Milwaukee, WI
Estabrook Park Share
Uploaded By: P.B.D.G. Hole #10 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 185ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
OK

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good beginner course.
Left handed players dream.
Not very long, so you don't have to tire out your throwing arm.
Short course with repetitive shot types and distances, so you don't have to lug around a heavy bag with a bunch of discs.
Cons: Super short course that can be played without a driver.
EXTREMELY CROWDED. Unless you're there early on a weekday, you'll be waiting.
Seems like every hole curves to the right.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Place to Play

5+    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: eljefethehobo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to learn and to hone your skills, great location very friendly people who play there. Pins get changed up often. Well maintained. Great place to take bring newcomers and pros alike.
Cons: Not enough elevation changes. Could utilize some of the ravines in the park. Traffic can be a hassle. Hole 11 pin high! walk from 11 to 12 is retarded a hole could be placed between the walk.
Other Thoughts: I love this park, i hear a lot of people criticizing the coarse comparing it to Brown Deer park. Listen Brown Deer is in its own league. Brown Deer is bad ass but i like Estabrook for its technical aspects of the coarse. This is my home coarse. I like to go out and get under par and have a relaxing time around. This is comparable as skill level to Valleyview NOT Brown Deer! Check it out have a beer at the beer garden when your done. Disc golf isnt all about bombing your disc on every hole. challenging technical play is just as fun

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: VIRUS8
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Ample parking.
Some short, some long holes.
A few blind hole's.
Have to use different driving style's.
A good mixure of open to wooded hole's.
Plenty of garbage can's.
Cons: Very busy park.
Close to the road with heavey traffic on some hole's.
Hole sign's are not clear.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 Beginner Course

2-4    5/22/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun course
- Cement Pads
- Very Beginner Friendly!
- Altho course is easy its very enjoyable to play
- Lots of forced lines
- Love all the midrange and putter tee shots. Great for working your short game.
- Short jaunt off I43
Cons: - A bit of a pitch-n-putt. Easy to make Par if you screw up.
- Short!! I do like to throw a driver out there a few times.
- Not much if any replay value....for me at least
- Can have alot of chucker traffic
- Tee signs could be improved. Even tho you dont need them here.
Other Thoughts: This is a quick fun course. Mid-ranges and putters are all that is required. Drivers will take some of the fun away by making it too easy. This may be the best beginner friendly layout I've ever played.
Beginners to Novice players will enjoy it the most. It is a great course for those learning to play. Many of the golf lines are short versions of very common holes. It will teach good habits if you stick with mids and putters.
Upper REC and INT players will find this entertaining but not difficult to score well. It will probably have little replay value if youre not playing for money. The most reward is from deuce putting, always good to build that mental state of making the good putt.
ADV and PRO will find no challenge. I could see -18s very possible for them. Money play is the only reward here for them...imo.
Like I said above, this could be the BEST BEGINNER course I've played. Black Bear in Hoffman Estates, IL and Carroll Marty in Ames, IA are in the running as well. There are alot of line specific shots, which always a plus on any course.
For those traveling you have many better options than this. Your time can be better spent. If youre looking to add to your course count this will only take 3-45minutes to play. If youre a local then go enjoy it, especially if youre just learning to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  A Fair Alternative

5+    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: dhintzke
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good for beginners and family rounds
- Good for tuning your short and mid-range game.
- A few new pin placements (within the last two months) on some holes which require more accurate throws.
- Convenient location. Not far from freeway.
- Good use of trees, wooded areas and the small area that has elevation changes.
Cons: - Not a long course.
- Make-shift tee signs (plywood plaques, handwritten with a marker)
- Short holes.
- Holes 1-8 feel cramped.
- Most tee pads (concrete) sit 2"-4" above the surrounding ground.
- Heavy park traffic (disc golfers, walkers, bikers, joggers, soccer fields)
Other Thoughts: This course was the chosen alternate course to our other two options, Dretzka (closed for a tournament) and Brown Deer (pulled because some idiot stole the basket for hole 16!) It does not come close to the caliber of either of those two courses (length, shot selection, layout, risks, etc.)

However, it was a great opportunity to throw the two new Buzzz's I bought. It's a perfect disc for this course. Experienced players will most-likely leave their drivers in the bag.

With the exception of hole #2 (mandatory tunnel shot) and hole #4 (criss-crossing tree branches that frame the basket in the background) the first eight holes are rather boring other than to provide opportunities for short ace runs. A road borders the left-hand side of these holes but shouldn't really come into play. Several holes require walking backwards to get to the next tee pad. This poses a threat for getting hit by an errant drive from those teeing off on the previous hole. There are no elevation changes on this part of the course. But it does have a mixture of straight, hyzer and anhyzer shots. Hole 2 requires an accurate shot through the tunnel of foliage. With the original two pin placements, it was a RHBH hyzer shot. Now with the new pin placement (to the right after a hyzer through the tunnel) this hole provides no room for forgiveness. Those that can execute an accurate "S-curve" shot (LHBH or RHFH) have a shot at a deuce.

Holes 9-18 are more interesting in the way of course design. Hole 9 - A low-flying drive under tree branches to a basket tucked into the woods on the edge of a ravine. Hole 11 - A 245' hole with the first 60% flat and the last 40% down a hill. It's a straight but blind shot from the tee. There is a long walk between 11 and 12. Probably due to the access drive to the river that runs through the park. The river never really comes into play on this course. Hole 13 - Probably the longest hole on the course, with the new pin placement straight ahead and tucked in a wooded area, it measures 326 feet long. The basket is impossible to see from the tee pad. Fluorescent tape around the pole would help. The new pin placements on holes 14 and 18 provide for less forgiveness than the original positions. Hole 18 - Has a mostly open fairway with a couple of trees that require a shaped shot to the basket that is tucked into a patch of woods and guarded all the way around.

Overall, this is a fair course. Holes 1-8 "feel" cramped. The course has a tendency to get crowded on the weekends. There are no benches to sit on while waiting to tee off (with the exception of hole 18 which has bleachers. Can't figure that one out.). Trash receptacles are scarce. However, it appears that the local club and/or parks employees have done a great job keeping the course clean. It would be a great place to play for beginners and families with younger children, provided that there isn't a lot of course traffic. The tee signs are not appealing but do a good enough job depicting the hole layout and the distances. I will probably play this course again, but my visits will be few and far in between.
.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but not world class

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 88  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Estabrook Park is a massive park, and the disc golf course is a perfect addition to it. I enjoyed my round thanks to the following aspects of the course:

*Great hole design with all but one hole bringing multiple tree obstacles into play
*Hole 2 was a very cool tunnel created by some funky trees
*Appropriately sized and poured concrete tees.
*Multiple pin placements
*Adequate baskets
Cons: This course will never be host to a high caliber tournament because it simply does not have enough distance challenge to do so. An experienced player will probably not take out his/her drivers. This really is the only con of the course.
Other Thoughts: Though Estabrook is not a world class course like its neighbors Brown Deer and Dretzka, it is a great "League Course" and a chance for experienced players to get a great score after some tricky drives. In short, most of the holes at Estabrook would be like the easier ones at a high caliber course. They're not easy deuce holes, but scoring a two is possible on every hole. If you're road tripping to Dretzka and Brown Deer, make sure to include this quick course in your plans.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Milwaukee's Vollrath?...Eh, Not Quite

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. The Front 9 doesn't vary too much in what's required (lots of straight shots with my Buzzz), but there is some good variety, first evident with the mando tunnel on #2 and the first risky green on #9 (potential rollaway if you overshoot). Elevation is used well on #10 and #11, both downhill shots near the river (although the water doesn't come into play). Hole #16 has a green protected by a gang of guardian trees further surrounded by rough, so this late trouble really makes you focus on threading one of the multiple gaps while not having to worry about hitting anything early.
2. Multiple pin locations on every hole make this a course I will definitely return to in order to get a feel for how the holes play differently when changed around.
3. The tee signs are descriptive and helpful, but crude. There was a thumbtack denoting the pin position on most of the signs, although with the short hole lengths it's usually pretty obvious where you're shooting to.
4. Navigation is relatively straightforward, as most tees are easily visible after holing out. Also, the basket spokes are painted with the direction to walk to reach the next tee.
5. Tees are nice textured concrete. I played the day after some heavy rains and didn't have any slippage or traction issues.
6. The short distances make this a really fun "old-school" style course (in the spirit of Vollrath as referenced in my title, although this course lacks the elevation of the Sheboygan course). Some great opportunities to work on your control and finesse as opposed to just ripping drivers over and over. Although all the holes are short, there's a good mix of distances.
7. Very clean when compared to other Milwaukee courses, although I suspect this is more due to the newness and expect litter/vandalism to become the norm (as it is in any city, so I'm not bashing Mil-Town here). Abundant trash cans.
Cons: 1. Some areas seem conducive to conflict, either with traffic or players on other tees. This is especially evident on the Front 9 (particularly the proximity of #2's tee to #1's basket), where the road is visible for most of the holes (which you also need to cross at an area where cars could come zipping around the slight curve leading into the park).
2. While not overly repetitive, the flatness of the course and the short hole lengths doesn't provide a ton of opportunity for creative and interesting holes. One thing lacking here is a real "wow" factor or a signature hole.
3. I question the necessity of the elevated basket on #11 (short position when I played, not sure if it's like this in the long). This is already a downhill tee shot, so leaving the basket at a standard height would seem to provide more risk of skip-aways or forcing newer players to shoot a little lower. Admittedly, I'm being nitpicky here.
4. The only real bland hole was #8, just wide open, and again near the road.
5. The concrete tees are mostly installed well, but some aren't flush with the ground (I did notice woodchips around many, so adding some more to the front of these tees would fix this problem). Not a real big con since most players won't require huge follow-throughs.
6. The walk from #8 to #9, as mentioned, crosses the road (look both ways, people!); head towards the soccer goals and you'll see #9's tee. There's also a bit of a walk from #11 to #12, and although navigation on this walk is aided by bright green directional signs, I couldn't help but notice some missed opportunities for holes on this walk; holes that would have been far from your typical "filler" fare, since this is the only area of the park with elevation changes.
7. Hole #18 seems to have a problem with standing water. Although this would probably too expensive to fix in order to facilitate proper drainage, keep in mind that after it rains most of this fairway is under a few inches of water. Casual relief. :)
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course and a great addition to the other MKE Area courses. Although situated in a multi-use park, the course pretty much stays away from other park activities (hiking and biking seem to be the big draws to this area). This is a great course for beginners and families due to the short distances, although the shot-shaping required on some holes provides a decent challenge. No real suggestions for improvements to make it a higher-rated course; it is what it is, just a fun little deucefest that can be played with 2 or 3 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Each hole is different
Unique holes
Cons: Not the greatest area
Really hard to follow and you have to walk a ways to each hole
Other Thoughts: Fun, a lot of walking, and real confusing. I would print off a map if you have never been there before

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  local course

5+    12/2/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: basketcase15
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good mix of holes, and there is new signs pointing you in the right direction from hole to hole, new baskets, and people the concrete is in, so chill ! its a great warm up for BD or Dretzka ! cool mando on hole 2, and a fair amount of holes that finish right, so forhanders get to shine sometimes ! since i am a forhand dominant player ! ohh and open all year!
Cons: mostly short holes untill u get to 13, (when at the far pin), the course is right next to the road and kinda could psych u out sometimes i guess if your not used to it
Other Thoughts: i play here almost everyday,its a fun course, i got my first ace this year there on hole 7, forehand, no skip far pin 194ft., unfortunately, this hole has now become my nemesis, ohh well i like esta anyways, gave it a 3

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meh. (For now).

2-4    8/20/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This pitch and putt style course is mostly grassy with mature trees, wooded areas, and bushes as obstacles on the front nine. The back nine crosses the road and starts to play through a more wooded area. Water is nominally in play on a handful of holes, although the risk of getting a disc wet is fairly slim.
- Great next tee signage alleviates an otherwise nightmarish flow in places. Follow the signs or risk getting lost.
- Many ace runs available on the front nine. The back nine, along with a few on the front are more technical than the first several holes, giving the course some variety.
- Great for families, beginners, or putter-only rounds.
- Dual pin placements change things up a bit, although no hole is very long.
- Practice basket near parking lot.
Cons: - Rudimentary signage is sufficient but ugly. I assume the signage is temporary and will be rectified once the course is a little more established.
- One hole (#16, I believe) was completely submerged under water. Unplayable.
- Repetitive front nine with woods on the right, road on the left. Scattered trees provide the obstacles, but mostly these are open grassy ace runs.
- Mostly flat with very few risk/reward opportunities, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: - I assume that this newish course is going through some growing pains and on-going development that will raise its rating at a later date. EDIT (6/25/11): Concrete tees have been added since my last visit, greatly improving the course...hopefully replacement signs are next on the agenda.
- Despite the proximity to water, bugs were almost a non-factor, which was a pleasant surprise.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.