Center Valley, PA 
Ace Eight DGC at DeSales University Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4
3 / 266ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Keep low and slight left turn towards basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
absoultely crap

1    5/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: monkeybone75
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the only pro I can think of is that it is close to home, and that they cut the grass (most of it)
Cons: 1) absolutely no hole markings and online maps that try to show holes are inaccurate at best. you will spend as much time as you play, looking for the next hole.

2) right in the middle of campus- go when there are no classes, or you will come out of the round with 3-5 head shots.

3) holes are right on top of each other, and not all of the baskets are numbered, you will play to the wrong baskets numerous times.

4) layout of holes is without effort. 200 ft drive and a moderate putt for almost each hole.
Other Thoughts: This could be a nice course- but it seems that Satan put it on the earth to drive modern man insane. The college doesn't seem to care for the upkeep of pads and all of the maps lead you into the Bermuda triangle. The 2 maps on this website contradict each other on many holes.
I was so frustrated that we just skipped the last 2 holes and went home.
The 3 wooded holes have potential- I crushed the satellite dish with my valkryie and was hoping that I didnt knock out some kind of signal to the college.

WTF

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course is better than no course.

5+    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: msizemore
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accessible, beginner-friendly course
The grounds are kept up well, it is a college campus after all.
Holes 9 & 17 are really enjoyable, several others are pretty good too.
Always good to see a college support disc golf, even if this course has fallen into disrepair.
Cons: Teepads are not concrete and in terrible shape. Signage is non-existant. (Use the map on this site!)
Holes are not terribly imaginative. If you can drive 400 ft consistently you will 2 every hole but 17. Otherwise it's a drive, a simple upshot and putt for par.
Other Thoughts: ** This course has changed since the old map on the DeSales website and scorecard. Use the updated map under the Links/Files section here **
This is a great course to bring beginners to. Most of the holes are very open and straightforward. A few holes have a few obstacles which serve as a great introduction to disc golf without getting frustrating.
Overall I'm glad this course is in the ground. It definitely serves a purpose in introducing more people to disc golf. Fortunately there are plenty of challenging courses in the area to compliment DeSales.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Waste Your Time

2-4    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to my house, but still won't go.
Cons: This course is nearly impossible to navigate. I took my girlfiend there thinking it would be a nice open course for her to learn on. Even with the map we had on her phone, we had trouble finding the first 4 tees and couldn't find the 5th so we left. There are no posts or anything to tell you where the tees are and when you do find them, they are rundown and beat up. When I tryed this course during school months, there were people everywhere so I didn't get to throw then either.
Other Thoughts: Go to South Mountain instead, its only 5 minutes further down 378.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worst of the Lehigh Valley

1    10/6/2011   7/6/2012
Review By: Interloper
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/4/2013
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: None
Cons: Designed in such a way that one would think the designer had great contempt for the sport, and wanted everyone who plays here to be as annoyed as possible. Finding your way around requires professional orienteering experience. A complete travesty.
Other Thoughts: This course should be removed; permanently.

It is a complete waste of time. I'm not being cute here; I'm being serious. If you want to believe these morons who are giving this place anything other than the terrible review it deserves, by all means, go out to DeSales and ruin your day, Godspeed.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  what happened to desales?

2-4    3/27/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: savageminnion
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Played this course a few years back with my brother. It was a neat little course that had a map at the start and was pretty easy to find where to go. Went again a few weeks ago with the same brother and couldn't find the map or many of the tees/baskets. Maybe due to construction that's been going on? Not sure. Played about 5 holes that we found and sadly ended up leaving.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Rip Through

5+    12/16/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The bulk of the course is very well maintained...primarily because it sits in the middle of campus. This is a great course for players that are just getting into the sport. For those players that don't have a monster arm yet, there are enough holes that can accommodate shorter drives and some holes that can be technically challenging. Interesting obstacles include satellite dishes, buildings (like the library), soy fields, massive steel sculptures, and freshman.

Hole 17 is a gem. As one of longer holes on the course, the basket sits on an island with bushes and freshly-planted trees around the perimeter, all of which is surrounded by a bog.
Cons: This course is only a mile from my house so I play it all the time. This has given me plenty of time to take note of the less worthy aspects. This includes the rubber tee pads that are either falling apart or are seriously warped due to erosion and tree roots.

Course navigation is also a serious issue. The map posted on the DeSales University website is out of date and there are no tee signs or next tee markers. For 75% of the holes you can see where the next tee pad is, but for the rest, it can be a confusing hike until you find it or someone takes pity on you and points you in the right direction.

While there are a few holes that provide some fun interest, most holes are fairly short and don't offer much variety, just huk the disc, approach, and then putt it in.

Briars are a nightmare on holes 8-12. If you lose your disc in the thicket, bring a machete to get it out. In fact, I once came back after a round with a pair of lopers and pruning shears to cut through the dense foliage to free a disc jailed by prickers.

Playing holes 1-6, 13, and 14 while class is in session gets tedious. Granted, the course wouldn't be there had it not been for the college, the student traffic usually means that you either have to wait for ever to throw or you quickly throw a poorly-planned shot.

Some of the DISCatcher baskets are beginning to show signs of wear and some have broken chains.
Other Thoughts: For as many negative things that I have to say about the DeSales course, I do have a ton of fun playing it. It's a nice hike and a quick play. Because it's a relatively easy course, it's great as a confidence booster after taking a beating from some of the other local courses. If you're in the area and have an hour or so to kill, give it a whirl.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Open space

5+    8/31/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nicely manicured and fairly long the DeSales campus course is fun to play. Most of these holes are a challenge to card a two on, and some of them will never be two'd, without divine intervention. There is enough variety to keep a player fairly interested, and very interested if it gets windy here. #14 and #16 are the best holes here, I think. Honorable mentions to the opening hole, and #17. A fine course to air it out on, and a pleasant walk in a pretty campus setting.
Cons: Hole #10 is weak. A perfect example of a "tweener": too long to reach, too straightforward and featureless to bogey.
#11 is nearly the same. The course needs tee signs, and arrows to the next hole.
Update. Played it last night. Many holes gone, and it's darn near impossible to navigate now. Some of the tees have deteriorated badly.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course at all, but pales in comparison to local gems like Lehigh Parkway, Jordan Creek, and Nockamixon. At this point in time, any place around is better. That may change. I suppose the trouble with campus courses is the students move on.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course, at the right time...

1    8/29/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: KeithMiller
Played: 99  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised at how much fun this course was to play. I had heard it was tough to get around, but with a map and a knowledge of how to read one it really wasn't a problem. The course is virtually immaculate in it's upkeep, because the college campus is gorgeous and mowed well. I found the layout of each hole to be pretty good in that you weren't throwing over athletic fields or right into populated areas. We played in the evening, but WOW what a great place to play in the summer evenings! Wide open for most shots, great putting/wind practice, and just a cool atmosphere on the college campus. Good elevation, and if you've got a spotter, 8-11 just require pinpoint midrange shots and you should be ok.
Cons: Of course, the fact that the flypads are down in the grass with no tee signs makes it tough to navigate the 1st or 2nd time, but just make SURE you have a map and you'll be ok. When lots of college kids are out on the grass I could see it taking a lot of patience, so I'd stay away during highly populated times. But we played when there were students yesterday and it was not a problem. I'd love to have tee signs, they just make a course more professional. Holes 8 to 11 are certainly a bit overgrown, but the narrow fairway was mowed when we were there. Use a spotter! It was actually kind of comical, when we got to those baskets the weeds had grown up through them from beneath, so they were kind of like basket-bushes. Actually improved catching quality. No cut throughs possible. Maybe everyone should let weeds grow through their baskets. :) We played after lots of rain, and the final two holes were a bit soggy, especially 17 which plays over a bog... but is almost reminiscent of a USDGC style course with a landing area, and then a second shot to hit the green, which was a lot of fun. Look for the bridge behind those big bushes for a place to cross.... we didn't realize it was there! The course isn't super technical, but certainly requires either really well placed drives or solid 30-40 foot putting in order to get under par.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great enjoyment. I could see this being a perfect local alternative during the summer when the wooded courses are overgrown, to just enjoy an opportunity to let it fly, not worry about losing a disc, and take in the beautiful campus. A fun, stress free afternoon out on the course! And I was surprised that you could easily hold a tournament on this course too... hey you locals, maybe put one on next summer????

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An interesting experience

1    6/23/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is fairly challenging, with some very long holes, and holes that require very careful shots. It is in a nice area, and is a great activity for people to do on a college campus.
Cons: Agreed, it probably will be tough to play this course with classes in session and people walking around. Even with a map, on a few holes it was confusing to find where the next one was, but fairly manageable.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played it, I suggest playing it once just so you get to try a new challenge.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 College Course Fails Out

2-4    10/11/2008   1/11/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Conveniant for students and those visiting students. Will expose many to the game who never would have seen it before. Some open holes through the center of campus are fun. One hole stands out #16 is a pretty drive across an open sloping hillside. I think this hole would be a quality hole on any course.
Cons: I Imagine it's difficult to play during classes as there are so many sidewalks and there always seems to be an event or construction going on in the quadrangle. There are some really nasty unfinished holes that seem to be eternally rough and given no attention. These holes are not fun or even challenging. They are just overgrown and nasty. One of them plays over a corn field. Sounds cool until you lose your disc in the corn or the woods adjacent and have no idea where you went. I imagine farmer Joe digs up a bunch of discs come harvest time. HaHa! Don't hit any windows, students, or faculty please. Course plays close to buildings and walkways.
Other Thoughts: It's cool to have a disc golf course on campus. I wonder if kids ever skip class to play. HaHa..like the previous post declares..there are several world class courses nearby so if your in town on a mission to play the best skip this one...If you live in the area and want some variety it's not a bad place to air out some drives and practice your wind game.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center