Silver Lake, WI
Fox River Park - Grey Fox Share
Uploaded By: src23093 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Nice

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: dracimus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I consider myself a novice player, the course is pretty nice arranged, it even tell you where the basket goes with the sign (arrows). many trees, (I'm novice) my disc loves to bang on the trees. but for experienced, you shouldn't have problem hitting the tree often.

Cement tee's
Sign on each course
Some basket are behind tree.
Nice well maintained park
Some high hills, have to throw disc a bit higher


Cons: BUGS!!, they love to swarm all over, bring spray, or go play on fall/spring season.

Most course are straight and "L" to left mostly only one basket on each course, you will see A/B on course sign it is either A or B.
Other Thoughts: Nice honest disc golfer player, I lost something and the disc golf player has simple returned my items

Defiantly will go again to improve my throwing skill.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the local area

5+    11/27/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2010
11 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: - Nice large level cement tee pads
- Great tee sign...although some have been ripped off the post already :(
- Well manicured
- bathrooms
- Dogs allowed
- Course separate from other park activities
- Tight fairways
- Descent to good shot shaping required
- Difficult rough but easy to find disc
- Back 9 well designed
- Lots of room on the front 9 but still require accuracy.
- Very clean
Cons: - Holes 2 and 5 really drag the front 9s quality down. 5s tee could easily be moved back into the woods a little bit. Would make it way better. 2 would be cool if the long was the short and a pin placement got but in the woods a little bit.
- Flat straight shots is the pre-dominant drive (13/14 of 18)
- Utility and mid range drives are all that is needed
- Wind not really a factor on majority of course
- Bugs can be really bad
- #16s short is WAY! better than the long.
- #17s tee is "crowded" on the backside.
Other Thoughts: **Update**
I have finally got to play Grey Fox in all longs. So I am going to re-rate the course based on its optimal pin positions.
#1b #2b #3b #4b #5a #6b #7b #8b #9b #10b #11b #12b #13b #14b #15b #16a #17b #18b
From the tee the majority of shots are generally very straight. The real challenge here is on the upshot. Alot of shot shaping is required with your approach disc is required to score well. Because of this the tee shots need to be well placed. There are only a few "easy" deuces on the course. In the longs a 1000 rated round is a 54-55.
Most of the shorts are extremely lame and really reduce the quality of the course design. In the long is a well though out 2 or a well managed 3 but in the short its an almost automatic 2 or a lazy 3. I think this is why I intial rated this course poorly.

Course Overview (longs):
Hole 1 is a extremely well guarded pin. It has a low ceiling and several guardian trees including a large pine tree that eats discs. You must pick the right disc and the right gap. Ideal line is a tight hyzer.
Hole 2 is wide open and straightforward Worst hole on the course.
Hole 3 is a bomb. You must go up and over the hill in front of you and finish about 150ft from the center tree in the fairway. Ideally you want to get to the top of the hill and make your upshot for the 3. 4s are common.
Hole 4 is a big S-curve slightly uphill. The initial part of the fairway has a low ceiling and several larger trees. Straight ahead of you is the hyzer line for the short pin and a wall of small trees. The basket has a great backstop. of trees and a small steep hill.
Hole 5 is a short little hyzer with 2 low ceiling tight gaps you must hit. The basket is slightly down hill with a green that slopes downward away from the basket to the left.
Hole 6 is a gentle turnover shot up a steep uphill. the basket is in a clearing at the top of the hill. Thumbers/Tomahawks generally dont turnout well. It is a very tight line.
Hole 7 can fool you. The basket is long and to just to the right and downhill. From the tee if you got a huge sidearm then go for it. If your throwing BH then you ideally want to be about 50ft short of 8s tee. that will give you the clearest line at the upshot. The right side of the fairway is full of trees and rough. The left has a pine tree about 50ft off the tee and then it is wide open.
Hole 8 is a dangerous hole. Watch out for people on 9s tee. The basket is just behind 9s tees on the other side of the trees. Its another sidearm for a 2 or a big anhyzer for a possible 2 or easy 3. Not a big deal if you hyzer out left, wide open field. On the right are woods and some large trees. If you cut in early it can make things difficult.
Hole 9 is a classic short tunnel hyzer. I love to play these. Take a midrange with some late hook to it and put her straight down the gut. once past the tunnel you either want to hyzer out early or late to avoid the 2 guardian trees.
Cross to south side of parking lot for 10-18.
Hole 10 is a unique fairway. There are several large trees that provide many choices to take for your line. The main 2 gaps are the anhyzer/sidearm to the left or the hyzer with a big skip to the right. Straight ahead are some troublesome small trees and bushes that eat up discs and make pars difficult.
Hole 11 is tucked just inside the woods on the uphill slope. Run at the basket with a midrange or low power driver and get it to hyzer in hard just short of the basket. That will set up a easy deuce. You will only be punished for early hyzer outs.
Hole 12 is the most challenging hole on the course. From the tee its all about getting your shot straight down the tight tunnel. The fairway has a slight "bump" in the straight line that can really hurt you. Once down the tunnel you are faced with a grove of tall trees with 2 ideal gaps that lead into the gap before the green area. A sidearm or high anhyzer is ideal. Taking a 4 is rewarding.
Hole 13 is a downhill anhyzer to an island green. The road is played as OB. Take a run at the basket from the tee. Behind the basket on the other side of the road is a several small trees and bushes that act as a great backstop that leave you with a 30-40' putt.
Hole 14 is a long slightly downhill tunnel shot. About 360' down the tunnel it open up to a carved out clearing. Make a nice upshot to the basket about 50-60' left.
Hole 15 is a toughy. The basket is on top of the hill just before the down slope. There are numerous guardian trees. There are many ways to attack this hole but a straight hyzer past the pine trees on the left will leave you with many options to take to the basket. Careful not to go long as it is a long way down the hill after the basket and roll-a-ways are common.
Hole 16 is another tight tunnel that takes a sharp turn to the right uphill about 20-30' in. Sidearm it for an easy 2.
Hole 17 is a long dog leg left through a tunnel. Your goal from the tee is to put a straight hyzer down to the mulch on the left. If you get there its an wasy upshot through some large trees to the basket on a short steep upward slope. A difficult3.
Hole 18 is a fantastic finish and the most beautiful. You stand atop a hill looking through a gauntlet of large trees. Its straight and long downhill. Ideally you want to put your drive through the two skinny trees straight ahead just before the mulch ends. Depending on where you end up it is an easy upshot for the 3. If you have a cannon on you it is possible to have a long putt at it.
GO Play!

P.S. Do not eat at that Dairy Queen! They are awful! We waited 30+minutes and didn't even get our food or money back cause we didn't want to miss the second round. They had the rudest and laziest employees I've seen in a long time. It was like watching 3 chickens with their heads cut off and a giant ? mark for a head.

11 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 My New Home Course!

5+    6/30/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: juanbond
Played: 119  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of variety. Doglegs left, doglegs right, straight, tunnel, low canopy, moderate elevation, and even a couple open shots.

- Challenging but not brutal. Pro and advanced players will likely only find a couple holes/pins to be too easy. Beginners will be challenged the whole way, but not excessively punished by water or disc eating rough. You can lose discs here, but the woods aren't too brutal to search a bit.

- Dual pin placements (short/long) on every hole. Pins were switched to alternate placements in late June 2010. Since the course opened, they have kept the placements alternating between short and long on successive holes. Each pair of pin placements are quite complementary and require different shot shapes and sometimes change the hole lengths considerably.

- Beautifully manicured park. Always seems to be mowed nicely. Park staff do a ton of work here and are very friendly. Scorecards are available near the 1st tee.

- Excellent baskets and tee pads. The eighteen Chainstar baskets are just as new as the course, and perfectly installed. The pads were well brushed when poured, so they grip well even in heavy rain.

- Good signage. Tee signs are now present on every hole, with hole layout, both pin locations and distances, and a yellow screw indicating which pin is currently in place.

- Low traffic. I have yet to see this course truly crowded. The park sits in a small Wisconsin town, with almost nothing but small towns surrounding it. If you like the feeling of seclusion and natural beauty without a trace of car exhaust and city noise, this is the course for you.

- Many memorable holes. #6 is through a tight steep uphill tunnel out into a large mulched opening. #12 is through a long tunnel out into either a pin surrounded by a group of old large trees, or curling right downhill to a pin tucked between two bushy trees and thicker woods. #13 has its long placement downhill to an "island" green (road surrounding, not water) protected by woods and a few large trees. #15 starts downhill with a dogleg left under a low canopy, short pin is around/over two large pine trees, long pin back uphill through a cluster of trees with a fall-away green just behind it. #18 is an excellent finishing hole, from a well-elevated tee, through a semi-open wooded fairway with few medium trees, out into an opening with several large old trees and grass.
Cons: - Mosquitoes can be somewhat bad in places (I've endured much worse). Definitely bring bug spray. The back nine is typically buggier than the front nine.

- Needs signs for a couple of between-hole walks. This has been improved between holes #15 and #16 with a new mulch path.

- Seems perfect for a second set of tees, I sincerely hope they eventually add some.
Other Thoughts: With a beginner/recreational 9-hole course on site, this park is a perfect destination for any skill player. I play here at least once a week in leagues, and now call it my home course. The park has other amenities nearby: picnic benches, playgrounds, tennis courts, ball diamonds, and even a stocked ice cold pop machine between the 15th green and 16th tee.

Having now played all pin placements, this course is a solid 4 to me. The lush variety of shots required is the main plus for me. Without the dual pins, it's probably a 3.5 in my book. I can't think of any real serious cons, only some minor issues and conceivable improvements.

The fairway of hole #14 is adjacent to a county road that sees moderate traffic. The road is just 15-20 feet through some thin woods/brush lining the tunnel fairway. So, be careful if you happen to take a rough bounce into the road.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Ouality....

2-4    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 255  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is now one of my new favorite courses!! This course was not "thrown together" by any means. It was VERY well designed and LOT of different shots are required here. Some big hucks, some finesse shots,some leftys, rightys, etc... There is also a decent amount of elevation too!!:)
Cons: The only thing I can complain about here is the bugs. It's hard enough to concentrate on my shots with silence. And with bugs violently attacking me in my personal zone drove me nuts!! BRING HEAVY DUTY BUG SPRAY!!!
Other Thoughts: This course was down right FUN to play. Some reviewers said the front 9 was a little on the easy side. I agree, it doesn't compare to the back 9 (10-18). I thought the course flow was awesome altogether! The front 9 is a good warm up for the back 9. They compliment each other very nicely. All in all, this course is a MUST play if your in the area or if you don't live too far. Or if your a weekend crusader. And Hole 18 was a fantastic finish to the course!! This place was done right.......:)

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in a beautiful park!

2-4    6/14/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Michler
Played: 229  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just played this course for the first time last week. I was very excited to see a course of this caliber in an area that is starved for a decent course. This course is in a very well manicured and very large public park.

The front 9 offers a wide variety of par 3's. There are 2 sets of pins on each hole, so the distances will vary, but for the most part the front side is the easier side. The front 9 is much more open (not wide open) allowing more room to work the disc on a variety of lines. You still have to earn your birdies. Terrain is great for throwing rollers.

Back 9 consists of several tunnel shots through the heavier woods. The rough can get nasty, so staying on the fairway is a must. There are a couple longer holes here that play as a par 4. Mistakes will cost you 1 or more strokes on any of these holes. You've got to hit your landing zones and keep the disc flat if you are going to get your 3's. The back 9 will definitely teach a player to throw the disc low and flat.

Overall, I love this course. I love the variety of hyzers and anhyzers, rollers, and tunnel shots. Its great fun. The cement tee pads are perfect for the competitive golfer. Flush with the ground and slightly roughed.
Cons: A little more could be done with the first couple holes. They are the weakest on the course. Also, one of the holes on the backside plays down a gap about 200 feet and then 90 degrees up and right about 50 feet. Not a great hole as deuces would be very hard to come by, but its certainly not difficult to take a 3. There are a couple longer walks between holes, so grabbing a map is a good idea if its your first time.
Other Thoughts: Love the course. Plan to play it as often as I can. Great for competitive golfers looking for a challenge. Casual golfers who are just looking for a walk in the park can play the easier, more open front 9, which conveniently ends back at the parking lot. Highly recommend.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Thank the Parks Guys!!!!!

2-4    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) The parks guys that work in this park all gung ho. I am surprised they didn't want to keep building more holes. Perhaps some more land will be available for a few more holes and to help expand the red fox course. There seems to be enough land to make the red fox course twice as long and much safer than it is right now. I walked the property with the main designer before the pins and tee locations were finalized and within a week they were already prepping the tees, cutting down tons and tons of buckthorn, clearing around some basket locations and within about 6 weeks of my walk through the course was ready for its opening! Not all of the long positions were in as of right now (I don't think), unless under all those garbage cans were the sleeves. Regardless this whole operation from design to implementation should be the model for people pitching DG courses to their local municipalities. The designer declared the parks workers to be BY FAR THE MOST COOPERATIVE HARD WORKING PEOPLE he has ever had to deal with in implementing DG courses.

2) This park is absolutely beautiful. It is set on a diverse property with rolling terrain from wooded, wide open, and also the moderately wooded park like setting. It is ery clear that Kenosha county takes a lot of pride in thispark too because the amount of maintenance they are doing for the DG course as well as the rest of the park is clearly more than most other parks I have seen (especially compared to the recent changes (monthly mowing and obviously massive cutbacks) in park maintenance at the Milwaukee County Parks system).

3) This park as a whole has three levels of disc golf on 3 seperate 9 hole courses. It is clear they knew what they were doing when the decided to divide the 18 hole course into 2 nines and when added to the original red fox 9 there are three very different nine hole courses for abosolutely everyone to enjoy.

4) The installation of the teepads was well thoguht out. The excavation was done perfectly, the pads are large and trapezoidal which are my favorites. Then after the concrete was poured they brough in soil leveled things off and sodded the first strip around every pad ( that sits in turf areas). This was a great idea because the seed would have never made it and the whole area would just fill with weeds so now at least there will be good turf around the teepads.

5) Mulch was used very effectively to soften the ground, cover bare soil, and prevent erosion. With the amount of clearing they had to do for a few baskets I am sure they were able to just mulch all those trees up and lay the chips ont he ground. What great use of on site materials!

6) Awesome variety in distances on holes. Long pins are generally much longer than short pins. The range on distances goes from 173 up to 386 for the short pins and from 218 up to 520 for the long pins. What an awesome selection of holes to play and you are guaranteed to need all your shots in your bag!

7) Posts by every tee, massive trapezoidal concrete pads, garbage cans intermittantly through the course, new baskets with homemade # plates attached to the top of the baskets, dual pins, soda machine and bathrooms between #15 and #16, scorecards available for each 9 hole course with distances and course map on them, plenty of parking for a course fairly removed from the metro area. WHat more could you ask for . . . well a map of each hole at the teepad but thats it!
Cons: 1) #1 is a little bit goofy to me mainly because the shrubs that are on the left of the shor t pin are ornamentals (meaning shrubs I wouldnt want to get destroyed by discs). The long pin on #1 is a really tight (both side to side and up and down). It almost seems like a little more clearing should be done to create somewhat of a defined fairway. I don't want it to be too easy, just more clearly defined.

2) #2 would be a lot better if the tee was backed up to the woods near #1 shot pin. That is where the designer and I wanted to tuck it, so we moved the stake back there, but by the time the designer talked to the parks guys they had already begun to prep #2 tee. I can't fault them for their hard work or their ambition, so it isn't a huge deal, and most likely if dual tees go in anywhere, that will likely be the first one to go in because it makes it a much better hole.

3) Lots and lots of buckthorn on the property and I know the course is new so hopefully some of the woodlines get beaten down, or the parks guys go in and thin out the buckthorn so just the natives and noninvasive stuff defines the fairways because that stuff is nasty!

4) Mosquitos are horrible, whow ould have though with the course sitting on property with the Fox River running right through the park! Oh and dense woods, that is simply no place for mosquitos to be living! Yeah right. Bring your bug spray.

5) There are a few holes that will test your shot making, and a few of the shots are really goofy. I am not saying bad design, but shots that
Other Thoughts: All in all one of my top 5 in Wisconsin. I put it ery similar to Silver Creek, but without the views of Lake Michigan, I'd have to say that hurt this course. It is a beautiful park, but it isn't really scenic. I rank the course on the course but the peripherals really adjust my impression. I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course especially since the first time I actually played it was when there were no teepads and no baskets, but just before the parks workers began their SOLID work. It also was before a lot of the buckthorn and brush ahd filled out for the spring, so it is a much different feel now versus the springtime. I just love it!!! And it is so close to a 4.5 in my book, probably closer to a 4.25 than anything though.


DO NOT READ IF YOU DON"T LIKE COURSE RECAPS!!!
A quick rundown of the holes with some shot making required, goofy shots, or some real challenge. #3 is a tough one up the hill and to the right, #4 is also a tough one that goes to the right slightly but you have to beware of turning it over too quickly or running it into the ground. #5 actually got an opening up on the right allowing a shot at the basket with a hyzer line. I didn't see that when I walked the property in the early spring. It is certainly risk reward, but trying to anny or flick one in to the left of this opening is also an option, I just am not sure which has less risk! #6 is a tough uphill tight s curve, but the parks guys went to town on the buckthorn at the top of the hill and if you can get through the gap and onto the wood chips you can have no more than a 50' putt to either basket. It is an interesting hole and much easier with how much they opened it up, but I still like it. #7 is a tough tight s curves with a much better line for sidearms. #8 long basket is tucked around a bend. #9 could be an easy 2 or a horrible 4 on any given day. Hit any little tree on either side and you could be in for some trouble, or throw right into the buckthorn and you might struggle to get the approach near the basket (especially the long). #10 is a really tough hole to decide what to throw. There is no easy way to get near either pin. Just pick one of the lines and throw it. I tried one to the right and one up the gut (trying to go right through the tiny opening in the woods where you can see the short pin). #12 is a tight long fairway, and the long will certainly force some 5's and 6's. #13 is just a cool hole with an island woodchipped green. It is surrounded by pavement which will be OB. Lay up short of the turnaround for a 40' putt attempt, or try and thread the needle all the way down to the 30' radius green. Its tough! #14 is another long tunnel shot, but the long is tucked around a big bend in the fairway. Either pin will be tough, but the long has a chance at a rollaway down a long narrow hill! #15 is a tough hole again. Look at the arrow directing you to try and stay left of the sign. #16 is a tough tight downhiller that you need to stay up the middle to assue your par chance. A birdie in the right position will be tough!
#17 is just another awesome hole. Straight through a long tunnel and about 300' out the fairway doglegs into a more open area (which again the parks guys cleared an amazing amount of trees to create this fairway. This hole felt as much like the North Carolina or Kentucky courses I have played and that is good! #18 is just another great hole. The parks guys cleared the entire fairway except for a few large trees that you need to try and navigate. Awesome downhiller threading through trees to a turfed area with large mature oaks. Sorry for the long read, but I really felt like recapping some of the holes. I thin this is one of my favorites in Wisconsin for sure. It has everything except water and massive ski slope elevation, but it does have everything else like rolling terrain, some uphills some downhills, some tight tunnels, lots of shot making required, and more importantly risk reward. Play safe and go up the middle with stable midranges or go for the glory and throw your drivers and try and send them right up the gut. Get off the fairway and you may often be throwing back to the fairway and unable to advance very far at all.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to play

1    5/29/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park using mostly disc golf dedicated areas. There are rolling hills throughout the course, and they are used quite well to add some variety, and some challenge. A couple holes have more severe elevation change, adding a tough uphill tunnel shot, and a great finishing shot down a steep hill that flattens out into a tunnel shot out into the open.

Some holes are more open with grassy fairways, scattered mature trees, and some brush waiting to snare an errant drive. The rest of the course plays through fairly thick woods with narrow fairways, some low ceilings, and thick rough the length of the fairway. It felt well balanced between tunnel type shots, and holes that were a little more open. There is a nice mix of left and right turning holes here. I felt like I had to use several different shots to be successful here, and the lefty player in our group felt that the course was pretty fair to lefties and righties. A couple long dogleg holes added some tough challenge, especially with some elevation thrown in.

The tees are nice large trapezoidal concrete pads, with good texture and are nice and level and flush with the ground. There are basic posts with the hole number at each tee, and good maps posted for the front and back nines. The baskets are brand new, and catch great, and the dual pin positions looked like they would change up the layout quite a bit. The park is very well maintained, with no trash, nice grass, mulched areas in the woods to prevent mud and erosion, and painted directions to the next tee when the navigation isn't obvious.
Cons: The course is a little lacking in signage. Individual hole signs, including a marker for which pin position is in use, would add a lot to this course, and require less walking ahead to check out the hole layout and pin position. There are a few long walks between holes that were marked with spray paint on the ground when I played. That was fine and made navigation relatively easy, but if that's not maintained when it washes off, the course will not be easy to follow in those spots.

A few holes play very close to park roads and the highway along the park, which causes some safety concerns and takes away from the secluded feel of the course. There were a few picnic and bar-b-q areas that could come into play if they were in use, hopefully they aren't popular spots in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun, and has a few really nice holes. If you're in the area, it's definitely worth a stop to play. Beginners may find the course a little tough and punitive, but there is a nice beginner friendly 9er in the same park. More experienced players will find some great challenges here, and will need to be accurate to stay out of the rough.

The mosquitoes were already pretty bad when I played, so later in the summer they could be an issue, make sure you're prepared with lots of bug spray.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: deafdgolfer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Tight fairways
-nice rolling hills
-good hidden baskets, when you look out to the fairway from the tee boxes. improvise my skills if I come more often.
-One spot, three 9 hole courses layout (Red Fox 9, Grey Fox 18)

To be honest, I thought it would be a pitch and putt course, but I came and was completely wrong. I am very pleased that my trip is a worthwhile!
Cons: -not in my neighbor (45 min drive) but will make several visit a year

-concern of hole 14, right side where the Hwy W runs through. Some newbies or dingbats may shank their drives and hit some cars.

-I am giving this course some time to develop, I see lots of possibilities for the course to grow.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see Pro tees to be added and it would increase this course rating up 1 point.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Park--Good Course

1    5/28/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fox River Park is awesome! This park has ample room and is very well kept. There are nice facilities with restrooms and water. The course has large trees and is open on the front with rolling hills and tight tunnels on the back.

The baskes are brand new with number plates on the top. You can see the hole # on both sides.

The tee pads are long cement tee pads. They are all very flat. There is run up room from behind.

The tee signs have been upgraded. They are descriptive of where the A & B positions are. There is a screw that shows where the position is. There were score cards for the front 9 and back 9 near #1 and #10 tees. There were very useful in aiding navigation.

There have been many signs added aiding in navigation. On #3 there is a yellow arrow indicating which side the pin is in. #4 has a post pointing to #5. #15 has a yellow arrow indicating the direction to the pin. There is a post on 15 and spray paint marking the long walk to #16. There is a yellow arrow indicating where the pin is on #17. There is a next tee sign pointing in the direction of the long walk to #18.

This is a very challenging course with 2 pin positions. The front 9 is more open while the back is longer and tougher playing thru the woods. There is a nice variety of holes. You will be punished on several holes when you get off the fairway.

Signature Holes
#13 downhill shot playing to an island green.
#15 is a nice par 4.
#18 is a sweet elevated tee playing thru the woods.

There is some nice elevation that comes into play on quite a few holes. The park is very quiet and a great place to play golf!
Cons: I think the 1st 2 holes are kind of boring. Hole #8 & #11 short are terrible! After that the rest of the course is very solid.

The every other hole (short/long) pin placement is very frustrating. When all the pins are in the long this course is easily a 4 disc course.

There are several holes that have very short routine short pin locations. The park rotates the odd and even holes every week or so. they are never all in the longs. The short pins on #1, #2, #8, & #11 are pretty much identical. Wide open 200ft holes that don't present much challenge. #13 should be on the island 100% of the time. It's stupid putting it down and left! If you play it you will know what I mean. You'll be like wtf. I drove here and there is an island hole but the pin is in this dumb @$$ position.

I really despise hole design like hole #9 in the long position. This is a adv/pro par 3.5. It's and L shaped hole where you throw to the opening 250 to 275ft and pitch up over to the basket.

There are some safety issues when all the pins are in the longs which isn't often. I nearly hit the group on the next tee on holes 7, 8, & 10.
Other Thoughts: Check out www.discontinuum.org
Many local club members live in northern, il and sothern wi.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Be Bery Bery nice!

1    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses (to the long basket positions):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(There is a mix of relatively open to wooded fairways. Overall the wooded fairways are pretty generous, but there is enough punishment off the fairway to prevent your recovery for par if you screw up your drive. Decision making is minimal as most holes are pretty straight forward.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(Lots of fun and rewarding holes. A few of the long baskets are unreachable by me, but should be fun for bigger arms.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Overall the course is just slightly more open than what I prefer, but that is made up for by a lot of very creative holes.
Maybe the most creative hole is hole 6 - 230' starting out steeply uphill with about a 20' gain in elevation then tailing off slightly downhill to the basket. The angle of the fairway forces a steep uphill S curve (RHBH) to be able to get to the basket.
Another neat/fun hole is 13; a sweeping L-to-R downhill shot to an island green (45-50' circle surrounded by an asphalt turn-around.
There are 1-2 dumb holes, but the course is so new that chances are those will be fixed.

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(This is a superbly beautiful and well manicured course and very secluded on a lot of it. A few holes at the end traverse/transition through picnic and playground areas. A few more nice views and it would be an A+.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == B-
(There are 3 legit par 4's that use doglegs well. I am thrilled to see this in course design in this part of the country. 15 & 17 are quite similar to each other in design with 300-ish drives to a turn in the fairway to the left, followed by 200' to the basket. I like 12 a lot since it demands a long a drive as possible down a punishing tunnel to get in position to hit a narrow gap curving to the right and downhill. The better/longer the drive (400' would be ideal), the better chance to get the touchy upshot to the dance floor. 18 is a spectacular tweener hole: at ~500' you throw off a 20' high hill into a flat wooded area with a few mature oaks. This opens up about half way to the basket into a lush grassy area amid more mature oaks. With a ~440' effective length the biggest arms will be able to get their deuce sometimes if they can thread their drive perfectly.....that would be an amazing finish to a round! )
Cons: Flow is an issue in a couple of places and causes some legitimate navigation issues. Make note of this when heading to the course:
After 9, head across the parking lot to 10.
After holing out on 15, head across the parking lot, pass the restrooms, go up a hill and find tee 16 on the right side of the kiddie playground/slide.
After 17 head back past the kiddie playground by Tee 16, cross the street and walk up a small path the Tee 18 (the view from the tee is worth the walk!).
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are very nice large trapezoids. Lots of mulch in many areas to make things nice. Signs are minimal - tees are marked with 4x4 posts stained and engraved with the
hole number - that's it. I think they will have scorecards with maps at the course after the official opening date.

A park worker I ran into (who was very excited about this new course) told me that they plan to keep things set up as Long-Short-Long-Short-etc or visa versa since there are 2 basket positions per hole. I imagine it will be set up in all longs for some tournaments.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.