Milwaukee, WI 
Estabrook Park Share
Uploaded By: edward felcohands Hole #7 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Initial thoughts on Estabrook

1    5/24/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: JAR3
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Challenging course with a few hidden baskets. Quite a bit of variation from hole to hole, and an overall consistently thought provoking course to a first time visitor.
Cons: The course layout was confusing at a couple points in time. Make sure you bring a map or have a guide if it's your first time. Additionally, be sure to be willing to wait a bit to tee off. It appears there is quite a variation of skill level when it comes to the players who call this their home course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed Estabrook a lot. It was a nice contrast to my home course, Valley View. There's only one hole you really need an arm for. Other than that, its a very good course to practice your short game on. I will definitely be getting out to shoot another round there sometime this summer!

 

5+    3/2/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: DroppedMyBeer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for most skill levels. Estabrook has served as my home course for the last few years, and I find it great for developing my game. The holes are fairly straightforward, there is brand spankin' new hole signage with current pin placement, there's a decent variety of holes, the tracked-out woods make discs pretty easy to find, and a BEER GARDEN conveniently off of hole #18! Great starter course, I have many friends addicted to the sport thanks to this course.
Cons: Holes max out at ~350 feet, so not great for power throwers. Also, not much for elevation besides a few ravines. It gets really busy on weekends and nice summer evenings. Usually I don't have any issue with other people playing, but there are always a few bad eggs leaving bottles, cans, burning cigarette butts, etc. There are plenty of garbage cans, so it's not super hard to pick up after the litterers.
Other Thoughts: A great home course, and a great place to get friends into disc golf. A good variety of holes, but not something to write home about. Can be played in just over an hour on off-peak times, so it can serve as a "lunch-break course."

Also, due to its proximity to UWM and the north shore suburbs, there tends to be a big bro crowd. Not necessarily an issue, but expect lots of dudes with a single tie-dye high speed driver, flip flops, and vape pens. They are kinda on the slower end when it comes to playing, but they are friendly enough.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/22/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: leftsidedomination
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun for all skill levels
Able to play all year(for the most part)
Bob Bawden as the course pro
New pin placements added for more challenge
GLDGC helps maintain the course
Cons: Can get very busy with the UW-Milwaukee kids during the spring and summer
Other Thoughts: I love the course and wish that I could play it more often.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/28/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: Papermaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great selection of holes; a few long, some short, and some challenging holes in between
-The new tee signs are an amazing addtition to the course (best tee signs i've seen)
-Each hole has multiple pin positions, with some challenging sports, making it challenging for most players
-The new course pro has done great things to the course this year, and will continue to improve the course
Cons: -The course runs along a somewhat busy road, so be careful to not hit any cars!
-There is usually trash on the ground, so make sure to pick up any trash if you see it
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course has great tee pads and tee signs, has multiple pin positions for each hole, making most holes challenging. If your in the area, you should definitely play Estabrook.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but not world class

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Estabrook Park is a massive park, and the disc golf course is a perfect addition to it. I enjoyed my round thanks to the following aspects of the course:

*Great hole design with all but one hole bringing multiple tree obstacles into play
*Hole 2 was a very cool tunnel created by some funky trees
*Appropriately sized and poured concrete tees.
*Multiple pin placements
*Adequate baskets
Cons: This course will never be host to a high caliber tournament because it simply does not have enough distance challenge to do so. An experienced player will probably not take out his/her drivers. This really is the only con of the course.
Other Thoughts: Though Estabrook is not a world class course like its neighbors Brown Deer and Dretzka, it is a great "League Course" and a chance for experienced players to get a great score after some tricky drives. In short, most of the holes at Estabrook would be like the easier ones at a high caliber course. They're not easy deuce holes, but scoring a two is possible on every hole. If you're road tripping to Dretzka and Brown Deer, make sure to include this quick course in your plans.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Each hole is different
Unique holes
Cons: Not the greatest area
Really hard to follow and you have to walk a ways to each hole
Other Thoughts: Fun, a lot of walking, and real confusing. I would print off a map if you have never been there before

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This course will be popular!

2-4    7/1/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: jared.greanya
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is busy and so it is increasingly hard to lose a disc here. It is very Valley View-esque with a lot of short technical holes but enough variety to keep someone who's been playing for 7 years occupied as well.
I never had to throw very hard to reach the holes which meant I could play this course several times in concession.
Cons: It is a short course, ideally it would be nice to see some more variety in distance and elevation changes.
Also, even though the tee "pads" were dry for me both times I played, I can imagine how muddy they can get and concrete tee pads or at least woodchips would make a great difference.
Other Thoughts: Overall I will play this course often as it is now the closest course to me near Milwaukee. It doesn't come close to Dretzka which is longer and great for advanced players, but it does compare well to valley view which is great for beginners.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Estabrook - Padless

2-4    6/9/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: KevinCG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its tougher than it looks. Very technical. I don't like writing incredibly long reviews. I would say its worth the try. Once concrete pads get put in, this could end up being a really great course.
I GPSed the course. Here is a link to my Google Map.
http://maps.google.com/maps/m...b57c&z=17
Cons: No pads. Signage is a bit primitive, but once you do the course once, its very easy to navigate. The foliage is already pretty much broken down if you shoot off the fairway so finding your disc is not as troublesome as you would imagine.
Other Thoughts: Since its a brand new course, its going to be crowded at peak hours. Be prepared to wait at holes.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very very good

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Very technical. Some interesting shots. Will test all different types of drives.

-Good use of the space.

-Nice New Baskets

-Clean park in a good location

Very good signs even if a bit crude.
Cons: A tad bit short. Not terrible though.

- Some holes are a bit monotonous.

-Obviously the grass tees. Cement should be in soon.
Other Thoughts: Opened just over a week ago. I think it's a great course maybe similar to Dretzka a bit.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, short and technical

1    5/22/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: imoser_me
Played: 88  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is technical. It rewards good shots while punishing bad shots. The brush isn't super thick were it will eat discs, but you really won't have much of a shot except tossing it out or trying a roller.

Most of the holes have tall trees in the way and brush running alongside of the fairways. There aren't any true tunnel shots, but there are a few holes where brush was cleared to make a small tunnel to shoot through. Some of the baskets are also tucked into the brush.
Cons: Some holes are almost throwaway or filler holes. These mainly consist of connecting holes that have few trees in the way and an open basket. These holes have practically a straight open run at them. These are generally grouped together in the same field like they were trying to squeeze holes in.

The course has some navigation issues with long walks to #9, #10 and a confusing walk to #12.

The course is new, but it still needs some clean up work. It is a small con, but it should get better.

Natural tees. It was fine now, but it will be dirt soon.
Other Thoughts: Memorable holes - #5 (the hole between the winding trees showing the basket is awesome), #9 (Blind left hole with a drop off) #11 (basket is downhill but is taller; extremely deceptive), #13 (throwing under the branches of a huge tree through a short tunnel) #16 (throwing into a spot in the brush that was cleared out)

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.