Course Extinct
Nashville, IN 
Bushman DGC Share
Uploaded By: bushmandiscgolf Hole #1 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  BushmanDG Employee Review

5+    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: bushmandiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FREE to play
Open 7 Days a week 10 AM - 9 PM
2,649 ft
Course Maps available
New Signage
Property mowed weekly
Bar + Grill on location
Offers loaner discs
Small Pro Shop (offers drivers, mid range, putters, and bags at a good price)
Cons: The dreaded hole 7 water hazard. This pond is hungry for your discs, as long as you take this into consideration you should be fine.
Other Thoughts: Upon reading the reviews for our course, we acted on changing the cons to this course to offer a better course for the more serious players to find challenging while allowing new players to discover the fun of disc golf. New to the course, we have added signage at every hole that includes an illustration of the tee, basket, trees, and hazards. The course is now mowed weekly and is constantly up kept by a grounds keeper that lives on location. We have also decided to offer this course to the public for FREE, no purchase necessary!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/8/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course for the most part. The grass on the fairways was nicely mowed when we went there. Having a bar nearby is deffinatly a nice thing to have
Cons: On a couple of holes the basket is surrounded by brush that just needs to be cleared. The baskets werent the nicest and even though the grass on the tee box was in good shape, cement tees would have been way better.
Other Thoughts: Ok course but we drove about a half hour to get there and it wasnt a very fun course. I thought the course was thrown together to try and attract people to a bar out in the sticks rather than a serious dg course. In order to change my opinion on that they would need to put some real tee boxes in and get some signage. With no real memorable holes and a kind of boring setup I think next time I take a drive to a couse it will be a different one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/24/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: John Craig
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Lots of open area to air it out (#1, #3, #9), very challenging par 3's (#5, #6, #7), variety of terrain, narrow tee out of the woods (#6), nice dog-leg (#2)
Cons: Only 9 Holes. Water hazard @ #7/#9 is a disc eater!
Other Thoughts: This is my local course I frequent about once a week. While there isn't much elevation change, the course is well laid out in order to take advantage of what obstacles there are. The course sits on an old golf course and is always well manicured. There is signage at every hole now.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A different approach to disc golf

1    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Grover
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cutie Pie bartender asked if I had a cooler with me to take along a couple of walking beers.

Small "Pro Shop" behind the bar for noobs to rent discs to play with or regulars to buy.

Very well maintained - even though we've had horrific thunderstorms 8 of the last 10 days, course was mowed, all tee markers were in place and baskets were brand new. No trash anywhere!

What little elevation and trees are available are used to their best to make the course interesting. They have really done a lot given the limited flat space to make it a legit course and keep fairways from crossing each other.

Holes 7 and 9 play tight to a water hazard (with a huge drop off on the other side of 7).

****Update****
Called me up to return my lost disc!!! Freaking cool as can be, IMO!
****Update****
Cons: Just 9 holes (although I heard a rumor that if this place brings in some business, that could grow). As it stands now, it is a small course in a small open area.

Ground markers designate the grass tee pads. A pro is that there is absolutely no wear on these tees yet.

No tee signs.

Only three players from this site have played this course (as of this writing), yet 2 of us have lost a disc on hole #9. For a course that feels easy, that has to be worthy of mention...

This isn't a course designed to challenge professionals. It was installed to make a nice bar pretty freaking cool. This is a con for this site in regards to how the course plays compared to world class facilities looking to host prestigious tournaments, but its a huge pro if you're looking for cool things to do at a bar.
Other Thoughts: I'm having a lot of trouble rating this course, but I hope I include the information necessary for everyone to know what to expect. What makes it cool is the stuff as it compares to a bar, not as it compares to other courses.

The owner of this bar has built a lot of cool stuff to do besides just sit in a smoky bar. There's a fire pit for folks to sit around in the evening, lots of "cornhole" games set up, and a 9 hole disc golf course to play. It may not be the Pebble Beach of the disc golf world, but it is a great new step in bar/restaurant design, IMO!

Its not the most challenging course, but I don't think they want it to be. As someone who grew up in the area, I know my girlfriends always loved to go shopping in Nashville. This would have been the greatest way to end those days, having dinner, a couple of drinks and playing a quick round of disc golf. Oh, where were you in the 80's during my Laressa, Kristina and Lesley days, Bushman?

This is a course that can easily be used to introduce new folks to the game. The fact that they offer "loaners" drives this home!

Even though it isn't the most challenging course out there, there are some trees "to get around", a pond to avoid, and some slopes for a disc to roll down.

For a small bar in small town southern Indiana, they have a tremendous selection (including Harpoon - a fave of mine). The local wineries are highly recommended.

The baskets are of a "portable" nature. Not sure if this makes it a pro or a con. I like the more heavy duty permanent old-style baskets myself, but I get the impression that this course will be adjusted in the future as needed and they'll keep it fresh (possibly adjusting the challenge as warranted).

Same could be said for the lack of tee boxes as moving the two markers is much easier than breaking up and pouring new concrete.

I played this course right when the bar opened, so I was all alone out there. It doesn't appear to do much business (yet). A con for its future, but a pro if you want to get in a quick round over a couple of beers.

I asked about playing the course before the bar opens (5pm daily) and the cutie pie bartender said I should call ahead, the owner lives on site and would probably open early for me. Apparently the owner is always there, and always available except for the time that I was there...wish I could have asked him some questions for this review.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.