Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Grey Fox Share
Uploaded By: src23093 Hole #13 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach: Island green. Short placement is on near side of road, lower left of picture.



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Legit Golf

1    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole offers some sort of challenge, in other words there are no throw away holes. Elevation adds a unique factor for a course in this area, and it plays into the majority of the holes. There are some challenging tunnel shots, and trees add challenges on every hole. Choosing a good line is key. Shooting off line will lead to bogeys or worse; the course is fair but punishes bad shots accordingly. There is no thick rough, thorn bushes, or undergrowth to frustrate a player looking for an errant drive. Discs are easy to find even after bad shots. The course flows perfectly, signs direct you to the next tee if it isn't clear where to go. The tees are great and the park is well maintained. Many memorable holes come to mind but 18 is definitely the standout. The tee is elevated 25 or so feet above the fairway which is dotted with tall, mature trees. You can bomb it, but you also have to be accurate. You can not call yourself a legitimate disc golfer if you don't empty your bag the first time you play this hole. Best course in the area hands down.
Cons: Not many. One or two holes were laking signs, and for a few holes you have to walk a ways up the fairway to locate the basket. The walk between 15 and 16 was confusing and the sign didn't really help in this case. Thats it.
Other Thoughts: I would list the walk between the 17th and 18th holes as a con but it is definitely worth it, you realize this when you step onto the 18th tee. Every single hole is a blast. Many types of shots are required. The fun factor is definitely there. Play this course if you live anywhere close.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/21/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: mikeb23
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, good mix of shots, they change the pin placements every couple of weeks so you arent playaing the same course over and over. The first nine holes are somewhat open, with trees and bushes in the way to make for a few pretty technical shots. The back nine is heavily wooded with a lot of tunnel shots. The course does not favor righty or lefty throwers.
Cons: The mosquitoes are awful so bring very powerful bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I would say it is probably the best course to play in my area. It is extremely well taken care of and they change the pin placements every few weeks. I also like the small pitch and putt course in the park as a warm up. If you are in the area I would highly reccommend playing a round or two.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sly Like The Fox

2-4    8/20/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Trapezoidal, brushed concrete tees are grippy, level and in great shape. The best tees I've played upon, hands down.
- Very well manicured and maintained for the most part. Located in a park with full amenities: bathrooms, water fountains, picnic shelters, playground equipment, volleyball courts, sledding hills, tennis courts, baseball diamonds, boat launch and grass "labyrinth."
- A great mix of hole styles keeps the course progression fresh and entertaining. Dual pin positions change the feel of each hole. Tunnel/gap shots, hyzers, anhyzers, this course will challenge your repertoire. Risk/reward opportunities abound, especially on the back nine.
- Great use of the moderate elevation, especially #6 and #18. #6 forces a blind uphill anhyzer with woods on both sides to the short pin position. #18 throws downhill through woods, with heavy brush and wooded areas to both sides waiting to ruin your day.
- The best signage I've seen, supplemented by a great scorecard. Pin positions are noted on the sign with a bolt. The scorecard is located in a box near the parking lot. It currently does not include the newer back nine on the card, but that is probably in the process of being rectified, based on how "together" the park's keepers seem to be.
Cons: - Although maintained well for the most part, around the edges this course is a bit rough. Poison ivy teemed in some roughs, and the swampy areas near the Fox River are breeding grounds for insects.
- A few scattered grills in the fairways seemed incongruent with the rest of this fine course's layout.
- The flow between holes is a bit tricky in one or two spots, but nothing too egregious.
Other Thoughts: - The mosquitoes by the woods were rabid. Although they've been bad everywhere in the region this year, this course had the worst I've ever experienced. Clouds (literally) of the little devils swarmed through multiple layers of 100% Deet to make the round really miserable. I can't list this as a con, but be aware that the nearby Fox River probably contributes to an insect problem on a yearly basis. Bring spray and still expect to be chewed on!
- There is a donation box near the 1st hole (by the scorecards). Donate! The people running Grey Fox are doing it right. Support their efforts.
- Disc shop nearby (you'll pass it on the way if you come from 94). It was not open when we stopped by, so I'm uncertain as to selection, prices, etc.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding!

5+    7/30/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: beamrider
Played: 114  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads
Two alternate baskets locations per hole (short, long)
Challenging course design
Quality scorecards with map provided
Beautiful piece of land with rolling hills and elevation changes
Well-maintained park
Friendly and thoughtful park staff
Separate from other park activities

Cons: Mosquitoes can be bothersome. Bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: A terrific new 18 hole course in a magnificent, beautifully landscaped park. Overall I rate the Grey Fox as my favorite course in the Illinois/Wisconsin area, and second only to Flip City (Shelby, MI) in the Midwest. I compare it to Brown Deer (Milwaukee, WI), as both are challenging courses in beautiful parks, but I give the edge to Grey Fox due to the variety of holes and the scenic terrain.

Fox River Park already had a nine hole course, the Red Fox, which is a nice course for beginners and casual players. Now, with the Grey Fox, we see a dramatic step up in challenge and difficulty in the front nine, and even more so in the back nine. At face value you could say the park has something for all players:

Red Fox - beginners
Grey Fox front nine - intermediate
Grey Fox back nine - advanced

The park's scheme to date has been to alternate the baskets (short, long, short, etc.) and then after a few weeks reverse them (long, short, long, etc.). I view this as a positive since you get a chance to play all the baskets.

My three favorite holes:

1. Hole 7. Perhaps the toughest hole on the front nine. From an elevated tee, the trick is to get your drive through a narrow opening with a tree ceiling. From there the hole opens up. The 260ft. short basket is an immediate blind dog leg right. The 411ft. long basket is a long dog leg right with the basket tucked in a corner of a small opening.

2. Hole 15. Perhaps the toughest hole on the course. The tee shot is through an opening to the right and then through a gap to the left. The 386ft. short basket is an extreme left. The 495ft. long basket is through a strand of trees to the edge of a hill. If you overthrow your approach or putt you may go way down the hill.

3. Hole 18. A very picturesque hole. From an elevated tee the shot is through a clearing, with a few trees to negotiate, to a moderately wooded grassy area with more trees to negotiate. 371ft. short basket. 484ft. long basket. Beautiful finishing hole.

I highly recommend the Grey Fox!!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great End to a Road Trip

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: lordofchance
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice mix of open shots and wooded shots
- Nice variety in pin placement
- Cement Tee's
- Great use of hills on a few holes
- Great use of Traffic signs to indicate basket location on sharp curves
- Very well maintained
Cons: - Most fairways were pretty straight and their was very little risk/reward for shots.
- Bugs on the back 9 were horrible
- Pin location on some of the signs felt off on some of the holes
Other Thoughts: Some friends and I made a weekend trip to Milwaukee for a disc golf weekend. This course provided an amazing end to our trip while on our way back to IL. During the weekend we played Dretzka, Brown Deer and Grey Fox. I feel that this was my favorite course and I defiantly want to make a second trip back to the course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: dracimus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I consider myself a novice player, the course is pretty nice arranged, it even tell you where the basket goes with the sign (arrows). many trees, (I'm novice) my disc loves to bang on the trees. but for experienced, you shouldn't have problem hitting the tree often.

Cement tee's
Sign on each course
Some basket are behind tree.
Nice well maintained park
Some high hills, have to throw disc a bit higher


Cons: BUGS!!, they love to swarm all over, bring spray, or go play on fall/spring season.

Most course are straight and "L" to left mostly only one basket on each course, you will see A/B on course sign it is either A or B.
Other Thoughts: Nice honest disc golfer player, I lost something and the disc golf player has simple returned my items

Defiantly will go again to improve my throwing skill.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the local area

5+    11/27/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2010
12 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: - Nice large level cement tee pads
- Great tee sign...although some have been ripped off the post already :(
- Well manicured
- bathrooms
- Dogs allowed
- Course separate from other park activities
- Tight fairways
- Descent to good shot shaping required
- Difficult rough but easy to find disc
- Back 9 well designed
- Lots of room on the front 9 but still require accuracy.
- Very clean
Cons: - Holes 2 and 5 really drag the front 9s quality down. 5s tee could easily be moved back into the woods a little bit. Would make it way better. 2 would be cool if the long was the short and a pin placement got but in the woods a little bit.
- Flat straight shots is the pre-dominant drive (13/14 of 18)
- Utility and mid range drives are all that is needed
- Wind not really a factor on majority of course
- Bugs can be really bad
- #16s short is WAY! better than the long.
- #17s tee is "crowded" on the backside.
Other Thoughts: **Update**
I have finally got to play Grey Fox in all longs. So I am going to re-rate the course based on its optimal pin positions.
#1b #2b #3b #4b #5a #6b #7b #8b #9b #10b #11b #12b #13b #14b #15b #16a #17b #18b
From the tee the majority of shots are generally very straight. The real challenge here is on the upshot. Alot of shot shaping is required with your approach disc is required to score well. Because of this the tee shots need to be well placed. There are only a few "easy" deuces on the course. In the longs a 1000 rated round is a 54-55.
Most of the shorts are extremely lame and really reduce the quality of the course design. In the long is a well though out 2 or a well managed 3 but in the short its an almost automatic 2 or a lazy 3. I think this is why I intial rated this course poorly.

Course Overview (longs):
Hole 1 is a extremely well guarded pin. It has a low ceiling and several guardian trees including a large pine tree that eats discs. You must pick the right disc and the right gap. Ideal line is a tight hyzer.
Hole 2 is wide open and straightforward Worst hole on the course.
Hole 3 is a bomb. You must go up and over the hill in front of you and finish about 150ft from the center tree in the fairway. Ideally you want to get to the top of the hill and make your upshot for the 3. 4s are common.
Hole 4 is a big S-curve slightly uphill. The initial part of the fairway has a low ceiling and several larger trees. Straight ahead of you is the hyzer line for the short pin and a wall of small trees. The basket has a great backstop. of trees and a small steep hill.
Hole 5 is a short little hyzer with 2 low ceiling tight gaps you must hit. The basket is slightly down hill with a green that slopes downward away from the basket to the left.
Hole 6 is a gentle turnover shot up a steep uphill. the basket is in a clearing at the top of the hill. Thumbers/Tomahawks generally dont turnout well. It is a very tight line.
Hole 7 can fool you. The basket is long and to just to the right and downhill. From the tee if you got a huge sidearm then go for it. If your throwing BH then you ideally want to be about 50ft short of 8s tee. that will give you the clearest line at the upshot. The right side of the fairway is full of trees and rough. The left has a pine tree about 50ft off the tee and then it is wide open.
Hole 8 is a dangerous hole. Watch out for people on 9s tee. The basket is just behind 9s tees on the other side of the trees. Its another sidearm for a 2 or a big anhyzer for a possible 2 or easy 3. Not a big deal if you hyzer out left, wide open field. On the right are woods and some large trees. If you cut in early it can make things difficult.
Hole 9 is a classic short tunnel hyzer. I love to play these. Take a midrange with some late hook to it and put her straight down the gut. once past the tunnel you either want to hyzer out early or late to avoid the 2 guardian trees.
Cross to south side of parking lot for 10-18.
Hole 10 is a unique fairway. There are several large trees that provide many choices to take for your line. The main 2 gaps are the anhyzer/sidearm to the left or the hyzer with a big skip to the right. Straight ahead are some troublesome small trees and bushes that eat up discs and make pars difficult.
Hole 11 is tucked just inside the woods on the uphill slope. Run at the basket with a midrange or low power driver and get it to hyzer in hard just short of the basket. That will set up a easy deuce. You will only be punished for early hyzer outs.
Hole 12 is the most challenging hole on the course. From the tee its all about getting your shot straight down the tight tunnel. The fairway has a slight "bump" in the straight line that can really hurt you. Once down the tunnel you are faced with a grove of tall trees with 2 ideal gaps that lead into the gap before the green area. A sidearm or high anhyzer is ideal. Taking a 4 is rewarding.
Hole 13 is a downhill anhyzer to an island green. The road is played as OB. Take a run at the basket from the tee. Behind the basket on the other side of the road is a several small trees and bushes that act as a great backstop that leave you with a 30-40' putt.
Hole 14 is a long slightly downhill tunnel shot. About 360' down the tunnel it open up to a carved out clearing. Make a nice upshot to the basket about 50-60' left.
Hole 15 is a toughy. The basket is on top of the hill just before the down slope. There are numerous guardian trees. There are many ways to attack this hole but a straight hyzer past the pine trees on the left will leave you with many options to take to the basket. Careful not to go long as it is a long way down the hill after the basket and roll-a-ways are common.
Hole 16 is another tight tunnel that takes a sharp turn to the right uphill about 20-30' in. Sidearm it for an easy 2.
Hole 17 is a long dog leg left through a tunnel. Your goal from the tee is to put a straight hyzer down to the mulch on the left. If you get there its an wasy upshot through some large trees to the basket on a short steep upward slope. A difficult3.
Hole 18 is a fantastic finish and the most beautiful. You stand atop a hill looking through a gauntlet of large trees. Its straight and long downhill. Ideally you want to put your drive through the two skinny trees straight ahead just before the mulch ends. Depending on where you end up it is an easy upshot for the 3. If you have a cannon on you it is possible to have a long putt at it.
GO Play!

P.S. Do not eat at that Dairy Queen! They are awful! We waited 30+minutes and didn't even get our food or money back cause we didn't want to miss the second round. They had the rudest and laziest employees I've seen in a long time. It was like watching 3 chickens with their heads cut off and a giant ? mark for a head.

12 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 My New Home Course!

5+    6/30/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: juanbond
Played: 119  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of variety. Doglegs left, doglegs right, straight, tunnel, low canopy, moderate elevation, and even a couple open shots.

- Challenging but not brutal. Pro and advanced players will likely only find a couple holes/pins to be too easy. Beginners will be challenged the whole way, but not excessively punished by water or disc eating rough. You can lose discs here, but the woods aren't too brutal to search a bit.

- Dual pin placements (short/long) on every hole. Pins were switched to alternate placements in late June 2010. Since the course opened, they have kept the placements alternating between short and long on successive holes. Each pair of pin placements are quite complementary and require different shot shapes and sometimes change the hole lengths considerably.

- Beautifully manicured park. Always seems to be mowed nicely. Park staff do a ton of work here and are very friendly. Scorecards are available near the 1st tee.

- Excellent baskets and tee pads. The eighteen Chainstar baskets are just as new as the course, and perfectly installed. The pads were well brushed when poured, so they grip well even in heavy rain.

- Good signage. Tee signs are now present on every hole, with hole layout, both pin locations and distances, and a yellow screw indicating which pin is currently in place.

- Low traffic. I have yet to see this course truly crowded. The park sits in a small Wisconsin town, with almost nothing but small towns surrounding it. If you like the feeling of seclusion and natural beauty without a trace of car exhaust and city noise, this is the course for you.

- Many memorable holes. #6 is through a tight steep uphill tunnel out into a large mulched opening. #12 is through a long tunnel out into either a pin surrounded by a group of old large trees, or curling right downhill to a pin tucked between two bushy trees and thicker woods. #13 has its long placement downhill to an "island" green (road surrounding, not water) protected by woods and a few large trees. #15 starts downhill with a dogleg left under a low canopy, short pin is around/over two large pine trees, long pin back uphill through a cluster of trees with a fall-away green just behind it. #18 is an excellent finishing hole, from a well-elevated tee, through a semi-open wooded fairway with few medium trees, out into an opening with several large old trees and grass.
Cons: - Mosquitoes can be somewhat bad in places (I've endured much worse). Definitely bring bug spray. The back nine is typically buggier than the front nine.

- Needs signs for a couple of between-hole walks. This has been improved between holes #15 and #16 with a new mulch path.

- Seems perfect for a second set of tees, I sincerely hope they eventually add some.
Other Thoughts: With a beginner/recreational 9-hole course on site, this park is a perfect destination for any skill player. I play here at least once a week in leagues, and now call it my home course. The park has other amenities nearby: picnic benches, playgrounds, tennis courts, ball diamonds, and even a stocked ice cold pop machine between the 15th green and 16th tee.

Having now played all pin placements, this course is a solid 4 to me. The lush variety of shots required is the main plus for me. Without the dual pins, it's probably a 3.5 in my book. I can't think of any real serious cons, only some minor issues and conceivable improvements.

The fairway of hole #14 is adjacent to a county road that sees moderate traffic. The road is just 15-20 feet through some thin woods/brush lining the tunnel fairway. So, be careful if you happen to take a rough bounce into the road.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Ouality....

2-4    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 280  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is now one of my new favorite courses!! This course was not "thrown together" by any means. It was VERY well designed and LOT of different shots are required here. Some big hucks, some finesse shots,some leftys, rightys, etc... There is also a decent amount of elevation too!!:)
Cons: The only thing I can complain about here is the bugs. It's hard enough to concentrate on my shots with silence. And with bugs violently attacking me in my personal zone drove me nuts!! BRING HEAVY DUTY BUG SPRAY!!!
Other Thoughts: This course was down right FUN to play. Some reviewers said the front 9 was a little on the easy side. I agree, it doesn't compare to the back 9 (10-18). I thought the course flow was awesome altogether! The front 9 is a good warm up for the back 9. They compliment each other very nicely. All in all, this course is a MUST play if your in the area or if you don't live too far. Or if your a weekend crusader. And Hole 18 was a fantastic finish to the course!! This place was done right.......:)

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great course in a beautiful park!

2-4    6/14/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Michler
Played: 232  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just played this course for the first time last week. I was very excited to see a course of this caliber in an area that is starved for a decent course. This course is in a very well manicured and very large public park.

The front 9 offers a wide variety of par 3's. There are 2 sets of pins on each hole, so the distances will vary, but for the most part the front side is the easier side. The front 9 is much more open (not wide open) allowing more room to work the disc on a variety of lines. You still have to earn your birdies. Terrain is great for throwing rollers.

Back 9 consists of several tunnel shots through the heavier woods. The rough can get nasty, so staying on the fairway is a must. There are a couple longer holes here that play as a par 4. Mistakes will cost you 1 or more strokes on any of these holes. You've got to hit your landing zones and keep the disc flat if you are going to get your 3's. The back 9 will definitely teach a player to throw the disc low and flat.

Overall, I love this course. I love the variety of hyzers and anhyzers, rollers, and tunnel shots. Its great fun. The cement tee pads are perfect for the competitive golfer. Flush with the ground and slightly roughed.
Cons: A little more could be done with the first couple holes. They are the weakest on the course. Also, one of the holes on the backside plays down a gap about 200 feet and then 90 degrees up and right about 50 feet. Not a great hole as deuces would be very hard to come by, but its certainly not difficult to take a 3. There are a couple longer walks between holes, so grabbing a map is a good idea if its your first time.
Other Thoughts: Love the course. Plan to play it as often as I can. Great for competitive golfers looking for a challenge. Casual golfers who are just looking for a walk in the park can play the easier, more open front 9, which conveniently ends back at the parking lot. Highly recommend.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.