Milwaukee, WI 
Estabrook Park Share
Uploaded By: edward felcohands Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Basket behind tree in center



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great course, but not world class

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 108  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Estabrook Park is a massive park, and the disc golf course is a perfect addition to it. I enjoyed my round thanks to the following aspects of the course:

*Great hole design with all but one hole bringing multiple tree obstacles into play
*Hole 2 was a very cool tunnel created by some funky trees
*Appropriately sized and poured concrete tees.
*Multiple pin placements
*Adequate baskets
Cons: This course will never be host to a high caliber tournament because it simply does not have enough distance challenge to do so. An experienced player will probably not take out his/her drivers. This really is the only con of the course.
Other Thoughts: Though Estabrook is not a world class course like its neighbors Brown Deer and Dretzka, it is a great "League Course" and a chance for experienced players to get a great score after some tricky drives. In short, most of the holes at Estabrook would be like the easier ones at a high caliber course. They're not easy deuce holes, but scoring a two is possible on every hole. If you're road tripping to Dretzka and Brown Deer, make sure to include this quick course in your plans.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Milwaukee's Vollrath?...Eh, Not Quite

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 17.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. The Front 9 doesn't vary too much in what's required (lots of straight shots with my Buzzz), but there is some good variety, first evident with the mando tunnel on #2 and the first risky green on #9 (potential rollaway if you overshoot). Elevation is used well on #10 and #11, both downhill shots near the river (although the water doesn't come into play). Hole #16 has a green protected by a gang of guardian trees further surrounded by rough, so this late trouble really makes you focus on threading one of the multiple gaps while not having to worry about hitting anything early.
2. Multiple pin locations on every hole make this a course I will definitely return to in order to get a feel for how the holes play differently when changed around.
3. The tee signs are descriptive and helpful, but crude. There was a thumbtack denoting the pin position on most of the signs, although with the short hole lengths it's usually pretty obvious where you're shooting to.
4. Navigation is relatively straightforward, as most tees are easily visible after holing out. Also, the basket spokes are painted with the direction to walk to reach the next tee.
5. Tees are nice textured concrete. I played the day after some heavy rains and didn't have any slippage or traction issues.
6. The short distances make this a really fun "old-school" style course (in the spirit of Vollrath as referenced in my title, although this course lacks the elevation of the Sheboygan course). Some great opportunities to work on your control and finesse as opposed to just ripping drivers over and over. Although all the holes are short, there's a good mix of distances.
7. Very clean when compared to other Milwaukee courses, although I suspect this is more due to the newness and expect litter/vandalism to become the norm (as it is in any city, so I'm not bashing Mil-Town here). Abundant trash cans.
Cons: 1. Some areas seem conducive to conflict, either with traffic or players on other tees. This is especially evident on the Front 9 (particularly the proximity of #2's tee to #1's basket), where the road is visible for most of the holes (which you also need to cross at an area where cars could come zipping around the slight curve leading into the park).
2. While not overly repetitive, the flatness of the course and the short hole lengths doesn't provide a ton of opportunity for creative and interesting holes. One thing lacking here is a real "wow" factor or a signature hole.
3. I question the necessity of the elevated basket on #11 (short position when I played, not sure if it's like this in the long). This is already a downhill tee shot, so leaving the basket at a standard height would seem to provide more risk of skip-aways or forcing newer players to shoot a little lower. Admittedly, I'm being nitpicky here.
4. The only real bland hole was #8, just wide open, and again near the road.
5. The concrete tees are mostly installed well, but some aren't flush with the ground (I did notice woodchips around many, so adding some more to the front of these tees would fix this problem). Not a real big con since most players won't require huge follow-throughs.
6. The walk from #8 to #9, as mentioned, crosses the road (look both ways, people!); head towards the soccer goals and you'll see #9's tee. There's also a bit of a walk from #11 to #12, and although navigation on this walk is aided by bright green directional signs, I couldn't help but notice some missed opportunities for holes on this walk; holes that would have been far from your typical "filler" fare, since this is the only area of the park with elevation changes.
7. Hole #18 seems to have a problem with standing water. Although this would probably too expensive to fix in order to facilitate proper drainage, keep in mind that after it rains most of this fairway is under a few inches of water. Casual relief. :)
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course and a great addition to the other MKE Area courses. Although situated in a multi-use park, the course pretty much stays away from other park activities (hiking and biking seem to be the big draws to this area). This is a great course for beginners and families due to the short distances, although the shot-shaping required on some holes provides a decent challenge. No real suggestions for improvements to make it a higher-rated course; it is what it is, just a fun little deucefest that can be played with 2 or 3 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Each hole is different
Unique holes
Cons: Not the greatest area
Really hard to follow and you have to walk a ways to each hole
Other Thoughts: Fun, a lot of walking, and real confusing. I would print off a map if you have never been there before

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  local course

5+    12/2/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: basketcase15
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good mix of holes, and there is new signs pointing you in the right direction from hole to hole, new baskets, and people the concrete is in, so chill ! its a great warm up for BD or Dretzka ! cool mando on hole 2, and a fair amount of holes that finish right, so forhanders get to shine sometimes ! since i am a forhand dominant player ! ohh and open all year!
Cons: mostly short holes untill u get to 13, (when at the far pin), the course is right next to the road and kinda could psych u out sometimes i guess if your not used to it
Other Thoughts: i play here almost everyday,its a fun course, i got my first ace this year there on hole 7, forehand, no skip far pin 194ft., unfortunately, this hole has now become my nemesis, ohh well i like esta anyways, gave it a 3

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meh. (For now).

2-4    8/20/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This pitch and putt style course is mostly grassy with mature trees, wooded areas, and bushes as obstacles on the front nine. The back nine crosses the road and starts to play through a more wooded area. Water is nominally in play on a handful of holes, although the risk of getting a disc wet is fairly slim.
- Great next tee signage alleviates an otherwise nightmarish flow in places. Follow the signs or risk getting lost.
- Many ace runs available on the front nine. The back nine, along with a few on the front are more technical than the first several holes, giving the course some variety.
- Great for families, beginners, or putter-only rounds.
- Dual pin placements change things up a bit, although no hole is very long.
- Practice basket near parking lot.
Cons: - Rudimentary signage is sufficient but ugly. I assume the signage is temporary and will be rectified once the course is a little more established.
- One hole (#16, I believe) was completely submerged under water. Unplayable.
- Repetitive front nine with woods on the right, road on the left. Scattered trees provide the obstacles, but mostly these are open grassy ace runs.
- Mostly flat with very few risk/reward opportunities, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: - I assume that this newish course is going through some growing pains and on-going development that will raise its rating at a later date. EDIT (6/25/11): Concrete tees have been added since my last visit, greatly improving the course...hopefully replacement signs are next on the agenda.
- Despite the proximity to water, bugs were almost a non-factor, which was a pleasant surprise.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Leave the drivers home

1    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 191  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a few holes (or at least portions of the hole) that really show off some quality design and quality terrain. Hole 2 has a great hyzer mando through a tunnel of brush. Hole 5 has the tee set up, when the pin is in the long location, there is a red pine with two main trunks that twist and form a window which perfectly frames up the basket - great to go for it! (I did and went through the trunks, but above the window). Hole 9 has an excellent reisky green tucked into the woods, right on the edge of a dropoff to a drainage creek - GREAT! Hole 11 is the best hole in my mind - it plays a drawn out soft anny for a RHBH, starting from up in the typical city park mowed fairway with large trees. The last 40% drops down into the woods near the washout creek and when the pin (blind off the tee) is in the long position, creates a well laid out hole. Hole 16 plays forcing a drive to punch into a green carved out of a large clump of trees. Hole 18 forces a low drive through low hanging limbs and dense clumps of trees on either side.
There are multiple pin placements, but they range from short to SHORTER.
There is a small amount of elevation here, but it would be nice if more of the natural park steep ravines could have been used.
The mature city park trees don't offer enough low limbs for a true tunnel shot on most holes, but mature trees are gorgeous. Many are used very well to frame a specific shot off the tee or approach onto the green.
Cons: Repetitive waste of holes 1-8. Beside a couple neat natural features like the tunnel on #2 and the red pine on #5, the first 8 holes all have a tee near the road, and a basket along the edge of the woods - straight or slight anny over and over again.
On the front 8 especially, the tees are very close to the previous basket, the design I just mentioned makes this problem worse when the noobs are out flinging RHBH shots off their hips that fade left into the group at the next tee.
The signs right now are just one-line depictions and don't really show the intended flight real well (e.g. depicting a fade right when the basket is left). I'm assuming from the 4x4 posts that signs are planned here, but with the lack of descriptive and depictive tee signs at Brown Deer, who knows.
Only one tee here, a short one! I assume tees are coming, we could hope they'll be a bit longer, or maybe a second longer set will be added. Hopefully the concrete is installed flush to the ground and with a ROUGH finish!
The walk to #12 wastes a lot of unique terrain.
No big pond or real water hazard, but #9, 10, 11 could bring some water into play I guess with a shanked drive.
Very short course, not really any need for a driver at all (unless you sidearm a lot).
Old guys walking the paths and hanging out in the parking lot looking for things they shouldn't be looking for. Which leads into my preference for secluded and natural courses - can't expect much else from a course in the middle of Milwaukee.
Other Thoughts: I perpetually play courses, walking around thinking how they could be better - moving a tee back/left/right, tucking a pin into the woods or near a sharp dropoff, using more unique features of a park. I couldn't help myself from doing that here. So many greens would have been better if cut into the nearby woods by 50-75'. So many holes would have been better with a second LONG tee 100' or more back. But all in all the alotted park area probably wouldn't allow it (or I'm thinking the parks department would allows those areas to be used (between 11 & 12, and the cool ravine that slightly comes into play on 9 & 11). I concluded that this course design was just meant to offer a beginner level course in the area. We discussed it was maybe to reduce the hordes at Dretzka (because no one plays the "too hard" Brown Deer, and who in their right mind would go to Dineen). So, this course was meant for beginners, or for advanced players to work on their putter drives and buzzzes. It is what it is - typical. Some shiny spots, lots of lackluster dull ones. I didn't regret playing, but would have if I had gone out of my way. If I didn't have family in the area, I don't think I'd ever play here again.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 forehand friendly

5+    7/18/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: landscapr
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice and technical. fairs very well for a forehand player such as myself. good course to work on you mid-range game.
Cons: grass pads. but the concrete ones will be installed soon. usually busy.
Other Thoughts: garbage is a huge issue here. so do your part to pack in and pack out. and help keep it clean and pick up some garbage while you play theres plenty of garbage cans around.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This course will be popular!

2-4    7/1/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: jared.greanya
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is busy and so it is increasingly hard to lose a disc here. It is very Valley View-esque with a lot of short technical holes but enough variety to keep someone who's been playing for 7 years occupied as well.
I never had to throw very hard to reach the holes which meant I could play this course several times in concession.
Cons: It is a short course, ideally it would be nice to see some more variety in distance and elevation changes.
Also, even though the tee "pads" were dry for me both times I played, I can imagine how muddy they can get and concrete tee pads or at least woodchips would make a great difference.
Other Thoughts: Overall I will play this course often as it is now the closest course to me near Milwaukee. It doesn't come close to Dretzka which is longer and great for advanced players, but it does compare well to valley view which is great for beginners.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  For Beginners.

2-4    6/19/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: ehrhardt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The course is good for beginners. Has good holes for perfecting your shot. Enjoy the wooded area.
Cons: The wholes are way to small. If you are use to bigger courses dont play here, watch out for hole 10 the river is right behind it so dont over through it. there are long walks to holes and the holes kind of over lap.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Estabrook - Padless

2-4    6/9/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: KevinCG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its tougher than it looks. Very technical. I don't like writing incredibly long reviews. I would say its worth the try. Once concrete pads get put in, this could end up being a really great course.
I GPSed the course. Here is a link to my Google Map.
http://maps.google.com/maps/m...b57c&z=17
Cons: No pads. Signage is a bit primitive, but once you do the course once, its very easy to navigate. The foliage is already pretty much broken down if you shoot off the fairway so finding your disc is not as troublesome as you would imagine.
Other Thoughts: Since its a brand new course, its going to be crowded at peak hours. Be prepared to wait at holes.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.