Creston, IA 
McKinley Park Share
Uploaded By: xsjunkie Hole #6 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    9/5/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: air show
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.9 Years
Pros: - Beautiful city park.
- Concrete tee pads, Discatchers, and informative signs.
- Manicured turf.
- Easy to navigate.
- Shade trees by most tees.
- Tee pads being small were flush with the ground and easy to throw from.
- Hole 9 swings by car for intermission.
- Most holes have right and left lanes to shape shots.
- Beautiful trees including some majestic pines scatter the course making lane choices interesting.
- City lake enhances the beauty.
Cons: - Not many bomber holes
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. Was able to work on mids and my new sidearm. Only saw one other golfer on a Saturday afternoon.The place was totally peaceful. Course was beautifully maintained with majestic trees and the city lake being a gorgeous backdrop. Playing by a body of water always enhances the DG experience for me. I will play this course again.
This is one of those courses that makes me look to the heavens and give thanks for being alive.

Happy Putting

Good for what it is

1    7/3/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: owenrae
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: clean course
nice baskets
well maintained
Cons: short t pads
somewhat monotonous
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course for what there is to work with. The hill this course is laid out on is fairly open so the choice of where the tees and holes went didn't really make a difference. You are either throwing downhill with a few trees in the way, uphill with a few trees in the way or sidehill with a few trees in the way. There are a couple holes you throw sidehill over a small ravine but the lack of opening through the row of trees along the ravine makes these not as fun as they could be. Like another reviewer stated, there are some nice views of the lake but I don't play disc golf for the views necessarily. It is too bad the lake could not have been incorporated on a hole or two but the road around the lake would make that next to impossible.

If this was the only course I played I would be tempted to give it a higher rating but when I compare it to central Iowa courses (and what they are rated at) it is not as much fun to play. I would give it a 2.75 if that were possible though.

I would not drive out of my way to play this course again but if I were in Creston or driving through Creston I would play it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun and Relaxing Course!

1    5/27/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful course by the lake with awesome scenic views. This course is a really fun course to play and has a great variety of some short, long, uphill, downhill, and a few left and right shots. The course is very fun and can be challenging but is not too hard for beginners that are new to the sport. The course mostly plays open with a few trees that come into play and still gives you a good chance to hit some aces on some holes. The course has nice concrete tee pads with some great signs with all the hole information you need. The DISCatchers baskets are new and in great shape and are easily visible from most tees. The course is very clean and well maintained with trashcans throughout most of the course. There are restrooms and picnic areas on site that are available for your convenience. This course don't really seem to get crowded that much so you will probably have the course mostly to yourself when you play here.
Cons: The concrete tee pads are a little bit too small to get a good run up on your drive.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are in the area. You will not be dissapointed when playing here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Unknown Course

1    5/8/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very clean, well kept course
-DISCatcher Baskets
-Concrete Tees
-Trash cans every 4th hole (reason it's a clean course)
-Two pin placements every hole
-Great signage, easy to follow layout
-There is a lake for fishing, a skate park, basketball courts, playground for the kids, shelter houses and grills, restrooms and camping nearby. Great park for family weekend outing.
Cons: -Tee pads are a little small for my taste. Only about 4 X 8.
-In some places, a higher line, resulting in a longer drive, could be taken if some tree branches were trimmed.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. The front nine seems pretty easy and the back nine is tougher because of more trees and tighter fairways. I found out who designed this course, because they saw me playing and stopped to see who I was and welcome me to their course.

Jim Street and Kevin Deboer are great guys! They obviously take pride in the sport, and are currently designing another local course at Southwest Iowa Community College. I look forward to playing that one too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.