Milwaukee, WI 
Estabrook Park Share
Uploaded By: P.B.D.G. Hole #11 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 245ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid INT course

2-4    7/6/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 88  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic shorter course based in a city park, with many other amenities, including a REALLY nice beer garden across the parking lot from hole 1. Every course should be so lucky as to have a dang beer garden.

Nice concrete tee pad at each hole. Plenty long enough and solid.

Silver DGA baskets, all of which are in good repair and catch well. Powder coated, colored baskets would be awesome here....

Lots of mature trees offer nice obstacles and force particular lines on several holes.

Multiple pin placements are nice, and offer some cool different looks on some holes.

Tee signs are solid. Distances for each pin placement, and a screw in the actual position, which is a great touch.

Navigation is relatively simple, with the exception of the transfer from 12 to 13. It's a long walk, and not all that intuitive. Head down the path, over the bridge, and take the path to the right, and you'll be back on track.
Cons: No real elevation in place here. A couple slight dropoffs on a few holes, but nothing major.

The traffic here can be a bit much. Being right in the middle of the city (and next to a university), it can get very busy.

A lot of the course is on the shorter side...but that's not necessarily always the worst thing, especially as a complement to Brown Deer and Dretzka.
Other Thoughts: This isn't an overly tough course, but I always have fun playing here. There's a lot of ace runs and some interesting shots. A beginner up to an Int player can have a lot of fun here. Advanced players would probably be good after one round.

I love a day of Dretzka, Brown Deer and Estrabrook. They're three courses that complement each other quite well. Estabrook on its own is still a fun time, though, and not too far from Art Smart's Dart Mart and Juggling Emporium (on Brady), which is a great local disc vendor.

I'd love to give this a 3.25...but alas, not an option. Worth a spin if you're in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of Brewtown's best

2-4    9/7/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a pretty well maintained park right off I-43. The chainstar baskets here are in solid shape and catch pretty well. There are wood posts with hand drawn signs by each hole that show the basic hole layout and hole #. The concrete tee pads here are in good shape. The navigation can get a little confusing at times but there are a few nice directional signs to the next hole. There's a decent mix of shot types used here. Right, left and straight shots with a fair amount of different distances. Trees are going to be your main obstacle here. There aren't a lot of them but the course is set up so that they come into play on many of the holes. They have a number of holes with multiple pin placements which is always a plus.
Cons: The hand drawn signs could definitely be better here. A few holes have fairways that are dangerously close to each other. There are a number of holes where the road is very close to one side or another too. There's not too much elevation or variation in distances. The course can get very busy.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses in the Milwaukee area. With that being said however, this still isn't anything too special. It's worth a trip to play a round or two. It'd be nice to see some courses in Milwaukee that don't play right alongside park roads though. This is a good course though which is why I gave it a 3 rating. It's just not more than not.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flat & Friendly

1    7/21/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Estabrook is a good addition to Milwaukee disc golf. The course is very flat and is mostly open. It does has trees but for the most part there are no tunnel type holes. This is a great beginner friendly course and a nice walk in the park.

The course was very easy to navigate. The sign on 12 points in the direction you need to go.

The DGA Mach 2 baskets were in great shape. Multiple pin positions on each hole.

Excellent concrete tee pads.

There were wooden tee signs with the hole number on them.

There were several baskets that were elevated and a few were protected by some creative wood piles.

Hole #18 was a nice finish to the course.
Cons: This course is very flat and gets somewhat repetitive. There are a lot of left to right turning holes.

With the limited amount of room where the course is located there are a lot of walking back to the next hole. If I were to play there again I'd throw a drive on 7 then 8 and go down and play both of them out.

Although there are tee signs they are just wood with handwritten descriptions.

As a more advanced player this course is on the short side. I threw a putter and mid on most of the holes.

Just like other courses in Milwaukee it gets high amount of traffic. Be prepared to wait.
Other Thoughts: Spend a day in Milwaukee. Estabrook, Brown Deer, & Dretzka are not far apart.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: VIRUS8
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Ample parking.
Some short, some long holes.
A few blind hole's.
Have to use different driving style's.
A good mixure of open to wooded hole's.
Plenty of garbage can's.
Cons: Very busy park.
Close to the road with heavey traffic on some hole's.
Hole sign's are not clear.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  local course

5+    12/2/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: basketcase15
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good mix of holes, and there is new signs pointing you in the right direction from hole to hole, new baskets, and people the concrete is in, so chill ! its a great warm up for BD or Dretzka ! cool mando on hole 2, and a fair amount of holes that finish right, so forhanders get to shine sometimes ! since i am a forhand dominant player ! ohh and open all year!
Cons: mostly short holes untill u get to 13, (when at the far pin), the course is right next to the road and kinda could psych u out sometimes i guess if your not used to it
Other Thoughts: i play here almost everyday,its a fun course, i got my first ace this year there on hole 7, forehand, no skip far pin 194ft., unfortunately, this hole has now become my nemesis, ohh well i like esta anyways, gave it a 3

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 forehand friendly

5+    7/18/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: landscapr
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice and technical. fairs very well for a forehand player such as myself. good course to work on you mid-range game.
Cons: grass pads. but the concrete ones will be installed soon. usually busy.
Other Thoughts: garbage is a huge issue here. so do your part to pack in and pack out. and help keep it clean and pick up some garbage while you play theres plenty of garbage cans around.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice short course . . . location is key for a lot of people in the city. It should really help spread the traffic out a bit!

2-4    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course went in fast but just the right amount of trimming and cutting was done in my opinion. There are a couple tight lanes to throw through and those should be preserved as long as possible. I am sure vandalism and disc traffic will lead to those openings becoming wider, but to start I think an awesome job was done preserving those lanes.

2) Course is a true par 3 course (54). All holes are reachable by me which I enjoy. While I do like to see legit par 4's and 5's on courses, I am also ok with a shorter course like this from a design standpoint especially because of its location. There wasn't the land to make any real par 4's, but this course is also very well suited to the college kids nearby and the beginners who might come out to a new course. I doubt this played any role in the design, but in the end it worked out great.

3) While most holes on 1-8 are anhyzers or RH flicks, the back 9 has a nice variety of straight and hyzers with a smattering of turnovers.

4) 1-8 are all simple shots with quite a few ace runs without much penalty, but that is when the course really gets going. 9 has a great perched basket, 10 is a short downhiller with an ace run risk/reward, 11 is a great left to right downhiller. 12-14 run through the densest part of the woods and 15-18 open back up to a dense canopy of large trees but not through tight woods. This variety is key to making this course as good as it is. If the whole thing were like 1-8 I would not be very impressed, but it gives you two courses almost. Go for aces on the first holes and then settle in and try to make as many pars with a couple birdies coming in.

5) EDIT: Signs have been replaced with very professional routered plastic signs with distances and hole locations on the maps. This was a volunteer job by a local disc golfer and it goes to show what a good local community can do for our disc golf courses.

6) Kiosk near 18 basket for information and EDIT: TWO practice baskets for warming up putts beforehand or playing a game of Chains.

7) Beginner friendly, but with some challenge too, which I view as a real positive.

8) Locals are good guys and will most certainly be sure to keep the DBags in line. EDIT: There was a change of leadership at the park going from one good guy to another. Lots of changes have happened this season (2013).

9) They keep adding new pin positions and it is making the course more difficult. I am happy to see the full use of the area getting used.

EDIT: 10) Concrete teepads were poured a long time ago now. These are the best concrete teepads in winter because they have such deep grooves that there is no way they will be slippery. The locals also salt them to keep them clean.

11) Beer Garden is a huge attraction in the park and is a nice amenity for an after round beverage. They have been very supportive of disc golf events also so stop in for a beer and talk to them about the disc golf course!
Cons:
1)There are still some stumps visible where clearing has happened. Most of he old ones have been taken out but anytime a new placement is made stumps are left.

2) Shot shaping is ok . . . although they seem to favor lefties or rh annys or flicks. There is a little more variety on the last 10 holes but the first 8 set up with (1 hyzer tunnel shot, 2 straight shots and 5 anhyzer or flick shots).

3) Long walk between 11 and 12 makes the course feel disjointed. Non locals might get confused here on where to go, but the course map does indicate a long walk and there is a sign on the first bridge pointing you down the path. Either way I would prefer non-stop disc golf but it wasn't possible here.

4) Mosquitos will be busy there. Right along the river, dense woods . . . bring the bug spray.

5) Safety an issue on a few tees and missed anny lines. Mostly on holes 1-8 but also on 16 tee you are at risk at being hit by a errant teeshot from 15. Safety is also an issue because of the stumps in the ground from the buckthorn removal. #3 tee is also very much in play from a tamahawk on #2. While I was there the local guys decided to make the mando for that hole throguh the tunnel and wrote it on the board. Immediately behind up we heard 4 tamahawks land so obviously they didnt understand. EDIT: This is one of the worst courses in the area for throwing in the road. Not only do a lot of discs end up in the road but there is also a large amount of traffic. The locals encourage people to bring their disc back in the grass rather than throwing from the road but it doesn't always get told to everyone.
Other Thoughts: I know this course is young and all the work was volunteer so I am basing my rating on what I expect of this course given a little bit of time to play it in. I know teepads will be accepted there as all the other county parks allowed them, they just wanted to make sure that none of the areas infringe on other activities and that everything is safe in the end. I like the course but the firs 8 holes are somewhat boring. It truly better get you warmed up by being accurate and racking up as many birdies as you can there before heading to the tougher back nine (10). The risk reward on this course is high because of the basket locations and fallaways on 9-11. The risk of hitting a particular tree and kicking into the brush is prevalent on multiple holes on this course, so you really want to pick the line with the least issues. All in all I did enjoy the course, but there are some things that leave me wanting some changes . . . the property just wouldn't really allow it.

I know that course will be well policed by the local guys because I know many of the people who will be there almost daily because of where they live.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -New Baskets
-Signs may be makeshift but they give good directions to the tee
-A good mix of wooded and wide open shots
-Very technical coarse
Cons: -Holes are somewhat short but not too bad
-Bad directions on how to get from hole to hole (Expecially on how to get to hole #12.)
-Grass tee pads (they should be getting concrete teepads soon.)
-Some holes are too close to the street.
-Very seldomly can you find a garbage can
Other Thoughts: The course is brand new and a little shabby. If they get concrete tee pads and permenent sighns it would be a lot better.It shows a lot of promise if they fix it up a little. Overall it was a very enjoyable course.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.