Charlotte, NC 
Eastway Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 280ft.   4 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Short Tee Sign



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sweetway

2-4    12/23/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice park in Charlotte with one heck of a course. It's course to Sugaw and Kilborne (which I'm playing tomorrow). It's scenic and the "open" course in Queen city.
-Nice grippy teepads. Maybe 9 feet long so you can have a natural run up.
-Great use of elevation like many previous reviewers have said. Particularly #2, maybe a 30 foot drop and #3 gains 25 feet but those are not the only holes with great elevation.
-Again, the course is open, today I had a few 300+ drives, one around 330' on #12. Maybe a few others. The wooded holes are #4, #5, #6, #17 and #18.
-Course has many standout holes, like #2, #3, #5, #12, #17 and #18. Two has a large drop in elevation, the fairway isn't cut all the way but it's not too bad if you give it a small hyzer, it only plays 201', if you can't get there then this hole isn't really for you. #3 is a short straight uphill ace run that requires a small hyzer, #5 is a tough downhill wooded par 3 that has quite a bit of OB, so you should have a 215' foot drive to avoid it, basket's on a platform. #12 is a very long open bomb slightly downhill, #17 is a sidearmer's ace run with a steep dropoff to the right, #18 is a well polished finishing hole with the basket behind a large "V" tree. Those are the extra good holes but almost every hole is fun.
-Two teepads on #3, #9, #13, #14, which is a killer, #17 and #18 which is also a monster. Long basket on #2 which is a slight dogleg right that goes into the woods.
-Practice basket by #1 by the parking lot, the baskets catch fine despite being a bit vandalized and beaten up a little.
-Nice variety of dropoffs like #8 and #17 and #5 is on a small platform, elevation changes, OB (Quite a lot), doglegs (#2 long, #6, #13 long, #14 long) open and woods.
-It's not as sketchy is it is considered, Sugaw and Kilborne are but when I play here, there isn't any trouble, homeless people don't hang around here and neither do rebels.
-Benches are on every or almost every hole.
-Plenty of restaurants that are pretty close like Wendy's, Bojangles and a few others.
Cons: -It's rough, when I played today, there was quite a bit of vegetation, particularly on #12, my shot was an anhyzer and if that happens to you, you better hope your drive goes a good distance, I went past it, which was one of my longest drives, yet again, my approach shot was blocked so I had to have a turnover shot which gave me a bogey.
-Course isn't AS sketchy but the baskets are beat up and vandalized a bit. Don't let it bug you too much because they catch great for baskets in just average shape.
-Yes, lack of anemities like trashcans. I don't know if the bathrooms are very clean either. All the litter around the course shows that there are not enough trashcans.
-Nope, not very beginner friendly, there is a large amount of OB on the course, and there are no mandos. Whatever is marked by orange flags, it's OB. #16 is a fun open, pretty long hole, the whole ravine is OB which some people will find inconsiderate, That's not it, this course easily has the most OB in Charlotte. I was okay with some of it and some I really felt like ignoring. If you think #9 at Sugaw creek's OB is overdone, wait until you see all of this. Forget it if you are a beginner, enjoy the game and play it when you can throw maybe 250'.
-Some holes, you have a chance in hitting a car and I don't like that #11 is very close to #10's fairway, I like the holes but it's a bit unsafe when there is a tournament and #18's front teepad is way too small.
-I don't like #6 a lot to be honest, it's a par 3 that's 249' that plays 286'. It's short but it's an uphill shot out of the woods with a dropoff to the left and to the right, you have a chance in losing a disc. Not a fan of #15 either as it has a very high change in losing a disc. It's just me though, some people find them fun.
Other Thoughts: Yes, the course has cons and some should be fixed but I never said don't play here. Eastway is great and it's the first course in Charlotte I played. On 11/11/11. I got maybe +16 over and today, I got a score that isn't too satisfying (+7) but I have fun when I play here. I'm going to disagree with people saying it's beginner friendly despite all of the OB and some of the distances but if you are at least an intermediate in the Charlotte area and have a chance to play it, then do it. It consists of very fun holes and it's a nice family park with a playground, GIANT field for football and soccer and mainly a fun course. The course flows well and besides cars running by, the course is safe because it doesn't go too close to the parking lot. Some courses will not be as safe for other locals there, the course doesn't seem to be crammed in at all. If you live in Charlotte, and read some reviews and find them positive enough, there's no reason not to play here, it's a very cool design. I saw last year because of the vegetation growing is a major issue sometimes, the course won't be playable in 2013 if it can't be enjoyable and if locals won't play it enough. I don't want it to become extinct, I love it. Play this course.
-Signature hole, actually there is more than one. #2 because it's a sick, straight downhill shot. #5 is probably the funnest wooded shot in Charlotte. Lots of OB but gimme a break, it's a fun risky shot over the OB. #12 is a grip it and rip it slight downhill bomb and #16 is a bit similar to #5 but it's open and longer. #18 from the long is an awesome +25 foot gain so it plays 669 feet. This is GOOD, GOOD GOLF.
If you don't find this review helpful, tell me why it isn't, send me a message and ask me about things you want to know more about, I'd be glad to tell you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Its good golf

5+    8/9/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: Steelo
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots, great use of elevation, and a course that is rather open and is a good change of pace and complement to most of Charlotte's wooded courses.

This park doesnt have a whole lot of natural elevation but the park was at one time a horse racing track that built up the track and left some pretty cool drop offs. You can look at arial photos and still see where the track went (it starts at hole one and turns left towards 3's basket and around sixes fairway back to the road, and hooking up to 17s fairway and back around to hole one.)

For instance I think hole two and 16 are awesome. You have to know how to throw an accurate down hill shot that flys with grade of the land. However, if you are not used to throwing backhand hyzers or straight shots down hill, you will likely fade out OB or in some rough missing the landing area.

Holes 3, 4, 5, 8, 17, 18 (and a couple more) also use elevation along with OB very well to make a course that seems open and straight forward alot more difficult. Even though their are some significant elevation changes around these baskets; their is always a flat area on one side of the basket to aim at. While making your approach you have to decided where you want to land on the green to be in a good positon to putt. Just like in ball golf.

I like the openess and length of the back nine. It allows the player to pick differnt lines to get to the basket and not worry about clipping a branch/limb if you throw a shot that may be a few inches off line.

When manicured, this course reminds me a of a par three ball golf course. The grade of the land is really beautiful and blooming flowers make the course stunning.
Cons: More trash cans needed. Alot of maintenance required to keep the course looking good, especially if referring to the long course. Some of the holes on the long course have long transistions (holes 13, and 14) But in my opinion are worth the walk if the walk way is trimmed.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are close to train tracks and the road to enter the park. I think the roads are a nice use of OB, traffic is not really and issue. You may just have to wait a couple of seconds for a car to go by before throwing.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One for the big arms.

1    6/2/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Eastway is all about open; it gives you some wooded holes to balance it out but make no mistake, this course is the alternative to the wooded technical juggernaut that is Charlotte disc golf.

A huge plus for this course is that it can suit a wide range of player levels. Beginners will have fun because they're are very little trees in their way. More skilled players with distance have a chance to get out and let some shots rip.

The open holes are generally designed pretty well by adding some risk and making you think twice before just letting one go. There's OB and some thick woods lining fairways; as well as some well designed basket locations near OB and on the crests of hills.

There's not a ton of elevation out there but where there is it's used very well. Some of the baskets are on knolls to make you think about where you want to place your drive. Overall I'd say this is a placement type course and you won't find yourself worrying about hitting a gap like many other courses in the area.

The wooded holes out there provide a nice balance even though they aren't overly wooded themselves. You will have to shape a few shots to land in good position for a look at birdie.

7 holes have longs which is either a long basket or long tee.

The course flows well and it was pretty easy to find your way to the next tee.

Equipment - Teepads are concrete and appropriately sized in most cases. The baskets are in good shape.

Atmosphere - I played the course while it was getting ready for Worlds so it was very well manicured with lush grass. It's a nice looking park and when you get away from the road there are some very nice looking holes. There's some awesome looking trees out there. It has the city park/rolling hills feel to it.

The design is done well to keep you away from the other park activities.
Cons: Layout - Having so many holes run up and down the park road is a drawback. There wasn't much traffic when I was there but I could see it being a pain.

The wooded holes give balance but I wish a few more of the shorter holes were a bit more technical.

Part of the course feels a little repetitive and there's a lot of straight throughout the course.

14 long is imo ridiculous. To play down a tight gap for 300' with an island of OB there which is nothing more than a dead end road is an eyesore and bad design, the shorts on that hole work just fine.

Equipment - The pads on the longer holes need to be wider or more flush with the ground. Nothing is more frustrating to me than having to worry about stepping on to a teepad a few inches off the ground when I'm trying to bomb something and land close.

There's no signs or traschans.

Atmosphere - I prefer a feeling of solitude when playing dg and here you don't get it. A good many of the long open holes aren't great looking holes because they run next to the road. The immediate rough off of fairways is super thick.
Other Thoughts: I'd give this course a 3.25 if it was an option. If it didn't have the road running through the middle and gave you a bit more solitude it would definitely be a 3.5. The open bomber fun factor is why I rounded up instead of down. I enjoyed my round so it gets the bump up.

The course probably leans a little to open for most peoples taste but honestly I loved it. I've got a big arm and the chance to get out of woods for a round was a little piece of heaven.

Favorite Holes -

2 long - great downhill shot from the open in to the woods with OB running through it which gives great risk/reward.

3 long - really fun uphill shot in to a protected green that sits on a steep incline. if you've got the arm you can deuce it.

5 - best looking wooded hole on the course with a creek running through it and to the left of a rollaway green.

13 short - my favorite bomber hole, it has more eye appeal than the ones by the road.

18 short - beautiful tunnel shot with a Y tree right in the middle down the fairway; and the basket elevated so you can see it through the Y.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Hell an open course........well mostly.

5+    6/1/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 211  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course can be one of the most beautifu courses in charlotte when it is groomed.

It is mostly open which is a nice change of pace

Really nice pads and teesigns.

There are several fast greens and OB that can cause headaches which balances out the openess of the course.

I like the few wooded holes that will test the accuracy of the player and have a "Survive to score" feel to them.
Cons: It can get a little rough at times during the summer. and become a disc eater.

There are no trashcans and the course can tend to get messy at times.

Directional signage could use a little help. The road can be busy at times and could be seen as a negitive to many however I find the OB factor to be worth it.

Other Thoughts: This course, when groomed is absolutly stunning and has some of my favorite holes in charlotte( 2 long, 17, and 18). It gives you a chance to air it out but with the risk of OB on almost every shot.

I definatly recomend this course to anyone visiting for a change of pace and the fact that its located withing a 5 min drive of 4 other courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid & Open

5+    5/15/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course located in a multi-use community level park on Charlotte's east side, and plays out over largely cleared piedmont landform with utilities/water catchment earthworks. The park's main feature is a long entrance road, which parallels railroad tracks, and 7 of the courses' holes play out along this road. Due to the 'cleared' nature of this park, not only does this yield a different 'feel' from other area courses but, without a doubt, the time, expense and difficulty of construction was a relative 'breeze'.

The course is predominately sequestered from other park activities and the park's overall scale is large, about 90 acres, which yields substantial opportunities for future course developments.

Amenities and equipment are above average, overall, but the creek fords don't inspire the greatest confidence. Tee pads are inconsistent regarding their size. 15 of the targets are mounted at the standard height. Signage was non-existent at the time of writing, but routing is orderly; the only way-finding issues are minor and exist mainly in quickly finding long tee locations. Course does not have returning 9s, but does offer a nice 10-hole returning loop (1-8, 17&18).

Course should experience a high volume of play, as not only is it extremely 'play-able' but also players here experience some relief from the harsh technical demands of other area courses. Substantial play-affecting wind is a consistent factor here. Few real drainage problems extant 'in the short grass' even after above average rain events. Parking overflows into #7's fairway on busy park days and this park is busy.

Overall the course decidedly favors stable clock spin shot shapes from the tees, however this is balanced by the trouble (read: thick rough & ob areas) for poor fade control of same. Frequently even on straight holes, the tee is set to the side of the fairway which gives a stable clock spin shot shape 'more room' for play. Stable counter spin tee throws strongly favored on 'road holes' regarding ob (ob is on the left); 'road holes' equal roughly 1/3 of the course.

Course will reward conservative play with a strong emphasis on fade control. As is generally the case with courses in this area, there are high rewards for flat straight shots of up to 300' (re: iconic #4). Course uses terrain changes very effectively, blunting the relative uniformity of hole distances. In fact, only a single hole (on the short course) is flat (<2% slope) from tee through green. Eastway also offers 3 very enjoyable downhill tee shots in 'free' air (read: ace runs). Elevation changes are perhaps the single factor most important in creating a 'fun' course, with a returning challenge. Extensive roller play possible when turf is shorn (a roller on these days may be the best scoring option from the tee, which is an unusual feature for courses in this area).

Course is 'fair' in the following aspects: overall scoring chances, few blind holes/landing zones, and very open greens, however long throwers could overwhelm the back nine or the entire course for that matter. Some rough is extremely penal, not always in keeping with the size of the throwing error. Of note are the course's intentionally cleared bailout areas, all of which favor a fading clock spin shot.

Course displays good creativity in green locations and in the main, greens are exceptionally open. Half the greens are flat (< 2% slope) and the other half are either moderately sloped or feature lag-inducing drop-offs. As for spin receptivity, 10 are neutral and another 5 are more 'clock receptive'.

3 greens merit special mention. #5 is a tiny knob, surrounded by ob on 3 sides, which repels both spins, especially at speed. #8 is a clock receptive knob (from the tee), with steep drop-offs on 3 sides, and #17 is specially constructed to dramatically enhance the sheer drop-off along its right side. Reviewer appreciates this trend toward constructed features in disc golf, as not only do they improve the play experience, but also help mitigate safety and erosion issues (more foot traffic = need for more maintenance & more concern for safety).

The differences between the long and short courses consist in the lengthening of 6 holes. Four holes are directly extended and the other two become doglegs, one left and one right. The only potential 'design issue' would be the large ob area in the middle of long #14's fairway. This constitutes a blind carry of roughly 400', which some might consider 'unfair', but since only those wishing a greater challenge would play it, this issue is minor. Once one knows it is there, play decisions follow accordingly, as there is the opportunity to 'play it safe'. #18 long is a terrifically imposing uphill look from the tee.

Eastway is one of this area's most enjoyable courses because it is so open. Not only does it allow experimentation with the different dynamics of disc models in 'free air', but also there is plenty of wiggle room here to experiment with different shot shapes, especially created from the disc's angle, which is a rare offering in Charlotte, where the omnipresent design ethos can be quite suffocating. Conversely, if one's score is high at Eastway, one cannot blame it on the trees.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Charlotte's Red-headed Stepchild?

1    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Toro71
Played: 57  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are too many luke-warm (at best) reviews for this course, for being 'too open' or 'for beginners.'

--Holes 7-12 (the "Road Holes.")
Safety issue aside (smaller than you'd think, traffic fairly light,) these holes are more challenging and offer more variety than they seem to at first glance because of the wind. I've played here at least 10 times, and maybe one day the wind was under 10 mph. If you play on/over the road OB, the swirling, unpredictable wind makes these holes deceptively treacherous. In fact, even the more wooded holes are susceptible to the constant breezes out here, and it's a great course for working on your wind awareness/adjustments.

Holes 2-3 long. Love these holes. (Anyone notice how, if you botch your tee shot from 3 long, you get to try it again later, as 18 long features a VERY similar tee shot.) Elevation and basket location play roles here. Welcome to Charlotte.

In fact, wind, elevation change, OB, and basket locations make this not just beginner friendly in that we can see the full flight of errant tosses and learn from them. This course is sneaky-challenging for intermediates as well. Big numbers abound if you can't make adjustments for wind.

--big soccer fields for warm-up/pracitce/scuffing up new plastic, as long as there's not soccer going on.

--water/potties right by #1.

--Nothing like staring down the barrel of #5, probably the signature hole, downhill through a medium gap, with the OB creek snaking all around the elevated basket...while a freight train's roaring by about 100 feet past the basket.
Cons: --This park takes more effort than most to keep clean/maintained. Sometimes there's broken glass around pads, for example, or unmowed areas that need it. I know for a fact neglect isn't the issue, but Eastway is not always at its best.

--It's true that some of the tee pads are on the short side. I ususally have to make an adjustment on my runup for a lot of the longer shots, which can be annoying.

.
Other Thoughts: Somebody commented about the local club dropping the ball for "not posting updated course maps" on this site. For those of you from out of town reviewing Charlotte courses, some food for thought:

Charlotte CDG has been busting **s for several years trying to get some 15 courses, 5 new as of the last 18 months, ready for the worlds this summer. I've been on one work party, pouring pads at RL Smith about a month ago, and I'm still recovering. Some of these guys are out there every weekend working not throwing, to make these some of the best courses in the region/country/world. Keep in mind most of the more active club members are also PLAYING in the worlds and the other lead-in tourneys going on, trying to get their games together, while also going out and spraying poison ivy and dragging tree trunks off fairways. Give'm a break.

That is all.

PS. Played yesterday (Christmas Day) and had a LOL moment with #3's "throwback" basket...Just a pole and cage. Made me think of Ichibod Crane and the Headless Horseman!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of these things is not like the others

1    2/16/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) #'d Innova Discatchers are an attractive basket.

2) #2 is a cool hole . . . but I wasn't sure about the basket back in the woods at first then I realized it was supposed to be a permanent long basket location???? That makes the hole even better if that is the case because it is a really cool shot. I typically don't like it when two baskets are permanently left in the ground but oh well it was a cool hole either way. You have to avoid the retention pond area (although it was dry when I played) and either park on the crest of a hill or keep your disc turned over and go all the way down the hill to the right for the long basket.

3) #4 is has some sort of reference to the railroad which sits above the basket for #5. I actually hear a train whistle and one came running past just after I finished #5 otherwise I wouldn't have known why there was a reference to the railroad on the tee-sign (the only one I actually remember seeing). An appropriate named hole just helps create the ambiance. This hole also had one awesome feature . . . the dropoff past the basket. I didn't realize just how extreme that was and it is risky to go for the ace and even a parkjob unless you plan to leave it just short of the basket. There is serious risk/reward and it places a premium on the placement here.

4) There are a few garbage cans around the course to help keep it clean.

5) This is probably the most beginner friendly course in Charlotte because it is mostly open. Sure there are some trouble spots that will punish the beginners but the more open holes give the beginners a chance to air things out a little bit and let the discs recover on their own, whereas in a wooded course will just knock down those errant throws.

6) #18 although not the coolest hole in the world had a really unique idea . . .the basket is framed by a V shaped tree which is in front of the basket. They had to elevate the basket to make it visible from the tee but I think it is cool that they basically framed the basket with a tree.

7) Two of the more risky and dangerous basket locations I have encountered (not including Renny Gold). Hole #5 is perched on a mound supported by timbers with a creek just 8' from the basket on one side. You can so easily end in the creek on the drive or your putt. Play smart on this hole or lose! Hole #17 is another basket that screams layup underneath for par. It is perched on top of a berm made of boulders and a tiny area built out of timbers.

8) I can tell I would probably enjoy the Gold tees much more than the short tees as a whole. The challenge will be more extreme and I always enjoy trying to execute more difficult shots.

9) The turfed areas that the course
plays through seem to be maintained well . . . they are mowed and kept in good condition.
Cons: 1) No signs yet except in a few places and the posts I assume they used like the other new courses that at least mark the tee and the distance are already missing. I sure hope they do something before Worlds.

2) While concrete is always better than natural . . .these tees are a little small especially considering you can really put everything into your drives here.

3) Very sketchy infrastructure here between the bridges and stairways. I always am a proponent of doing things right and I sure hope they improve these things before Worlds (one of the sports biggest venues).

4) Overall this course is too open for my liking, there are some good holes and some tighter holes but the open holes just are not fun for me. I know it is good balance but it is less enjoyable.

5) The road is in play on multiple holes where you play along the road as well as across actually. I just don't enjoy holes with this type of danger to "create" challenge. I would much prefer natural challenge with more trees and whatnot. This is also a negative because the road and the vehicles on it might be in danger.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most open course in Charlotte (at least in terms of the Worlds courses). It is a decent course but it lacks the "polish" and fun factor I have found on so many other courses in the area . . . mostly because there are some dud holes. There are still some good holes and unique features on this course but those seem to be offset by the boring holes that I did not enjoy from a challenge or design feature angle. I do not want to sound like I am bashing this course completely but it is one of my least favorites of the Worlds courses and does not quite "live up" to the other courses in the metro area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Few Thoughts

1    2/18/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: DavidNC
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: As most Charlotte, NC courses, they are rated very high. We are very blessed to live in this Disc Golf Mecca
Cons: Due to the lack of input from the local club, I had to play the course on my own. Being color blind, the map furnished was of ZERO use to me. The course, not being in the greatest section of town, had only 4 signs.
Thank Goodness for a player that just happened to be there at the same time.
The local club, Charlotte Disc Golf Club; does not seem to care about updating their course information on this site.
Many Disc Golf Course Players come to this site for course info. It seems to me the local clubs could take a larger role in keeping this information up to date - What do you think?
Other Thoughts: I uploaded a new, more easily readable course map. I hope some others will find it useful. GET WITH IT CDGC!!! Keep your site and/or this site updated for eveyone coming by.
Post Script- 1/11/2013 WOW! I see from the number of negative responses that trashing the local club is frowned upon; however, I stand by my comments. Asking a color blind person to follow the green/yellow/red flags/ribbons/etc is like asking a hearing impaired individual if traffic noise is a community problem. It just doesn't work. I was on this course for over 2 3/4 hours, 1 hour of which was spent trying to locate the next tee/hole.
I apologize for ruffling some feathers-sometimes that is what is needed to bring about change. Remeber I gave the course a 4; the club I gave a much lower grade. I do hope the map I posted was useful.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/31/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: Atreyu
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's unlike other area courses as it has a lot of open holes. It's a beautiful park with a playground and a field (in case you want to practice some drives). There are some holes with a secondary placement or tee pad which can make it more challenging. Beginners will have fun airing it out and more adept players should enjoy some of the challenges that are presented to them in the longer pads. I've noticed additions to stairs on #2 and other minor tweaks are making it into a really outstanding park.
Cons: It's getting busier on really nice days. There isn't a practice pin at the beginning. No permanent signage. Some patrons are irresponsible with their trash.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the parks I prefer to play at. I go there to practice my drives a lot. It's hard for me to score at or under par.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Why I Love This Course

2-4    10/17/2011   12/12/2011
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes; #1,5 go right to left; #2,17,6 go left to right; #3,4 and many others go dead straight. Great (maybe extreme) use of elevation; #2,5,16 go downhill; #3,6,18 go uphill. You have tight wooded holes, #4,5,6; and wide-open holes #7-14. Concrete pads, signs. The long tees/baskets play very differently than the shorts on many holes, which lends some variety.
Wind comes into play on a lot of holes.
Cons: Some holes are just litter-strewn, more than I could pick up. This may be due to lacking a lot of trash cans.
There is something to the repetitiveness of the middle holes. #9-12, the middle (road) holes are definitely lefty-friendly.
I'm a little spooked by throwing near or over a paved park road, for obvious reasons.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I like this course very much. While I enjoy tight, wooded holes, I very much enjoy playing in open spaces as well. Even on the open holes, there are danger close by. The rough is always very rough, and a well-placed throw is better than just a long throw. Even though the open holes seem easy, there's always disc-eating grass or OB close by.
Love the finishing hole, even though it kicks my rear end every single time.
I fell this course deserves a four-disc rating due to its variety and carefully planned layout. Besides, it's just a beautiful park to play on a sunny afternoon.
Playgrounds for the kids and good bathroom facilities.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.