name

1    10/16/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beauty - This course is one of the most scenic courses on the property, if not the most. Playing along steep ridges on the northeastern side of the property, you will get probably the best views that all of Highbridge has to offer. At one point, you can get a great overlook of Granite's holes 7-11, and it's gorgeous, as well as stunning northern views spanning miles and miles

Isolation - there is nothing like playing disc out in these woods. I'm not quite sure what it is about Bear that the other courses don't have, but it was eerie. This course stretches so far out into the depths of the woods and the sides of what feel like mountains, and leaves you with a sensation that is fantasy-like. Once I finished with the course, it felt like I just exited Narnia or something.

Challenge - this course is the hardest course I have ever played, hands down. The plethora of par fours and fives are definitely true to their numbers. The majority of holes are multi shot, where your first drive is critical in whether you will get to the pin to even have a chance at a par. 99% of the time, if you miss or kick into the trees, it's bogey at best for you. Fairways are very narrow most of the time, and even the wider ones have trees scattered about to make you be precise.

Elevation - there many intense elevation changes here, and they're gorgeous and add some great character to the course. From the long, steep rolling fairways (no. 4), to playing straight, then steep down, then up again (no. 11), and across valleys (no. 12), there's plenty of awesome ups and downs

Signature holes - three holes really pop out in my head as signatures for this course. Number three would be my favorite. While most holes on the complex all together offer one or two routes, this one offers about four. You can go (right hand throws) big hyzer, straighter hyzer, straighter anhyzer, or flick/big anhyzer. I love the options you have on this one. It took me about two minutes to decide what the heck I was gonna throw on this. Number 11 is another I really like. You start off with a relatively flat first shot, then you have to navigate a steep valley, and go back up to the pin. 12 also offers a steep valley, but instead of going down then up, your objective is to go straight over it, and the pin is atop the hill across on the other side. This hole is also one of the shorter ones compared to the rest, a little over 300 feet.

Variety - there are a couple ace runs and mid 300 foot shots thrown in the course to break up the huge holes, as well as all kinds of different direction changes and shaped fairways

Concrete teepads
Cons: Baskets - this is my no. 1 con of all for the whole thing. With the switching of Bear's and Woodland's baskets this year (a decision I still support nonetheless), Bear now has a bunch of those awful green baskets. They're ugly, and suck at catching. Just being honest. There is also at the time of this review, three different basket types on this course. The first 6 are the green ones, then 7 and 8 are black (hard to spot) DGA's, then 9 is a green one again, then the rest are Lightning DB 5's. Talk about confusing - I may be nitpicky with this cause I'm all OCD like but man that bothered me. If this basket situation can be resolved, I'll come back and add another half disc to this rating

Monotony - while I did state there IS variety with a couple short holes thrown in, I do think things could've been done to make some of the multi shot holes less repetitive. Like said in previous reviews, it started to get stale after having so many holes where you shoot to a dogleg left or right, then shoot to another, then another, then the pin. I wish a few of the par four/fives would've been a little bit more open with a few more options. Also, while holes 8 and 9, which are both aceable, provide a nice break from the long grinders, it would've been nice for them to be spread out a bit more, instead of two right in a row.

Signage - Almost all if not all tees had no signage left at all - but of course I am working to fix this issue in the near future

THICK ROUGH - some of the holes would seem almost hopeless to search for discs in if you shanked one. This course has the thickest and worst rough of any at the hill.

Very physically demanding - this course took me about 2 and a half hours to complete, and there was LOTS of strenuous hiking with all the elevation changes. Not necessarily a bad thing per say, but it's something to keep in mind if you're not up for a long, workout type round.
Other Thoughts: I was very interested to see how this course would be after reading other reviews and descriptions, and man it holds up. Even though this course throttled me, I still loved it - even with all the pros I've listed, there's just something very difficult to put your finger on, that's just mystical.

I'm happy I decided to give it a go before winter, and I'll surely be playing it again in the future. Just when you think HBH can't get better, then you find the Bear, lurking in the deep woods, ready to show you you're not as good at dg as you think, but to also teach you that it's still awesome regardless.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bear is as tough as it gets

1    5/25/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a much welcome and needed addition to the property. While I still think Gold is my favorite course, this one has the potential to be the best course. The shot variety, both lateral and vertical accuracy needed and distance control make this a true test of your disc golf skill. Many holes will have you feeling grateful for a 4, and if you have an errant shot many times even a 4 would be impossible.
I thought this course was superb for top level amateurs and pros alike.
Cons: I would guess this course is probably not much fun for beginners. So if you're newer to the sport and are easily discouraged by a high score this would be a poor course choice. The lack of tee signs and sub optimal mowing (of lack of mowing) really took away from my experience on bear. I don't blame John for not being able to maintain this course at the level of gold/granite/blueberry, but to have a course with this much challenge and potential virtually un-mowed is really disappointing.
If you were to play this blind your first time in its current state know that you will be in for a long grueling and potentially frustrating round wondering where to throw to.
Other Thoughts: If this course has high quality tee signs, was kept up as good as gold, and had distance indicators or landmarks marked with distances on the tee signs it would be a shoe in 5 rating.
Having played the courses at Selah ranch, Justin Trails, Mont du lac, Giants Ridge, Rollin Ridge, BRP, Milo McIver, Horning's Hideout, Hidden Lake, I would say this is the hardest of them all without question to score well on.
I shot 11 strokes better on Gold than on Bear, and that felt like it would not be uncommon if I was able to play here more often.
If you are a competitive disc golfer I would prioritize this course above all else in organizing my days. While every course on this property has merit, Bear is hands down the most interesting and challenging on site. Gold has glimpses of great holes like Bear, but bear is the real deal.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dogleg Left...then right...then left again...

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Among the most beautiful courses I've played, The Bear is played through long, winding wooded fairways and along the east-facing point of the mountain that houses all of the main Highbridge courses. And as with all of the other courses on this complex, the combination of natural beauty and eerie solitude contribute to the course in a very special way.

This is the consummate thinking-man's course. Even the most powerful players will be forced to lay up and play strategically; and even intermediate players will be tempted to gamble with a distance driver. Scoring well here requires a gambit of shots (including rescue shots.)

Cons: After being absolutely awed by the front 9 of this course, I found myself swearing under my breath on much of the back 9. The satisfication of teeing off with a midrange on a 700'+ hole to lay up to a tight landing area becomes monotonous after a while.
Even some of the holes in the 300-500' range, which should be par 3s, could be played as par 4s due to the incessant winding/turning of the fairways. It felt like I spent most of the round laying up, only to turn the corner and find that I had 2 doglegs left before I could get a shot at the pin.
As I recall, there was only 1 or 2 holes that were possible birdies for a player with <500' of accurate power.

The rough is punishing, no doubt, but so is the fairway in some areas. Lacing a shot up the middle and still having to root around in tall grass is frustrating - though I don't fault John for not having every inch of the fairways mowed, as it would be a full-time job considering the shear size of the complex.
Other Thoughts: Bring a great pair of shoes, a lot of water, and try to keep your groups down to minimum size. Playing with 6 people, it took us over 5 hours to complete our round. And most of us were out of water/gatorade after the 3 hour mark.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 the bear

1    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 325  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is both challenging and fun. It really challenges your accuracy with tight fairways and tons of trees. There are multiple lines to the baskets so I will be playing again to really get a good feel for the course.
Cons: As of today, the course is still incomplete. When it is complete it will be amazing. The entire course was really wet and a little tough to navigate. Also bugs were overwhelming today.
Other Thoughts: Its really a beautiful course but needs to be completed. Bring bug spray. Stay at the honka house!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Da Bear

1    3/9/2011   3/11/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 133  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I played on 3/9/11, only the first seven baskets were in the ground and the others were just laying about 60 feet behind the 7th basket.

This course is very challenging. John, the owner of HHSC, promised that the last 11 holes will be just like the first 7, so I'm convinced that Bear will be a tremendous course when it's finished that definitely has the potential to be considered one of the hardest courses in the world.

It's a tightly wooded course with the longest of the 7 holes at 735 feet. This course definitely fills the niche of the "long/wooded" course that the HHSC was lacking before it was installed.

The bright orange baskets are very easy to spot from a distance and are unlike any basket I've ever seen. They're really cool.
Cons: We played here when there was still snow on the ground and the temperature was pretty low, but I'd imagine that bugs will be pretty annoying here.

Also, the Highbridge Hills Sports Complex in general is pretty far away from any stores. So make sure you stock up on food and water and that sort of thing. The closest grocery store is around 20 miles away.

Another con is that it gets dark in Highbridge...I really wish it would be light out all day long so you could play these courses all day! But seriously, make sure you plan at least two full days to play all the courses at Highbridge. They're all wonderful and totally worth playing.
Other Thoughts: All of the courses at HHSC are beyond awesome. The owner, John Jokinen, is a really, really nice guy and will go out of his way to make sure that you have a good time during your stay at the disc golf mecca. It's definitely worth a trip here, no matter where you are!

Feel free to message me if you have any questions about the Bear or any course at Highbridge or Highbridge in general and I'll be happy to try to answer them. :)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/8/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 255  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I played here on 7/7/10, it was only 7 holes and I understand the rest will be installed soon. I know this might sound ridiculous, but based on the 7 holes I played I feel semi-comfortable rating this course as a 4 and here's why.

These are some of the toughest and most challenging holes I've played. They have long, winding, tree-lined fairways just daring you to go for it so the strokes can pile up when you realize you aren't as accurate as you think you are. These par 4 holes and the one par 5 are the kind of holes you feel great about getting par on and getting a birdie probably feels incredible. But I wouldn't know because I was no where near a birdie on any of the par 4+ holes.
Cons: Only 7 holes.

A little rough around the edges compared to the other courses here, but that's hardly a con.
Other Thoughts: John claims the rest of the course, when complete, will be just like the first 7 holes. If that's true, this will be more difficult than any course that currently exists at Highbridge. When complete this course has the potential to be 4.5-5.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not finished, but it should be great

1    6/8/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is not finished, a little less than half of it is in, but it is already a challenging and unique addition to the Highbridge complex. It is long and tightly wooded, with hilly fairways cut through thick brushy woods. There is awesome risk-reward on this course, with fair lanes but harsh punishment that makes you really think about how far you think you can get down the wooded tunnel without going off into the rough. If you do miss the fairway, it will almost certainly cost you at least a stroke.

Many of the holes have multiple lines carved through the woods that each offer their own challenges and different levels of risk and reward. This is a fantastic design feature you don't see too often, and makes it so you want to throw multiple drives to try out each of the possible shots. The elevation and trees are used well to create a good amount of variety so none of the holes that are currently in feel at all the same.

There are the standard Highbridge concrete tees on this course, and the usual basic hole signs with hole number, basic hole map, and distance. The orange baskets are pretty new and catch great.
Cons: The course isn't finished, and that's the biggest thing holding my rating down. A finished course with the same level of challenge and variety could easily be a 4+ course, I can't wait until it's finished and I can get back up here. As it is, you only get to play 7 holes then you're routed with a long walk onto the last 11 holes of Woodland which takes away from the flow of the round a little. There are stumps and brush still in many of the fairways, adding to the unfinished feeling of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is going to be an awesome course when it's finished, and already adds a unique flavor to the overall Highbridge experience. Right now it's definitely worth playing while you're at Highbridge, and my rating will certainly go way up when the rest of the course is done assuming the final 18 holes have the same challenge and variety of the current 7 holes. Beginners will hate this course, with long tough shots and unforgiving rough. Experienced players will be faced with a lot of thinking and some tough shots, and will definitely be tested here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Bear....is a Bear

1    5/21/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 16.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Bear Course at High Bridge may simply be the hardest course in the world when the back 11 holes open up in a few weeks. John Jokinen - the owner/manager/caretaker of High Bridge - has the baskets in hand for the Bear course, the fairways all cut, holes in the ground for the baskets....suffice it to say the course is nearly ready to be playable. John gave me a personal tour of the back 11 holes of The Bear, and the course will simply be an amazing challenge. John calls it the 747 course - 7 wooded holes, 4 open holes, and 7 wooded holes. While John does have the baskets in hand, the back 11 holes do need to be seeded and laid with hay, and this will be done over the next two weeks. After this is done, the course will be fully playable, albeit on hay as the grass comes in. The Bear is truly a "bear" to play, and I happened to see a harmless black bear while walking the course! (with pictures to prove it) The Bear is an extremely tight course that will play between 8,000 and 9,000 feet, depending on the final locations of some of the baskets. Some of the holes are extremely frustrating - while the Gold course features length, it is mostly open. The Bear course is unlike the other courses in that it features length and tight fairways. The course truly requires you to have reserve - you can't simply grip and rip the holes like you can at Gold. You need to be more concerned with placement. Of the current Bear holes that are playable, the second hole is perhaps the best hole on the entire property (will become the new third hole on the full course, as a short wooded hole will be between 1 and 3), as it offers three distinct and separate fairways. The third and fourth holes are brutal wooded holes (somewhat fair), while 5 and 6 offer a nice little respite from the distance. Hole 7 is another long par 4 through the woods (though a little more open). The back 11 holes will offer some amazing views and true challenges. I am giving the course a 4.5 rating without having played these holes, but having walked them and heard from John himself about the holes, I am confident in my rating and would consider upping the rating to a 5 after I got the chance to play them. However, John had already cleared the holes and created the fairways. This course is close to being done. The 4 open holes are going to offer some awesome risk/reward shots around and over ponds with fairways traversing the sides of hills and curling around protective trees. The back 7 holes will be similar to the front 7, with tight fairways and some distance holes. However, the fairways won't be unfair - it will simply be a true challenge. Hole 18 on The Bear may be the second par 6 at High Bridge, depending on the final location of the pin. As I walked down the fairway and after looking at course maps from John, the final distance looked to be between 900 and 1100 feet, carving through the woods and uphill with a gentle left curve. While this will be a wooded hole, it did look fair (as fair as a 1000 foot hole through the woods can be). The Bear, when completed in a few weeks, will truly be an amazing treat at High Bridge. John is going to send me pictures in a few weeks with the back eleven holes, but in the meantime I may post some construction pictures (and the picture of the bear I saw on the course!)
Cons: To put it bluntly, this course is not going to be a ton of fun. This course will be the most challenging course at High Bridge and may be one of the most challenging courses in the world. The Bear will require disciplined drives and will force you to play conservatively by not trying to throw 400 feet on a 650 foot wooded hole. In addition, the rough is and probably will continue to be very rough. Also, The Bear probably won't get as much play as the other courses (and therefore as much maintenance attention), and so the course may take a few more years to be fully beaten in. The rough will be rough, and the fairways may be a bit rough as well. The course will frustrate and challenge you, but it will also make you think. I have never played a course where it took me five minutes to decide what to do on the tee.....hole 2 did that to me.
Other Thoughts: My rating is dependent on the course having the last 11 holes playable in the next few weeks. The beautiful thing about High Bridge is the variation that is offered by all of the courses - Woodland is a short and technical course, Granite is a long and mostly open course, Blueberry is the fun course that combines a little bit of everything, Gold is the long and challenging course with some wooded and some open holes, and the Bear is the beast that is carved mostly out of the woods. While some people would bash the wildlife at High Bridge, I thought it was awesome that I saw a Bear near the Bear course (it was actually walking right up the fairway of number 10 on the new Whitetail course). High Bridge is a must! Bring your bug spray and be prepared to be physically exhausted.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.