Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Grey Fox Share
Uploaded By: gabe32 Hole #18
3 / 371ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Challenge

2-4    6/3/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great technical course with few needed birdie ops, #13 is probably my favorite hole on the course with the island OB scenario
Cons: Overgrowth makes you wish it was just water(OB) at some spots as it can get out of hand if not played safe
Other Thoughts: Risk/Reward comes to mind

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 98  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of shot selections throughout the course.
Red Fox Family Course- great for warming up with mid ranges and putters
Elevation changes and fairways that require different types of throws for both left & right handed throwers
Separate scorecards for front and back 9 holes with accurate distances & course layout- great for reference!
Great usage of park for a course layout- utilizes trees/woods very well and most fairways/paths were natural and did not require the park dept to cut/clear out many trees which is great.
Very well maintained- wood chips, cement tee pads that have plenty of room which is awesome!
Multiple pin locations!
Cons: Speed of play- front 9 plays pretty quickly but back 9 can be a little more time consuming because of challenging fairways/gaps. Shouldn't be a deterrent for playing this course though!
Rumors from other players compared it to Brown Deer- did not think this related to Brown Deer at all.
Other Thoughts: Great course but it's a little far away for me since I'm from West Allis- about a 50min trip for me.
Very easy to get there for players from WI & IL- saw about the same number of cars from both states, which is great to see!
For Red Fox you really only need a light fairway driver/mid range and a putter. Definitely recommend using it to warm up before playing Grey Fox!
Very impressed by the hole signs and scorecards- high quality and professionally done. Gives a great image for the course designer (Terry Miller) and Park & Rec Dept.
16 is a little challenging to find- but both of the fences on sides of the parking lot point you in the right direction- walk through the parking lot, up the hill and the tee pad is next to a slide.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simply an enjoyable round

1    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course in a very nice suburban park. Wonderful terrain for disc golf with elevation changes throughout the course to increase interest, challenge and eye appeal. Not necessarily breathtaking, Grey Fox is certainly scenic enough to provide a pleasant walk in the park. Allows you to use a full complement of discs and requires a solid shot making repertoire to shoot par for a complete round. Although the front and back play differently, on the whole, Grey Fox is a pretty balanced course in every facet of the game, and makes for pleasant round.

Front nine starts out with some fairly open holes, and allows you to open up without major fear of blowing par if your tee shot doesn't go as planned. 1-9 play pretty quickly and bring you back to the parking lot before setting off in a different section of the park for the back nine, which plays both longer and tighter.
• Alternating short/long pin placements for odd/even holes: ramps up the challenge without kicking my butt, and pretty much ensures a decent mix of short and long holes. Alternate locations really change the look and feel of the hole, but I'm not sure how much they'd really change your shot off the tee.
• Nails the basics: Large brushed concrete pads provide sure footing. Great signage shows distance and layout, and makes navigation easy (except for two spots). Baskets in great condition. Fairways nicely mowed and grass was mowed to help get to the next tee on a couple of holes. Full color score cards with course maps. Perhaps non-essentials, but these things do make for a nicer outing.
• Restrooms located between 15 and 16.
Cons: • Had trouble finding tees 16 and 18. Had some locals not told me about 16, I'd probably spent 15-20 min looking on my own. From basket on 15: go through parking lot to playground - 16's tee is right behind the slide.
• While I liked 14, the long pin is placed a bit too far to the left given how sharply the fairway turns there. Doesn't seem realistic to get to from the fairway unless you lay-up to the corner and go over with your putter.
• I didn't mind it, but I can see how better players might feel the front nine lacks sufficient challenge, perhaps making it too easy to recover from a bad tee shot to save par.
Other Thoughts: Plays like two 9 hole courses with completely different personalities. Separate score cards for front and back only serve to distinguish them as distinct courses. Front nine is relatively easy, plays fairly open, and averages 60-70' less per hole than the back. 10-18 are more wooded, requiring more distance through tighter fairways. Even when things do open up a bit, they employ more trees to avoid; resulting in significantly greater challenge than the front.

Lucky enough to chat with course designer before playing; nice to know they didn't pull any trees to put the course in… all the fairways are natural, requiring nothing more than mowing. In my opinion, Grey Fox sacrifices pure challenge for increased playability - I'm fine with that. Not every course has to be the ultimate challenge. The back nine still offers genuine challenge. Besides, what's wrong with a friendly game for a change of pace from the "stay on the fairway or pay in blood and/or lost plastic"? Memorable holes for me were 12, 13, 14, and 18.

Didn't find many cons on this course, and given what others listed as cons, I simply didn't experience them, or see things a bit differently:
• Not crowded when I played, but sure, waiting for tees is a drag, and really slow play can mess with your rhythm if you're having a good round. Possible solutions: MP3 players or good company to chat with. If you're really affected by this sort of thing, come early in the day.
• I thought the open holes offered a few ways to attack them but tight holes always limit the lines you can take. I see nothing wrong with forcing a specific line to challenge a player's ability to execute that line for par or birdie.
• Bugs were a bit of a nuisance, but no worse than on the other five courses I played the same weekend at less buggy times of day. I played here early in the evening in July, about the worst time of day for mosquitos.

Well worth a buck or two on the donation box. Course is well cared for and in great shape.

CAMPERS: Only 8 miles down Wilmot Road from Chain O'Lakes State Park (Spring Grove, IL). Put up a tent and take a hot shower in a private stall for just $12 a night, with no additional park entrance fee to pay. Campground is only 2 miles from a good burger.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Play Grey all Day, leave Red for the Dead.

2-4    6/26/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nicely manicured park setting, a bit of diving into and out of some surrounded super wooded goodness, and a great balance of short, long, left, right, straight, uphill, downhill, across hill, and holes with multiple routes. It's beautifully manicured to the likes of Sussex, Token Creek, etc, but offers a bit better variety and balance. The elevation is utilized better than at Token, the variety and balance is better than the more open Sussex, and there are some absolute monster holes out there like #18, #4 is really fun to crank a big s curve out on, #12 can beat you down, #13 has a great island OB green, and #15 and #17 long are some brutal holes.
Memorable holes…
#15 in the long position is a beautifully framed hole from the tee to the green with the rolling elevation and slight hint of a cheater route along the far left.
#18 is a great wooded monster off the elevated tee. I was lucky enough to hit no trees in three rounds and takes 3's each time.
#4 in the 'straight ahead' position offers a great RHBH s-curve shot for an ADV player to make amazing ace runs on. I was lucky enough here also to park one, and put another pin high in the bushes after skipping past the pin from right to left.
Multiple pin positions. The differences in pin positions is huge and really offers great variety, and compliments the features of the park while testing your skills on different levels.
Not much in terms of poison ivy or anything, I saw just a few plants.
The tee pads are nice, wide, long, textured concrete pads that are flush with the ground.
Cons: Lack of multiple tees. Especially in an urban park area like this where noobs, kids, and other family member are gonna have more access to playing a round. Sure, I bet the Red Fox was built for this purpose, but if you're gonna send your wife and kids over to play the lame Red Fox while you enjoy the Grey Fox, you may as well have left them home. This is one of the biggest cons I will always list. Not only as someone who travels with family (wife and young kids who could use shorter tees), but as someone who seeks more variety and balanced offerings on a course. Since only one pin is in the ground at a time (despite multiple placements) one tee lets you play only one layout. For some variety, that second tee offers another complete hole, and as many more options per tee pad as pin placements per hole. Multiple tees can greatly increase variety as far as design/layout, as well as skill variety.
The general topography of the course introduces the only other con keeping this from having a higher rating. Because there are no huge downhill bombers, no ponds, no creeks, no sharp ravines, etc, the course cannot offer that type of variety. While I think the design could have been altered and used a bit more of the very wooded ravines within the area (like left of #6 and left of #12), it may have been a parks department limitation.
Despite the alternate pins offering much different variety, the greens are bland and boring. Mostly wide open, few trees if any, and not perched on any slopes or extreme areas that beg for rollaways.
I think more defined OB (both marked and designated on the tee sign) would add another element of skill and variety. Playing the road should be a no-brainer OB, but I don't recall seeing it on the signs. Some other artificial OB areas could be added as well like the long grass buncr style areas on the open holes.
Some vandalism/chuckerness can be seen in the likes of litter, graffiti, broken bottles, broken equipment, etc, but that the double-edged sword of a popular course in a population center.
Because of the popularity, traffic, other park users, etc, I did not find the ability to truly lose myself in the game here (in any of the 3 rounds we played that day) - too many distractions. I prefer remote, secluded, and quiet courses.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and the variety it offered very much. We came down for the day, got in a quick round on Red as we waited for the rest of the crew, then proceeded to play here 3 rounds, after deciding unanimously after our first round that we'd much rather stay here than head up to Parkside.
As a traveler, I would not regret going out of the way to play here. With all the traffic Milwaukee-Chicago, this course has potential to appeal to many players and it is worth the trip. Overall not an amazing or stunning course, but a completely well rounded and balanced offering that will test many skills in and out of your bag.
I'll say again that multiple tees really add the extra element of variety and balance, as well as fun for players of all skill levels. The tees now are probably white/blue level and could be accented with both longer or shorter tees in most instances.
It rated at 3.85 in my spreadsheet and I'm gonna bump it up because I think it's better than 3.5 courses I've played.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

5+    5/14/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 421  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, which has lots of hilliness and plenty of forest. A lot of other things going on at the park, with pavilions, parks, and walking trails, so it can get pretty busy.
- Good mix of tree density throughout, the course starts off in a pretty open area with thick patches of rough and other large trees to force some interesting lines. Hyzers and anhyzers, and two holes with some elevation changes.
- The rest of the holes, and the vast majority, have lots of woods to deal with. Most of them have well defined fairways, where throwing a straight shot is a must. Great balance of hyzers and anhyzers, both long and short, with a few shooting out of the woods and others shooting deeper in. This can lead to some tight approach shots even from a nice fairway drive. Noticeable elevation changes on numerous holes really spice things up even more. #12 is a beast with a bomber tunnel leading to a sloped green with some guardian trees.
- Other holes do have obstacles in the fairway, or more complicated lines. A tight RH flex/thumber/utility shot uphill on #6, the downhill RH anhyzer to the road-OB island green on #13, the big valley shot through or around massive pines on #15, and the big elevated teepad on #18 are all top-notch holes.
- Greens are very fair here, there are few protected baskets but getting there is the trick. A few rollaway greens, mostly from inclined approach shots.
- Good variety in hole length, especially with some long pin positions; 6 over 400' and of varying difficulty. Should be plenty of spots for drivers, for all arms.
- Good teepads, baskets, and signage. Navigation is pretty easy, with markings at some of the tricky spots (#4-#5, #15-#16).
Cons: - Biggest con at this course is the large volume of traffic that can be present. Park goers and masses of casual players can be present in nice weather. Some holes also play close to the park road, with cars driving right next to fairways.
- Most of the holes' fairways allow for only one type of line, so there is not a lot of creativity. Meaning, there is probably one line that works best for people, and they will throw that line every time on the hole.
- No water or any overly treacherous hazards, just the usual nasty rough for punishment.
Other Thoughts: - This course provides a fantastic variety of shots, due to ever changing lines, difficulty, length, and elevation. Almost every hole provides some different look that really forces a well planed shot. And, the fairways are wide enough so a good shot will usually end up in good shape. Execution is well rewarded.
- The wild card here are the pin positions; the longs add almost 100' per hole, and even more, much tougher lines, approaches, and greens. When the pins are all in the longs, I would give it a 4.5 rating for the great hole variety. In all shorts, probably a 3.5. Since they are usually half and half, I'm giving it a 4.
- Probably a bit frustrating for beginners, perfect for an experienced player. I would imagine even the top players would love some of the challenges present on many holes as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Silver lake, Best in Kenosha Area

5+    7/20/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Modern DG course. Its tucked into an enclosed park. Primarily disc golf happening here. Its set up on what I assume was an old cross country trail. This is not your typical flat course with scattered trees and long grass to define the fairways.
"Know your Course".
-There are nicely designed tee signs.
-2 pin placements on every hole. Check for the yellow screw by the specific set up on the sign.
-Risk/Reward factor on a few holes with "local routes" for any newcommer to look for. Or local to rely on.
"Challenge Level"
-This course can mainly be described in 2 separate summeries: The Front, and The Back.
-The front nine is fairly open, good amount of oppertunities for birdies. With some holes that can still challenge par. #Intermediate
-The back nine is quite a bit harder, tunnel shots and longer holes. You will be forced to make a solid tee shot (300+ ft) just to stay out of the woods and/or earn a good look/approach angle to the basket. #Advanced
"Elavation" is moderate, and the course does have a variety.
-Bathroom facility in the back parking lot- along with a vending machine.
-Concrete Teepads.
-Spectacular baskets.
Cons: 16 and 18 are a little difficult to find. Follow the spraypaint arrows and woodchip paths.
The course is very accessible for all sorts of different characters. Some less respectable than others. The course is now on it's second generation of Tee signs. And they are already being destroyed again.
There are two high schools within 3 miles of this course.
Seclusion is tough to find on this course. If seclusion is part of the criteria your looking for, plan on going in the morning if possible. If you can finish before 3 or 4 pm. You will have beaten the rush. <-The course's biggest con.
Other Thoughts: Another set of Teeboxes: both Amatuer and Pro would be a nice addition to boost this course to an even more prestigeous level.
From Northern IL to South Milwaukee. This course is prime.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: steveo69
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: wide range of shots.
very challenging.
lots of up and down hill shots.
well keeped.
Cons: later in the summer you may want to make shure that you have extra time to find that bad shot you had.
Other Thoughts: the most fun i have ever had on a course!! No shot is even close to the same. Wich makes for a intersting round.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC COURSE

5+    11/27/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: Jim O'Neill
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fantastic Park, Kenosha County is Discgolf friendly, the park is groomed and well taken care of. They even blow away the Leaves, wood chips all over muddy areas, shoveled tees in winter, like a country club but free. The ground soaks up rain and the wind is blocked by trees so the conditions are always good. The course is a great design by Terry Miller, the DG Guy, always a challenge. You must be accurate because you can go from a possible tee shot for a birdie to a bogie so fast. The elevation is perfect, not many flat holes. There are two pin positions for each tee, this makes for good variety. The position of the baskets drastically changes the personality of the hole. Going from all short positions to all long makes it feels like a totally different course, so visit often. People come from a long ways off to play this one. Put a little $ in the box by first hole.
Cons: BUGS, bring spray, water is oily bring bottled water.
Other Thoughts: A must play!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shouldn't be associated with Red Fox, lol

1    11/20/2010   1/23/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Right when you enter this course you can see how well maintained it is. Drinking fountains, bathrooms, picnic areas, everything you could ask for.

-Walking up to tee 1, you see the awesome teepads, excellently maintained and level.

-The next thing you'll see is the awesome signs, some of the nicest I've ever seen.

-Then you get to see the holes. This course has an awesome mix of left, right, downhill, and uphill shots. Hole 6 in particular is an awesome uphill anhyzer shot unlike any I've seen. 18 is also a sweet downhill, almost a tunnel shot, with plenty of rough to punish errant drives.

-The most outstanding part of this course is the pin positions. These change not only the length, but the feel of almost every hole. While I only got to play a single position for each hole, I did take the time to walk out the others and see how extreme the differences are.
Cons: -I hear the bugs are crazy at this course, with how late in the winter I played it I can't comment on that though.

-Some of the flow of the holes is a little counter intuitive, but nothing terrible. I'm sure you could find your way around on your own without much difficulty.
Other Thoughts: This course is outstanding, and apparently backed by an even more outstanding community. The people who put this together do an excellent job, and deserve your support. Dropping a dollar in the donation box is almost an obligation given how nice this course is.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Done

1    10/22/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed with nice hole/shot variety, also nice variety of distance & pin placements with many blind pins. The course offers a descent challange & still playable at any level. The layout is easy to navagate, there are signs & score cards with hole maps, also arrows and markers help some with pin placements & to next hole. The park & courses were very easy to locate.

Very well maintained with new high end baskets, there was a grounds crew on site the day I played driving around in carts, there are ample trash cans & restrooms.

The tee pads are level with grainy cement surfaces offering supurb footing (most important for any course) & are wider at the back & tapper narrower to the front. I was impressed with how obstructions are presented in the design, most holes have it just right, not too many & not too few, with one or two short & open for an ace chance.

There's some elevation changes with up & down hill shots, wooded holes, tight & fairly open holes, hidden & covered pins, slight & sharp doglegs. An overall pretty nice mix. Even with the 9 & 18 hole courses in the ground there is still a lot of space for more holes, the place has a lot of potential.
Cons: Only a few minor issues here. The signs are just a bit crude, but do get the job done. There's no water in play on the course, not much as far as rough either, although not much is better than too much. There's a lot of space between a few of the holes esp. the back 9 had a couple long walks.
Other Thoughts: This course was nicely done on first effort & improvements here would not be at all difficult.
It is a nice example of how things should be done with courses in our area of the country.

I think I picked a perfect day to drive out to play, aside from the perfect fall weather & no inscets, the grounds crew was changing basket placements just behind me, so I got to play 2 rounds with different placements, pretty sweet! The crew was friendly & helpful & mindful enough to not hang right on my tail as they were changing the baskets.

Some of the holes are challenging, some average and a couple are on the easy side, I don't see any of this as a problem, they have to cater to everyone off the line, eventually they can add multiple tees for different skill levels, just hit up the donation box.

After writing this review, one of the members here mentioned that they use screws to indicate which pin placement & they alternate by distance starting from hole 1 (short/long or long/short).

It only ended up being an hour drive so I'll definately be back, well worth the drive & I recommend as a must play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.