Milwaukee, WI
Estabrook Park Share
Uploaded By: P.B.D.G. Hole #11 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 245ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Top 3 Beginner Course

2-4    5/22/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun course
- Cement Pads
- Very Beginner Friendly!
- Altho course is easy its very enjoyable to play
- Lots of forced lines
- Love all the midrange and putter tee shots. Great for working your short game.
- Short jaunt off I43
Cons: - A bit of a pitch-n-putt. Easy to make Par if you screw up.
- Short!! I do like to throw a driver out there a few times.
- Not much if any replay value....for me at least
- Can have alot of chucker traffic
- Tee signs could be improved. Even tho you dont need them here.
Other Thoughts: This is a quick fun course. Mid-ranges and putters are all that is required. Drivers will take some of the fun away by making it too easy. This may be the best beginner friendly layout I've ever played.
Beginners to Novice players will enjoy it the most. It is a great course for those learning to play. Many of the golf lines are short versions of very common holes. It will teach good habits if you stick with mids and putters.
Upper REC and INT players will find this entertaining but not difficult to score well. It will probably have little replay value if youre not playing for money. The most reward is from deuce putting, always good to build that mental state of making the good putt.
ADV and PRO will find no challenge. I could see -18s very possible for them. Money play is the only reward here for them...imo.
Like I said above, this could be the BEST BEGINNER course I've played. Black Bear in Hoffman Estates, IL and Carroll Marty in Ames, IA are in the running as well. There are alot of line specific shots, which always a plus on any course.
For those traveling you have many better options than this. Your time can be better spent. If youre looking to add to your course count this will only take 3-45minutes to play. If youre a local then go enjoy it, especially if youre just learning to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  A Fair Alternative

5+    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: dhintzke
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good for beginners and family rounds
- Good for tuning your short and mid-range game.
- A few new pin placements (within the last two months) on some holes which require more accurate throws.
- Convenient location. Not far from freeway.
- Good use of trees, wooded areas and the small area that has elevation changes.
Cons: - Not a long course.
- Make-shift tee signs (plywood plaques, handwritten with a marker)
- Short holes.
- Holes 1-8 feel cramped.
- Most tee pads (concrete) sit 2"-4" above the surrounding ground.
- Heavy park traffic (disc golfers, walkers, bikers, joggers, soccer fields)
Other Thoughts: This course was the chosen alternate course to our other two options, Dretzka (closed for a tournament) and Brown Deer (pulled because some idiot stole the basket for hole 16!) It does not come close to the caliber of either of those two courses (length, shot selection, layout, risks, etc.)

However, it was a great opportunity to throw the two new Buzzz's I bought. It's a perfect disc for this course. Experienced players will most-likely leave their drivers in the bag.

With the exception of hole #2 (mandatory tunnel shot) and hole #4 (criss-crossing tree branches that frame the basket in the background) the first eight holes are rather boring other than to provide opportunities for short ace runs. A road borders the left-hand side of these holes but shouldn't really come into play. Several holes require walking backwards to get to the next tee pad. This poses a threat for getting hit by an errant drive from those teeing off on the previous hole. There are no elevation changes on this part of the course. But it does have a mixture of straight, hyzer and anhyzer shots. Hole 2 requires an accurate shot through the tunnel of foliage. With the original two pin placements, it was a RHBH hyzer shot. Now with the new pin placement (to the right after a hyzer through the tunnel) this hole provides no room for forgiveness. Those that can execute an accurate "S-curve" shot (LHBH or RHFH) have a shot at a deuce.

Holes 9-18 are more interesting in the way of course design. Hole 9 - A low-flying drive under tree branches to a basket tucked into the woods on the edge of a ravine. Hole 11 - A 245' hole with the first 60% flat and the last 40% down a hill. It's a straight but blind shot from the tee. There is a long walk between 11 and 12. Probably due to the access drive to the river that runs through the park. The river never really comes into play on this course. Hole 13 - Probably the longest hole on the course, with the new pin placement straight ahead and tucked in a wooded area, it measures 326 feet long. The basket is impossible to see from the tee pad. Fluorescent tape around the pole would help. The new pin placements on holes 14 and 18 provide for less forgiveness than the original positions. Hole 18 - Has a mostly open fairway with a couple of trees that require a shaped shot to the basket that is tucked into a patch of woods and guarded all the way around.

Overall, this is a fair course. Holes 1-8 "feel" cramped. The course has a tendency to get crowded on the weekends. There are no benches to sit on while waiting to tee off (with the exception of hole 18 which has bleachers. Can't figure that one out.). Trash receptacles are scarce. However, it appears that the local club and/or parks employees have done a great job keeping the course clean. It would be a great place to play for beginners and families with younger children, provided that there isn't a lot of course traffic. The tee signs are not appealing but do a good enough job depicting the hole layout and the distances. I will probably play this course again, but my visits will be few and far in between.
.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Milwaukee's Vollrath?...Eh, Not Quite

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. The Front 9 doesn't vary too much in what's required (lots of straight shots with my Buzzz), but there is some good variety, first evident with the mando tunnel on #2 and the first risky green on #9 (potential rollaway if you overshoot). Elevation is used well on #10 and #11, both downhill shots near the river (although the water doesn't come into play). Hole #16 has a green protected by a gang of guardian trees further surrounded by rough, so this late trouble really makes you focus on threading one of the multiple gaps while not having to worry about hitting anything early.
2. Multiple pin locations on every hole make this a course I will definitely return to in order to get a feel for how the holes play differently when changed around.
3. The tee signs are descriptive and helpful, but crude. There was a thumbtack denoting the pin position on most of the signs, although with the short hole lengths it's usually pretty obvious where you're shooting to.
4. Navigation is relatively straightforward, as most tees are easily visible after holing out. Also, the basket spokes are painted with the direction to walk to reach the next tee.
5. Tees are nice textured concrete. I played the day after some heavy rains and didn't have any slippage or traction issues.
6. The short distances make this a really fun "old-school" style course (in the spirit of Vollrath as referenced in my title, although this course lacks the elevation of the Sheboygan course). Some great opportunities to work on your control and finesse as opposed to just ripping drivers over and over. Although all the holes are short, there's a good mix of distances.
7. Very clean when compared to other Milwaukee courses, although I suspect this is more due to the newness and expect litter/vandalism to become the norm (as it is in any city, so I'm not bashing Mil-Town here). Abundant trash cans.
Cons: 1. Some areas seem conducive to conflict, either with traffic or players on other tees. This is especially evident on the Front 9 (particularly the proximity of #2's tee to #1's basket), where the road is visible for most of the holes (which you also need to cross at an area where cars could come zipping around the slight curve leading into the park).
2. While not overly repetitive, the flatness of the course and the short hole lengths doesn't provide a ton of opportunity for creative and interesting holes. One thing lacking here is a real "wow" factor or a signature hole.
3. I question the necessity of the elevated basket on #11 (short position when I played, not sure if it's like this in the long). This is already a downhill tee shot, so leaving the basket at a standard height would seem to provide more risk of skip-aways or forcing newer players to shoot a little lower. Admittedly, I'm being nitpicky here.
4. The only real bland hole was #8, just wide open, and again near the road.
5. The concrete tees are mostly installed well, but some aren't flush with the ground (I did notice woodchips around many, so adding some more to the front of these tees would fix this problem). Not a real big con since most players won't require huge follow-throughs.
6. The walk from #8 to #9, as mentioned, crosses the road (look both ways, people!); head towards the soccer goals and you'll see #9's tee. There's also a bit of a walk from #11 to #12, and although navigation on this walk is aided by bright green directional signs, I couldn't help but notice some missed opportunities for holes on this walk; holes that would have been far from your typical "filler" fare, since this is the only area of the park with elevation changes.
7. Hole #18 seems to have a problem with standing water. Although this would probably too expensive to fix in order to facilitate proper drainage, keep in mind that after it rains most of this fairway is under a few inches of water. Casual relief. :)
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course and a great addition to the other MKE Area courses. Although situated in a multi-use park, the course pretty much stays away from other park activities (hiking and biking seem to be the big draws to this area). This is a great course for beginners and families due to the short distances, although the shot-shaping required on some holes provides a decent challenge. No real suggestions for improvements to make it a higher-rated course; it is what it is, just a fun little deucefest that can be played with 2 or 3 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Leave the drivers home

1    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a few holes (or at least portions of the hole) that really show off some quality design and quality terrain. Hole 2 has a great hyzer mando through a tunnel of brush. Hole 5 has the tee set up, when the pin is in the long location, there is a red pine with two main trunks that twist and form a window which perfectly frames up the basket - great to go for it! (I did and went through the trunks, but above the window). Hole 9 has an excellent reisky green tucked into the woods, right on the edge of a dropoff to a drainage creek - GREAT! Hole 11 is the best hole in my mind - it plays a drawn out soft anny for a RHBH, starting from up in the typical city park mowed fairway with large trees. The last 40% drops down into the woods near the washout creek and when the pin (blind off the tee) is in the long position, creates a well laid out hole. Hole 16 plays forcing a drive to punch into a green carved out of a large clump of trees. Hole 18 forces a low drive through low hanging limbs and dense clumps of trees on either side.
There are multiple pin placements, but they range from short to SHORTER.
There is a small amount of elevation here, but it would be nice if more of the natural park steep ravines could have been used.
The mature city park trees don't offer enough low limbs for a true tunnel shot on most holes, but mature trees are gorgeous. Many are used very well to frame a specific shot off the tee or approach onto the green.
Cons: Repetitive waste of holes 1-8. Beside a couple neat natural features like the tunnel on #2 and the red pine on #5, the first 8 holes all have a tee near the road, and a basket along the edge of the woods - straight or slight anny over and over again.
On the front 8 especially, the tees are very close to the previous basket, the design I just mentioned makes this problem worse when the noobs are out flinging RHBH shots off their hips that fade left into the group at the next tee.
The signs right now are just one-line depictions and don't really show the intended flight real well (e.g. depicting a fade right when the basket is left). I'm assuming from the 4x4 posts that signs are planned here, but with the lack of descriptive and depictive tee signs at Brown Deer, who knows.
Only one tee here, a short one! I assume tees are coming, we could hope they'll be a bit longer, or maybe a second longer set will be added. Hopefully the concrete is installed flush to the ground and with a ROUGH finish!
The walk to #12 wastes a lot of unique terrain.
No big pond or real water hazard, but #9, 10, 11 could bring some water into play I guess with a shanked drive.
Very short course, not really any need for a driver at all (unless you sidearm a lot).
Old guys walking the paths and hanging out in the parking lot looking for things they shouldn't be looking for. Which leads into my preference for secluded and natural courses - can't expect much else from a course in the middle of Milwaukee.
Other Thoughts: I perpetually play courses, walking around thinking how they could be better - moving a tee back/left/right, tucking a pin into the woods or near a sharp dropoff, using more unique features of a park. I couldn't help myself from doing that here. So many greens would have been better if cut into the nearby woods by 50-75'. So many holes would have been better with a second LONG tee 100' or more back. But all in all the alotted park area probably wouldn't allow it (or I'm thinking the parks department would allows those areas to be used (between 11 & 12, and the cool ravine that slightly comes into play on 9 & 11). I concluded that this course design was just meant to offer a beginner level course in the area. We discussed it was maybe to reduce the hordes at Dretzka (because no one plays the "too hard" Brown Deer, and who in their right mind would go to Dineen). So, this course was meant for beginners, or for advanced players to work on their putter drives and buzzzes. It is what it is - typical. Some shiny spots, lots of lackluster dull ones. I didn't regret playing, but would have if I had gone out of my way. If I didn't have family in the area, I don't think I'd ever play here again.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Estabrook Park

1    5/28/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Omnibot
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New course, always fun to play!

- Lots of good shots for left handed
- Woods come into play a bit if you want to go straight at holes
- Nice enough tee signs for now
- Nice enough tee's for now
- Easy to find your way if you follow the tee signs
Cons: - First few holes all play the same if you want to avoid the obstacles in front of you
- Long walk between some holes
- Walks in front of some holes (#18)
- Some holes require long walks but it's easy to pick up after a round or two
- Brush is bad, but it's a new course.
Other Thoughts: Kind of short, and when the holes are long you have to keep the disc low to go for the holes. It's fun but i'll probably wait awhile to play it again until the cement goes down and some of the brush gets naturally cleared

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical course

1    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a long narrow multi-use park, with lots of trees and some brushy areas. Most holes play through stands of trees with denser woods with brush on one or both sides. There is a little bit of elevation that comes into play on a couple holes in the middle of the course that adds a fun little bit of challenge, especially with a couple roll away pin placements.

This is a finesse course, with lots of tight lines to hit. There is a decent mix of left and right turning holes, and some narrow windows to make it through if you want to run at the basket. There is good punishment for errant shots on many holes, where a poor drive can cost you a stroke or two.

The course is still new and not complete, but there are good temporary signs up with hole layout and distance marked for both pin placements, along with a next tee arrow. The tees are natural, but are in good shape so far and should be replaced by concrete from what the locals told me. The baskets are new, and catch great.
Cons: The course is a little lacking in distance, this is a putter and mid kind of course. The technical shots are a lot of fun, but some longer holes through the trees would make this course more challenging and interesting, and make it feel a little less repetitive. Too many holes play right on top of the road, walking path, picnic areas, and soccer fields. There are some conflicts and safety issues especially with the newness of the course and the lack of awareness on the part of other park users.

A couple of the walks between holes are long and not obvious, check the tee signs for the next tee arrows, and you'll find most of them ok though. The alternate pin positions marked out were not very different, they mostly were on the same line and just slightly changed the distance (many were within 30 feet of the other placement).
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, and offers some good technical shots. Course improvements like permanent tee signs, better navigational marking in a couple spots, and concrete tees will make it even better. It's a good course for less experienced players to learn to shape lines, with reasonable distances and brush that's not too disc hungry. More seasoned throwers won't find a ton of challenge here, but it is a good course to work on shorter shots and hitting lines with mids and putters. It's worth a stop here if you're in the area, the course plays pretty quickly, and it was less crowded than the other courses in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 lefty heaven

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: many holes are technical

good use of tress along road

holes away from the road are good-good use of elevation changes and openings

course rewards good shots, but careful not to overthrow or your disc will drop off a decently steep hill on 5 or 6 holes.
Cons: needs concrete tees-heard they were going to install them soon

Most of the holes along the road are repetative and are perfect for lefty or sidearm players-in genreral holes 1-7 and 14-18

Since the road is so close to many of the holes you have to be careful to get enough anhyzer or not hook discs to the right.

not much distance to the course
Other Thoughts: really needs more variety of holes

confusing walks to holes 12 and 13

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.