Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Grey Fox Share
Uploaded By: src23093 Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Thank the Parks Guys!!!!!

2-4    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) The parks guys that work in this park all gung ho. I am surprised they didn't want to keep building more holes. Perhaps some more land will be available for a few more holes and to help expand the red fox course. There seems to be enough land to make the red fox course twice as long and much safer than it is right now. I walked the property with the main designer before the pins and tee locations were finalized and within a week they were already prepping the tees, cutting down tons and tons of buckthorn, clearing around some basket locations and within about 6 weeks of my walk through the course was ready for its opening! Not all of the long positions were in as of right now (I don't think), unless under all those garbage cans were the sleeves. Regardless this whole operation from design to implementation should be the model for people pitching DG courses to their local municipalities. The designer declared the parks workers to be BY FAR THE MOST COOPERATIVE HARD WORKING PEOPLE he has ever had to deal with in implementing DG courses.

2) This park is absolutely beautiful. It is set on a diverse property with rolling terrain from wooded, wide open, and also the moderately wooded park like setting. It is ery clear that Kenosha county takes a lot of pride in thispark too because the amount of maintenance they are doing for the DG course as well as the rest of the park is clearly more than most other parks I have seen (especially compared to the recent changes (monthly mowing and obviously massive cutbacks) in park maintenance at the Milwaukee County Parks system).

3) This park as a whole has three levels of disc golf on 3 seperate 9 hole courses. It is clear they knew what they were doing when the decided to divide the 18 hole course into 2 nines and when added to the original red fox 9 there are three very different nine hole courses for abosolutely everyone to enjoy.

4) The installation of the teepads was well thoguht out. The excavation was done perfectly, the pads are large and trapezoidal which are my favorites. Then after the concrete was poured they brough in soil leveled things off and sodded the first strip around every pad ( that sits in turf areas). This was a great idea because the seed would have never made it and the whole area would just fill with weeds so now at least there will be good turf around the teepads.

5) Mulch was used very effectively to soften the ground, cover bare soil, and prevent erosion. With the amount of clearing they had to do for a few baskets I am sure they were able to just mulch all those trees up and lay the chips ont he ground. What great use of on site materials!

6) Awesome variety in distances on holes. Long pins are generally much longer than short pins. The range on distances goes from 173 up to 386 for the short pins and from 218 up to 520 for the long pins. What an awesome selection of holes to play and you are guaranteed to need all your shots in your bag!

7) Posts by every tee, massive trapezoidal concrete pads, garbage cans intermittantly through the course, new baskets with homemade # plates attached to the top of the baskets, dual pins, soda machine and bathrooms between #15 and #16, scorecards available for each 9 hole course with distances and course map on them, plenty of parking for a course fairly removed from the metro area. WHat more could you ask for . . . well a map of each hole at the teepad but thats it!
Cons: 1) #1 is a little bit goofy to me mainly because the shrubs that are on the left of the shor t pin are ornamentals (meaning shrubs I wouldnt want to get destroyed by discs). The long pin on #1 is a really tight (both side to side and up and down). It almost seems like a little more clearing should be done to create somewhat of a defined fairway. I don't want it to be too easy, just more clearly defined.

2) #2 would be a lot better if the tee was backed up to the woods near #1 shot pin. That is where the designer and I wanted to tuck it, so we moved the stake back there, but by the time the designer talked to the parks guys they had already begun to prep #2 tee. I can't fault them for their hard work or their ambition, so it isn't a huge deal, and most likely if dual tees go in anywhere, that will likely be the first one to go in because it makes it a much better hole.

3) Lots and lots of buckthorn on the property and I know the course is new so hopefully some of the woodlines get beaten down, or the parks guys go in and thin out the buckthorn so just the natives and noninvasive stuff defines the fairways because that stuff is nasty!

4) Mosquitos are horrible, whow ould have though with the course sitting on property with the Fox River running right through the park! Oh and dense woods, that is simply no place for mosquitos to be living! Yeah right. Bring your bug spray.

5) There are a few holes that will test your shot making, and a few of the shots are really goofy. I am not saying bad design, but shots that
Other Thoughts: All in all one of my top 5 in Wisconsin. I put it ery similar to Silver Creek, but without the views of Lake Michigan, I'd have to say that hurt this course. It is a beautiful park, but it isn't really scenic. I rank the course on the course but the peripherals really adjust my impression. I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course especially since the first time I actually played it was when there were no teepads and no baskets, but just before the parks workers began their SOLID work. It also was before a lot of the buckthorn and brush ahd filled out for the spring, so it is a much different feel now versus the springtime. I just love it!!! And it is so close to a 4.5 in my book, probably closer to a 4.25 than anything though.


DO NOT READ IF YOU DON"T LIKE COURSE RECAPS!!!
A quick rundown of the holes with some shot making required, goofy shots, or some real challenge. #3 is a tough one up the hill and to the right, #4 is also a tough one that goes to the right slightly but you have to beware of turning it over too quickly or running it into the ground. #5 actually got an opening up on the right allowing a shot at the basket with a hyzer line. I didn't see that when I walked the property in the early spring. It is certainly risk reward, but trying to anny or flick one in to the left of this opening is also an option, I just am not sure which has less risk! #6 is a tough uphill tight s curve, but the parks guys went to town on the buckthorn at the top of the hill and if you can get through the gap and onto the wood chips you can have no more than a 50' putt to either basket. It is an interesting hole and much easier with how much they opened it up, but I still like it. #7 is a tough tight s curves with a much better line for sidearms. #8 long basket is tucked around a bend. #9 could be an easy 2 or a horrible 4 on any given day. Hit any little tree on either side and you could be in for some trouble, or throw right into the buckthorn and you might struggle to get the approach near the basket (especially the long). #10 is a really tough hole to decide what to throw. There is no easy way to get near either pin. Just pick one of the lines and throw it. I tried one to the right and one up the gut (trying to go right through the tiny opening in the woods where you can see the short pin). #12 is a tight long fairway, and the long will certainly force some 5's and 6's. #13 is just a cool hole with an island woodchipped green. It is surrounded by pavement which will be OB. Lay up short of the turnaround for a 40' putt attempt, or try and thread the needle all the way down to the 30' radius green. Its tough! #14 is another long tunnel shot, but the long is tucked around a big bend in the fairway. Either pin will be tough, but the long has a chance at a rollaway down a long narrow hill! #15 is a tough hole again. Look at the arrow directing you to try and stay left of the sign. #16 is a tough tight downhiller that you need to stay up the middle to assue your par chance. A birdie in the right position will be tough!
#17 is just another awesome hole. Straight through a long tunnel and about 300' out the fairway doglegs into a more open area (which again the parks guys cleared an amazing amount of trees to create this fairway. This hole felt as much like the North Carolina or Kentucky courses I have played and that is good! #18 is just another great hole. The parks guys cleared the entire fairway except for a few large trees that you need to try and navigate. Awesome downhiller threading through trees to a turfed area with large mature oaks. Sorry for the long read, but I really felt like recapping some of the holes. I thin this is one of my favorites in Wisconsin for sure. It has everything except water and massive ski slope elevation, but it does have everything else like rolling terrain, some uphills some downhills, some tight tunnels, lots of shot making required, and more importantly risk reward. Play safe and go up the middle with stable midranges or go for the glory and throw your drivers and try and send them right up the gut. Get off the fairway and you may often be throwing back to the fairway and unable to advance very far at all.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to play

1    5/29/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park using mostly disc golf dedicated areas. There are rolling hills throughout the course, and they are used quite well to add some variety, and some challenge. A couple holes have more severe elevation change, adding a tough uphill tunnel shot, and a great finishing shot down a steep hill that flattens out into a tunnel shot out into the open.

Some holes are more open with grassy fairways, scattered mature trees, and some brush waiting to snare an errant drive. The rest of the course plays through fairly thick woods with narrow fairways, some low ceilings, and thick rough the length of the fairway. It felt well balanced between tunnel type shots, and holes that were a little more open. There is a nice mix of left and right turning holes here. I felt like I had to use several different shots to be successful here, and the lefty player in our group felt that the course was pretty fair to lefties and righties. A couple long dogleg holes added some tough challenge, especially with some elevation thrown in.

The tees are nice large trapezoidal concrete pads, with good texture and are nice and level and flush with the ground. There are basic posts with the hole number at each tee, and good maps posted for the front and back nines. The baskets are brand new, and catch great, and the dual pin positions looked like they would change up the layout quite a bit. The park is very well maintained, with no trash, nice grass, mulched areas in the woods to prevent mud and erosion, and painted directions to the next tee when the navigation isn't obvious.
Cons: The course is a little lacking in signage. Individual hole signs, including a marker for which pin position is in use, would add a lot to this course, and require less walking ahead to check out the hole layout and pin position. There are a few long walks between holes that were marked with spray paint on the ground when I played. That was fine and made navigation relatively easy, but if that's not maintained when it washes off, the course will not be easy to follow in those spots.

A few holes play very close to park roads and the highway along the park, which causes some safety concerns and takes away from the secluded feel of the course. There were a few picnic and bar-b-q areas that could come into play if they were in use, hopefully they aren't popular spots in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun, and has a few really nice holes. If you're in the area, it's definitely worth a stop to play. Beginners may find the course a little tough and punitive, but there is a nice beginner friendly 9er in the same park. More experienced players will find some great challenges here, and will need to be accurate to stay out of the rough.

The mosquitoes were already pretty bad when I played, so later in the summer they could be an issue, make sure you're prepared with lots of bug spray.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: deafdgolfer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Tight fairways
-nice rolling hills
-good hidden baskets, when you look out to the fairway from the tee boxes. improvise my skills if I come more often.
-One spot, three 9 hole courses layout (Red Fox 9, Grey Fox 18)

To be honest, I thought it would be a pitch and putt course, but I came and was completely wrong. I am very pleased that my trip is a worthwhile!
Cons: -not in my neighbor (45 min drive) but will make several visit a year

-concern of hole 14, right side where the Hwy W runs through. Some newbies or dingbats may shank their drives and hit some cars.

-I am giving this course some time to develop, I see lots of possibilities for the course to grow.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see Pro tees to be added and it would increase this course rating up 1 point.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Park--Good Course

1    5/28/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fox River Park is awesome! This park has ample room and is very well kept. There are nice facilities with restrooms and water. The course has large trees and is open on the front with rolling hills and tight tunnels on the back.

The baskes are brand new with number plates on the top. You can see the hole # on both sides.

The tee pads are long cement tee pads. They are all very flat. There is run up room from behind.

The tee signs have been upgraded. They are descriptive of where the A & B positions are. There is a screw that shows where the position is. There were score cards for the front 9 and back 9 near #1 and #10 tees. There were very useful in aiding navigation.

There have been many signs added aiding in navigation. On #3 there is a yellow arrow indicating which side the pin is in. #4 has a post pointing to #5. #15 has a yellow arrow indicating the direction to the pin. There is a post on 15 and spray paint marking the long walk to #16. There is a yellow arrow indicating where the pin is on #17. There is a next tee sign pointing in the direction of the long walk to #18.

This is a very challenging course with 2 pin positions. The front 9 is more open while the back is longer and tougher playing thru the woods. There is a nice variety of holes. You will be punished on several holes when you get off the fairway.

Signature Holes
#13 downhill shot playing to an island green.
#15 is a nice par 4.
#18 is a sweet elevated tee playing thru the woods.

There is some nice elevation that comes into play on quite a few holes. The park is very quiet and a great place to play golf!
Cons: I think the 1st 2 holes are kind of boring. Hole #8 & #11 short are terrible! After that the rest of the course is very solid.

The every other hole (short/long) pin placement is very frustrating. When all the pins are in the long this course is easily a 4 disc course.

There are several holes that have very short routine short pin locations. The park rotates the odd and even holes every week or so. they are never all in the longs. The short pins on #1, #2, #8, & #11 are pretty much identical. Wide open 200ft holes that don't present much challenge. #13 should be on the island 100% of the time. It's stupid putting it down and left! If you play it you will know what I mean. You'll be like wtf. I drove here and there is an island hole but the pin is in this dumb @$$ position.

I really despise hole design like hole #9 in the long position. This is a adv/pro par 3.5. It's and L shaped hole where you throw to the opening 250 to 275ft and pitch up over to the basket.

There are some safety issues when all the pins are in the longs which isn't often. I nearly hit the group on the next tee on holes 7, 8, & 10.
Other Thoughts: Check out www.discontinuum.org
Many local club members live in northern, il and sothern wi.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Be Bery Bery nice!

1    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses (to the long basket positions):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(There is a mix of relatively open to wooded fairways. Overall the wooded fairways are pretty generous, but there is enough punishment off the fairway to prevent your recovery for par if you screw up your drive. Decision making is minimal as most holes are pretty straight forward.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(Lots of fun and rewarding holes. A few of the long baskets are unreachable by me, but should be fun for bigger arms.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Overall the course is just slightly more open than what I prefer, but that is made up for by a lot of very creative holes.
Maybe the most creative hole is hole 6 - 230' starting out steeply uphill with about a 20' gain in elevation then tailing off slightly downhill to the basket. The angle of the fairway forces a steep uphill S curve (RHBH) to be able to get to the basket.
Another neat/fun hole is 13; a sweeping L-to-R downhill shot to an island green (45-50' circle surrounded by an asphalt turn-around.
There are 1-2 dumb holes, but the course is so new that chances are those will be fixed.

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(This is a superbly beautiful and well manicured course and very secluded on a lot of it. A few holes at the end traverse/transition through picnic and playground areas. A few more nice views and it would be an A+.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == B-
(There are 3 legit par 4's that use doglegs well. I am thrilled to see this in course design in this part of the country. 15 & 17 are quite similar to each other in design with 300-ish drives to a turn in the fairway to the left, followed by 200' to the basket. I like 12 a lot since it demands a long a drive as possible down a punishing tunnel to get in position to hit a narrow gap curving to the right and downhill. The better/longer the drive (400' would be ideal), the better chance to get the touchy upshot to the dance floor. 18 is a spectacular tweener hole: at ~500' you throw off a 20' high hill into a flat wooded area with a few mature oaks. This opens up about half way to the basket into a lush grassy area amid more mature oaks. With a ~440' effective length the biggest arms will be able to get their deuce sometimes if they can thread their drive perfectly.....that would be an amazing finish to a round! )
Cons: Flow is an issue in a couple of places and causes some legitimate navigation issues. Make note of this when heading to the course:
After 9, head across the parking lot to 10.
After holing out on 15, head across the parking lot, pass the restrooms, go up a hill and find tee 16 on the right side of the kiddie playground/slide.
After 17 head back past the kiddie playground by Tee 16, cross the street and walk up a small path the Tee 18 (the view from the tee is worth the walk!).
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are very nice large trapezoids. Lots of mulch in many areas to make things nice. Signs are minimal - tees are marked with 4x4 posts stained and engraved with the
hole number - that's it. I think they will have scorecards with maps at the course after the official opening date.

A park worker I ran into (who was very excited about this new course) told me that they plan to keep things set up as Long-Short-Long-Short-etc or visa versa since there are 2 basket positions per hole. I imagine it will be set up in all longs for some tournaments.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.