Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Grey Fox Share
Uploaded By: src23093 Hole #10 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Beautiful course and a lovely park.

1    8/22/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 61  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained park. A good mixture of wooded and open holes that require true accuracy throughout the woods and reward big arms in the open. It does test the complete player. Completely adequate and grippy tee pads. Good use of relatively limited elevation compared to Colorado courses that I am used to. The first few holes are open and beautifully nondescript, but around hole five you enter into a wonderful world of tunnel shots that are challenging but not unfair. The tunnels always seem to have an open spot at the end with a basket. The parks department should be applauded for their great maintenance of the course. T signs at nearly every hole, a bathroom near hole 16, and a very clean course. Trash cans and shade abound, as well as benches. Wooded fairways have new bark along them to help with footing. Little to no chance of losing a disc, even if you go off the fairway. Navigation is easy and intuitive with a couple of exceptions, but signs help out the newcomer. This would be a awesome home course.
Cons: Tee signs are not all there, and the graffiti on the benches reinforce the stereotype of stoners and dumbass teens. I would not like to take a family member here to see that. Multiple blind basket positions require some scouting, as the tee signs have no way of telling you which position the basket is in. Mosquitoes are omnipresent.
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course in a remote and unlikely location, but I drove up from Chicago to play during a visit. It was well worth the 45 minute drive, as it was a treat to play such a unique and different course from Colorado. I wish I could've met some of the locals on a Friday afternoon to play this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very clean, beautiful park. There is also the red fox onsite which is a good warm up for the tougher grey fox 18 hole course. The tee pads are all large and level and they grip very nicely. There are multiple pin placements on every hole which makes it more interesting. The tee signs are nothing special but serve their purpose. They have a basic hole diagram, hole #, all the different pin locations and the different distances. The baskets are chainstars which are all in good shape and catch fine. There is a bunch of elevation changes throughout the course which adds quite a bit of the challenge. Almost every hole has some sort of trees to avoid, with a lot having pretty tight tunnel shots. There are wood chips all over as well which really helps keep everything from getting muddy. The course is permanent and free to play. There is a solid mix of different distances with the front nine having some shorter holes and the back nine playing longer. The course design does a great job staying away from the other park activities. There's plenty of parking, picnic tables, trash cans and benches throughout the course.
Cons: One of the holes on the back nine is completely surrounded by pavement which can scrape up discs. There's a pretty long walk from 15 to 16 which is hard to figure out for first time players, not too much of a big deal though. The bugs can be pretty bad but they are pretty much everywhere in WI.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best course in southeastern WI in my opinion. Couple it with the red fox and you got a really fun day of disc golf. There isn't too many really nearby courses but the Tim Osmond sports complex is about twenty minutes away or the White Cedar in Lake Geneva, but this is worth a trip just by itself. One of my favorite courses out of about 150 played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid four, but no more

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Great elevation changes that make even very short holes amusing
-A handful of long holes with well sized fairways, some of which get more challenging as you approach the basket
-A and B basket positions, which allow the course to be somewhat adaptable to the patrons' desires
-Few, if any, places in which you can lose your disc
-Excellent park with plentiful space fun picnics and great activities for people of all ages (none of which conflict with each other).
Cons:
-There are some weary, short holes on this course, more concentrated on the front nine than on the back.
-Course could use a few more holes that ask for your longest discs
-About equidistant from Chicago and Milwaukee (a little closer to the latter), yet no quick access from either.
Other Thoughts: This course is most comparable with nearby Fairfield. It is situated in a nicer park with better elevation change. Yet Fairfield, which I gave a 4.5, is indeed a more amusing challenge and the better of the two. That puts this course at 4 out of a possible 5. The "short" and "weary" holes may have been in a less challenging A position, but even so they can still be improved; possibly with some clever planting of trees to create challenging fairways. This is a solid course, but is probably not worth the drive (~40 miles for me) too often.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I think this is my favorite course yet.

1    8/1/2013   6/1/2014
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome, clean, beautiful, secluded park. Well-thought out holes.
Cons: None that I can recall.
Other Thoughts: It's been a long time since I played this, but I had to chime in on the reviews and agree with how awesome this course is. Halfway through playing, I said to my brother "this should be the way everyone is introduced to disc golf".

Is this a championship-caliber course with epic holes and a massive variety of challenges? Nope. But this course is incredibly fun to play, and in what I consider one of the most ideal surroundings for a public park. This isn't to say the course isn't challenging. It's the right balance of accessibility and challenge.

Like my review title says, this may be my favorite course yet. And I'm not even sure it's the best course I've played, but the entire experience from the location, the setting, the holes and the entire presentation was everything you want in a disc golf course.

Definitely worth a drive there if you are within any reasonable distance. And if you are local, you should be playing there regularly for sure.

Oh, and skip the other 9-hole course. It's a major dud.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Winter Lay out

1    4/19/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice Tee Pads - All cement and very big.

-Baskets - Good quality Baskets, and have two pin placements for each hole.

-Landscaping- This place is nice on the eyes, good amount of trees and well groomed landscape.

Tee Signs - avaible to find the next hole easily (minus 15 to 16)

extras- good amount of picnic tables and trash cans through the course

-Another course on the land.
Cons: - I would of rated this a 3.75 if I could, but I rounded up due to the fact that I saw where all the longs were. When baskets are in the shorts its a fairly easy course, but still extremely fun.

- Can be fairly busy.
Other Thoughts: The Red Fox is awesome for a nice warm up to this course.

I played on Easter, and the course was pretty busy, so I am guessing it will be a lot more busy on non holidays.

While having two sets of pins, it seems like the longs make the course of a higher tier course.

From O'Hare this is about a hour and 30 minute drive. I was 30 minutes North of Ohare and got there just fine. For some reason my garmen couldn't find it, so I had to find a location around it that it could get to. I think if you look up Fox River Park over the address itself that may be helpful

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

4.7

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 100  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think this might be one of my favorite courses ever... It features an awesome variety of shots with two sets of pins. Fox River Park is massive, well maintained, and is beautiful! There's a lot of minor elevation and this course has about an even distribution of wooded and open shots. Here's what I really liked:

*Very isolated from the rest of the world... Being from the Chicago suburbs, playing disc golf amongst lots of other park users is something that I've grown used to, so this was a nice change.

*Distance variety... ranging from the 180s to the 500s. Every shot/disc in the bag used here.

*Fun elevation!

*Shares a park with a warmup course, so that's always nice.

*Great workout hiking up and down the hills/fairways

*The town seemed kind of cool... might be a fun place to spend a weekend

*Definitely some challenging holes, but not insanely difficult.
Cons: *A few tee signs were missing
*Hole 11 brought a tennis court into play which was the only time the course seemed to interact with other park users
*Very buggy
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course, and if you have time the other course on the Fox River Park property

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    8/5/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 172  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When this course is in all the long pin positions it is a great course. The tees and signage are great here. This is a well balanced course with a variety of right, left, and straight shots. There are open shots and wooded tunnels and a decent amount of elevation. Some of the signature holes here are great. Hole 6 is a righty backhand flex line uphill. It is very unique. Hole 12 is a great par 4. It is about 380' to get out of the tunnel into a more open space. It is then a left to right sharp approach it a sloped green. Hole 14 in the short position is a great par 3 that funnels tighter towards the green. 15 has a great basket placement on the crest of a very steep hill for roll a ways aplenty. 18 is a great finishing hole, a downhill controlled bomber down a wooded fairway.
Cons: Some of the short pins are really lame.1, 2, 8,and 10 in the short position are super short open holes. There is not many pucker tight gaps here. It can be a disappointment to go to the course and play some of the lame short pin positions. It would be great if both pins were in at all times.
Other Thoughts: Pick up lots of birdies on the more open front nine end conserve your score on the back 9 and you'll be in good shape. The easy short 9 holer is also here at the park for the virgin disc golfers.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great layout - no need to play pinball in the trees

1    7/14/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety to this course, except in the selection of tee boxes. The course was set up with a mix of short and long baskets when we were there. Overall elevation changes aren't huge, but the course takes full advantage of what's there. Baskets well-set into bowls and protected clearings, several chances for added length and drift on downhill throws, and I even liked the one significant uphill.

Good clear layout, as long as we took the time to check out the basket placement before our drives. Course looked in very good shape when we were there. Excellent concrete tees.

My son and I had a lot of fun warming up on a few of the Red Fox holes before starting our round. Great idea, well-laid out with enough variety to satisfy those looking to loosen their arms. It's a great idea to have this in place for beginners and families, to improve overall course traffic.

The front nine is more open, but not significantly easier, than the back. I appreciate the fact that the fairway lanes through the woods are generally, but not always, wide and clear. The trees shade and guide your play, without the "pinball through the fairway" effect that detracts from some other woods layouts.

#1 good short opening hole to the long basket on the left. Short brush across the fairway forces you to get the disc up a bit without letting it veer into the taller trees and branches.

#3 down then up and down again with the long basket set in a natural bowl. My favorite hole on the front.

#6 the uphill shot I mentioned above. Uphills usually kill my weaker drives, but the hole is short enough to let you reach the open tabletop, as long as you keep your shot straight through the alley of trees. The most thickly wooded hole on the front nine.

#7 Tight downhill tee shot through the trees before it opens up, and then the short basket is very tightly tucked into the tree line on the right.

#12 Begins the "wide alley through the woods" effect

#16 a fun downhill alley through the trees that opens into a field for the short basket. If you keep your drive straight this is the easiest birdie hole on the course.

#17 challenging dogleg left to the long basket

#18 a fun downhill drive with another inviting path between the trees. The long basket is protected by a few more trees and framed by a circle of rocks near the picnic tables.

Cons: Only one tee box option per hole. I don't identify any dramatic signature hole to rival those you can find on the best layouts.
Other Thoughts: The dogleg at #9 is extreme left to the long basket. Just about impossible to get close, and you can overshoot your drive into the parking lot if you don't ease up.

I'm not a huge fan of the island green on #13, even if it is a fun concept. It's a blind shot, curling right. There's a lot of luck involved in whether you land on the green or the OOB, or skip back into the woods.

There are obvious paths from one hole to the next, except on the walk through the pavilion and playground from 15 to 16. Pass the bathroom, look for the slide, and you'll find the 16th tee. There's another long walk from 17 to 18, but that was very well-defined.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 what an awesome course!

1    7/15/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: porchmike
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i'll start by saying that this is one of the best courses i've ever played. today was my first round here, so see other reviews for a course description.

great variety of shots.
beautiful rolling hills and great use of the gentle elevation changes the terrain has
no real rough! i couldn't find anywhere to really lose a disc- you would almost have to throw sideways off the tees to lose your disc here- anywhere near the fairways has been well-traveled.
fairly intuitive layout- look for worn paths in the grass to find next tees(most holes have nice signs to point the way to the next hole).
challenging enough for all skill levels- beginners have the red fox course, and can play silver without worrying about losing discs. advanced players will love the shapes of the shots you get to throw here.
Cons: i can see a potential safety issue with non- DGers using the picnic tables while people are playing- i just walked ahead to check before i threw.
i played during a very dry period, so did not experience the bugs that other reviewers have mentioned, and it's mid july!
#2 should be longer
-they should plant some more holes here! this park is perfect for disc golf!
Other Thoughts: um, i'm going back tomorrow! this place is awesome!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Quick Grey Fox Jumped Over the Lazy Birdie

2-4    5/12/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Grey Fox is a superbly designed course in an excellently maintained county park and will test every shot you think you have, and perhaps you will even find yourself in situations where you have to get creative and try something new. From wide open undulating fairways to moderately heavily wooded "airways," and from ace runs to defined landing zones on some longer holes, you'll never find yourself bored out here or thinking, "Great, another one of these!" With two pin placements on every hole that drastically change up the tee shot, there are "technically" 36 unique holes available to play here. When I played, the course was set to all shorts (except the awesome island green on #13, which was still long, thank Flying Spaghetti Monster!) for the Women's Global Event (I was caddying for my wife), but in my couple rounds caddying and playing I took note of the long sleeves and even played a few shots from the tee pretending they were in place to get a feel for some of them. Elevation is present on most holes. A few holes are conducive to different throwing styles, allowing righties and lefties, as well as overhanders, all an equal opportunity (though some bias is obvious; see Cons). Some particularly memorable holes were #5 with a neat little tunnel shot over a little hump (it was, for lack of better description, a cute hole that had potential to ruin your day), #6 requiring a steep uphill RHBH anhyzer to a blind green, the unique island green after a tricky downhill RHBH anny on #13, and the picturesque signature #18. A slide near the playground drops you in to the tee area for #16 if you want to "let the kid in you out." Definitely a course that you leave knowing you'll be back, not only to experience new hole configurations, but to get revenge on the holes that robbed you of that deuce or par save (there are plenty of places for this to happen)! This course coupled with Red Fox, as many other reviewers have noted, has a distinct "3-course meal" feel to it, with each 9-hole loop seeming to have its own flavor.
2. Concrete tees. Nice and level teeing surfaces, no cracks or pooling water, and the follow-through areas off the tee were pretty safe and comfortable.
3. Dual pin placements. As above, these change things up considerably on this course, usually for the final 30% or so of the hole. The long pins add more challenging tee shots and approaches, and it seemed many eliminated the "easy" deuces available on several of the short placements. The sleeves were all installed properly and undamaged.
4. Tee signs. These were very helpful not only on the few blind holes, but in showing me how the long pins would play since they weren't available to me when I was here. They gave distances and an overview of the hole shape and were almost all still in place (a few were missing but had little maps drawn on the 4 x 4 tee post in Sharpie).
5. Baskets. The Chainstars were installed properly and undamaged, didn't seem to be rusty or heavily weathered, and caught well.
6. Maintenance. The drive into the course should be your first clue that things will be immaculately groomed, and this county park setting seems perfectly suited for disc golf. Even the "heavy-in-chucker-traffic" Red Fox was surprisingly well kept and clean. For being free to enter the park and play here (donations box available), the County certainly doesn't seem to skimp on the upkeep.
7. Amenities. Scorecards and pencils are available at #1 and #10 (though not always in stock, as was the case during my 2-day visit). Trash cans on several tees. Restrooms are located throughout the park, including one somewhere off the main road near #4 and one on the path from #15 to #16. This multi-use park has plenty of other activities and pavilions/picnic areas for the whole family to enjoy a day out here.
8. Navigation. It's easy to find the parking for the courses once you're in the park, and navigation is pretty simple (I'm sure the scorecards, when available, have maps to aid travelers and first-timers)
9. Red Fox as another on-site course is a bonus (I guess) and could be used as a warm-up for approaches and putts on Grey Fox, but you might feel rushed and unsafe with the abundance of chucker traffic.
Cons: 1. Design. There seems to be some bias towards RHBH anhyzer (RHFH/LHBH) shots off the tee, which is okay because those are challenging shots (for me) to consistently execute, and the varying distances and hole shapes keep it from getting too monotonous, but there is undoubtedly a favoring of those particular shots.
2. Navigation. There are 2 areas on the Back 9 that can be confusing without a map when it's your first time, and they are also the lengthiest walks between holes: From #15 to #16, there is a walk along the path up to the restrooms and playground, and from #17 to #18 is another potentially baffling route (especially if #17's pin is short, making it possible to think #18 is up the maintenance vehicle road that leads nowhere except over to Red Fox). A map should eliminate any mix-ups.
3. Safety. Some minor issues with (OB) park roads weaving throughout the complex, but fortunately nothing major like conflict with other park activities (unless you really shank one into the tennis court on #11!).
4. Single tees. I'd like to see this spacious park utilize a little more and provide some greater variety, and dual tees could significantly change things up out here. This would boost the hole potential from 36 to 72 if done right (i.e. tees don't just change the distance, but the entire shape of the hole).
Other Thoughts: This course is not only a great recent addition to the Wisconsin DG scene, but also to the Illinois DG scene with its sparsity of "good or better" 18-hole courses. With dense population to draw from and free to play, this course is understandably very popular and busy, yet remains in spectacular shape. The frequent changing of pin locations keeps it "fresh" out here, and I'd be proud to call this my home course -- and it would definitely do wonders to have all those different shots to practice all the time!

I pondered my rating on this course for a while, and while I really wish I could give it a 4.25, I'll have to settle on a 4 since there are only single tees.

I highly recommend stopping here if you're anywhere near, and for those of you willing to travel, the drive is worth it. I'll definitely be back!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.