Middlebourne, WV 
The Timberdoodle Thicket Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #3
3 / --   3 / 243ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Gentle uphill all the way.



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My favorite course in the area

5+    10/1/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: Kveak
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Great layout
-Great mixture of open and wooded shot
-Beautiful area
-All baskets have flags on them for greater visibility
-Short technical course.
-Owner of the course will play a round with you sometimes
-Private
Cons: -Out of the way
-Some tees are connected and can get a little confusing
Other Thoughts: -Pay to play, but well worth it. ($3 per round of $5 for all day)
-Overall my favorite course in my area (Parkersburg/Marietta)

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Off the Beaten Path, and Totally Chill

1    12/24/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Scenic course set on beautiful terrain featuring woods and some spectacular views.
• Solid course design with terrain changes that come into play on pretty much every hole. Numerous sloped greens make you choose between laying-up and going for it - lots of birdie to bogie opportunities.
• Good shot variety with most holes offering a more than one line - but you have to execute. If you can't hold your line off the tee, it'll could take some impressive recoveries to save par.
• Nice shot variety with some unique holes, like the double mando.
• IMO, 8 is the signature hole. Has you throwing from a hilltop tee, down to a basket 315' away. Aceable, but hit a tree and bounce left, and you could end up all the way down the ravine with one helluva recovery and looking at a bogie. I could spend all day running the basket from this tee.
• No other courses within 30 miles or so.
• Camping/cabins available on site for a reasonable fee.
Cons: • Tees weren't bad, but concrete pads would be an improvement.
• Steep slopes are truly slippery when wet.
• Course is quite out of the way… you're not gonna just happen across this place. You'll only find it if you're looking for it (then again, some people might say that's a plus).
• The road you travel to get here is a narrow, twisted, turning, hilly road with little room for error… seems like it came right out of a Dr. Suess book. I DON'T SAY THIS LIGHTLY: If you aren't familiar with this place, don't plan on arriving at night; you're likely to end up in a ditch or end up with a tree or a deer as a hood ornament.
• You have to ford the creek to get to the course; not sure you'll make it in a low riding car- glad I had an SUV
Other Thoughts: Anything but your typical park course, The Timberdoodle Thicket's rustic charm oozes out all over the place. The atmosphere and fun factor here more than make up for what it lacks in championship pedigree. The hard work and TLC that went into this place is obvious - wonderfully done for the resources at hand. I've played several park courses that did a whole lot less with a whole lot more. The dogs (Dufus and Dakota) are friendly and won't touch your discs. They were always around, yet somehow were never a factor in the round, and just add to the appeal.

Don't be discouraged by the homemade PVC baskets you see when you arrive (when I first saw them, I was thinking WTF? ) They aren't what you play on…baskets on the course are fine.

BOMBERS BEWARE: If big "D" is your idea of a fun round: keep moving. Distance is not a requirement at Timberdoodle. Even the longer holes (there are 3 over 400') are easily makeable in 3 (even for a noodle-arm like myself) This a finesse course that favors accuracy and execution to score well.

Worth the 50 mile drive from I-77.
Mike & Al were superb hosts and the course is great. Job well done!


Rescored: In retospect, I think I was a tad overzealous with a 4.0 ... would give it a 3.75 if I could, but alas, I can't. That being said, this place is still tres cool, has a vibe all it's own and a special place to visit worthy of straying from the highway for.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I didn't want to leave

1    5/29/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1146  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 26.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All the little things that one could think of is here to make your visit absolutely enjoyable.

Beautiful mountain setting.

well groomed, long and flush to the ground tee pads. They even had a large rock in front of the tee pointing in the direction of the basket.

some very unique holes. like the one that is a short, straight and a double mando that your flight has to cross in between the two marked trees, with a drop zone 25 ft in front of trees and 25 ft. in front of basket, very entertaining hole.

hillside slopes very well utilized for basket placement as well as driving up and over.

home-made handrails one can use while walking down stone path.

friendly dogs that won't bother you unless you bother them (like I did when I put water in a disc so the dog could drink from, I then I had a buddy that walked the rest of the DGc with).

cold water, soda available for sale at property
Cons: no cement tees.

only one set of tee pads. (shorter DGC for some tastes, not mine)

The owner Mike doesn't get to play as often because he's always making improvements to the course (which is a "pro" for us a "con" for Mike) or the property.

I didn't notice to many trash cans, but why would anyone litter anyways (here or anywhere for the matter)
Other Thoughts: To get to the property one has to drive down a country road that if your not carefull you could easily go off the road as its pretty curvy and hilly and then, One has to drive over a creek and up a steep gravel road to get to parking lot. But the property has plenty of room for primitive camping, has a few cabins and has a trailer that could be used as a band stage for some outdoor concerts. I didn't want to leave but if your not staying overnight here you better leave before it gets dusk because the roads east to rt. 50 are just as treacherous as the road leading to Mike's property, but very well worth the trip.

Thanks Mike and Allen for all you've done. I'll spread the word that this is must stop for all disc golfers and/or friends of disc golfers that just might want to camp for a weekend or more.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Diamond in the Rough

1    3/19/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: jjohans
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes. The course is built on a mountain with some high tees.
Interesting hole placements.
A lot of thought and hard work went into this course. They selectively cut trees to create some difficult paths to carve your disc. They are always working to improve.
Beautiful WV scenery.
Incredibly friendly owners that are happy to show you around.
Great camping facilities.
Great dogs that don't bother your shots.
Cons: It's a little off the beaten path, but well worth the trip. If you have 4 wheel drive, bring it. You do have to drive across a creek and up a pretty steep mountain. I did make it in my Honda Accord, but it would have been easier in a Subaru.

As long as you can throw straight, your disc won't go over a cliff into a ravine. Unfortunately, I can't throw straight so I did a lot of steep hiking on this course. Part of the fun!
Other Thoughts: Unless you're used to wooded courses, I'd stick to hard plastic on this one. I really ate up a couple DX discs. Then again, I really like to drive directly into trees. I think I want to create my own disc called "Tree Magnet".

Thanks Allen and Mike!!! Had a great time!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf in the middle of nowhere

1    12/31/2010   1/3/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Timberdoodle is a beautiful, secluded course located in the hills of West Virginia. The design of the course incorporates elevation changes and shot shaping on every single hole and even though this course is heavily wooded there are no pinball holes. The fairways are very clear of debris and underbrush. Each hole usually provides multiple paths off the tee and has a very balanced FH vs. BH design overall. The hilly terrain has allowed the designers to incorporate some real danger to errant discs. On a many holes there are some steep drop-offs to punish discs that leave the fairway or pins that are setup with a good decline behind them to increase the pucker factor on putts.

Navigation of the course is very easy and every basket has a large orange flag on top that makes it stand out in the woods. I think that the flag is visible from almost every tee.

A lot of obvious work went into this course and it is much appreciated. The tees are gravel but of adequate size and are surrounded by nice, large stone borders. At every tee there is ample seating available, buckets for garbage and a tee sign providing the hole number and distance. Where there are steep inclines stone steps have been carved out and awesome hand made handrails have been installed.

Hole Number 8 was the highlight of the round for me. It is a 315 ft. downhill shot that starts out in a tunnel with a pretty narrow gap and opens into a wide clearing . You take a bunch of switch back stairs down to get to the green. There is a great view when you are standing on the tee.

Timberdoodle Thicket has a very high fun factor to it. It was a complete pleasure to play and I am looking forward to going back.
Cons: This course has some obvious flaws that will keep it from being a championship course but by no means diminishes how fun a course it is to play. First off is that the course is not too hard, with too many short holes (6 under 200 ft). The good thing is that these short holes require some decent shot shaping to get an easy deuce.

Hole 9 or 10 has a 3 ft wide double mando that is 120 ft out on a 138 ft. hole. It is very difficult to get through on your drive but really easy to layup and run a long two putt. This was just not a hole that I was very enamored with since I am never a fan of Mandos.

Hole 5 after you finish you need to walk all the way back to the tee since the tee for #6 is right next to 5's. Also there is a tee on the back 9 that is shared by two holes.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I got to play our round with one of the course designers, Allen (or Alan??) who lives in a sweet cabin near the entrance. He was a consummate host and really made the round even more fun and enjoyable. I was grateful for his company and knowledge of the course.

Timberdoodle is a very sweet little pet friendly, disc golf haven with camping on site. There are some little cabins, tent spots and some RV hook ups. There are places to grill, and a little stage for bands to play.

This place is a little off the beaten path and will be a couple of years getting established but I think it was well worth the trip. A couple things to note is that the course is 3 dollars for a round or 5 for all day and that the road that heads up the hill to #1 can get super muddy if it has been raining. We parked at the bottom and walked up with Allen. Also if you see some dogs around don't worry they are super friendly and will play the round with you if you want them to and no joke the boxer (Dakota) would sit down and be still every time I went to take a shot. She was awesome. A great time all around on new years eve and as Allen said "What a great way to end the year!"



14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/10/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: Dave Wiltsey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course. It is short but not dinky. The elevation changes, trees, and strategicly placed baskets makes it challenging. Nice tees signs and tee pads. The owners are friendly and were willing to take time to show us around.
Cons: Some of the hills are nasty if you get off the fairway. Also, a few of the tee pads are extremely close together.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course and I highly recommend it. The owners/designers have put an extreme amount of work into this course and it really shows. If your looking for a fun course with a scenic and relaxed atmosphere then this is the place

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.