North Muskegon, MI 
Mullally Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Basket along fence behind trees



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
At least it's not Ross park

1    8/31/2012   11/19/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located within another park, with other activities going on. (walking paths playground for kids, baseball field etc) The plus here is that DG doesn't conflict with other stuff going on here, or vice versa.

-Free to play, always a plus.

- Great variety of shots for a 9 hole course, a few holes to open up your arm on with a mix of holes requiring accuracy and finesse.

Actual concrete teepads here, mixed with teesigns showing distance, lines and box number.

No last minute, "short holes" thrown in. 2 of the 9 holes are over 600' (Hole 5= 607' / Hole 8=700') which makes for an interestingly long 9 hole course. None of the holes are under 250' with the shortest hole at 253' (Hole 4)

Metal baskets are in awesome shape. Lots of life left in them. (Pretty sure they are chainstar)

The walks from basket to tee aren't grueling, so you can go from clearing your putter to ripping a drive in just a minute or so.

Cons: Course was flat, not much going on in terms of elevation changes (Only one raised basket in the whole park)

In the spring/summer bring bug spray, pests could definitely be a problem here.

No real risk vs. reward here.

With room for additional holes to be added, it's a wonder they still have this place only with 9 baskets.
Other Thoughts: For only 9 holes, this course does a pretty decent job of mixing it up for you. Most 9 holers I've played seem to be all about supre short and technical holes. Mullally utilizes some longer drives as well as mixing in accuracy and tunnel shots.

All-in-all I'm impressed with the work done here and I think if you have a chance to add this course into your day, then by all means do it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mullally

1    5/28/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice teepads and baskets
- variety in distance. (250 to 700 feet)
- navigation is very easy.
- nice course for beginners but the long holes will challenge anybody.
- hole 6 has the basket on top of a hill, and is well guarded by trees. by far my favorite hole here.
Cons: - other than the 1 elevated basket there is no elevation change at all.
- the first 3 holes are very repetitive. two of the first 3 holes are 308' and the other is 307' and the basket is in pretty much the same place on all 3.
- every hole is pretty much wide open. you can throw hyzer, anhyzer, or straight on every hole.
- I don't like courses where the only challenge is distance and that is how I felt about this course. When there is a tee pad and a basket 700 feet apart in a field with no trees, that is not very fun to me.
Other Thoughts: decent 9 hole course in a nice park. If you are passing through the area there are much better choices, but living here I find that mullally is a nice change from the heavily wooded courses that I usually play (whitehall, henderson lake, flip city)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic--plays around the perimeter of a large multi-use park. Does not really interfere with walking paths or other activities of the park

Teepads/signs--nice concrete teepads with simple post teesigns with the tee number and the distance.

Routing/Nav--very easy. no long walks between pins.

Variety/Length--Very long course for a 9-holer. with 2 holes >600' this course is a killer 9-hole. All holes are >250'

Baskets--nice and in great repair. I believe they're Mach 2's.
Cons:
Risk v Reward--none to speak of.

Elevation change--none to speak of.

Only 9-holes! This is a great 9-hole course but would be even more awesome as an 18.
Other Thoughts: the elevated pin is a nice change from the wide open baskets here

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, long, not technical

1    11/4/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: Alpinemaps
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enjoyable course. Well marked and maintained. All concrete tee pads. Good signage with distances to the tees. Course is laid out well, with some short and two very long holes.

I really enjoyed how hole 6 is laid out - it breaks up the monotomy of the course.

Lots of places to let loose and throw on this course. Great course for practicing your distance shots.
Cons: Not a lot of technical to this course. While there are trees in a few places on this coures, there are plenty of open spaces to let loose and throw.

No par marked on the course. No elevation change on this course, makes it overall a little boring.
Other Thoughts: I'm from California, visiting town. I enjoyed the course, and would play again. Hold 5 and 8 were the longest holes I've ever played. I've played better courses in California...don't know if we'd have this one in my group's rotation, since it is somewhat easy. But, any frisbee golf coures is a good frisbee golf course. It was a great way to spend an afternoon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Family Oriented With a Bit of a Challenge

2-4    12/24/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well Balanced 9 hole course that has bomber shots with semi-challenging finesses/technical shots,
-Well maintained as it is in the middle of a park with baseball diamonds on one side and soccer fields on the other.
-Playground for the kids
-Good mix of trees and open land
-More of a beginner/refining course (go to flip or branstrom if you're looking for something tougher. McGraft is a better choice for 18 holes that is closest)
-Tee signs marking the footage and hole number.
Cons: -Some holes tough to navigate (Hole 7 especially). Some holes do not lead into eachother and require backtracking or a change of direction. You don't always walk right into the next hole.
-If you are playing competitively, there is much room for mistakes. If you make a bad throw, chances are you can recover. This is great for beginners and those refining technique. It won't give you a headached.
-I would assume it gets busy during the summer and spring with sporting activities, but this is just an assumption.
Other Thoughts: All holes are easy to get to. Played this one in the snow, so navigation was a little tough. Hole 1-3 follow the fenceline. Hole 4 is in the corner, but takes you 250' to the right. Hole 5 is the 600 footer that follows the fence line. Continuing walking in the same direction to hole 6. Hole 6 has you shooting back about 280 or so, to a slightly elevated mound with a basket on top. The mound is well guarded and beware of overshooting as there is a drop off back to ground level. After finishing this one turn around to walk back toward the fence. Finish hole 7 and turn back to the main entrance to the 700' hole 8. Arrive at the tee pad and look toward the hole 6 mound. This is the right side of the fairway. The hole is tough to see and this is the one where we waited around like idiots trying to find the hole. Pretend like you are shooting back to hole 4 and you're on the right track. After finishing this, hole 9 is toward the right of the playground and has you shooting toward the fenceline. It's a good walk back to the vehicles or to play hole 1.

I rate this low because you have to compare it to other 18 hole courses on here. This is by far the best 9 hole course I've ever played. I thought the designers did a great job utilizing what the land offered. You can't exactly plant more mature trees to ensure more obstacles in a park. If you're looking for something quick play this course. If not, go to another one nearby.

The park may need to consider a course map or signs to tell you where the baskets are. Just a thought. In my opinion there are party courses, business courses, and the ones that are a mix. This course is more of a casual/party course. You won't get a headache playing this one or walk it with all your discs being less stable from all the trees. Fantastic course to take to the kids. Playground in the middle of the course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/31/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large, McGraft-sized pine and oak trees make fun holes with many routes to throw through. Newer Chainstar baskets, and sign posts with accurate distances.

Has a couple of long 600+ foot holes (#5 and #8). Includes a few secluded spots, as well as bird species (Eastern Kingbirds were spotted, among others).

A terrific beginner course, as well as a good practice course for advanced players to throw big.

Dedicated disc golf area. Free admission.


Cons: Only nine holes. Grass tees.

Somewhat wide-open in spots, with occasional high winds. Very flat course. One hole comes a little too close to a baseball field (#3).

No signs at the park indicating where golf course is (use North entrance).

No benches or bathrooms.

Other Thoughts: A low rated course, but don't let that stop you from playing this course, particularly if you have less time or are nearby.

Get in some practice drives and wind putts for the next Flip round here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mullally Park

1    7/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 10/18/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -very open course with holes of differnt lengths
-well marked with nice signs and baskets
-best possible course given what they had to work with, it is just a sand/grass field.
-good use of length to make the course challenging even though it is wide open
Cons: -only 9 holes to play
-it was so open that the holes got very repedative, all you could do was throw to the next basket becasue there were so few obsticles.
Other Thoughts: I would only play here again if I was in the area but it was not worth the drive to play the open course with only 1 or 2 interesting shots.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mullally park

2-4    10/1/2012   7/27/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course to work on your long drives. Tees marked well with Hole # and distance. a couple of challenging holes like trying to putt uphill on #6. fairly easy to navigate.
since the last time i played they have installed concrete pads that are decent length, only one i had a problem with was hole 2 where it lined up with trees directly in front of the pad.
Cons: no pars listed on tee markers. also wish there was a map or drawing of hole layout so you have a idea as to which way to throw on some holes. didn't see the basket on #8 until after my second shot then had to realign my approach to the hole.
Other Thoughts: overall i liked the course. want to come back to try and improve my score. since i now know where the baskets are i should be able to score better. tip for hole #8. there is a blue trash barrel in the middle of the fairway.. aim at that from tee and will put you in line with hole. i drove into the drive by the tennis courts. parked by the restrooms and playground equipment. from there i backtracked to the first hole by the road. After the 9th hole my car was just the other side of the fence. so i didn't have to walk far.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/16/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: DiscLady
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty open with long holes. Good to do a little perfecting of shots. Nice clean park with picnic shelter.
Cons: No map showing holes. Got a little confused at times. Do not Tomahawk on 9th hole. Tall pines ate our discs. With much effort we did get them down. Long holes for us beginners.
Other Thoughts: I liked most of the holes, my friends did not care for this park. I would try this again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 wide open

1    7/4/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very easy to navigate through. Each hole is marked well with a wooden post that has the hole #, distance indicated on them. The park was very clean, and many trash cans were throughout the park. This course has mostly wide open shots although holes 3, and 9 had a random group of trees in the fairway. Hole six had a real unique hole placement with the basket on top of a little hill with trees almost all the way around the hill.
Cons: The fact that there are only nine holes was the biggest con. The park looked pretty big and it seemed like there would have been room to put more in. None of the signs had the par, also no information on this site. After you finish hole 9 you will have a somewhat lengthy walk back to the parking area.
Other Thoughts: With all the the wide open shots, and then the 607, and 700 foot holes this course has plenty of opportunity to let the big bombs go. Even with only 9 holes this course was still real fun to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.