Charlotte, NC 
Eastway Park Share
Uploaded By: SpainKiller Hole #11 (Taken 11/2015)
3 / 351ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Harder than it looks

1    9/20/2015   9/20/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 24  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of shots required. A touch of elevation change, unique and challenging greens, and plenty RHBH and LHBH friendly holes. The combination of wooded, open, and winding holes really challenges you to throw a wide range of different lines and often reconsider laying up instead of running for the chains. The risk to reward factor is high.

The course design upon initial inspection seems easy enough. Plenty of open long bomb holes, and not much in the way of tight wooded tunnel shots....I was wrong. The OB on some holes can be punishing, and really add strokes to your score. I can appreciate this aspect though, and really enhances the challenge of what would normally be a boring playing course. Lay up, or go for it?

I can't say enough about the design of this course. From the unforgiving OB (as evident by my scores here...), the wide variety of shots required, and the overal use of terrain available at the park. Very well laid out, and designed course. Not for the faint of heart
Cons: Unfortunately, as much as I loved the design features of this course, there were some unfortunate "cons" that brought the rating down.

The up-keep of this course seemed to be lacking compared to other well known Charlotte courses. There were trash piles where trash cans maybe used to be at the tee pads, and trash scattered around throughout the whole walk. Unfortunate...

After the trash on the course came the inadequate and sometimes missing signage. There are small wooden signs leading to the next holes, which are useful! But...they are hard to see in some locations, and non-existent in others. A course map may be useful, but as I've mentioned in some of my other reviews, I don't think should be required to easily navigate yourself through the course.

Most of the tees had proper tee signs, indicating the par and distance and providing a layout of the fairway, however there were several not present at all. Bummer

Missing signage and trash aside, I felt that there were a few holes, specifically on the back 9, that seemed hard just for the sake of being hard...Either no discernible clear line (#15) or Tiny landing zones/massive overgrown OB (#16). Creating obstacles or difficult fairways just to toughen the hole are sometimes necessary, but in my opinion, over done on this course.

The last, albeit minor, con for this course was the tee pad for hole #18. It seemed almost half the length of normal tee pad and made the tee shot difficult here.
Other Thoughts: Although my list of cons for this course may seem quite long, I still really enjoyed the challenge this course presented. It can take advantage of any weak area in your game, and can really punish mistakes. The high risk to reward ratio on some holes greatly adds to the challenge for me, and is a nice change of pace to some other more forgiving courses.

A big arm could be a big advantage here, as there are quite a few long open holes, but the lower power throwers shouldn't shy away from this course. Just be smart, and play smart. The OB may not look intimidating or challenging, but can really ruin a decent score.

Bring plenty of water and sunscreen as the course uses lots of the parks available realestate and is quite a long walk. Enjoyable! But protect yourself from the sun, and keep hydrated as a lot of the walking is out in the open.

A challenging course with some really great potential with just a bit of TLC. Would recommend playing here if you're near by, but I don't feel this course is quite up to the wonderful Charlotte DG standards

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun but challenging

2-4    7/13/2015   7/13/2015
Review By: ncbrett92
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun mix of open and wooded holes with a good mix of distance as well. Hole 2 is fun to just rip the drive and watch it sail. The fairways are for the most part open but if you get off line your chance at birdie or even par could be gone. All of the tee boxes are fair in size (other then 14). I like to play hole 9 from the longs to throw one par 4 into the course. The raised basket on 8 and 5 are fun and holes 1,4, and 12 have drop offs behind there baskets and 17 had a major drop behind it to make you pay big time for missing long.
Cons: The one major....And I mean major....Con I have with this course is the under brush and THORN BUSHES!!!!. I have played the course 4 times and I can drive 300-350ft and I won't risk 16 because I don't want to fight with all that crap to find my disk. The under brush is so bad that 2 and 18 long are almost unplayable if someone wanted to. the thorns are really bad on 13-16 to the point I left a disk on 13 to the left because I could even walk threw the paths that other golfers before me had made without getting stuck in the legs and arms. UPDATE:They cut back the brush on 2 long and 3 long is now playable but 16 is still bad and no work done to 18 long. 9 to the right is also pretty thorny too.

A few of the tee sings are missing for some of the holes.

The short tee pad on 14 is creative and it works just fine....unless it has rained.... then it is slick as all get out.

I personally don't like the lay out of 15.... there really is't a true line to hit you just kind of have to throw it and pray it gets threw somehow with that tree guarding the basket and the brush tight to the left and right.

Other Thoughts: I really do like this course I have't found anything else like it in the Charlotte area and a must play for sure. I'll be playing this course a good bit for sure but do to the underbrush and thorns I think you'll see me over at Killborne and Sugaw Creek more then this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/23/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 92  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is pretty wide open but does play through the trees on a few holes. Some elevation in play & it is used very well! Nice, large concrete tee pads with alternate tee pads on some holes. These alt tee pads have very different looks from the short pads which I like! Some OB in play. Some wide open green grass & some tree lined alley shots. Good mix of long & short & left & right-handed throws! Hole 2 in the long is one of my favorites!
Cons: The rough is tall in some spots (you could lose a disc). The middle of the course can get a bit repetitive (open holes by the road). Lock up your valuables!
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is a bomber in the long!! It's very pretty once you get up to the short pad with all the old growth trees in the fairway! This place is a good compliment to the many quality courses in the area. Definately worth the drive!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open and a great change of pace from other CLT courses

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/22/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Great tees, some short and long, but always with good signage
+ Great baskets, a couple with short and long, but we played the short ones
+ I doubt the course design was as effortless as it played, but it honestly felt smooth as silk
+ The fairways seemed excellently carved and I bet this would be a gorgeous course when the colors of the trees and plants are brightest
+ Some Charlotte courses make you feel claustrophobic with their tight butthole fairways, but this one was loose and generous
+ Only mild elevation change made playing this course quick and easy, but still a fun round
+ Signage made us laugh a few times because they showed the actual shape of trees and railroad tracks for the teepads
+ This course layout, generosity, and forgiveability really allows you to stretch your arm, utilize all your shots and all your discs
+ Memorable holes were #5, #15, #16, and #18
Cons: - Nothing really stands out as over the top awesome, but in a town with 14+ courses that's only a minor negative
- The stream on #6 is very deep in spots, so retrieving a bad throw could suck
- I really did not like throwing over and around the road mainly because people around here don't care enough to slow down
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course for a good round of golf. It doesn't matter than this course isn't over the top awesome with an abundance of woodwork and "amenities" so to speak. It has what it needs to be a truly solid course. The fairways are clear, even on the wooded holes, there's a little water, a lot of distance, and potential for satisfying rounds. This course has its place in Charlotte for sure. It is definitely a course to play for a change of pace from the rest of the crazy courses around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Eastway for Beast Play

1    12/30/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eastway DGC is a complete 18 hole course with plenty of wide open, long-ranging fairways. The park was nice and well kept, and the layout was well marked and easy to follow. The first few holes are reachable, but not right under your nose, and some have minor elevation changes. The middle and end of the course tended to be longer and flatter. Four holes offered long tees, working out of the wooded fringes of the park, and extending already lengthy holes. Most of the challenge presented is due to distance, as open tees allow great freedom off the tee in most cases.

The holes all had concrete tees, and good baskets, as well as signs and other transitional markers. There are bathrooms and trash cans at the parking lot, and park watch (security) was on the scene when we got there, not when we left.
Cons: Really not a lot to complain about, but lacking any truly remarkable features. The layout is good use of the park space, but does cross the street twice. The sparsely wooded park seldom forces a well placed, or highly technical throw.
Other Thoughts: Eastway park is a valid example of a good disc golf course, but with so many others in the area, it doesn't compare favorably in to me in most cases. I like airing out crushing drives as much as the next guy, but more is required to maintain my level of interest. Reminds me of University DGC in Clemson with better flow and scenery.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of these things is not like the others

1    2/16/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 871  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) #'d Innova Discatchers are an attractive basket.

2) #2 is a cool hole . . . but I wasn't sure about the basket back in the woods at first then I realized it was supposed to be a permanent long basket location???? That makes the hole even better if that is the case because it is a really cool shot. I typically don't like it when two baskets are permanently left in the ground but oh well it was a cool hole either way. You have to avoid the retention pond area (although it was dry when I played) and either park on the crest of a hill or keep your disc turned over and go all the way down the hill to the right for the long basket.

3) #4 is has some sort of reference to the railroad which sits above the basket for #5. I actually hear a train whistle and one came running past just after I finished #5 otherwise I wouldn't have known why there was a reference to the railroad on the tee-sign (the only one I actually remember seeing). An appropriate named hole just helps create the ambiance. This hole also had one awesome feature . . . the dropoff past the basket. I didn't realize just how extreme that was and it is risky to go for the ace and even a parkjob unless you plan to leave it just short of the basket. There is serious risk/reward and it places a premium on the placement here.

4) There are a few garbage cans around the course to help keep it clean.

5) This is probably the most beginner friendly course in Charlotte because it is mostly open. Sure there are some trouble spots that will punish the beginners but the more open holes give the beginners a chance to air things out a little bit and let the discs recover on their own, whereas in a wooded course will just knock down those errant throws.

6) #18 although not the coolest hole in the world had a really unique idea . . .the basket is framed by a V shaped tree which is in front of the basket. They had to elevate the basket to make it visible from the tee but I think it is cool that they basically framed the basket with a tree.

7) Two of the more risky and dangerous basket locations I have encountered (not including Renny Gold). Hole #5 is perched on a mound supported by timbers with a creek just 8' from the basket on one side. You can so easily end in the creek on the drive or your putt. Play smart on this hole or lose! Hole #17 is another basket that screams layup underneath for par. It is perched on top of a berm made of boulders and a tiny area built out of timbers.

8) I can tell I would probably enjoy the Gold tees much more than the short tees as a whole. The challenge will be more extreme and I always enjoy trying to execute more difficult shots.

9) The turfed areas that the course
plays through seem to be maintained well . . . they are mowed and kept in good condition.
Cons: 1) No signs yet except in a few places and the posts I assume they used like the other new courses that at least mark the tee and the distance are already missing. I sure hope they do something before Worlds.

2) While concrete is always better than natural . . .these tees are a little small especially considering you can really put everything into your drives here.

3) Very sketchy infrastructure here between the bridges and stairways. I always am a proponent of doing things right and I sure hope they improve these things before Worlds (one of the sports biggest venues).

4) Overall this course is too open for my liking, there are some good holes and some tighter holes but the open holes just are not fun for me. I know it is good balance but it is less enjoyable.

5) The road is in play on multiple holes where you play along the road as well as across actually. I just don't enjoy holes with this type of danger to "create" challenge. I would much prefer natural challenge with more trees and whatnot. This is also a negative because the road and the vehicles on it might be in danger.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most open course in Charlotte (at least in terms of the Worlds courses). It is a decent course but it lacks the "polish" and fun factor I have found on so many other courses in the area . . . mostly because there are some dud holes. There are still some good holes and unique features on this course but those seem to be offset by the boring holes that I did not enjoy from a challenge or design feature angle. I do not want to sound like I am bashing this course completely but it is one of my least favorites of the Worlds courses and does not quite "live up" to the other courses in the metro area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, an open course in Charlotte

5+    9/1/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 209  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 11.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eastway isn't your typical Charlotte disc golf course. There's an abundance of open holes here, giving people a real chance to air it out and be aggressive.
- Forget what you've heard about Charlotte course being heavily wooded and tight when you're playing here. This is actually a solid change of pace, with some pretty good layouts.
- Nice hole designs. The long stretch of true open hole (#7 - 14, plus others) all offer a decent variety of layouts with variables of elevation, slight use of trees, rocks and other obstacles. Of all the open holes, I'd say #10 is the only dud amongst the group. It's a 402 foot, pretty flat hole with no challenge at all. Big arms will be able to be in birdie or easy layup range. Regular, 300-foot range throwers will be throwing in the 100-foot range for their second shot, so essentially a ho-hum par 3.
- Yes, there are wooded holes here too, and they offer good challenges as well. For me, #5 is one of the best laid-out DG holes around. It has just about everything you could ask for in a DG hole - elevation change, water, trees that come into play, variety of ways to throw, fairness to both right and left-handed players, and the proverbial risk/reward factor. The tee shot offers a chance to be putting for birdie, hitting a tree and ending up in the fairway (or deep in the woods with a bad bounce), ending up in the creek, or having an easy lay-up. It's far from the most challenging hole here, but it just seems to have that something.
- There are a bunch of other good holes, holes with big fun factors to them. #2 short is the classic downhill, be-agressive hole. #3 short plays right back up the same hill. Both are potential ace runs. #8 plays to a basket on top of a rock hill. #16 is another classic with a great risk/reward factor. To the right of the fairway are trees and thick rough; to the left is more thick rough/tall grass. The rough/tall grass doesn't look too imposing from the tee, so first-timers will need to be careful when playing. The basket for #17 is on the edge of a big drop-off. You come at the basket from below from the long tee, and from above from the short tee, so you get two different looks for the hole.
- Good course for beginners. You also don't need a big arm to play well here with only 2 holes longer than 400 feet (from the short tees), with #12 being the longest at 439 feet. There are plenty of birdie chances here as well, even with nothing being less than 200 feet. And because so many holes are open, you can still score well if accurate tee shots aren't your thing.
- Course has adequate amenities with some benches, trash cans/bags throughout. Holes have decent tee signs. There are restrooms and a water fountain in the parking lot.
- #6 winds up back at the parking lot, so it gives you the option to easily play 24, or start at #7 for a change of pace.
- Location, location, location. In terms of disc golf real estate, this might be one of the most centralized courses around. You're less than 10 minutes from the Kilborne and Sugaw courses; 15 minutes from Reedy & Nevin, 20 minutes from Hornets Nest, Renaissance, Idlewild Park & Robert L. Smith. So yeah, pretty much you'll be able to play anywhere else once your round is over here.
Cons: The biggest, and most obvious issue, for anyone who plays here is the abundance of holes that play along the park road. #7 - 12 run alongside the park road (or over as in the case for #8), with the park road also possibly coming into play for #6, 16 & 17. At this point the park doesn't get much traffic, so that aspect isn't much of an issue. It may be as more gets done to the park in the future. It does, however, cause an issue in the aesthetics, (who wants to see the road), lack of creativity or privacy/isolation, plus whatever damage may be caused if you keep throwing discs in the road. As I said, once the park gets busier/more traffic, this will be a much bigger issue, possibly causing hole to be changed or moved.
- Repetitiveness, or at least the feeling of it. As mentioned in the pros, I think the open holes do a good job of all being somewhat different from each other. Now for some people, essentially those who with big arms (in the 400 foot range), these subtle difference are neutralized by the fact you're going to be able to throw near the pin (on the short holes) with every tee shot. In that case, yes, I can see how the course might get boring, and seem unchallenging.
- #9 is far away from #1. The course isn't split up evenly (9 out, 9 in). With #6 back near the parking lot, the course is pretty much divided up in a 6-hole and 12-hole section. Now, you could get creative and play #1 - 8 & 17 - 18 for a 10-hole stretch, but that's not completely the same as playing the front or back 9.
- There are a couple of parts of the course that need to be cleaned up and/smoothed out. Several holes still have areas of trash/concrete/fences on them. Some of ok, like seeing the concrete from torn-down houses on #14. But the rest has a neglected, littering feel to it. Some more TLC will go a long way.
- There's an inordinately high lost-disc factor for such a relatively open course. A lot of holes have tall grass, thick underbrush on them (be careful on #12, 15 & 16) or woods that come into play. Even on the open holes that run along the park road (#7 - 12) have trees along one side of the fairway (and the road on the other). On #9 & 11, especially, this can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of Eastway for what it offers. It is a great change of pace to have a mostly open course in Charlotte.
- Don't expect to be wowed by Eastway. It's far from the best course in Charlotte, and it's far from the best open course too. It has more good to great holes than it has bad ones. And in the end, that's what you want with any course.
- I really like that this course begs you to be aggressive. There are plenty of birdie chances, and some ace runs, on the course, so there's a real chance to shoot a low score. And just like any well designed course, there's that solid risk/reward factor you're looking for. Even for the regular player, the first five holes are all birdie-able, so you should be going to #6 under par.
- I've already mentioned how much I like #5, but there are several other solid holes as well. #2, from the shorts, is fun to throw several discs, for the ace possibility. #16 & 17 are really good for the risk/reward factor they offer. On #17, you have the challenge of putting with a big drop-off five feet behind the basket.
- Compared to other Charlotte-area open courses, Eastway reminds me of a light version of the front 9 of Hornets Nest. I think it's a little better than Sugaw (even though I ranked them both a 3.0). I think it's on par with Winthrop Lakefront, minus the beauty and the water.
- You should definitely check this course out, and if you don't like it, there are plenty of other courses close by.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    10/29/2011   10/29/2011
Review By: aftanbarr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A variety of shots and approaches are needed. There are shots in the woods and shots in the open. In general, I like the basket placements, from in the middle of an open field to hiding behind trees. Some holes have multiple tee pads (but good luck in finding some of them -- see cons). It is a good mix of wooded and open field.
Cons: This course can be a disc eater! There are several large patches of briars off of the fairway on a couple holes (#2 and #16 come to mind) where disc can be lost forever. The grass should be cut on several of the holes, too.

The course could also use signs pointing to the next tee pad(s). We could not find hole #4 at all and went from 3 to 5.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play (aside from my son's new disc lost to above mentioned briars). It required a lot of different shots and was a good mix of wooded and open field. Give it a try!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eastway is Charlotte-Lite, worth a stop

2-4    7/5/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eastway provides a gentler Charlotte-area compliment to the big-boy courses. It's great for a fun, quicker round. The park is very attractive and the course provides a mix of wooded and open holes.

There are several very good holes. Notably, number two (to the long basket) is a downhill par four that bends about 45 degrees right for the second shot. The tee shot is in the open, but needs to be placed well to set up the second that goes back into the woods. It's not the toughest hole for a top player, but is a beautiful introduction to a disc golf par four for the "all par three's" crowd.

Hole three is a very nice uphill par three. The tee shot out of the canopy must be crushed, with just the right nose angle. There is an OB wetlands area on the left that must be crossed and shorter throwers will consider bailing out to the right. It'd be nice to see the thick schule on the right about halfway up the hole knocked back to provide a defined bail-out area.

Hole five is a very nice short par three that shoots downhill and provides a tempting ace-run, but has an elevated basket just past an OB creek.

Hole sixteen is my favorite on the course. It is an open downhill medium-length par three that narrows just prior to the basket area with woods on the right and an OB wetland area on the left. The basket is perched on a hill with a drop-off to a ditch behind.

Hole eighteen from the long pad is a quality, unique short par four. The tee shot is very much uphill that must be well thrown with just the right nose angle. The second shot is a straight tunnel mid-range.
Cons: The course does not loop back to the parking area after nine holes.

The course could benefit greatly from having a second set of tees on every hole.

There are several holes that play across the park road. (7, 8, 17) At times this can result in lengthy waits to throw. Eventually some impatient golfers will hit cars. This course could have been designed such that the road never was thrown over.

Hole ten is a wide-open, uphill 400 footer that plays to about 450-ish. I disagree with holes that separate scores only by pure distance.

As mentioned earlier, hole two to the long basket is a quality par four. It is the only hole on the course with two baskets. This is potentially confusing and unneeded. I'd rather see that short basket removed and utilized as a warm-up basket.

At present, the course does not have signage, trash cans, benches, etc. I did not deduct points for this as is new and I assume that it will soon be completed.
Other Thoughts: Eastway is a great part of the awesome Charlotte area disc golf scene. At present, North Carolina doesn't have any courses on the DGCR top ten list, but overall I don't see any city that stacks up with Charlotte in terms of the number and quality of disc golf options within a short drive.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 And now for something completely different...

1    3/31/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Eastway seems a bit of an anomaly in comparison to the other local courses I played. While still having plenty of wooded areas, much of the course is more open, with slight to moderate elevation coming into play during the front nine. Most of the back nine is flatter. Several holes in the middle use park roads as OB. The risk of having an open area drive go wayward OB is the main difficulty for these holes. Those sick of hacking their way through tightly wooded fairways will enjoy the openness Eastway provides, while still having a couple of great wooded holes to work with.
- Well-designed greens make every putt an adventure. Seemed like every pin was placed on slanted land. Elevated greens in places encourage safe approaches vs. running for the pin.
- Concrete pro and am tees. Signage sufficient throughout. Bridges and stairs as needed.
Cons: - Eastway Park has a few spots where tires and other trash appear. Detracts from the beauty of the course, which isn't too great to begin with, especially if you factor in other things such as the road OB's and the nearby train tracks.
- The holes that implement the road as OB are a little "one-dimensional" for someone from the Midwest, but are probably a nice change of pace for those used to the local Charlotte courses.
- Apparently not in the best area of town.
Other Thoughts: - Eastway was a pleasant change of pace from the wooded "hit your line or you're screwed" courses in the Charlotte area. Definitely not a super challenging course, but not a walk in the park, either. I'm sure a lot of people used to hitting tight lines through the woods have a bit of an issue through the open holes on windy days: the road OB is deceptively easy to reach.
- I got to see BrotherDave's drive on #2 spit out of the chains, right after he declared, "I almost aced this hole earlier today." Very cool.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.