Milwaukee, WI 
Estabrook Park Share
Uploaded By: P.B.D.G. Hole #5 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
Nice short course . . . location is key for a lot of people in the city. It should really help spread the traffic out a bit!

2-4    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course went in fast but just the right amount of trimming and cutting was done in my opinion. There are a couple tight lanes to throw through and those should be preserved as long as possible. I am sure vandalism and disc traffic will lead to those openings becoming wider, but to start I think an awesome job was done preserving those lanes.

2) Course is a true par 3 course (54). All holes are reachable by me which I enjoy. While I do like to see legit par 4's and 5's on courses, I am also ok with a shorter course like this from a design standpoint especially because of its location. There wasn't the land to make any real par 4's, but this course is also very well suited to the college kids nearby and the beginners who might come out to a new course. I doubt this played any role in the design, but in the end it worked out great.

3) While most holes on 1-8 are anhyzers or RH flicks, the back 9 has a nice variety of straight and hyzers with a smattering of turnovers.

4) 1-8 are all simple shots with quite a few ace runs without much penalty, but that is when the course really gets going. 9 has a great perched basket, 10 is a short downhiller with an ace run risk/reward, 11 is a great left to right downhiller. 12-14 run through the densest part of the woods and 15-18 open back up to a dense canopy of large trees but not through tight woods. This variety is key to making this course as good as it is. If the whole thing were like 1-8 I would not be very impressed, but it gives you two courses almost. Go for aces on the first holes and then settle in and try to make as many pars with a couple birdies coming in.

5) EDIT: Signs have been replaced with very professional routered plastic signs with distances and hole locations on the maps. This was a volunteer job by a local disc golfer and it goes to show what a good local community can do for our disc golf courses.

6) Kiosk near 18 basket for information and EDIT: TWO practice baskets for warming up putts beforehand or playing a game of Chains.

7) Beginner friendly, but with some challenge too, which I view as a real positive.

8) Locals are good guys and will most certainly be sure to keep the DBags in line. EDIT: There was a change of leadership at the park going from one good guy to another. Lots of changes have happened this season (2013).

9) They keep adding new pin positions and it is making the course more difficult. I am happy to see the full use of the area getting used.

EDIT: 10) Concrete teepads were poured a long time ago now. These are the best concrete teepads in winter because they have such deep grooves that there is no way they will be slippery. The locals also salt them to keep them clean.

11) Beer Garden is a huge attraction in the park and is a nice amenity for an after round beverage. They have been very supportive of disc golf events also so stop in for a beer and talk to them about the disc golf course!
Cons:
1)There are still some stumps visible where clearing has happened. Most of he old ones have been taken out but anytime a new placement is made stumps are left.

2) Shot shaping is ok . . . although they seem to favor lefties or rh annys or flicks. There is a little more variety on the last 10 holes but the first 8 set up with (1 hyzer tunnel shot, 2 straight shots and 5 anhyzer or flick shots).

3) Long walk between 11 and 12 makes the course feel disjointed. Non locals might get confused here on where to go, but the course map does indicate a long walk and there is a sign on the first bridge pointing you down the path. Either way I would prefer non-stop disc golf but it wasn't possible here.

4) Mosquitos will be busy there. Right along the river, dense woods . . . bring the bug spray.

5) Safety an issue on a few tees and missed anny lines. Mostly on holes 1-8 but also on 16 tee you are at risk at being hit by a errant teeshot from 15. Safety is also an issue because of the stumps in the ground from the buckthorn removal. #3 tee is also very much in play from a tamahawk on #2. While I was there the local guys decided to make the mando for that hole throguh the tunnel and wrote it on the board. Immediately behind up we heard 4 tamahawks land so obviously they didnt understand. EDIT: This is one of the worst courses in the area for throwing in the road. Not only do a lot of discs end up in the road but there is also a large amount of traffic. The locals encourage people to bring their disc back in the grass rather than throwing from the road but it doesn't always get told to everyone.
Other Thoughts: I know this course is young and all the work was volunteer so I am basing my rating on what I expect of this course given a little bit of time to play it in. I know teepads will be accepted there as all the other county parks allowed them, they just wanted to make sure that none of the areas infringe on other activities and that everything is safe in the end. I like the course but the firs 8 holes are somewhat boring. It truly better get you warmed up by being accurate and racking up as many birdies as you can there before heading to the tougher back nine (10). The risk reward on this course is high because of the basket locations and fallaways on 9-11. The risk of hitting a particular tree and kicking into the brush is prevalent on multiple holes on this course, so you really want to pick the line with the least issues. All in all I did enjoy the course, but there are some things that leave me wanting some changes . . . the property just wouldn't really allow it.

I know that course will be well policed by the local guys because I know many of the people who will be there almost daily because of where they live.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = Slightly above average

1    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.3 Years
14 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
(Overall a pretty open and forgiving course. The trouble you will encounter on most fairways is easily recoverable from to save par should you screw up off the tee. This is good for less accomplished players, but does not provide the punishment needed to get any good scoring spread for those whose game is honed in. There are a few holes that do provide some good head scratch to decide which route to take and what disc to throw....this is a good thing.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(Most holes are too short and straight forward to feel rewarding when carding a birdie. 3-4 of the long pins are excellent holes for someone of my D.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B-
(Probably 1/3 of the holes I would consider open although none are just open field shots. All holes have at least some trees to contend with. There is a great variety of straight, right-to-left and left-to-right holes. Overall it is a flat course with just 2 holes making use of any terrain.
My favorite holes are:
#2 (long basket) which forces you to thread a perfect hyzer (RHBH) through a short tunnel carved through the buckthorn schule mid-fairway.
#11 shoots over the edge of a hill and down a wooded tunnel. Takes a real nice finesse shot to park it.......or to ace run it.
#13 (long basket) throws from under a beautiful large basswood tree (that is dying unfortunately) through a generous wooded tunnel and out into a grassy area. The basket is under a huge white birch tree. It takes a low-flying hyzer to park it as there are low branches on the last 80-90' of the fairway. This hole is easily the most visually appealing and interesting hole on the course.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(The park is very tired feeling and most of the course runs along the park road. Holes 10-13 are a little more removed and nicer feeling as they sit a little further back in the park. But there is a long and confusing transition walk between 11 and 12. At least the long walk is in the prettiest part of the course!)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Cons: The homo in the convertible Sebring who stared me down as I changed in my front seat from my work clothes into my DG gear before my round. He then drove over and told me "You're a quick change artist. You went into your car as a businessman and come out like this."
I should have told him, "This is disc golf....you might change the last 2 letters around, but I don't."
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me.....and that's the fun of things here.

14 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Estabrook Park

1    5/28/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Omnibot
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New course, always fun to play!

- Lots of good shots for left handed
- Woods come into play a bit if you want to go straight at holes
- Nice enough tee signs for now
- Nice enough tee's for now
- Easy to find your way if you follow the tee signs
Cons: - First few holes all play the same if you want to avoid the obstacles in front of you
- Long walk between some holes
- Walks in front of some holes (#18)
- Some holes require long walks but it's easy to pick up after a round or two
- Brush is bad, but it's a new course.
Other Thoughts: Kind of short, and when the holes are long you have to keep the disc low to go for the holes. It's fun but i'll probably wait awhile to play it again until the cement goes down and some of the brush gets naturally cleared

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -New Baskets
-Signs may be makeshift but they give good directions to the tee
-A good mix of wooded and wide open shots
-Very technical coarse
Cons: -Holes are somewhat short but not too bad
-Bad directions on how to get from hole to hole (Expecially on how to get to hole #12.)
-Grass tee pads (they should be getting concrete teepads soon.)
-Some holes are too close to the street.
-Very seldomly can you find a garbage can
Other Thoughts: The course is brand new and a little shabby. If they get concrete tee pads and permenent sighns it would be a lot better.It shows a lot of promise if they fix it up a little. Overall it was a very enjoyable course.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Very very good

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Very technical. Some interesting shots. Will test all different types of drives.

-Good use of the space.

-Nice New Baskets

-Clean park in a good location

Very good signs even if a bit crude.
Cons: A tad bit short. Not terrible though.

- Some holes are a bit monotonous.

-Obviously the grass tees. Cement should be in soon.
Other Thoughts: Opened just over a week ago. I think it's a great course maybe similar to Dretzka a bit.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical course

1    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a long narrow multi-use park, with lots of trees and some brushy areas. Most holes play through stands of trees with denser woods with brush on one or both sides. There is a little bit of elevation that comes into play on a couple holes in the middle of the course that adds a fun little bit of challenge, especially with a couple roll away pin placements.

This is a finesse course, with lots of tight lines to hit. There is a decent mix of left and right turning holes, and some narrow windows to make it through if you want to run at the basket. There is good punishment for errant shots on many holes, where a poor drive can cost you a stroke or two.

The course is still new and not complete, but there are good temporary signs up with hole layout and distance marked for both pin placements, along with a next tee arrow. The tees are natural, but are in good shape so far and should be replaced by concrete from what the locals told me. The baskets are new, and catch great.
Cons: The course is a little lacking in distance, this is a putter and mid kind of course. The technical shots are a lot of fun, but some longer holes through the trees would make this course more challenging and interesting, and make it feel a little less repetitive. Too many holes play right on top of the road, walking path, picnic areas, and soccer fields. There are some conflicts and safety issues especially with the newness of the course and the lack of awareness on the part of other park users.

A couple of the walks between holes are long and not obvious, check the tee signs for the next tee arrows, and you'll find most of them ok though. The alternate pin positions marked out were not very different, they mostly were on the same line and just slightly changed the distance (many were within 30 feet of the other placement).
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, and offers some good technical shots. Course improvements like permanent tee signs, better navigational marking in a couple spots, and concrete tees will make it even better. It's a good course for less experienced players to learn to shape lines, with reasonable distances and brush that's not too disc hungry. More seasoned throwers won't find a ton of challenge here, but it is a good course to work on shorter shots and hitting lines with mids and putters. It's worth a stop here if you're in the area, the course plays pretty quickly, and it was less crowded than the other courses in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 lefty heaven

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: many holes are technical

good use of tress along road

holes away from the road are good-good use of elevation changes and openings

course rewards good shots, but careful not to overthrow or your disc will drop off a decently steep hill on 5 or 6 holes.
Cons: needs concrete tees-heard they were going to install them soon

Most of the holes along the road are repetative and are perfect for lefty or sidearm players-in genreral holes 1-7 and 14-18

Since the road is so close to many of the holes you have to be careful to get enough anhyzer or not hook discs to the right.

not much distance to the course
Other Thoughts: really needs more variety of holes

confusing walks to holes 12 and 13

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, short and technical

1    5/22/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: imoser_me
Played: 91  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is technical. It rewards good shots while punishing bad shots. The brush isn't super thick were it will eat discs, but you really won't have much of a shot except tossing it out or trying a roller.

Most of the holes have tall trees in the way and brush running alongside of the fairways. There aren't any true tunnel shots, but there are a few holes where brush was cleared to make a small tunnel to shoot through. Some of the baskets are also tucked into the brush.
Cons: Some holes are almost throwaway or filler holes. These mainly consist of connecting holes that have few trees in the way and an open basket. These holes have practically a straight open run at them. These are generally grouped together in the same field like they were trying to squeeze holes in.

The course has some navigation issues with long walks to #9, #10 and a confusing walk to #12.

The course is new, but it still needs some clean up work. It is a small con, but it should get better.

Natural tees. It was fine now, but it will be dirt soon.
Other Thoughts: Memorable holes - #5 (the hole between the winding trees showing the basket is awesome), #9 (Blind left hole with a drop off) #11 (basket is downhill but is taller; extremely deceptive), #13 (throwing under the branches of a huge tree through a short tunnel) #16 (throwing into a spot in the brush that was cleared out)

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.