Waverly, IA 
Brookwood Park Share
Uploaded By: SolitaryCanid Hole #8 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course

1    7/8/2011   7/16/2013
Review By: timray109
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and pros alike. Multiple tees allow for different hole lengths, and it adds some danger with the water! Nice and well kept very clean
Cons: Tee signs could use some fixing up, and I wouldn't mine updating the baskets
Other Thoughts: Use a float-able disc on water holes!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: zreiter
Played: 196  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots.

Two tee pads for each hole, allowing a notable difference in difficulty.

Great course for beginners, fun for the more experienced.

Easy to find your way around.

Not detailed signs, but easy to see, easy to read, and give enough info (hole #, distance). Maps really are not necessary, (aside from hole 1 long) you can easily see the basket from the teepad.
Cons: Not many trees in play. I prefer courses in the forest, so take that comment as you will.

Hole 8 goes very close to a parking lot. I have only played this course with nobody in the lot, but were there cars there, it would create an unwelcome hazards (unless you like irate car owners, complaining about dents and cracked windows).
Other Thoughts: When playing the long teepad of hole 1 (the teepad closest to the parking lot), note that the basket is just over the hill and to the right. If you can see the other teepad, it points at the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 brookwood

1    7/29/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: aendorf
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very well kept corse, i like the many diffrent types of shots that i had to use during my round as in draws and fades
Cons: tees were very narrow but not unplayable, holes were deffinutly confussing for the first time player, tees are not marked weather or not it is the pro tee or alternate or regular water hazard is more than likely a lost disc
Other Thoughts: baskets were 18 chain inovas i prefer a 24 chain but your preferance might differ why i didnt put it in the cons

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice riverside course

1    6/11/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 322  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice well kept riverside park-even has a boat launch. Has concrete tee pads which are narrow however are serviceable. Larger trees used effectively as obstacles. 2 sets of teepads. 3 holes run parallel to the Cedar river.
Cons: Some tee signs are missing or outdated. As stated in a previous review, the boat launch and walking paths can interfere with play, although, when I played the course, no one was there.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course, playing from the shorts as I was recovering from a back injury. Very peaceful setting. Worth the stop to play--about 3 miles from the major hwy. Prefer this course over the Wartburg College course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average

1    10/26/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tees per hole, good balance of shot direction, some elevation, good sizable trees, nice river-side setting.
Cons: Tees are rather skinny, baskets are dated (single-chain DisCatcher), tee signage less than helpful with many baskets visible from the tee (Hole # and distance only), was a bit confusing to follow for the first time visitor. Boat access and bike path are hazards on many of the holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.