Killington, VT 
Base Camp Outfitters DGC Share
Uploaded By: Base Camp Outfitters Hole #16
3 / --   3 / 292ft.   3 / 292ft.   3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 one of VT's best

2-4    4/6/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: discrun
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I played this course last year and really liked it a lot. My biggest complaint was all the wet areas and lack of tee pads. They took care of that and then added small touches that really stand out. First off, I love the layout. They use natural features perfectly and now the added concrete tee pads. All 18 holes are done and they are all the same size. I think it is like 4x12. Plenty big. And then they built 100 ft, bridge on 11 and added drainage everywhere else. I played in sneakers and was shocked. I was not expecting dry feet. They also do many of the small things, trash buckets at every hole, benches and hole description signs on every hole, On some of the blind shots they have flags on extension poles so you can identify where the target is. Very helpful and then something I have not seen yet, a bell to let people know when you have finished the hole. These people have put some time and effort into this course and it shows.
Cons: I will have to look for some next time
Other Thoughts: This course is worth traveling for to play. When I was there some of the other players did come from far away and they shared my same thoughts. A must stop if you are in Vermont. Good selection of disc product as well.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun lines

1    8/26/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through rolling hills in the woods. Many of the holes use cross country ski trails for part or all of the fairway, others play in tighter woods. There is enough rough that you'll really have to get creative when you miss your line, though not enough to make the course a real disc eater. There are a few more open holes mixed in for variety, most of these have nice elevation changes to keep them interesting. The hills on the course are used well in general to add challenge and variety, and a few pin placements use hillsides to add some risk to the short game. The basket on a stump is a nice touch that is visually interesting and makes for a fun putt.

There is great variety of lines here, with a fairly balanced set of left, right and straight holes. With a mix of fairway widths and early vs. late turns, you'll need a wide set of shots to be successful here. The baskets are temporary, but are staked down and catch perfectly fine. The tees are marked, with good flow making it easy to follow the course. There are maps and scorecards available, with individual hole layouts on the back of the scorecard. This makes the lack of tee signs a non-issue.
Cons: There is enough room here for some multi-shot holes, the majority of the course plays fairly short. I would have loved to see a few longer holes that make you really focus on fairway shots rather than just drive and putt on most holes. The tees are mediocre, many are not level and don't provide great footing. They are also fairly small, though with generally shorter hole lengths you shouldn't need a huge runup.

There are a few holes at the beginning and end of the course that overlap and cross, a potential safety issue though it doesn't seem like the course gets too terribly crowded. Several holes held water, and were pretty swampy, make sure you're prepared for deep mud if you play after rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course, with lots of variety and nice wooded technical shots. Beginners will have a lot of fun from the shorter tees, there are some tight lines and rough but the holes aren't too long and there are opportunities for recovery shots. More experienced players won't find it too terribly challenging, though the longs do offer some interesting lines to hit. It is a lot of fun though, and worth a stop if you're in the area.

The people in the shop seemed very nice and helpful, and were interested in our feedback on the course. They have a limited selection of discs for sale.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Par 3 Disc Golf!

1    7/5/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Par 3 disc golf!
Easy to navigate with many next tee signs plus map/scorecard available when paying (pipes at long tees have hole # and distance painted on them therefore the lack of formal 'tee signs' showing hole layout is not a con since this info is on back of the scorecard)
Sense of balance in left/right/straight throws with some different looks/lanes off the tee allowing creativity in shot/disc selection
The course is mostly wooded, flows exceptionally well and mixes in the breather holes with the more technical ones much to my liking
Sensible use of elevation throughout with some 'out of the ordinary' basket placements (2 hanging baskets, one on a stump, another elevated on a rock - plus others with roll away potential) without being gimmicky.
Three tees (longs/mids are gravel with shorts being natural). Baskets are mobile DISCatchers (orange flags would help seeing them better on some of the woods holes)
Something I haven't seen previously - on a couple blind holes from the tee (#3 for example), there was a cow bell attached to the basket to ring after you holed out (most likely a remainder from the tournament a few days prior)
In the marshy/swampy areas there are boards, logs, etc to aid in crossing.
Disc loss probability seemed low except for some marshes that you wouldn't want to traverse in order to retrieve an errant throw.
Staff was extremely friendly, helpful & patiently answered my many questions
Apparently the course was re-designed and it appears they just about got it right (even though I've never played the previous incarnation)
Cons: A few possible conflicts: #2 and 18's fairways 'cross' (though it's not 'blind' thankfully). Additionally, #3 & 17's pins as well as 4's tee are all centralized in one general area where there's a potential for errant throws to interfere with play.
Pay to play ($6 per person for the entire day - worth it actually, I'm just not a ptp fan)
Some very swampy areas which in turn produce more annoying insects. The person working that day indicated the wetness at this time of year (early July) is not typical of the season.
Other Thoughts: I love me some par 3 woods disc golf - it typically indicates a fun and enjoyable round & Base Camp Outfitters fits this description perfectly. Two-thirds of the holes on the course are between 190-299ft involving tricky components such as elevation changes & strategic basket placements - nevertheless the primary test here is accurately navigating the woods. No worries for those without a 'big arm' as only a third of the course contains holes over 300ft (2 holes over 400ft with 4 between 300-355ft). Add in the multiple tees and players of a variety of skill levels will find this place appealing - especially with the ample scoring opportunities (although they may not be so fond of the sufficient punishment for inaccurate throws).

Base Camp Outfitters contains characteristics reminiscent of older, more 'traditional' courses - a time before disc technology started constantly spewing out faster and faster high speed drivers prompting course designers to create longer and longer courses which can tend to neglect accuracy, finesse & the less experienced players in favor of power, distance & big arms.

We were on vacation, drove a little over an hour to experience this thoughtfully re-designed course & found it to be the most 'fun' of the four in Vermont I've played so far. If nearby, do yourself a favor and give it a try.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

2-4    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: hikeNdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tunnel shots
Great diversity of drives
Beautiful scenery
Nicely planned fairways that require skill but aren't so tight as to require luck
Cons: Wear bad shoes because you will get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Concrete or pads for tee boxes would make this a 5 for sure.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/5/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: treenied
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They just made a great course even better. They added over 700 feet to the course along with the addition of 5 new holes. It is beautiful even this early in the season. New larger tee boxes. But the best is in the design, on almost every hole you have choices to throw back hand or flicks. The layout is very well though out and the natural features they bring into play are beautiful. And they have a great selection of disc in the pro shop. Highly recommend hitting BCODG.
Cons: Needs to stop raining. There are places you do not want to throw your disc, very wet bogs. But stay in play and all is good.
Other Thoughts: They do other little things that make this course enjoyable for visitors. There is a practice range at the first hole, three sets of tees for all levels. Well marked so you can find the next tee box. And as I mentioned the pro shop sell three or four different manufactors of discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Soon To Be A Classic . . .

5+    8/25/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: jaxstraw
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful, challenging, well-designed course. Requires a full bag of finesse shots. Bring your "A" game. Nicely manicured, friendly staff, full pro shop w/ rental discs.
Cons: Could use some benches on the course . . .

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: great white buffalo
Played: 54  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a fantastic par three course. The layout was very well thought out, and the upkeep and maintenance is top notch. The course was well marked, and easy to follow. There is a great variety of technical shots here. I think that anyone would be both challenged and pleased with the selection of holes. There are a few very picturesque holes that add to the overall "beauty" experience. The fairways are very nice and not congested, although if your shot does not end in the fairway, you will have to really work to keep par. It is surprising though that if you are in the trees after your drive you can still get some nice looks at the basket, and still save par. Rarely are you punished for a bad drive. The staff in the pro shop was super nice and very welcoming. I had to drive an hour and a half to get to this course, and it was worth every last mile. I will definitely be back again and again. I am so glad I went.
Cons: Two fairways 2 and 18 cross and 4 and 16 cross each other, but I have now played there in several tourneys and casual rounds, and it never really causes an issue because of the way the fairways are laid out. You just let whoever shoot and its all good.
Other Thoughts: If you live in this area, or are in this area visiting be sure to hit this course. It may well be one of your favorites after you have played it.Thanks for a great course Base Camp Outfitters.
This place just keeps getting better and better. Mike the owner is putting all the love you can physically put into a course and it shows. This has become a first rate course that's going to leave a big smile imprinted on your brain.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great new course!

2-4    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: mojo1017
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very good course that has a lot of challenging elements. It requires you to use a lot of different strategies and throws to make challenging pins.
Cons: See below. Other than that there aren't many cons
Other Thoughts: My one con has to go down here because its not the course's fault. While the course cuts through very beautiful scenery, landing a disc or two in the swampy waters is a bear. I spent quite a while fishing out my prize disc, but I suppose if my inability to throw on the fairway is my biggest con, then hey its not that bad. Oh and wear shoes that you wouldn't mind getting muddy because the terrain can get quite a bit damp.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great layout

5+    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: VT-Pipes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout, taking full advantage of the natural environment. You start off with some wide open but challenging holes before getting into the forest. A lot of different holes ranging from tight trees to fun bank shots and narrow tight straight a ways. One of the best courses I have played and lets not forget their awesome pro shop and staff.
Cons: I cant par on 11

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Base Camp Outfitters

2-4    6/3/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: wireframe79
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This was a fun and challenging course I was lucky to come across. Discs are available to purchase or rent, and the entire staff was very friendly. Small fee for 18 holes was worth it, as the course was well groomed. Course was equally balanced to challenge both right and left-handed players. Make sure to check it out!
Cons: Bug spray is recommended.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.