Ida Grove, IA 
Ida Grove City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short and short?

2-4    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: nicanor72
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -clean park
-easy to navigate
-not crowded
Cons: -SHORT!!
-Par is not marked
Other Thoughts: Fun course for first timers, but if you have played a few times you will be driving past the basket on every hole except 9. Good practice course for midrange.

 Ace

1    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 343  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I got my first ace of the season!
-Many aces and birdie attempts.
-Some shot variety, hole 8 is around a pine tree and hole 9 is actually a challenge. Hole 4 is the other slightly long hole as well.
-Nice park, playgrounds, well maintained.
-There are signs with the sponsors as well as hole number
-Baskets are legit
Cons: -Very short
-No tees
-Other park activities might get in the way
-Not too much shot variety
Other Thoughts: I don't have a lot of complaints about this course. It is just the simplest of city parks until you get to the last hole. I wouldn't be surprised if Pros could shot under 18 here. It is very short, 7 holes are around 100 feet or maybe shorter. The course is nice and all but you can't have a good rating with that short of a course. It is a good pitch and putt practice course. You wouldn't even need to change most of the tees for an ace race. I had 1 ace and 3 metals in 2 rounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better than nothing

2-4    6/5/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2011
Pros: -Pleasant park setting
-Baskets in good shape
-Plenty of shade
-Picnic shelter and playground in the park
Cons: -Little variety in shots required
-Little to no challenge
Other Thoughts: This course was a local boy's eagle scout project, and he's probably never played disc golf so you can't blame him for the holes all being really short. Plus, there isn't a lot of space in the park. If you rarely break par (like me) this course will be your chance.

  Driver not required

2-4    8/8/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: mancld
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Well maintained, quiet park.
Nice baskets.
Cons: Short, I mean really short with ace runs on holes 1-8. Very few trees with only hole 8 requiring much skill. Easy deuces except when you overthrow the drive by 50 feet.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 is a nice technical hole with the basket right behind a large tree. Hole 9 is a good length with some large trees to throw around. It's a quick 9 holes and you only need to bring a putter and a mid-range. It gave me something to do after work in a town with out much else. Worth stopping at if you are driving through but don't bother going out of your way for it.

 Cute is about the only word

1    8/17/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cute little course provided a decently fun round of pitch and putt (or basically long putts) practice.

Ace/Birdie opportunities. Less hole 9, I didn't have to work for a birdie out there, I could have birdied most of them with my eyes closed I think. A perfect opportunity for the best 9 hole score of your life, or to break the world record of most holes played, or just a quick 9 holes passing through town.

Some shot variety. Hole 8 required a short right to left approach (avoiding cars in the process), Hole 9 was technical in its length and avoiding trees, most of the rest of the holes had a tree or two (or picnic shelter) to avoid.

Amenities. Nice little park with picnic shelter and ample parking.

Baskets are brand new, looks like they just got installed last week. Tee signs are all in nice shape (except hole 9 was missing)
Cons: Short. Each hole was 100-150, except hole 9 which may be approaching 300 feet.

Other user areas. Hole 1 uses the picnic shelter as an obstacle, hole 8 crosses a parking area, I nearly skipped a shot off the roof of a nice car.

Other Thoughts: Worth a stop if passing through town, otherwise not worth driving out of the way for.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.