Charlotte, NC 
Eastway Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #13 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 367ft.   4 / 656ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wow, an open course in Charlotte

5+    9/1/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eastway isn't your typical Charlotte disc golf course. There's an abundance of open holes here, giving people a real chance to air it out and be aggressive.
- Forget what you've heard about Charlotte course being heavily wooded and tight when you're playing here. This is actually a solid change of pace, with some pretty good layouts.
- Nice hole designs. The long stretch of true open hole (#7 - 14, plus others) all offer a decent variety of layouts with variables of elevation, slight use of trees, rocks and other obstacles. Of all the open holes, I'd say #10 is the only dud amongst the group. It's a 402 foot, pretty flat hole with no challenge at all. Big arms will be able to be in birdie or easy layup range. Regular, 300-foot range throwers will be throwing in the 100-foot range for their second shot, so essentially a ho-hum par 3.
- Yes, there are wooded holes here too, and they offer good challenges as well. For me, #5 is one of the best laid-out DG holes around. It has just about everything you could ask for in a DG hole - elevation change, water, trees that come into play, variety of ways to throw, fairness to both right and left-handed players, and the proverbial risk/reward factor. The tee shot offers a chance to be putting for birdie, hitting a tree and ending up in the fairway (or deep in the woods with a bad bounce), ending up in the creek, or having an easy lay-up. It's far from the most challenging hole here, but it just seems to have that something.
- There are a bunch of other good holes, holes with big fun factors to them. #2 short is the classic downhill, be-agressive hole. #3 short plays right back up the same hill. Both are potential ace runs. #8 plays to a basket on top of a rock hill. #16 is another classic with a great risk/reward factor. To the right of the fairway are trees and thick rough; to the left is more thick rough/tall grass. The rough/tall grass doesn't look too imposing from the tee, so first-timers will need to be careful when playing. The basket for #17 is on the edge of a big drop-off. You come at the basket from below from the long tee, and from above from the short tee, so you get two different looks for the hole.
- Good course for beginners. You also don't need a big arm to play well here with only 2 holes longer than 400 feet (from the short tees), with #12 being the longest at 439 feet. There are plenty of birdie chances here as well, even with nothing being less than 200 feet. And because so many holes are open, you can still score well if accurate tee shots aren't your thing.
- Course has adequate amenities with some benches, trash cans/bags throughout. Holes have decent tee signs. There are restrooms and a water fountain in the parking lot.
- #6 winds up back at the parking lot, so it gives you the option to easily play 24, or start at #7 for a change of pace.
- Location, location, location. In terms of disc golf real estate, this might be one of the most centralized courses around. You're less than 10 minutes from the Kilborne and Sugaw courses; 15 minutes from Reedy & Nevin, 20 minutes from Hornets Nest, Renaissance, Idlewild Park & Robert L. Smith. So yeah, pretty much you'll be able to play anywhere else once your round is over here.
Cons: The biggest, and most obvious issue, for anyone who plays here is the abundance of holes that play along the park road. #7 - 12 run alongside the park road (or over as in the case for #8), with the park road also possibly coming into play for #6, 16 & 17. At this point the park doesn't get much traffic, so that aspect isn't much of an issue. It may be as more gets done to the park in the future. It does, however, cause an issue in the aesthetics, (who wants to see the road), lack of creativity or privacy/isolation, plus whatever damage may be caused if you keep throwing discs in the road. As I said, once the park gets busier/more traffic, this will be a much bigger issue, possibly causing hole to be changed or moved.
- Repetitiveness, or at least the feeling of it. As mentioned in the pros, I think the open holes do a good job of all being somewhat different from each other. Now for some people, essentially those who with big arms (in the 400 foot range), these subtle difference are neutralized by the fact you're going to be able to throw near the pin (on the short holes) with every tee shot. In that case, yes, I can see how the course might get boring, and seem unchallenging.
- #9 is far away from #1. The course isn't split up evenly (9 out, 9 in). With #6 back near the parking lot, the course is pretty much divided up in a 6-hole and 12-hole section. Now, you could get creative and play #1 - 8 & 17 - 18 for a 10-hole stretch, but that's not completely the same as playing the front or back 9.
- There are a couple of parts of the course that need to be cleaned up and/smoothed out. Several holes still have areas of trash/concrete/fences on them. Some of ok, like seeing the concrete from torn-down houses on #14. But the rest has a neglected, littering feel to it. Some more TLC will go a long way.
- There's an inordinately high lost-disc factor for such a relatively open course. A lot of holes have tall grass, thick underbrush on them (be careful on #12, 15 & 16) or woods that come into play. Even on the open holes that run along the park road (#7 - 12) have trees along one side of the fairway (and the road on the other). On #9 & 11, especially, this can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of Eastway for what it offers. It is a great change of pace to have a mostly open course in Charlotte.
- Don't expect to be wowed by Eastway. It's far from the best course in Charlotte, and it's far from the best open course too. It has more good to great holes than it has bad ones. And in the end, that's what you want with any course.
- I really like that this course begs you to be aggressive. There are plenty of birdie chances, and some ace runs, on the course, so there's a real chance to shoot a low score. And just like any well designed course, there's that solid risk/reward factor you're looking for. Even for the regular player, the first five holes are all birdie-able, so you should be going to #6 under par.
- I've already mentioned how much I like #5, but there are several other solid holes as well. #2, from the shorts, is fun to throw several discs, for the ace possibility. #16 & 17 are really good for the risk/reward factor they offer. On #17, you have the challenge of putting with a big drop-off five feet behind the basket.
- Compared to other Charlotte-area open courses, Eastway reminds me of a light version of the front 9 of Hornets Nest. I think it's a little better than Sugaw (even though I ranked them both a 3.0). I think it's on par with Winthrop Lakefront, minus the beauty and the water.
- You should definitely check this course out, and if you don't like it, there are plenty of other courses close by.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/29/2011   10/29/2011
Review By: aftanbarr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A variety of shots and approaches are needed. There are shots in the woods and shots in the open. In general, I like the basket placements, from in the middle of an open field to hiding behind trees. Some holes have multiple tee pads (but good luck in finding some of them -- see cons). It is a good mix of wooded and open field.
Cons: This course can be a disc eater! There are several large patches of briars off of the fairway on a couple holes (#2 and #16 come to mind) where disc can be lost forever. The grass should be cut on several of the holes, too.

The course could also use signs pointing to the next tee pad(s). We could not find hole #4 at all and went from 3 to 5.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play (aside from my son's new disc lost to above mentioned briars). It required a lot of different shots and was a good mix of wooded and open field. Give it a try!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course well laid out

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course is very well laid out. Nice technical front 9, and a very VERY long back 9. Since I live so far away, I've only gotten to play this course once, and I really liked the front 9 of this course. I enjoyed the back 9 too, but I got tired at 10 thru 16.
Cons: 10 through 16 are very long holes which makes course for intermediate and above throwers.
Other Thoughts: Also wear good shoes, bring water, and a good attitude.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ghost Town

1    8/16/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: HeavyEd
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Relatively new park, equipment, grounds, & chains. Decent (regularly maintained) restroom building. Challenging wide open shots and excellent use of the available elevations. I love hole 17.
Cons: Disc Eaters are huge, especially on hole 16. Field grasses are too tall! Besure sure to where long pants and check yourself after leaving. Holes 14 and 15 felt like I was playing in some old demolished neighborhood.The roughs and out of bounds are way too overgrown. Way to easy to lose a disc in these areas. A lot of the signage is in terrible dis-repair and I had to hunt for a few tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a tough course and I'm not even all that good. I'm just a recreational player. I did enjoy the closeness of the train (as it was barreling through). I definitely preferred the front 9 over the back nine. I'll play it again hopefully with better luck next time.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eastway is Charlotte-Lite, worth a stop

2-4    7/5/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eastway provides a gentler Charlotte-area compliment to the big-boy courses. It's great for a fun, quicker round. The park is very attractive and the course provides a mix of wooded and open holes.

There are several very good holes. Notably, number two (to the long basket) is a downhill par four that bends about 45 degrees right for the second shot. The tee shot is in the open, but needs to be placed well to set up the second that goes back into the woods. It's not the toughest hole for a top player, but is a beautiful introduction to a disc golf par four for the "all par three's" crowd.

Hole three is a very nice uphill par three. The tee shot out of the canopy must be crushed, with just the right nose angle. There is an OB wetlands area on the left that must be crossed and shorter throwers will consider bailing out to the right. It'd be nice to see the thick schule on the right about halfway up the hole knocked back to provide a defined bail-out area.

Hole five is a very nice short par three that shoots downhill and provides a tempting ace-run, but has an elevated basket just past an OB creek.

Hole sixteen is my favorite on the course. It is an open downhill medium-length par three that narrows just prior to the basket area with woods on the right and an OB wetland area on the left. The basket is perched on a hill with a drop-off to a ditch behind.

Hole eighteen from the long pad is a quality, unique short par four. The tee shot is very much uphill that must be well thrown with just the right nose angle. The second shot is a straight tunnel mid-range.
Cons: The course does not loop back to the parking area after nine holes.

The course could benefit greatly from having a second set of tees on every hole.

There are several holes that play across the park road. (7, 8, 17) At times this can result in lengthy waits to throw. Eventually some impatient golfers will hit cars. This course could have been designed such that the road never was thrown over.

Hole ten is a wide-open, uphill 400 footer that plays to about 450-ish. I disagree with holes that separate scores only by pure distance.

As mentioned earlier, hole two to the long basket is a quality par four. It is the only hole on the course with two baskets. This is potentially confusing and unneeded. I'd rather see that short basket removed and utilized as a warm-up basket.

At present, the course does not have signage, trash cans, benches, etc. I did not deduct points for this as is new and I assume that it will soon be completed.
Other Thoughts: Eastway is a great part of the awesome Charlotte area disc golf scene. At present, North Carolina doesn't have any courses on the DGCR top ten list, but overall I don't see any city that stacks up with Charlotte in terms of the number and quality of disc golf options within a short drive.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Charlotte Opens Up

2-4    6/25/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Eastway is a very open course and really contrast well with many of the other wooded Charlotte Courses.
-The course uses elevation very well and requires a number of different throw angles to score well.
-There are many different lines you can take on every hole so it allows you to really play to your own personal style and not necessarily what the hole forces you to do.
-There are some very interesting greens used that make shot placement very important.
-One of the few courses around that requires you to have a little knowledge about how wind effects your disc.
Cons: -Does not yet have permenenat tee signs so you currently have to judge distances and have to walk down a few fairways to see where the basket is.
-Some of the holes along the road were really just long and open and didn't have too much meat to them.
-Like many NC courses there is some Poison Ivy if you have an errant throw into the woods so be sure to keep an eye out for that especially around holes 1-3 as I saw a good bit there.
Other Thoughts: Hole number two to the long basket has to be one of my favorite holes on the course. It requires two well placed shots for you to try and make a 3. Eastway is definitely worth a play if you are in the Charlotte area. It allows you to throw some long bombs with the occasional technical shot required.

The short course will allow many birdie opportunities while the long layout will really test your ability to place a shot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not a Fan

2-4    5/31/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2013
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Course has a good number of open holes for a "grip and rip" feel. Something kinda unusual for a Charlotte course.
Baskets are in good shape.
Good use of elevation.
Multiple shots required in order to score well.
Multiple concrete tee pads and baskets at most holes.
Cons: Some holes play along a road and cars will park alongside of it and makes #7 unplayable at times.
Some the wooded holes will be very muddy when it rains.
Course could use benches and trash cans.
Course is not in a good part of town.
Poison ivy is around if you get into the woods.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite holes for this course is #5 where you tee off uphill do an elevated island green down the hill. Huge risk/reward hole but ace-able.

Playing in groups is highly recommended.

I'm not a huge fan of this course but since I live in Charlotte, I'm sure I will go back and play again.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    5/7/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. Good elevation changes on front 9 which are mostly in the woods. Good clear paths, hard to get lost. Back half is mostly open, but enough obsticules to still make it a relitive challenge.
Cons: some of the holes are over the road, which is good for a challenge, but also bad for the fact that people will run over your discs, and you may have to wait for a line of cars to pass before you can throw.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places. I fell in love with it the first time I played even with the bad. Just an awesome place to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    4/18/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through unused portions of a multi-use park. There is a mix of tightly wooded holes that tend to be shorter with several longer open holes. A couple of the wooded holes bring a creek and some small but well-used elevation changes. The open holes bring road ob into play, and again use the available small elevation changes pretty well. There is a nice mix of hole shapes on the tighter holes, you'll need to shape some lines on the front half of the course. The back half you'll get to open up and drive, but wind, ob, and lurking rough can still punish an errant shot.

The tees are concrete, both short and long, and are appropriate sizes for the lengths of the holes. The signage was temporary when I played, but had hole lengths and layouts so it was fine. The course is easy to follow, we had no trouble figuring out where to go next. The baskets are pretty new and in good shape.
Cons: The course still feels a little rough, not something I rated down for, but it definitely needs more beating down to break in the fairways a bit. There were still areas with stumps and dead branches, and some long grass on fairways, given the condition of the other area courses I would assume this is a temporary condition.

The back 9 got a little repetitive, with several long holes by the road. I'm not a fan of having roads in play, and several holes in a row play over or along the park entrance, a potential safety issue and not very scenic. Several of the long tees required quite a bit of extra walking to play, the course flows well for the short tees but not for the more challenging layout.
Other Thoughts: This is another fun course in Charlotte, worth a stop if you're in the area. Beginners will find the front 9 tight and punishing, and the back 9 pretty long to have much fun. More experienced players will find some good challenges here. If you can hit your lines in the woods and have a decent arm you'll have the opportunity for lots of birdies, but there's plenty of trouble you can get into too. With a little more traffic and some finishing touches, this will be another on the list of must-plays in this area.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 And now for something completely different...

1    3/31/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Eastway seems a bit of an anomaly in comparison to the other local courses I played. While still having plenty of wooded areas, much of the course is more open, with slight to moderate elevation coming into play during the front nine. Most of the back nine is flatter. Several holes in the middle use park roads as OB. The risk of having an open area drive go wayward OB is the main difficulty for these holes. Those sick of hacking their way through tightly wooded fairways will enjoy the openness Eastway provides, while still having a couple of great wooded holes to work with.
- Well-designed greens make every putt an adventure. Seemed like every pin was placed on slanted land. Elevated greens in places encourage safe approaches vs. running for the pin.
- Concrete pro and am tees. Signage sufficient throughout. Bridges and stairs as needed.
Cons: - Eastway Park has a few spots where tires and other trash appear. Detracts from the beauty of the course, which isn't too great to begin with, especially if you factor in other things such as the road OB's and the nearby train tracks.
- The holes that implement the road as OB are a little "one-dimensional" for someone from the Midwest, but are probably a nice change of pace for those used to the local Charlotte courses.
- Apparently not in the best area of town.
Other Thoughts: - Eastway was a pleasant change of pace from the wooded "hit your line or you're screwed" courses in the Charlotte area. Definitely not a super challenging course, but not a walk in the park, either. I'm sure a lot of people used to hitting tight lines through the woods have a bit of an issue through the open holes on windy days: the road OB is deceptively easy to reach.
- I got to see BrotherDave's drive on #2 spit out of the chains, right after he declared, "I almost aced this hole earlier today." Very cool.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.