Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Grey Fox Share
Uploaded By: gabe32 Hole #13
3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I think this is my favorite course yet.

1    8/1/2013   6/1/2014
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome, clean, beautiful, secluded park. Well-thought out holes.
Cons: None that I can recall.
Other Thoughts: It's been a long time since I played this, but I had to chime in on the reviews and agree with how awesome this course is. Halfway through playing, I said to my brother "this should be the way everyone is introduced to disc golf".

Is this a championship-caliber course with epic holes and a massive variety of challenges? Nope. But this course is incredibly fun to play, and in what I consider one of the most ideal surroundings for a public park. This isn't to say the course isn't challenging. It's the right balance of accessibility and challenge.

Like my review title says, this may be my favorite course yet. And I'm not even sure it's the best course I've played, but the entire experience from the location, the setting, the holes and the entire presentation was everything you want in a disc golf course.

Definitely worth a drive there if you are within any reasonable distance. And if you are local, you should be playing there regularly for sure.

Oh, and skip the other 9-hole course. It's a major dud.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

4.7

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 100  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think this might be one of my favorite courses ever... It features an awesome variety of shots with two sets of pins. Fox River Park is massive, well maintained, and is beautiful! There's a lot of minor elevation and this course has about an even distribution of wooded and open shots. Here's what I really liked:

*Very isolated from the rest of the world... Being from the Chicago suburbs, playing disc golf amongst lots of other park users is something that I've grown used to, so this was a nice change.

*Distance variety... ranging from the 180s to the 500s. Every shot/disc in the bag used here.

*Fun elevation!

*Shares a park with a warmup course, so that's always nice.

*Great workout hiking up and down the hills/fairways

*The town seemed kind of cool... might be a fun place to spend a weekend

*Definitely some challenging holes, but not insanely difficult.
Cons: *A few tee signs were missing
*Hole 11 brought a tennis court into play which was the only time the course seemed to interact with other park users
*Very buggy
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course, and if you have time the other course on the Fox River Park property

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: steveo69
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: wide range of shots.
very challenging.
lots of up and down hill shots.
well keeped.
Cons: later in the summer you may want to make shure that you have extra time to find that bad shot you had.
Other Thoughts: the most fun i have ever had on a course!! No shot is even close to the same. Wich makes for a intersting round.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC COURSE

5+    11/27/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: Jim O'Neill
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fantastic Park, Kenosha County is Discgolf friendly, the park is groomed and well taken care of. They even blow away the Leaves, wood chips all over muddy areas, shoveled tees in winter, like a country club but free. The ground soaks up rain and the wind is blocked by trees so the conditions are always good. The course is a great design by Terry Miller, the DG Guy, always a challenge. You must be accurate because you can go from a possible tee shot for a birdie to a bogie so fast. The elevation is perfect, not many flat holes. There are two pin positions for each tee, this makes for good variety. The position of the baskets drastically changes the personality of the hole. Going from all short positions to all long makes it feels like a totally different course, so visit often. People come from a long ways off to play this one. Put a little $ in the box by first hole.
Cons: BUGS, bring spray, water is oily bring bottled water.
Other Thoughts: A must play!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Done

1    10/22/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed with nice hole/shot variety, also nice variety of distance & pin placements with many blind pins. The course offers a descent challange & still playable at any level. The layout is easy to navagate, there are signs & score cards with hole maps, also arrows and markers help some with pin placements & to next hole. The park & courses were very easy to locate.

Very well maintained with new high end baskets, there was a grounds crew on site the day I played driving around in carts, there are ample trash cans & restrooms.

The tee pads are level with grainy cement surfaces offering supurb footing (most important for any course) & are wider at the back & tapper narrower to the front. I was impressed with how obstructions are presented in the design, most holes have it just right, not too many & not too few, with one or two short & open for an ace chance.

There's some elevation changes with up & down hill shots, wooded holes, tight & fairly open holes, hidden & covered pins, slight & sharp doglegs. An overall pretty nice mix. Even with the 9 & 18 hole courses in the ground there is still a lot of space for more holes, the place has a lot of potential.
Cons: Only a few minor issues here. The signs are just a bit crude, but do get the job done. There's no water in play on the course, not much as far as rough either, although not much is better than too much. There's a lot of space between a few of the holes esp. the back 9 had a couple long walks.
Other Thoughts: This course was nicely done on first effort & improvements here would not be at all difficult.
It is a nice example of how things should be done with courses in our area of the country.

I think I picked a perfect day to drive out to play, aside from the perfect fall weather & no inscets, the grounds crew was changing basket placements just behind me, so I got to play 2 rounds with different placements, pretty sweet! The crew was friendly & helpful & mindful enough to not hang right on my tail as they were changing the baskets.

Some of the holes are challenging, some average and a couple are on the easy side, I don't see any of this as a problem, they have to cater to everyone off the line, eventually they can add multiple tees for different skill levels, just hit up the donation box.

After writing this review, one of the members here mentioned that they use screws to indicate which pin placement & they alternate by distance starting from hole 1 (short/long or long/short).

It only ended up being an hour drive so I'll definately be back, well worth the drive & I recommend as a must play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Legit Golf

1    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole offers some sort of challenge, in other words there are no throw away holes. Elevation adds a unique factor for a course in this area, and it plays into the majority of the holes. There are some challenging tunnel shots, and trees add challenges on every hole. Choosing a good line is key. Shooting off line will lead to bogeys or worse; the course is fair but punishes bad shots accordingly. There is no thick rough, thorn bushes, or undergrowth to frustrate a player looking for an errant drive. Discs are easy to find even after bad shots. The course flows perfectly, signs direct you to the next tee if it isn't clear where to go. The tees are great and the park is well maintained. Many memorable holes come to mind but 18 is definitely the standout. The tee is elevated 25 or so feet above the fairway which is dotted with tall, mature trees. You can bomb it, but you also have to be accurate. You can not call yourself a legitimate disc golfer if you don't empty your bag the first time you play this hole. Best course in the area hands down.
Cons: Not many. One or two holes were laking signs, and for a few holes you have to walk a ways up the fairway to locate the basket. The walk between 15 and 16 was confusing and the sign didn't really help in this case. Thats it.
Other Thoughts: I would list the walk between the 17th and 18th holes as a con but it is definitely worth it, you realize this when you step onto the 18th tee. Every single hole is a blast. Many types of shots are required. The fun factor is definitely there. Play this course if you live anywhere close.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding!

5+    7/30/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: beamrider
Played: 112  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads
Two alternate baskets locations per hole (short, long)
Challenging course design
Quality scorecards with map provided
Beautiful piece of land with rolling hills and elevation changes
Well-maintained park
Friendly and thoughtful park staff
Separate from other park activities

Cons: Mosquitoes can be bothersome. Bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: A terrific new 18 hole course in a magnificent, beautifully landscaped park. Overall I rate the Grey Fox as my favorite course in the Illinois/Wisconsin area, and second only to Flip City (Shelby, MI) in the Midwest. I compare it to Brown Deer (Milwaukee, WI), as both are challenging courses in beautiful parks, but I give the edge to Grey Fox due to the variety of holes and the scenic terrain.

Fox River Park already had a nine hole course, the Red Fox, which is a nice course for beginners and casual players. Now, with the Grey Fox, we see a dramatic step up in challenge and difficulty in the front nine, and even more so in the back nine. At face value you could say the park has something for all players:

Red Fox - beginners
Grey Fox front nine - intermediate
Grey Fox back nine - advanced

The park's scheme to date has been to alternate the baskets (short, long, short, etc.) and then after a few weeks reverse them (long, short, long, etc.). I view this as a positive since you get a chance to play all the baskets.

My three favorite holes:

1. Hole 7. Perhaps the toughest hole on the front nine. From an elevated tee, the trick is to get your drive through a narrow opening with a tree ceiling. From there the hole opens up. The 260ft. short basket is an immediate blind dog leg right. The 411ft. long basket is a long dog leg right with the basket tucked in a corner of a small opening.

2. Hole 15. Perhaps the toughest hole on the course. The tee shot is through an opening to the right and then through a gap to the left. The 386ft. short basket is an extreme left. The 495ft. long basket is through a strand of trees to the edge of a hill. If you overthrow your approach or putt you may go way down the hill.

3. Hole 18. A very picturesque hole. From an elevated tee the shot is through a clearing, with a few trees to negotiate, to a moderately wooded grassy area with more trees to negotiate. 371ft. short basket. 484ft. long basket. Beautiful finishing hole.

I highly recommend the Grey Fox!!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: dracimus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I consider myself a novice player, the course is pretty nice arranged, it even tell you where the basket goes with the sign (arrows). many trees, (I'm novice) my disc loves to bang on the trees. but for experienced, you shouldn't have problem hitting the tree often.

Cement tee's
Sign on each course
Some basket are behind tree.
Nice well maintained park
Some high hills, have to throw disc a bit higher


Cons: BUGS!!, they love to swarm all over, bring spray, or go play on fall/spring season.

Most course are straight and "L" to left mostly only one basket on each course, you will see A/B on course sign it is either A or B.
Other Thoughts: Nice honest disc golfer player, I lost something and the disc golf player has simple returned my items

Defiantly will go again to improve my throwing skill.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.