Kendallville, IN 
Bixler Lake Park - East Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #7
3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Family Course

1    5/7/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Thim Reed
Played: 65  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course that flows together nicely.Tee Markers in the ground were very helpful. Great for the family with playground and lake on site. Good shot options and beginner friendly. Only course I know of in Kendallville.
Cons: Finding the first tee might be a little difficult for some. Could be longer, but whoever put this in did a good job with the land they had to work with.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun family course where par or better is a real possibilty for most average players. I am thankful to have found a place to play in this area and am looking foward to seeing what the back 9 has to offer when it is completed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice 9 Holer

5+    10/3/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course for the area. The next best thing is Ft. Wayne and if I lived in this area, I wouldn't make that trip too often. This is a very fun course that offers several different types of shots except anything "high". The mature trees force you to keep most things tight to the ground. Each basket has at least two routes. There isn't much change in elevation, but it's certainly not flat. The designers did very well w/ the land to keep the elevation something to think about. Hole 6, in my opinion, is the signature hole. The course gets very little traffic and can be played in 20 minutes. This is a great place for a beginner or anyone to work on their game
Cons: It's only 9 holes. Dirt tee pads and no signs (they're concrete blocks in the ground...tough to find w/ out map). While I mention "cons" I want to say I appreciate everything about this course. I'm sure a lot of hard work went into it and these things could be taken care of w/ money.
Other Thoughts: The best place for a disc golf course in this town is throughout the nature trails at Bixler Lake. I would suggest that a disc golf club be started in the Northeast IN area and some tourney's be ran to collect for the cause of building a course at the nature trails.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Average first Community Course

1    9/20/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 baskets with mature trees and no underbrush. Slight elevation changes on a few holes. Grills scattered through-out along with picnic tables. Play area includes Jungle Gym and Slide. Course plays around Pavilion and Basketball court.
Cons: Signage; no numbers on the baskets? Tees only marked by 6x12 painted blocks,level with ground,painted white with red letters. They only have "hole 2" on them, no distance or course par. Average length is 300'
Other Thoughts: Take the park road around the northside of the lake to the eastside. Park in the big gravel parking lot. #1 tee is not marked,that I saw. Just cross over the paved park road to the N.W. Corner of the grassy area. I tee'd just to the right of the #9? Basket. It's an uphill 325'? Shot lined with mature trees and a low canopy approach shot,toward the building. #2 walk to the right of the building,tee is by the tree with a "staff parking" sign bolted to the tree. It plays to the right of the basketball courts. The basket is up the incline about half way for a roll-a-way green. #3 tee is to the right of #2 basket about 25' throw up the incline that has a very low branch right in front of the tee. (Needs cut)? Plays over the sidewalk that goes to the pavilion. #4 go to your left of basket #3 to the N.E. Corner of the pavilion. Basket is located by the street/baseball parking area. Behind mature trees,no low canopy....325'? Ace run! #5 is at the corner of the paved park road and the gravel road. Throw north,toward a little gravel parking lot, lowish canopy the last 1/4 of the hole. #6 tee is on the northside of the gravel parking lot. Tee down the slight decline toward the paved road 225'?,low canopy the last 1/4 of the hole. #7 tee is between #6 & #9 baskets. A gentle uphill drive,low canopy the last 1/4 of the hole....again. #8 tee is west of the slide,plays back to the building. #9 tee is to the right of #8 basket,at the end of the building. Plays back to the parking lot. Fairway is lined with low branches. With so many other activities in the area on a nice weather/Holiday weekend a true beginner WILL have problems. A more seasoned DG'er COULD have problems,especially if a ricochet happens. Rumor as it if this course gets used another 18 may be installed. So if your in the area get a round in!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Mad Fun

2-4    5/30/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Ande Sanchez
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: short but deceiving, mostly shaded, aged trees, multiple lines to most baskets, great mix of basket placement that forces a variety of shots, concession stand open during the summer....grab a dog
Cons: only 9 at this point.
Other Thoughts: Course starts at the green pin nearest the parking lot (green pins are tees/yellow are baskets), shoots at the building, walk past building to the right towards lake for hole 2. The solo hole across the road is not in at this point. tee boxes in soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great foundation for an excellent course

1    5/22/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: MrHollywood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Alot of aceable shots, mixed variety of shots, excellent use of terrain, overall pretty fun course, some pretty views
Cons: Not completed yet, a tad short right now
Other Thoughts: I am one of the people who help designed the course. Right now we have the back 9 in and are currently trying to raise money to get the other 9 baskets along with concert tee pads. Overall I have heard from other people that have played it that they think it is a pretty good course but once again I am biased. If you are in the Fort Wayne area and what to try a different course come on up to Bixlar Lake.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.