Grafton, ND 
Leistikow Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Moosejuice Hole #14 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
This course was 9 holes but is now 18 holes

2-4    4/26/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 56  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: - Pretty, peaceful park with mature trees in some parts. Much of the warm season, there are flower beds near holes 1-7.
- Tees have signs with hole #, distance, par, and fairway layout.
- Tees have rubberized pads.
- Mostly nice lauout uses the levee for elevation change on holes 1-3.
-Trees offer nice obstacle challenge on most holes
Cons: - Rubberized tees pads are too short.
- The chain baskets used here don't catch discs as well as double chain used in more modern baskets. Still they work fine and their design is a novelty
- Hole 18 is too close to a picnic table. It should be moved closer to the tee to avoid hitting people eating.
Other Thoughts: The course uses two basket styles, both of which appear homemade. The first 8 holes and hole 18 use and old single chain with a very tall post, about six feet tall. It tends to deflect shots that hit toward the sides of the chains. The remaining holes use a nicer style basket but it's abnormally low. The basket is nearly on the ground.

 

1    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: Arnie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well marked.The first 3 holes use the small hills, very nicely. The rest of the course is flat.There was no waiting for others.
Cons: I find the homemade baskets, a little to tall. Could use more chain. The Teeboxes are in a rough state. A combow of grass, dirt, rocks & platsic. Safety is a slight problem, on holes 3, throwing across the road.Holes 7,8,& 9, you must watch out for other people. Only had 1 disc that fell out of the bottom of the basket, after the chains caught it.
Other Thoughts: A very nice park. Room for parking is nice.I subject that you walk the course first, during the daylight. I would like to go back and play again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Immaculate Garden

1    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: mrbeaudette
Played: 59  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous park, flowers, very nice grass. Expected short holes but the length was pretty good, relatively challenging.
Cons: I was planning on rating it higher then got to the last three holes that played dangerously inside a picnic area. Definitely made for some nervous throws. The holes before were fine, however also pretty close to the road in the park.
Other Thoughts: You thought I was gonna say the baskets were a con, but I was pleasantly surprised. While, yes, they were installed a little tall, the homemade baskets can catch, and were a pretty big target to hit. The whole detour was 1 hour, with just me playing, but was pretty fun and a good experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Definitely worth the stop

1    6/19/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: beannis
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Lots of trees which make getting to the basket a little challenging - which can be fun and frustrating. The baskets must be home made and about 7 feet tall, it was interesting to use them.
Cons: Some of the pars are a little high. The park could use a few more garbage cans along the course.
Other Thoughts: I prefer cement tee boxes, but these were covered with a tarp, they were okay, although a little small.

Definitely happy that we stopped in on our way to Grand Forks. Looking forward to playing again on our next trip down.

Uploaded some photos to share.

And I agree with Nitro's review below. Increasing to 18 holes were be great. There does seem to be enough room to do so.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/17/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: Nitro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first three holes have fun elevation changes.
Good mix of trees and open areas.

Signs at Tee boxes are very nice.
Cons: Cement tees would be a great improvement.
Other Thoughts: Nice looking course. The park is well up kept. The flowers are wonderful in the summer.
There appears to be enough room for 9 more holes, expanding the course would be a great addition.
The baskets were made by some of the high school students. They are very nice, but are a little higher then normal. Makes for some challenging shots. Especially on hole three when the whole is on the top of a dike, not giving you a safe landing for a miss.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.