Charlotte, NC 
Eastway Park Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #15 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 283ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Its good golf

5+    8/9/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: Steelo
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots, great use of elevation, and a course that is rather open and is a good change of pace and complement to most of Charlotte's wooded courses.

This park doesnt have a whole lot of natural elevation but the park was at one time a horse racing track that built up the track and left some pretty cool drop offs. You can look at arial photos and still see where the track went (it starts at hole one and turns left towards 3's basket and around sixes fairway back to the road, and hooking up to 17s fairway and back around to hole one.)

For instance I think hole two and 16 are awesome. You have to know how to throw an accurate down hill shot that flys with grade of the land. However, if you are not used to throwing backhand hyzers or straight shots down hill, you will likely fade out OB or in some rough missing the landing area.

Holes 3, 4, 5, 8, 17, 18 (and a couple more) also use elevation along with OB very well to make a course that seems open and straight forward alot more difficult. Even though their are some significant elevation changes around these baskets; their is always a flat area on one side of the basket to aim at. While making your approach you have to decided where you want to land on the green to be in a good positon to putt. Just like in ball golf.

I like the openess and length of the back nine. It allows the player to pick differnt lines to get to the basket and not worry about clipping a branch/limb if you throw a shot that may be a few inches off line.

When manicured, this course reminds me a of a par three ball golf course. The grade of the land is really beautiful and blooming flowers make the course stunning.
Cons: More trash cans needed. Alot of maintenance required to keep the course looking good, especially if referring to the long course. Some of the holes on the long course have long transistions (holes 13, and 14) But in my opinion are worth the walk if the walk way is trimmed.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are close to train tracks and the road to enter the park. I think the roads are a nice use of OB, traffic is not really and issue. You may just have to wait a couple of seconds for a car to go by before throwing.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One for the big arms.

1    6/2/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Eastway is all about open; it gives you some wooded holes to balance it out but make no mistake, this course is the alternative to the wooded technical juggernaut that is Charlotte disc golf.

A huge plus for this course is that it can suit a wide range of player levels. Beginners will have fun because they're are very little trees in their way. More skilled players with distance have a chance to get out and let some shots rip.

The open holes are generally designed pretty well by adding some risk and making you think twice before just letting one go. There's OB and some thick woods lining fairways; as well as some well designed basket locations near OB and on the crests of hills.

There's not a ton of elevation out there but where there is it's used very well. Some of the baskets are on knolls to make you think about where you want to place your drive. Overall I'd say this is a placement type course and you won't find yourself worrying about hitting a gap like many other courses in the area.

The wooded holes out there provide a nice balance even though they aren't overly wooded themselves. You will have to shape a few shots to land in good position for a look at birdie.

7 holes have longs which is either a long basket or long tee.

The course flows well and it was pretty easy to find your way to the next tee.

Equipment - Teepads are concrete and appropriately sized in most cases. The baskets are in good shape.

Atmosphere - I played the course while it was getting ready for Worlds so it was very well manicured with lush grass. It's a nice looking park and when you get away from the road there are some very nice looking holes. There's some awesome looking trees out there. It has the city park/rolling hills feel to it.

The design is done well to keep you away from the other park activities.
Cons: Layout - Having so many holes run up and down the park road is a drawback. There wasn't much traffic when I was there but I could see it being a pain.

The wooded holes give balance but I wish a few more of the shorter holes were a bit more technical.

Part of the course feels a little repetitive and there's a lot of straight throughout the course.

14 long is imo ridiculous. To play down a tight gap for 300' with an island of OB there which is nothing more than a dead end road is an eyesore and bad design, the shorts on that hole work just fine.

Equipment - The pads on the longer holes need to be wider or more flush with the ground. Nothing is more frustrating to me than having to worry about stepping on to a teepad a few inches off the ground when I'm trying to bomb something and land close.

There's no signs or traschans.

Atmosphere - I prefer a feeling of solitude when playing dg and here you don't get it. A good many of the long open holes aren't great looking holes because they run next to the road. The immediate rough off of fairways is super thick.
Other Thoughts: I'd give this course a 3.25 if it was an option. If it didn't have the road running through the middle and gave you a bit more solitude it would definitely be a 3.5. The open bomber fun factor is why I rounded up instead of down. I enjoyed my round so it gets the bump up.

The course probably leans a little to open for most peoples taste but honestly I loved it. I've got a big arm and the chance to get out of woods for a round was a little piece of heaven.

Favorite Holes -

2 long - great downhill shot from the open in to the woods with OB running through it which gives great risk/reward.

3 long - really fun uphill shot in to a protected green that sits on a steep incline. if you've got the arm you can deuce it.

5 - best looking wooded hole on the course with a creek running through it and to the left of a rollaway green.

13 short - my favorite bomber hole, it has more eye appeal than the ones by the road.

18 short - beautiful tunnel shot with a Y tree right in the middle down the fairway; and the basket elevated so you can see it through the Y.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Hell an open course........well mostly.

5+    6/1/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 201  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course can be one of the most beautifu courses in charlotte when it is groomed.

It is mostly open which is a nice change of pace

Really nice pads and teesigns.

There are several fast greens and OB that can cause headaches which balances out the openess of the course.

I like the few wooded holes that will test the accuracy of the player and have a "Survive to score" feel to them.
Cons: It can get a little rough at times during the summer. and become a disc eater.

There are no trashcans and the course can tend to get messy at times.

Directional signage could use a little help. The road can be busy at times and could be seen as a negitive to many however I find the OB factor to be worth it.

Other Thoughts: This course, when groomed is absolutly stunning and has some of my favorite holes in charlotte( 2 long, 17, and 18). It gives you a chance to air it out but with the risk of OB on almost every shot.

I definatly recomend this course to anyone visiting for a change of pace and the fact that its located withing a 5 min drive of 4 other courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid & Open

5+    5/15/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 34.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course located in a multi-use community level park on Charlotte's east side, and plays out over largely cleared piedmont landform with utilities/water catchment earthworks. The park's main feature is a long entrance road, which parallels railroad tracks, and 7 of the courses' holes play out along this road. Due to the 'cleared' nature of this park, not only does this yield a different 'feel' from other area courses but, without a doubt, the time, expense and difficulty of construction was a relative 'breeze'.

The course is predominately sequestered from other park activities and the park's overall scale is large, about 90 acres, which yields substantial opportunities for future course developments.

Amenities and equipment are above average, overall, but the creek fords don't inspire the greatest confidence. Tee pads are inconsistent regarding their size. 15 of the targets are mounted at the standard height. Signage was non-existent at the time of writing, but routing is orderly; the only way-finding issues are minor and exist mainly in quickly finding long tee locations. Course does not have returning 9s, but does offer a nice 10-hole returning loop (1-8, 17&18).

Course should experience a high volume of play, as not only is it extremely 'play-able' but also players here experience some relief from the harsh technical demands of other area courses. Substantial play-affecting wind is a consistent factor here. Few real drainage problems extant 'in the short grass' even after above average rain events. Parking overflows into #7's fairway on busy park days and this park is busy.

Overall the course decidedly favors stable clock spin shot shapes from the tees, however this is balanced by the trouble (read: thick rough & ob areas) for poor fade control of same. Frequently even on straight holes, the tee is set to the side of the fairway which gives a stable clock spin shot shape 'more room' for play. Stable counter spin tee throws strongly favored on 'road holes' regarding ob (ob is on the left); 'road holes' equal roughly 1/3 of the course.

Course will reward conservative play with a strong emphasis on fade control. As is generally the case with courses in this area, there are high rewards for flat straight shots of up to 300' (re: iconic #4). Course uses terrain changes very effectively, blunting the relative uniformity of hole distances. In fact, only a single hole (on the short course) is flat (<2% slope) from tee through green. Eastway also offers 3 very enjoyable downhill tee shots in 'free' air (read: ace runs). Elevation changes are perhaps the single factor most important in creating a 'fun' course, with a returning challenge. Extensive roller play possible when turf is shorn (a roller on these days may be the best scoring option from the tee, which is an unusual feature for courses in this area).

Course is 'fair' in the following aspects: overall scoring chances, few blind holes/landing zones, and very open greens, however long throwers could overwhelm the back nine or the entire course for that matter. Some rough is extremely penal, not always in keeping with the size of the throwing error. Of note are the course's intentionally cleared bailout areas, all of which favor a fading clock spin shot.

Course displays good creativity in green locations and in the main, greens are exceptionally open. Half the greens are flat (< 2% slope) and the other half are either moderately sloped or feature lag-inducing drop-offs. As for spin receptivity, 10 are neutral and another 5 are more 'clock receptive'.

3 greens merit special mention. #5 is a tiny knob, surrounded by ob on 3 sides, which repels both spins, especially at speed. #8 is a clock receptive knob (from the tee), with steep drop-offs on 3 sides, and #17 is specially constructed to dramatically enhance the sheer drop-off along its right side. Reviewer appreciates this trend toward constructed features in disc golf, as not only do they improve the play experience, but also help mitigate safety and erosion issues (more foot traffic = need for more maintenance & more concern for safety).

The differences between the long and short courses consist in the lengthening of 6 holes. Four holes are directly extended and the other two become doglegs, one left and one right. The only potential 'design issue' would be the large ob area in the middle of long #14's fairway. This constitutes a blind carry of roughly 400', which some might consider 'unfair', but since only those wishing a greater challenge would play it, this issue is minor. Once one knows it is there, play decisions follow accordingly, as there is the opportunity to 'play it safe'. #18 long is a terrifically imposing uphill look from the tee.

Eastway is one of this area's most enjoyable courses because it is so open. Not only does it allow experimentation with the different dynamics of disc models in 'free air', but also there is plenty of wiggle room here to experiment with different shot shapes, especially created from the disc's angle, which is a rare offering in Charlotte, where the omnipresent design ethos can be quite suffocating. Conversely, if one's score is high at Eastway, one cannot blame it on the trees.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Charlotte's Red-headed Stepchild?

1    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Toro71
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are too many luke-warm (at best) reviews for this course, for being 'too open' or 'for beginners.'

--Holes 7-12 (the "Road Holes.")
Safety issue aside (smaller than you'd think, traffic fairly light,) these holes are more challenging and offer more variety than they seem to at first glance because of the wind. I've played here at least 10 times, and maybe one day the wind was under 10 mph. If you play on/over the road OB, the swirling, unpredictable wind makes these holes deceptively treacherous. In fact, even the more wooded holes are susceptible to the constant breezes out here, and it's a great course for working on your wind awareness/adjustments.

Holes 2-3 long. Love these holes. (Anyone notice how, if you botch your tee shot from 3 long, you get to try it again later, as 18 long features a VERY similar tee shot.) Elevation and basket location play roles here. Welcome to Charlotte.

In fact, wind, elevation change, OB, and basket locations make this not just beginner friendly in that we can see the full flight of errant tosses and learn from them. This course is sneaky-challenging for intermediates as well. Big numbers abound if you can't make adjustments for wind.

--big soccer fields for warm-up/pracitce/scuffing up new plastic, as long as there's not soccer going on.

--water/potties right by #1.

--Nothing like staring down the barrel of #5, probably the signature hole, downhill through a medium gap, with the OB creek snaking all around the elevated basket...while a freight train's roaring by about 100 feet past the basket.
Cons: --This park takes more effort than most to keep clean/maintained. Sometimes there's broken glass around pads, for example, or unmowed areas that need it. I know for a fact neglect isn't the issue, but Eastway is not always at its best.

--It's true that some of the tee pads are on the short side. I ususally have to make an adjustment on my runup for a lot of the longer shots, which can be annoying.

.
Other Thoughts: Somebody commented about the local club dropping the ball for "not posting updated course maps" on this site. For those of you from out of town reviewing Charlotte courses, some food for thought:

Charlotte CDG has been busting **s for several years trying to get some 15 courses, 5 new as of the last 18 months, ready for the worlds this summer. I've been on one work party, pouring pads at RL Smith about a month ago, and I'm still recovering. Some of these guys are out there every weekend working not throwing, to make these some of the best courses in the region/country/world. Keep in mind most of the more active club members are also PLAYING in the worlds and the other lead-in tourneys going on, trying to get their games together, while also going out and spraying poison ivy and dragging tree trunks off fairways. Give'm a break.

That is all.

PS. Played yesterday (Christmas Day) and had a LOL moment with #3's "throwback" basket...Just a pole and cage. Made me think of Ichibod Crane and the Headless Horseman!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of these things is not like the others

1    2/16/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) #'d Innova Discatchers are an attractive basket.

2) #2 is a cool hole . . . but I wasn't sure about the basket back in the woods at first then I realized it was supposed to be a permanent long basket location???? That makes the hole even better if that is the case because it is a really cool shot. I typically don't like it when two baskets are permanently left in the ground but oh well it was a cool hole either way. You have to avoid the retention pond area (although it was dry when I played) and either park on the crest of a hill or keep your disc turned over and go all the way down the hill to the right for the long basket.

3) #4 is has some sort of reference to the railroad which sits above the basket for #5. I actually hear a train whistle and one came running past just after I finished #5 otherwise I wouldn't have known why there was a reference to the railroad on the tee-sign (the only one I actually remember seeing). An appropriate named hole just helps create the ambiance. This hole also had one awesome feature . . . the dropoff past the basket. I didn't realize just how extreme that was and it is risky to go for the ace and even a parkjob unless you plan to leave it just short of the basket. There is serious risk/reward and it places a premium on the placement here.

4) There are a few garbage cans around the course to help keep it clean.

5) This is probably the most beginner friendly course in Charlotte because it is mostly open. Sure there are some trouble spots that will punish the beginners but the more open holes give the beginners a chance to air things out a little bit and let the discs recover on their own, whereas in a wooded course will just knock down those errant throws.

6) #18 although not the coolest hole in the world had a really unique idea . . .the basket is framed by a V shaped tree which is in front of the basket. They had to elevate the basket to make it visible from the tee but I think it is cool that they basically framed the basket with a tree.

7) Two of the more risky and dangerous basket locations I have encountered (not including Renny Gold). Hole #5 is perched on a mound supported by timbers with a creek just 8' from the basket on one side. You can so easily end in the creek on the drive or your putt. Play smart on this hole or lose! Hole #17 is another basket that screams layup underneath for par. It is perched on top of a berm made of boulders and a tiny area built out of timbers.

8) I can tell I would probably enjoy the Gold tees much more than the short tees as a whole. The challenge will be more extreme and I always enjoy trying to execute more difficult shots.

9) The turfed areas that the course
plays through seem to be maintained well . . . they are mowed and kept in good condition.
Cons: 1) No signs yet except in a few places and the posts I assume they used like the other new courses that at least mark the tee and the distance are already missing. I sure hope they do something before Worlds.

2) While concrete is always better than natural . . .these tees are a little small especially considering you can really put everything into your drives here.

3) Very sketchy infrastructure here between the bridges and stairways. I always am a proponent of doing things right and I sure hope they improve these things before Worlds (one of the sports biggest venues).

4) Overall this course is too open for my liking, there are some good holes and some tighter holes but the open holes just are not fun for me. I know it is good balance but it is less enjoyable.

5) The road is in play on multiple holes where you play along the road as well as across actually. I just don't enjoy holes with this type of danger to "create" challenge. I would much prefer natural challenge with more trees and whatnot. This is also a negative because the road and the vehicles on it might be in danger.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most open course in Charlotte (at least in terms of the Worlds courses). It is a decent course but it lacks the "polish" and fun factor I have found on so many other courses in the area . . . mostly because there are some dud holes. There are still some good holes and unique features on this course but those seem to be offset by the boring holes that I did not enjoy from a challenge or design feature angle. I do not want to sound like I am bashing this course completely but it is one of my least favorites of the Worlds courses and does not quite "live up" to the other courses in the metro area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Few Thoughts

1    2/18/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: DavidNC
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: As most Charlotte, NC courses, they are rated very high. We are very blessed to live in this Disc Golf Mecca
Cons: Due to the lack of input from the local club, I had to play the course on my own. Being color blind, the map furnished was of ZERO use to me. The course, not being in the greatest section of town, had only 4 signs.
Thank Goodness for a player that just happened to be there at the same time.
The local club, Charlotte Disc Golf Club; does not seem to care about updating their course information on this site.
Many Disc Golf Course Players come to this site for course info. It seems to me the local clubs could take a larger role in keeping this information up to date - What do you think?
Other Thoughts: I uploaded a new, more easily readable course map. I hope some others will find it useful. GET WITH IT CDGC!!! Keep your site and/or this site updated for eveyone coming by.
Post Script- 1/11/2013 WOW! I see from the number of negative responses that trashing the local club is frowned upon; however, I stand by my comments. Asking a color blind person to follow the green/yellow/red flags/ribbons/etc is like asking a hearing impaired individual if traffic noise is a community problem. It just doesn't work. I was on this course for over 2 3/4 hours, 1 hour of which was spent trying to locate the next tee/hole.
I apologize for ruffling some feathers-sometimes that is what is needed to bring about change. Remeber I gave the course a 4; the club I gave a much lower grade. I do hope the map I posted was useful.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/31/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: Atreyu
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's unlike other area courses as it has a lot of open holes. It's a beautiful park with a playground and a field (in case you want to practice some drives). There are some holes with a secondary placement or tee pad which can make it more challenging. Beginners will have fun airing it out and more adept players should enjoy some of the challenges that are presented to them in the longer pads. I've noticed additions to stairs on #2 and other minor tweaks are making it into a really outstanding park.
Cons: It's getting busier on really nice days. There isn't a practice pin at the beginning. No permanent signage. Some patrons are irresponsible with their trash.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the parks I prefer to play at. I go there to practice my drives a lot. It's hard for me to score at or under par.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Why I Love This Course

2-4    10/17/2011   12/12/2011
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes; #1,5 go right to left; #2,17,6 go left to right; #3,4 and many others go dead straight. Great (maybe extreme) use of elevation; #2,5,16 go downhill; #3,6,18 go uphill. You have tight wooded holes, #4,5,6; and wide-open holes #7-14. Concrete pads, signs. The long tees/baskets play very differently than the shorts on many holes, which lends some variety.
Wind comes into play on a lot of holes.
Cons: Some holes are just litter-strewn, more than I could pick up. This may be due to lacking a lot of trash cans.
There is something to the repetitiveness of the middle holes. #9-12, the middle (road) holes are definitely lefty-friendly.
I'm a little spooked by throwing near or over a paved park road, for obvious reasons.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I like this course very much. While I enjoy tight, wooded holes, I very much enjoy playing in open spaces as well. Even on the open holes, there are danger close by. The rough is always very rough, and a well-placed throw is better than just a long throw. Even though the open holes seem easy, there's always disc-eating grass or OB close by.
Love the finishing hole, even though it kicks my rear end every single time.
I fell this course deserves a four-disc rating due to its variety and carefully planned layout. Besides, it's just a beautiful park to play on a sunny afternoon.
Playgrounds for the kids and good bathroom facilities.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, an open course in Charlotte

5+    9/1/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eastway isn't your typical Charlotte disc golf course. There's an abundance of open holes here, giving people a real chance to air it out and be aggressive.
- Forget what you've heard about Charlotte course being heavily wooded and tight when you're playing here. This is actually a solid change of pace, with some pretty good layouts.
- Nice hole designs. The long stretch of true open hole (#7 - 14, plus others) all offer a decent variety of layouts with variables of elevation, slight use of trees, rocks and other obstacles. Of all the open holes, I'd say #10 is the only dud amongst the group. It's a 402 foot, pretty flat hole with no challenge at all. Big arms will be able to be in birdie or easy layup range. Regular, 300-foot range throwers will be throwing in the 100-foot range for their second shot, so essentially a ho-hum par 3.
- Yes, there are wooded holes here too, and they offer good challenges as well. For me, #5 is one of the best laid-out DG holes around. It has just about everything you could ask for in a DG hole - elevation change, water, trees that come into play, variety of ways to throw, fairness to both right and left-handed players, and the proverbial risk/reward factor. The tee shot offers a chance to be putting for birdie, hitting a tree and ending up in the fairway (or deep in the woods with a bad bounce), ending up in the creek, or having an easy lay-up. It's far from the most challenging hole here, but it just seems to have that something.
- There are a bunch of other good holes, holes with big fun factors to them. #2 short is the classic downhill, be-agressive hole. #3 short plays right back up the same hill. Both are potential ace runs. #8 plays to a basket on top of a rock hill. #16 is another classic with a great risk/reward factor. To the right of the fairway are trees and thick rough; to the left is more thick rough/tall grass. The rough/tall grass doesn't look too imposing from the tee, so first-timers will need to be careful when playing. The basket for #17 is on the edge of a big drop-off. You come at the basket from below from the long tee, and from above from the short tee, so you get two different looks for the hole.
- Good course for beginners. You also don't need a big arm to play well here with only 2 holes longer than 400 feet (from the short tees), with #12 being the longest at 439 feet. There are plenty of birdie chances here as well, even with nothing being less than 200 feet. And because so many holes are open, you can still score well if accurate tee shots aren't your thing.
- Course has adequate amenities with some benches, trash cans/bags throughout. Holes have decent tee signs. There are restrooms and a water fountain in the parking lot.
- #6 winds up back at the parking lot, so it gives you the option to easily play 24, or start at #7 for a change of pace.
- Location, location, location. In terms of disc golf real estate, this might be one of the most centralized courses around. You're less than 10 minutes from the Kilborne and Sugaw courses; 15 minutes from Reedy & Nevin, 20 minutes from Hornets Nest, Renaissance, Idlewild Park & Robert L. Smith. So yeah, pretty much you'll be able to play anywhere else once your round is over here.
Cons: The biggest, and most obvious issue, for anyone who plays here is the abundance of holes that play along the park road. #7 - 12 run alongside the park road (or over as in the case for #8), with the park road also possibly coming into play for #6, 16 & 17. At this point the park doesn't get much traffic, so that aspect isn't much of an issue. It may be as more gets done to the park in the future. It does, however, cause an issue in the aesthetics, (who wants to see the road), lack of creativity or privacy/isolation, plus whatever damage may be caused if you keep throwing discs in the road. As I said, once the park gets busier/more traffic, this will be a much bigger issue, possibly causing hole to be changed or moved.
- Repetitiveness, or at least the feeling of it. As mentioned in the pros, I think the open holes do a good job of all being somewhat different from each other. Now for some people, essentially those who with big arms (in the 400 foot range), these subtle difference are neutralized by the fact you're going to be able to throw near the pin (on the short holes) with every tee shot. In that case, yes, I can see how the course might get boring, and seem unchallenging.
- #9 is far away from #1. The course isn't split up evenly (9 out, 9 in). With #6 back near the parking lot, the course is pretty much divided up in a 6-hole and 12-hole section. Now, you could get creative and play #1 - 8 & 17 - 18 for a 10-hole stretch, but that's not completely the same as playing the front or back 9.
- There are a couple of parts of the course that need to be cleaned up and/smoothed out. Several holes still have areas of trash/concrete/fences on them. Some of ok, like seeing the concrete from torn-down houses on #14. But the rest has a neglected, littering feel to it. Some more TLC will go a long way.
- There's an inordinately high lost-disc factor for such a relatively open course. A lot of holes have tall grass, thick underbrush on them (be careful on #12, 15 & 16) or woods that come into play. Even on the open holes that run along the park road (#7 - 12) have trees along one side of the fairway (and the road on the other). On #9 & 11, especially, this can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of Eastway for what it offers. It is a great change of pace to have a mostly open course in Charlotte.
- Don't expect to be wowed by Eastway. It's far from the best course in Charlotte, and it's far from the best open course too. It has more good to great holes than it has bad ones. And in the end, that's what you want with any course.
- I really like that this course begs you to be aggressive. There are plenty of birdie chances, and some ace runs, on the course, so there's a real chance to shoot a low score. And just like any well designed course, there's that solid risk/reward factor you're looking for. Even for the regular player, the first five holes are all birdie-able, so you should be going to #6 under par.
- I've already mentioned how much I like #5, but there are several other solid holes as well. #2, from the shorts, is fun to throw several discs, for the ace possibility. #16 & 17 are really good for the risk/reward factor they offer. On #17, you have the challenge of putting with a big drop-off five feet behind the basket.
- Compared to other Charlotte-area open courses, Eastway reminds me of a light version of the front 9 of Hornets Nest. I think it's a little better than Sugaw (even though I ranked them both a 3.0). I think it's on par with Winthrop Lakefront, minus the beauty and the water.
- You should definitely check this course out, and if you don't like it, there are plenty of other courses close by.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.