Milwaukee, WI 
Estabrook Park Share
Uploaded By: P.B.D.G. Hole #4 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Very nice park, fun golf

2-4    5/25/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: Badger45
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first impressions of Estabrook are very good. You'll dive in to a very well maintained park with a lot of family and social activity going on. At the parking lot, there's an excellent beer garden on one side and hole 1 across the street on the other side! There's also a practice basket on the opposite end of the parking lot (across the driveway from the 18th basket). Right away, this just feels like a good place to be.

The course flows well, with one exception, but I'll get to that later. The first time we played, we were able to navigate easily through the course. It plays through a nice mix of open fairways with use of mature trees for obstacles and the occasional tunnel shot. Aesthetically, I really enjoyed this park, because of the way they preserved a lot of the trees and worked the course around them.

The first side of the course (1-8) are all short, but you get some good usage of obstacles and tight shots to make sure it's not just hyzer to the hole every time.

9-11 are all blind shots to the basket (if 10 and 11 are down the hill).

By hole 13, you start to get a little more distance that will separate the skills levels of the group out a bit more on the score card.

All of the teepads are concrete. The signs have the pin position marked with a bolt to indicate placement. It's a great sign system that I hope is adopted by Brown Deer, too!

For an INT level golfer, this is a very nice course to work on some new discs or break some discs in. You can grab a handful and be confident that you have enough. You can take your hole bag and work on different shots, too, as we found multiple lines on many of the holes that kept things very interesting.
Cons: The flow of the course is great, with a few exceptions, as I stated earlier. Holes 6 and 7 run almost side-by-side. This is fine, unless you have someone playing on 7 that ends up to the left and then they're playing 7 from 6's fairway. Our first time out, we got a little mixed up, because the map is incorrect (as of May 2015). 10 and 11 are moved to the right of 9 across the path. Then when you move to 12, there are no signs telling you where to go until you've gotten there. The problem is that there are a couple of paths you could take to find 12 if you don't know the course. Yes, this is a first-time problem, but led to some walking in circles.
Other Thoughts: Despite couple of flow problems, which I explained more for your help than out of frustration, I really like this course. The amenities, the scenery, varied shots and distances, all make this a must-return to course. Add to that, you've got Brown Deer and Dretzka in a straight line up the road, you can have a fantastic full day of disc golf with just those three courses.

I gave this a 3.5, because you have a nice clean course in the middle of a city. It gets that.5 point boost for safety and extras on top of being a fun place to go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice

2-4    3/7/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: boston
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of anyhyzer or hyzer-flip shots. Some elevation and good use of trees as obstacles. I like the layout and the close proximity of baskets to the next tee-pad.
Cons: Not too much to complain about here. For what it is and the area, it's a great course. Personally, for me, I would like to see one or two holes with more space and distance so I could really let some discs rip. My only issue with this course is I rarely get to break out a driver.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely be back!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love this course!

1    8/17/2014   9/24/2014
Review By: BigRemy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A short but very technical course

-Definitely one of the cleanest and best maintained courses in the area.

-The nearby Beer Garden is a short walk away from 18 and is perfect for quenching that post round thirst.
Cons: -Can get very busy at times.

-The long walk from 11 to 12 can get you lost. Stick to the concrete trail and you'll see a sign for 12 on your right.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites in the city.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid INT course

2-4    7/6/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 123  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic shorter course based in a city park, with many other amenities, including a REALLY nice beer garden across the parking lot from hole 1. Every course should be so lucky as to have a dang beer garden.

Nice concrete tee pad at each hole. Plenty long enough and solid.

Silver DGA baskets, all of which are in good repair and catch well. Powder coated, colored baskets would be awesome here....

Lots of mature trees offer nice obstacles and force particular lines on several holes.

Multiple pin placements are nice, and offer some cool different looks on some holes.

Tee signs are solid. Distances for each pin placement, and a screw in the actual position, which is a great touch.

Navigation is relatively simple, with the exception of the transfer from 12 to 13. It's a long walk, and not all that intuitive. Head down the path, over the bridge, and take the path to the right, and you'll be back on track.
Cons: No real elevation in place here. A couple slight dropoffs on a few holes, but nothing major.

The traffic here can be a bit much. Being right in the middle of the city (and next to a university), it can get very busy.

A lot of the course is on the shorter side...but that's not necessarily always the worst thing, especially as a complement to Brown Deer and Dretzka.
Other Thoughts: This isn't an overly tough course, but I always have fun playing here. There's a lot of ace runs and some interesting shots. A beginner up to an Int player can have a lot of fun here. Advanced players would probably be good after one round.

I love a day of Dretzka, Brown Deer and Estrabrook. They're three courses that complement each other quite well. Estabrook on its own is still a fun time, though, and not too far from Art Smart's Dart Mart and Juggling Emporium (on Brady), which is a great local disc vendor.

I'd love to give this a 3.25...but alas, not an option. Worth a spin if you're in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Initial thoughts on Estabrook

1    5/24/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: JAR3
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Challenging course with a few hidden baskets. Quite a bit of variation from hole to hole, and an overall consistently thought provoking course to a first time visitor.
Cons: The course layout was confusing at a couple points in time. Make sure you bring a map or have a guide if it's your first time. Additionally, be sure to be willing to wait a bit to tee off. It appears there is quite a variation of skill level when it comes to the players who call this their home course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed Estabrook a lot. It was a nice contrast to my home course, Valley View. There's only one hole you really need an arm for. Other than that, its a very good course to practice your short game on. I will definitely be getting out to shoot another round there sometime this summer!

 

5+    3/2/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: DroppedMyBeer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for most skill levels. Estabrook has served as my home course for the last few years, and I find it great for developing my game. The holes are fairly straightforward, there is brand spankin' new hole signage with current pin placement, there's a decent variety of holes, the tracked-out woods make discs pretty easy to find, and a BEER GARDEN conveniently off of hole #18! Great starter course, I have many friends addicted to the sport thanks to this course.
Cons: Holes max out at ~350 feet, so not great for power throwers. Also, not much for elevation besides a few ravines. It gets really busy on weekends and nice summer evenings. Usually I don't have any issue with other people playing, but there are always a few bad eggs leaving bottles, cans, burning cigarette butts, etc. There are plenty of garbage cans, so it's not super hard to pick up after the litterers.
Other Thoughts: A great home course, and a great place to get friends into disc golf. A good variety of holes, but not something to write home about. Can be played in just over an hour on off-peak times, so it can serve as a "lunch-break course."

Also, due to its proximity to UWM and the north shore suburbs, there tends to be a big bro crowd. Not necessarily an issue, but expect lots of dudes with a single tie-dye high speed driver, flip flops, and vape pens. They are kinda on the slower end when it comes to playing, but they are friendly enough.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/22/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: leftsidedomination
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun for all skill levels
Able to play all year(for the most part)
Bob Bawden as the course pro
New pin placements added for more challenge
GLDGC helps maintain the course
Cons: Can get very busy with the UW-Milwaukee kids during the spring and summer
Other Thoughts: I love the course and wish that I could play it more often.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/1/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 104  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Easy access to park when coming from any direction
- Two practice baskets about 40' apart from each other: makes for a fun way to warm up at different distances
- Brand new tee signs with accurate distances and wood chips thanks to Robert Bawden, GLDGC, MAD and other volunteers
- Great course for all skill levels due to variety of shots and distances
- Great course for working on shorter technical holes with short doglegs, tunnel shots, low ceilings, wide open, banked and some blind shots.
- Lefty friendly
- Has warning signs for other park goers to be aware of discs flying in the air, I think it's helped prevent any accidents
- Constant improvements being done to the course with landscaping, pin placements and tee pads!
- Usually baskets are up during the winter!
- The park also offers fishing, a dog park and not to mention a BEER GARDEN
Cons: - Can get crowded at certain times with Shorewood High School and UW-Milwaukee being so close
- Not the best course for big arm, air shots
Other Thoughts: - This course has a lot of potential to be expanded or added on to. It is very well liked in the Milwaukee area which is evident by the amount of players that golf here. This course offers challenging and fun layouts which draws a good following from the local disc golf community of all skill levels. Very popular for smaller events and leagues.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/28/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: Papermaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great selection of holes; a few long, some short, and some challenging holes in between
-The new tee signs are an amazing addtition to the course (best tee signs i've seen)
-Each hole has multiple pin positions, with some challenging sports, making it challenging for most players
-The new course pro has done great things to the course this year, and will continue to improve the course
Cons: -The course runs along a somewhat busy road, so be careful to not hit any cars!
-There is usually trash on the ground, so make sure to pick up any trash if you see it
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course has great tee pads and tee signs, has multiple pin positions for each hole, making most holes challenging. If your in the area, you should definitely play Estabrook.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/27/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: WestFin
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 37.2 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very clean course, new tee signs, awesome concrete tee pads, regular course maintenance, multiple pin locations, dual practice baskets, and more, such as a beer garden!!

This is a fun shorter course to play with putters, midranges and fairway drivers. Lots of work done since the course opened a few years ago, but more so this year with the new tee signs and new additional pin placements.
Cons: It can get busy at this course because of how short it is and it being beginner friendly. It's also around the corner from UW Milwaukee, so there's lots of college students playing, especially during summer.
Other Thoughts: I liked the 'old' course pro better, but the new course pro is just as dedicated to keeping this course one of the nicer and cleaner ones around the city. I hear more plans for the course are always in the works.

This is NOT Brown Deer, so don't expect it to be. Too many people's reviews of Estabrook are complaints because they say it's short or too easy or it's all flat. Look, this course uses the land that was given to disc golf very well. Don't believe all the negative reviews and go throw it for yourself.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.