Kearney, NE 
Cottonmill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
If you only play one course in Nebraska...

5+    9/1/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: hollman
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 9/4/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety.
Excellent mix of left, right, straight, tight, and wide open shots with water hazards and alternate tees.
Great views. Scenery changes throughout the course with meadows, woods, shade, sun, sand, people, wildlife, wild flowers, water, etc.
Lots of good elevation changes.
The course is not at all repetitive or monotonous.
Nicely maintained.
The mature cottonwoods and other trees are nice.
You could have a tough time finding a couple discs and want to scream after a couple throws, but the challenge of the course is not so insane as to make you not want to play it; it is about ideal.

Cons: Tee offs and flow is confusing unless you have played it several times or have a map (print the one off this site before playing). This is sad, because it is a fairly big con, but about the only one I have of this course.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Nebraska and the one we play most often. It never gets old and is the course that really got my wife and I into disc golf. Many avid players consider it one of the best despite the flow being awkward at times. If you want to make an all-day or overnight trip out of it, Kearney has nice places to stay and other things to do. You can also play Centennial and get a park pass and play Ft. Kearny while you are in the area. The Kearney community has an app (Kearney App) that also marks out the golf disc holes and tee offs as part of its "Disc Golf Tour" within the app. This might help locating tee.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging but fun

2-4    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tricky shots and a variety of throws will be used. The scenery is great as this course plays around a large lake...which also means you will have some water shots for added challenges. Multiple walking paths. I thought the course was relatively well maintained and not a lot of trash, which is refreshing.
Cons: Since this is in a pretty popular park, expect lots of foot traffic from the paths. The holes can be a little tough to find if it's your first time playing.

A little biased, but wish there were a couple more open shots to really throw some long bombs.
Other Thoughts: Overall a challenging course, but this can make for some great risk/reward shots. Definitely a must play if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best in NE?

1    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Easy to follow, especially with use of the map printed out on here.
-Some fun water shots that can be shortened or avoided by alternate tees which is nice. One of the water shots skirts the swimming pond so it was comforting knowing that I could safely hop in and find my disc if I threw it in there.
-Multiple basket positions on every hole.
-Good elevation, it starts out right away on hole 2!
-This course goes in and out of wooded areas the whole round and that kept it fresh and exciting for the whole round. There are shots that turn every way or multiple ways per hole. No super long or super short holes but lots of good variety.
-The designers did a really nice job fitting the course in here. It seems like a large area but it really isn't that big.
-Concrete tees were more than adequate.
-Provided a woodsy challenge without having too crazy of undergrowth.
-Good signage.
-This park has all the amenities you need. Other fun stuff to do in the park for the kids like playgrounds and swimming. Bike trails, amphitheatre, bathrooms. Just a nice quality park on the edge of town.
Cons: -A few spots where I was a little confused about the layout. It would be fine if I played again even without a map.
-The ever present problem with multiple pins; where's it at now?! You just have to run up the fairway a bit sometimes. Not a big deal.
-You could lose a disc, this isnt your average city park course but not too easy to lose a disc either.
-A few times on the course you might have to be careful to not hit other park users. A few trails run right around or through the course and the swimming pond borders one hole.
Other Thoughts: This course was great. It had an awesome balance of fun factor and challenge for a player at my skill level. This course is just barely short of a 4.5 in my book and was by far my favorite course played on my recent road trip. This is easily the best course in Kearney and highly worth a stop if traveling on 80. If you only have time for 1 course, this is it. This course felt like a pay to play regional or state park or something but it is free! Thanks residents of Kearney!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Extremely good course

1    7/12/2012   7/12/2013
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course! Very professional design and maintenance. Great variety in holes with elevation changes, trees, turns, doglegs, and other obstacles. Surrounded by a nice park. Tee pads, signs and directions are present.
Cons: I can't think of many cons. This is a near perfect course. The water hazard can be a problem for losing discs or having to get wet searching for one.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best course I have played out of many throughout the country. It really makes you forget that you're in central Nebraska when you're surrounded by scenery that looks more like a forested mountain area. This is a place where you can expect many experienced players to be. University of Nebraska Kearney is also nearby.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasantly Surprised

1    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: emiller3
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice variety of holes, required a large variety of shots
+Made good use of a couple of the alternate pin locations
+Pro/Am tees
+Baskets in good shape
+Tee pads level and in good shape
+Well defined fairways
+Rough, wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be to find errant shots
+Excellent use of elevation and water
+Located in a nice regional park setting
+Signs were well done and accurate
Cons: -Only two pin locations per hole, and most of the longer pin positions make many holes par 3.5's and result in very easy upshots instead of 20-40' putts.
-Don't remember seeing many trash cans
-Only remember seeing one or two benches
-Flow was pretty good between holes, but you need to print a map, there aren't any on-course indicators of where the next hole is. With the map, it wasn't too difficult
-Many greens weren't viewable until you're halfway down the fairway, and there were no indications on the signs of which pin position was currently in use
-I could see this course getting easily log jammed or dangerous when full
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised by this course. On my way back to Colorado from Minnesota I spent the night in Kearney and played this course first thing in the morning. It had many well-designed holes that challenged me to throw a wide variety of shots. I liked the scenery and park setting. All of the baskets were set in the shorter pin positions, and there was really nothing to complain about with regard to the golf itself. Tunnel shots, semi-open bombs, well defined fairways, and balanced number of lefty/righty holes made for a great time. There were a couple pucker-inducing drives near the water as well. I'm a lefty and I got to bust out my "work-in-progress" forehand several times on holes where a lefty backhand was clearly at a disadvantage. I lost an disc on one such forehand on hole 7, but I birdied three other holes with forehand drives in the 250-310' range.

The reason I don't give the course a 4 is due to the lack of variety in pin placements and the flow of the course.

If this were my home course, I'd get tired of the same two pin locations, especially because many of the longer pin positions make the holes boring pars (assuming par 3) or easy birdies (according to the course-specified par 4) for anyone in the 400-475' power range. IMO, the course is best suited in the shorter pins, and I'd like to see an extra pin placement or two in the shorter pin range.

The flow of the course is absolutely fine if it's empty and you bring a map, or have played there before. But in the middle of the day when it's crowded with other park-goers and disc golfers, this course could take forever to play with all of the blind greens. On many of the holes you can't only not see the green, but you can't see the path to the next tee as well, so you really have no idea when the group in front of you is done unless you hear the chains or they call 'clear.'

I plan on coming back to this course every time I drive through NE, it was definitely fun enough for that. Go in the morning before the crowds pick up and you'll enjoy an excellent round of golf, they've really done a nice job with the course. Add a couple shorter pin positions and pin location indicators and I'd gladly rate this course at a 4.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Kearney's best

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice small signs and concrete tee pads.
Course landscaping and maintenance is great.
Some water holes in play, alternate tees offered to reduce risk.
9 was one of my favorite holes out of the 123 holes I played in Nebraska. It was an over the water shot where you had to hit your line then play uphill to the basket. 15 was a cool over the water shot, but there is a picnic table directly in front of the A basket.
Loop of 11 and 7.
13 and 14 are back to back ace runs.
Some tight technical holes, a little elevation, some water carries, open throws, and variety in distance.
Average hole distance 306, but holes are either short or long. Half the course is under 250 and only 5 holes between 250-400 feet. (<200=1, 200-250=8, 250-300=1, 300-350=2, 350-400=2, >400=4)
Cons: Not a great beginner course. There were 26 kids playing when I started. By the time I got to hole 6 there were 14 kids on the beach because they lost all of their discs. Course is very punishing if you leave the fairway on some holes.
Extremely crowded. Lots of players and lots of random people on the course. Lots of people meant lots of litter. Several times I walked up to a piece of litter thinking it was my disc from a distance. 2 people were sitting on the picnic table just feet from 15's basket.
Several possibilities for disc loss, but the water is only a small risk.
2 pin positions on many holes, but now way to know which position the baskets are in. Some holes are totally different and you need to know which line to hit.
Signage needed. No navigational aids to hole 10. Hole 16 was hard to find even with course map.
Some baskets are unmarked or marked incorrectly
Course ends with a short little let down hole.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is rated so highly because it is your only option for a quality 18 hole course for atleast an hour. Their is only one other 18 holer in NE with in 100 miles.
It was my second favorite of the 12 courses I played in Nebraska.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

New Englander Impressed!

1    4/16/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 24  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was blown away by this course. I've played almost all of my disc golf in Massachusetts and the only course I've seen that is better than Cottonmill is Maple Hill in Leicester, MA. The aesthetics of the course were phenomenal. There was an incredible range of holes, many of them easily separating the good from the great. The water is used well. The concrete tee pads are excellent and the baskets are all in great shape. There was no one else on the course and parking was a breeze. There were some dynamic elevation changes, tight technical shots, open bombs, dog legs, etc. I'm giving it 4 discs because there weren't multiple tees and pins and navigation is a little tough.
Cons: We had to look at our printout of the course map twice to find out way.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course every time I'm back in Kearney. If you are driving by on Rt. 80, you have to stop by to play! It's only 10 minutes off the interstate.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Best Kearney Has to Offer

1    7/10/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cottonmill DGC is overwhelmingly better than every other course in the Kearney area. The well-maintained park has an interesting mix of foliage, elevation changes, water hazards, and tight lines. At just over 5000 feet the course feels longer than posted because of punishing lines and numerous blind shots. #3 and #9 are a signature holes where you must fly the water on your drive and position yourself well enough to get a look at the pin on a tough uphill approach. Par on these holes are hard fought for even great golfers.

The park has typical park amenities with campground, bathrooms (out of the way from the course) and beach play areas. A family could spend the weekend here while you hit the course. The tee areas are concrete and marked with small signage. Finally, I like when a course plays back on itself where you can choose to be done after the front nine and be near your car.

BEST HOLE/S: #3; & #9
Cons: First-timers can have some navigation issues due to the lack of good signage and dense foliage. Plus, my two favorite holes intersect off the drive, so watch for other golfers - not to mention the dangers of the many blind shots. Depending on your preference, a few holes could be thinned out a bit, and throwing in the rough can make for a miserable round. As always, bring the repellent - since the mosquitoes can get fierce in the summer heat.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: When it comes to playing Kearney courses, you basically have Cottonmill DGC and then the rest. And while Cottonmill towers over the others in distance, terrain, playability, and overall quality - having played all of the Kearney courses, I will give and ordered rating of what I viewed as the best courses as well as my personal favorite courses in the area.

The best courses are ordered in what I believe are the variables other DG reviews would require to create a quality disc golf course. My favorite courses will vary a bit from the other rating just based on my overall playing experience and personal preferences. Take each with a grain of salt, and then go hit them all yourself and make your own list.

Overall Course Rating:
1. Cottonmill DGC - 4.0 discs
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area - 2.5 discs
3. Centiennial Park - 2.0 discs
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC - 1.5 discs
5. Kearney High School DGC - 1.5 discs.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best and 5 is worst)
1. Cottonmill DGC
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area
3. Kearney High School DGC
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC
5. Centennial Park

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

May be Nebraska...But Not a Cornfield

5+    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: thejake78
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is in a very nice, scenic local park/recreation area built around a fishing lake (which the course plays along in places).
-Well-kept and free of litter for the most part
-Decent concrete teepads
-Signage at the start of the course which shows which pins are in their alternate(B) positions (most recent trip it was not being used, though)
-Small signs at each teepad which show distance and rough pin location
-Nice use of elevation changes, significant in some places (#2,#6, #9, for instance)
-Variety of hole distances (200-ish to 400+ ft)
-Lots of mature trees add to the challenge
- "Secret" hole in the woods to the left of the fairway on #2.
Cons: -For those unfamiliar with the layout, it can be tricky to navigate in places. Some signage that directs to the next teebox would help.
-You sometimes may have to walk the fairway to see which position the pin is in
-#4 and #8's fairways play pretty close to each other
-Golfers teeing off on #3 and crossing over to #10 from #9 have to watch out for throws on #2. #3 and #9 do tee off crossways over the same finger of the lake, also
-The road can come into play in a couple of areas. Also, people seem to like to park at a turnaround near #5 which puts them in range of a drive off the tee there almost directly straight ahead
-Non-golfers like to hike around the course as well, so be mindful of that
-#15 plays very near a swim lake, and a sand volleyball course sits in the middle of the fairway when the pin is in the long position as well (marked OB)
-The rough is very thick in places
-While fun, could be very frustrating to beginners
-A long, hilly hike could be a "con" to some
Other Thoughts: Cottonmill is challenging, at times punishingly so, but ultimately is a very fun course to play. Between the mature trees and the well-used elevation changes, along with sometimes very gusty winds (this is in the central plains, after all), a golfer will find their game tested. Accuracy is a must on this course, as a shot off of the fairways can quickly balloon your score.

I make it up to Nebraska maybe a couple times a year, and stay in the Kearney area. I make it a point to play Cottonmill as much as I can while I am there. I cannot say enough about this course. It is a blast to play, and I highly recommend playing this course if the opportunity arises.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 You'll take a cotton to it.

2-4    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course plays in and out of the woods along the shores of a beautiful lake. The tee pads are concrete, and every hole has two positions. Tee signs are small but adequate, showing the distances and paths to the holes.

Most of the holes are in the 200-350 range. To varying degrees, they all require accurate throws through a defined fairway. There aren't any ridiculously tight lines you have to hit, but you also won't get away with a really bad throw, either. The fairways tend to be lined with pine trees and the thick rough that accompanies them.

There is some nice use of elevation here. Holes 2 and 6 were nice downhill bombs, but on both you have to be sure you stay on the fairway. Hole 9 is a cool hole with a tee shot across an arm of the lake (it's only 150-200 feet across), and you need to land hit one of two gaps on the other side so you can execute a steep uphill approach.

There are several holes that are pretty short but have the baskets on a slope. I like these sorts of holes. Birdies are not simple, and a missed aggressive putt can mean a bogey.
Cons: The course layout is unconventional. There are a couple areas where you play a loop and then cross a fairway you already played. There are a couple areas where this might not be safe (after #9 you need to cross either #2's or #9's fairway to get to #10), and I don't know how this works when there is a tournament. Other times there is a basket pretty close to your fairway that is for a different hole. On #11 you see a basket about 150 feet away on the edge of the fairway, but it's for another hole (#16 I think?). Definitely study the map and pay attention to the tee signs.

On several holes you need to walk the entire fairway to see what position is in use. According to other reviews, the sign at hole 1 tells what positions are in use, so take a look. I wish I had.

A couple holes are pretty close to the road, and I ended up in the road at least 4 times (that's partly because there were 40mph winds this day, and partly because I'm not very good!).
Other Thoughts: Although there are two shots across water and several others near the lake, I don't think the risk of losing a disc here is very high. The holes across the lake have alternate tee pads to avoid throwing over water, which is a nice feature for beginners.

Even in spite of the windy conditions wreaking havoc on my drives, this course was a joy to play. None of the holes are boring, and the views are great. It's rightly regarded by many as the best course in Nebraska. It's not too far off of I-80, so if you are itching for a round between Omaha and Denver, this is your course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.