Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Grey Fox Share
Uploaded By: gabe32 Hole #15
3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Play Grey all Day, leave Red for the Dead.

2-4    6/26/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 167  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nicely manicured park setting, a bit of diving into and out of some surrounded super wooded goodness, and a great balance of short, long, left, right, straight, uphill, downhill, across hill, and holes with multiple routes. It's beautifully manicured to the likes of Sussex, Token Creek, etc, but offers a bit better variety and balance. The elevation is utilized better than at Token, the variety and balance is better than the more open Sussex, and there are some absolute monster holes out there like #18, #4 is really fun to crank a big s curve out on, #12 can beat you down, #13 has a great island OB green, and #15 and #17 long are some brutal holes.
Memorable holes…
#15 in the long position is a beautifully framed hole from the tee to the green with the rolling elevation and slight hint of a cheater route along the far left.
#18 is a great wooded monster off the elevated tee. I was lucky enough to hit no trees in three rounds and takes 3's each time.
#4 in the 'straight ahead' position offers a great RHBH s-curve shot for an ADV player to make amazing ace runs on. I was lucky enough here also to park one, and put another pin high in the bushes after skipping past the pin from right to left.
Multiple pin positions. The differences in pin positions is huge and really offers great variety, and compliments the features of the park while testing your skills on different levels.
Not much in terms of poison ivy or anything, I saw just a few plants.
The tee pads are nice, wide, long, textured concrete pads that are flush with the ground.
Cons: Lack of multiple tees. Especially in an urban park area like this where noobs, kids, and other family member are gonna have more access to playing a round. Sure, I bet the Red Fox was built for this purpose, but if you're gonna send your wife and kids over to play the lame Red Fox while you enjoy the Grey Fox, you may as well have left them home. This is one of the biggest cons I will always list. Not only as someone who travels with family (wife and young kids who could use shorter tees), but as someone who seeks more variety and balanced offerings on a course. Since only one pin is in the ground at a time (despite multiple placements) one tee lets you play only one layout. For some variety, that second tee offers another complete hole, and as many more options per tee pad as pin placements per hole. Multiple tees can greatly increase variety as far as design/layout, as well as skill variety.
The general topography of the course introduces the only other con keeping this from having a higher rating. Because there are no huge downhill bombers, no ponds, no creeks, no sharp ravines, etc, the course cannot offer that type of variety. While I think the design could have been altered and used a bit more of the very wooded ravines within the area (like left of #6 and left of #12), it may have been a parks department limitation.
Despite the alternate pins offering much different variety, the greens are bland and boring. Mostly wide open, few trees if any, and not perched on any slopes or extreme areas that beg for rollaways.
I think more defined OB (both marked and designated on the tee sign) would add another element of skill and variety. Playing the road should be a no-brainer OB, but I don't recall seeing it on the signs. Some other artificial OB areas could be added as well like the long grass buncr style areas on the open holes.
Some vandalism/chuckerness can be seen in the likes of litter, graffiti, broken bottles, broken equipment, etc, but that the double-edged sword of a popular course in a population center.
Because of the popularity, traffic, other park users, etc, I did not find the ability to truly lose myself in the game here (in any of the 3 rounds we played that day) - too many distractions. I prefer remote, secluded, and quiet courses.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and the variety it offered very much. We came down for the day, got in a quick round on Red as we waited for the rest of the crew, then proceeded to play here 3 rounds, after deciding unanimously after our first round that we'd much rather stay here than head up to Parkside.
As a traveler, I would not regret going out of the way to play here. With all the traffic Milwaukee-Chicago, this course has potential to appeal to many players and it is worth the trip. Overall not an amazing or stunning course, but a completely well rounded and balanced offering that will test many skills in and out of your bag.
I'll say again that multiple tees really add the extra element of variety and balance, as well as fun for players of all skill levels. The tees now are probably white/blue level and could be accented with both longer or shorter tees in most instances.
It rated at 3.85 in my spreadsheet and I'm gonna bump it up because I think it's better than 3.5 courses I've played.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

5+    5/14/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 413  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, which has lots of hilliness and plenty of forest. A lot of other things going on at the park, with pavilions, parks, and walking trails, so it can get pretty busy.
- Good mix of tree density throughout, the course starts off in a pretty open area with thick patches of rough and other large trees to force some interesting lines. Hyzers and anhyzers, and two holes with some elevation changes.
- The rest of the holes, and the vast majority, have lots of woods to deal with. Most of them have well defined fairways, where throwing a straight shot is a must. Great balance of hyzers and anhyzers, both long and short, with a few shooting out of the woods and others shooting deeper in. This can lead to some tight approach shots even from a nice fairway drive. Noticeable elevation changes on numerous holes really spice things up even more. #12 is a beast with a bomber tunnel leading to a sloped green with some guardian trees.
- Other holes do have obstacles in the fairway, or more complicated lines. A tight RH flex/thumber/utility shot uphill on #6, the downhill RH anhyzer to the road-OB island green on #13, the big valley shot through or around massive pines on #15, and the big elevated teepad on #18 are all top-notch holes.
- Greens are very fair here, there are few protected baskets but getting there is the trick. A few rollaway greens, mostly from inclined approach shots.
- Good variety in hole length, especially with some long pin positions; 6 over 400' and of varying difficulty. Should be plenty of spots for drivers, for all arms.
- Good teepads, baskets, and signage. Navigation is pretty easy, with markings at some of the tricky spots (#4-#5, #15-#16).
Cons: - Biggest con at this course is the large volume of traffic that can be present. Park goers and masses of casual players can be present in nice weather. Some holes also play close to the park road, with cars driving right next to fairways.
- Most of the holes' fairways allow for only one type of line, so there is not a lot of creativity. Meaning, there is probably one line that works best for people, and they will throw that line every time on the hole.
- No water or any overly treacherous hazards, just the usual nasty rough for punishment.
Other Thoughts: - This course provides a fantastic variety of shots, due to ever changing lines, difficulty, length, and elevation. Almost every hole provides some different look that really forces a well planed shot. And, the fairways are wide enough so a good shot will usually end up in good shape. Execution is well rewarded.
- The wild card here are the pin positions; the longs add almost 100' per hole, and even more, much tougher lines, approaches, and greens. When the pins are all in the longs, I would give it a 4.5 rating for the great hole variety. In all shorts, probably a 3.5. Since they are usually half and half, I'm giving it a 4.
- Probably a bit frustrating for beginners, perfect for an experienced player. I would imagine even the top players would love some of the challenges present on many holes as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Silver lake, Best in Kenosha Area

5+    7/20/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Modern DG course. Its tucked into an enclosed park. Primarily disc golf happening here. Its set up on what I assume was an old cross country trail. This is not your typical flat course with scattered trees and long grass to define the fairways.
"Know your Course".
-There are nicely designed tee signs.
-2 pin placements on every hole. Check for the yellow screw by the specific set up on the sign.
-Risk/Reward factor on a few holes with "local routes" for any newcommer to look for. Or local to rely on.
"Challenge Level"
-This course can mainly be described in 2 separate summeries: The Front, and The Back.
-The front nine is fairly open, good amount of oppertunities for birdies. With some holes that can still challenge par. #Intermediate
-The back nine is quite a bit harder, tunnel shots and longer holes. You will be forced to make a solid tee shot (300+ ft) just to stay out of the woods and/or earn a good look/approach angle to the basket. #Advanced
"Elavation" is moderate, and the course does have a variety.
-Bathroom facility in the back parking lot- along with a vending machine.
-Concrete Teepads.
-Spectacular baskets.
Cons: 16 and 18 are a little difficult to find. Follow the spraypaint arrows and woodchip paths.
The course is very accessible for all sorts of different characters. Some less respectable than others. The course is now on it's second generation of Tee signs. And they are already being destroyed again.
There are two high schools within 3 miles of this course.
Seclusion is tough to find on this course. If seclusion is part of the criteria your looking for, plan on going in the morning if possible. If you can finish before 3 or 4 pm. You will have beaten the rush. <-The course's biggest con.
Other Thoughts: Another set of Teeboxes: both Amatuer and Pro would be a nice addition to boost this course to an even more prestigeous level.
From Northern IL to South Milwaukee. This course is prime.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: steveo69
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: wide range of shots.
very challenging.
lots of up and down hill shots.
well keeped.
Cons: later in the summer you may want to make shure that you have extra time to find that bad shot you had.
Other Thoughts: the most fun i have ever had on a course!! No shot is even close to the same. Wich makes for a intersting round.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC COURSE

5+    11/27/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: Jim O'Neill
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fantastic Park, Kenosha County is Discgolf friendly, the park is groomed and well taken care of. They even blow away the Leaves, wood chips all over muddy areas, shoveled tees in winter, like a country club but free. The ground soaks up rain and the wind is blocked by trees so the conditions are always good. The course is a great design by Terry Miller, the DG Guy, always a challenge. You must be accurate because you can go from a possible tee shot for a birdie to a bogie so fast. The elevation is perfect, not many flat holes. There are two pin positions for each tee, this makes for good variety. The position of the baskets drastically changes the personality of the hole. Going from all short positions to all long makes it feels like a totally different course, so visit often. People come from a long ways off to play this one. Put a little $ in the box by first hole.
Cons: BUGS, bring spray, water is oily bring bottled water.
Other Thoughts: A must play!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shouldn't be associated with Red Fox, lol

1    11/20/2010   1/23/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Right when you enter this course you can see how well maintained it is. Drinking fountains, bathrooms, picnic areas, everything you could ask for.

-Walking up to tee 1, you see the awesome teepads, excellently maintained and level.

-The next thing you'll see is the awesome signs, some of the nicest I've ever seen.

-Then you get to see the holes. This course has an awesome mix of left, right, downhill, and uphill shots. Hole 6 in particular is an awesome uphill anhyzer shot unlike any I've seen. 18 is also a sweet downhill, almost a tunnel shot, with plenty of rough to punish errant drives.

-The most outstanding part of this course is the pin positions. These change not only the length, but the feel of almost every hole. While I only got to play a single position for each hole, I did take the time to walk out the others and see how extreme the differences are.
Cons: -I hear the bugs are crazy at this course, with how late in the winter I played it I can't comment on that though.

-Some of the flow of the holes is a little counter intuitive, but nothing terrible. I'm sure you could find your way around on your own without much difficulty.
Other Thoughts: This course is outstanding, and apparently backed by an even more outstanding community. The people who put this together do an excellent job, and deserve your support. Dropping a dollar in the donation box is almost an obligation given how nice this course is.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Done

1    10/22/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed with nice hole/shot variety, also nice variety of distance & pin placements with many blind pins. The course offers a descent challange & still playable at any level. The layout is easy to navagate, there are signs & score cards with hole maps, also arrows and markers help some with pin placements & to next hole. The park & courses were very easy to locate.

Very well maintained with new high end baskets, there was a grounds crew on site the day I played driving around in carts, there are ample trash cans & restrooms.

The tee pads are level with grainy cement surfaces offering supurb footing (most important for any course) & are wider at the back & tapper narrower to the front. I was impressed with how obstructions are presented in the design, most holes have it just right, not too many & not too few, with one or two short & open for an ace chance.

There's some elevation changes with up & down hill shots, wooded holes, tight & fairly open holes, hidden & covered pins, slight & sharp doglegs. An overall pretty nice mix. Even with the 9 & 18 hole courses in the ground there is still a lot of space for more holes, the place has a lot of potential.
Cons: Only a few minor issues here. The signs are just a bit crude, but do get the job done. There's no water in play on the course, not much as far as rough either, although not much is better than too much. There's a lot of space between a few of the holes esp. the back 9 had a couple long walks.
Other Thoughts: This course was nicely done on first effort & improvements here would not be at all difficult.
It is a nice example of how things should be done with courses in our area of the country.

I think I picked a perfect day to drive out to play, aside from the perfect fall weather & no inscets, the grounds crew was changing basket placements just behind me, so I got to play 2 rounds with different placements, pretty sweet! The crew was friendly & helpful & mindful enough to not hang right on my tail as they were changing the baskets.

Some of the holes are challenging, some average and a couple are on the easy side, I don't see any of this as a problem, they have to cater to everyone off the line, eventually they can add multiple tees for different skill levels, just hit up the donation box.

After writing this review, one of the members here mentioned that they use screws to indicate which pin placement & they alternate by distance starting from hole 1 (short/long or long/short).

It only ended up being an hour drive so I'll definately be back, well worth the drive & I recommend as a must play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Legit Golf

1    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole offers some sort of challenge, in other words there are no throw away holes. Elevation adds a unique factor for a course in this area, and it plays into the majority of the holes. There are some challenging tunnel shots, and trees add challenges on every hole. Choosing a good line is key. Shooting off line will lead to bogeys or worse; the course is fair but punishes bad shots accordingly. There is no thick rough, thorn bushes, or undergrowth to frustrate a player looking for an errant drive. Discs are easy to find even after bad shots. The course flows perfectly, signs direct you to the next tee if it isn't clear where to go. The tees are great and the park is well maintained. Many memorable holes come to mind but 18 is definitely the standout. The tee is elevated 25 or so feet above the fairway which is dotted with tall, mature trees. You can bomb it, but you also have to be accurate. You can not call yourself a legitimate disc golfer if you don't empty your bag the first time you play this hole. Best course in the area hands down.
Cons: Not many. One or two holes were laking signs, and for a few holes you have to walk a ways up the fairway to locate the basket. The walk between 15 and 16 was confusing and the sign didn't really help in this case. Thats it.
Other Thoughts: I would list the walk between the 17th and 18th holes as a con but it is definitely worth it, you realize this when you step onto the 18th tee. Every single hole is a blast. Many types of shots are required. The fun factor is definitely there. Play this course if you live anywhere close.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/21/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: mikeb23
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, good mix of shots, they change the pin placements every couple of weeks so you arent playaing the same course over and over. The first nine holes are somewhat open, with trees and bushes in the way to make for a few pretty technical shots. The back nine is heavily wooded with a lot of tunnel shots. The course does not favor righty or lefty throwers.
Cons: The mosquitoes are awful so bring very powerful bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I would say it is probably the best course to play in my area. It is extremely well taken care of and they change the pin placements every few weeks. I also like the small pitch and putt course in the park as a warm up. If you are in the area I would highly reccommend playing a round or two.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sly Like The Fox

2-4    8/20/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Trapezoidal, brushed concrete tees are grippy, level and in great shape. The best tees I've played upon, hands down.
- Very well manicured and maintained for the most part. Located in a park with full amenities: bathrooms, water fountains, picnic shelters, playground equipment, volleyball courts, sledding hills, tennis courts, baseball diamonds, boat launch and grass "labyrinth."
- A great mix of hole styles keeps the course progression fresh and entertaining. Dual pin positions change the feel of each hole. Tunnel/gap shots, hyzers, anhyzers, this course will challenge your repertoire. Risk/reward opportunities abound, especially on the back nine.
- Great use of the moderate elevation, especially #6 and #18. #6 forces a blind uphill anhyzer with woods on both sides to the short pin position. #18 throws downhill through woods, with heavy brush and wooded areas to both sides waiting to ruin your day.
- The best signage I've seen, supplemented by a great scorecard. Pin positions are noted on the sign with a bolt. The scorecard is located in a box near the parking lot. It currently does not include the newer back nine on the card, but that is probably in the process of being rectified, based on how "together" the park's keepers seem to be.
Cons: - Although maintained well for the most part, around the edges this course is a bit rough. Poison ivy teemed in some roughs, and the swampy areas near the Fox River are breeding grounds for insects.
- A few scattered grills in the fairways seemed incongruent with the rest of this fine course's layout.
- The flow between holes is a bit tricky in one or two spots, but nothing too egregious.
Other Thoughts: - The mosquitoes by the woods were rabid. Although they've been bad everywhere in the region this year, this course had the worst I've ever experienced. Clouds (literally) of the little devils swarmed through multiple layers of 100% Deet to make the round really miserable. I can't list this as a con, but be aware that the nearby Fox River probably contributes to an insect problem on a yearly basis. Bring spray and still expect to be chewed on!
- There is a donation box near the 1st hole (by the scorecards). Donate! The people running Grey Fox are doing it right. Support their efforts.
- Disc shop nearby (you'll pass it on the way if you come from 94). It was not open when we stopped by, so I'm uncertain as to selection, prices, etc.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.