Charlotte, NC 
Eastway Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 280ft.   4 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Short Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun Course

1    5/7/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. Good elevation changes on front 9 which are mostly in the woods. Good clear paths, hard to get lost. Back half is mostly open, but enough obsticules to still make it a relitive challenge.
Cons: some of the holes are over the road, which is good for a challenge, but also bad for the fact that people will run over your discs, and you may have to wait for a line of cars to pass before you can throw.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places. I fell in love with it the first time I played even with the bad. Just an awesome place to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    4/18/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through unused portions of a multi-use park. There is a mix of tightly wooded holes that tend to be shorter with several longer open holes. A couple of the wooded holes bring a creek and some small but well-used elevation changes. The open holes bring road ob into play, and again use the available small elevation changes pretty well. There is a nice mix of hole shapes on the tighter holes, you'll need to shape some lines on the front half of the course. The back half you'll get to open up and drive, but wind, ob, and lurking rough can still punish an errant shot.

The tees are concrete, both short and long, and are appropriate sizes for the lengths of the holes. The signage was temporary when I played, but had hole lengths and layouts so it was fine. The course is easy to follow, we had no trouble figuring out where to go next. The baskets are pretty new and in good shape.
Cons: The course still feels a little rough, not something I rated down for, but it definitely needs more beating down to break in the fairways a bit. There were still areas with stumps and dead branches, and some long grass on fairways, given the condition of the other area courses I would assume this is a temporary condition.

The back 9 got a little repetitive, with several long holes by the road. I'm not a fan of having roads in play, and several holes in a row play over or along the park entrance, a potential safety issue and not very scenic. Several of the long tees required quite a bit of extra walking to play, the course flows well for the short tees but not for the more challenging layout.
Other Thoughts: This is another fun course in Charlotte, worth a stop if you're in the area. Beginners will find the front 9 tight and punishing, and the back 9 pretty long to have much fun. More experienced players will find some good challenges here. If you can hit your lines in the woods and have a decent arm you'll have the opportunity for lots of birdies, but there's plenty of trouble you can get into too. With a little more traffic and some finishing touches, this will be another on the list of must-plays in this area.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 And now for something completely different...

1    3/31/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Eastway seems a bit of an anomaly in comparison to the other local courses I played. While still having plenty of wooded areas, much of the course is more open, with slight to moderate elevation coming into play during the front nine. Most of the back nine is flatter. Several holes in the middle use park roads as OB. The risk of having an open area drive go wayward OB is the main difficulty for these holes. Those sick of hacking their way through tightly wooded fairways will enjoy the openness Eastway provides, while still having a couple of great wooded holes to work with.
- Well-designed greens make every putt an adventure. Seemed like every pin was placed on slanted land. Elevated greens in places encourage safe approaches vs. running for the pin.
- Concrete pro and am tees. Signage sufficient throughout. Bridges and stairs as needed.
Cons: - Eastway Park has a few spots where tires and other trash appear. Detracts from the beauty of the course, which isn't too great to begin with, especially if you factor in other things such as the road OB's and the nearby train tracks.
- The holes that implement the road as OB are a little "one-dimensional" for someone from the Midwest, but are probably a nice change of pace for those used to the local Charlotte courses.
- Apparently not in the best area of town.
Other Thoughts: - Eastway was a pleasant change of pace from the wooded "hit your line or you're screwed" courses in the Charlotte area. Definitely not a super challenging course, but not a walk in the park, either. I'm sure a lot of people used to hitting tight lines through the woods have a bit of an issue through the open holes on windy days: the road OB is deceptively easy to reach.
- I got to see BrotherDave's drive on #2 spit out of the chains, right after he declared, "I almost aced this hole earlier today." Very cool.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Eastway = solid good time

5+    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: ssittler
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: >>> A good mix of long and short, left and right, wooded and open.
>>> Course is at a somewhat popular park (albeit in a sketchy area) but on most days you won't have to worry about throwing into/over crowds. The layout makes good use of the available land.
>>> Long and short tees are available on many holes. Concrete pads everywhere.
Cons: >>> Lots of OB. That's not necessarily a "con" but it can be visually intimidating for some players.
>>> It's a relatively new course and needs a beat down over the next couple years.
Other Thoughts: A great addition to the Queen City's collection of disc golf courses!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of Charlotte Pace

1    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 130  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 9.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starts great, gets lackluster in the middle, and then finishes with a couple of solid holes. The use of elevation is splendid, and the course flows very well. The first 6-7 holes vary pretty well in terms of lines and #17 is a quirky but fun line with a "nice" steep green. #18 is tucked behind a cool V-shaped tree which is a nice finishing touch. The first 6-7 are wooded, tunnel type holes more or less, with nice creeks, basins, and ridges to navigate. The meat of this course sandwich is much more open and more like placement golf, where your only real difficulty (besides length if you're playing from the longs) is not going OB thanks to roads, roped off marshy lowlands, and other various pavement.

The park is very clean and the course is therefore clean as well. It's not the most serene and "get back to nature" course but it's fairly pretty overall. The maintenance with mowing, tee signs, and next tee signs were pretty solid. Very easy to navigate. The tees were very well laid out and well placed, job well done. It's also right next to a busy railroad and the passing trains provide interesting ambiance.
Cons: If you don't like open, avoid the OB type holes, the holes from ~7-16 may seem monotonous. The line variety isn't great, but I wouldn't call it bad. They do play along the main park road but this didn't bother me (except when I went OB obviously).

The train is loud and could be construed as annoying.

I'd like to see more in the way of some benches. They seem to be coming along though. It was wet when we played and trails b/w holes and some holes were fairly muddy. I'm more concerned about some b/w hole walks being rutted out via erosion and foot traffic more than anything but I'm reaching.

The creek on #4 or 5 has some trash (old ladder, tires, etc) that would be nice to have picked up. There's several tires half dug into the ground on #17 that are screaming to be skeeter havens in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course. I kind of teeter b/w a 3.5 and a 4 disc rating but in the end I didn't want my overt bias for very wooded courses to unfairly ding it. So consider it a "weak 4." It's a nice change-up for the Charlotte area.

Course comparison: The wide open holes of Elon Long mixed with a more elevated Cedarock. This course is kind of a tune-up for longer, tougher courses like Nevin and Elon Long.

Favorite/memorable hole: #2 if and only if I nearly aced it twice, lol. But it's a really fun downhill bomb that reminds you why you play DG in the first place.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Not Beastway..but not Leastway either

1    1/2/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Half of this course is outstanding with unique holes that employ elevation, line shaping, wind, woods, and tricky greens. I particularly enjoyed the first 6 holes and to a lesser extent, the last 6. So 2/3 of the course is excellent disc golf. From hole #1's easy hyzer warm-up to the downhill placement and uphill placement of 2 and 3 employing a spiteful stream and a retention basin oob and then fun ace runs with punishing greens on 4 & 5. To the uphill sweeping anhyzer of 6...I was having a blast. I found hole 14 to be a pro worthy tunnel shot to a more forgiving green. 15 was one of those exceptional par 3s with a cluster of routes near the basket....really made me's rare that you are given lane choices so far from the tee. I kind of hope they don't thin it out too much as it makes for an interesting shot to attain a birdie here. 16 was a fun open shot to a tight green with oob punishing any short drives. 17 was thankfully the only raised basket atop a precipice and it works here as you can lay-up par or go for it birdie here. 18 was probably the best hole on the course with an uphill drive to a tunnel fairway and then another healthy shot to the green. It's good to finish strong. All the basics are here...concrete tees, signs, well maintained, and obviously improving as signs of work are evident. Long and shorts available on all holes. Course has a decent mix of placement drives, tunnel drives, and short and longer holes. Even the less fun holes do offer a challenge in distance or placement. I think one thing that could be overlooked by many is that this is a different course than other Charlotte courses where an emphasis is placed on where you land moreso than hitting a particular line through woods. Often a road, basin, oob, etc. will punish an errant big drive and you are losing strokes on what you thought was a big easy open rip it hole. Many woodsy players hate this kind of's maddening and frustrating but it's a style of golf that any decent disc golfer should attempt to master. You can't hide in the woods forever....eventually you have to grow up and face the open air and wind. Sometimes these types of courses expose woodland frauds for what they are.
Cons: I will freely admit my disdain for road disc golf. Holes 7-12 ALL play alongside or over the park access road. It's ugly, it's dangerous, and you can't really relax. Even though the holes were decent with some tricky greens and tee shots and one felt like a pro par 4...for the most part it's just wide open and playing with a road as your main obstacle. My good mood was crushed and it took the final exceptional hole 18 until I was able to forgive the designer. That's really my only complaint....the road. If you can get over it and don't mind it feel free to increase my rating in your mind. It's definetely not a true blue or bold gold course but it's not a beginner course either....has a tweener feel with some truly difficult holes amongst the par 3s.
Other Thoughts: This course offers mixed results for me. I felt some of it was too easy, some too hard, some beautiful, some ugly, some interesting holes and some bland. I think this is why I wasn't overly impressed. I will offer this support of the course in defense of the design. This course places more of a premium on open air placement drives than most. I am certain that this is the intent of the design and it does it well. Lots of oob and tiny greens after big open air will take the wind out of your sails in a hurry. I didn't have a whole lot of fun here.....but then again it's a style of disc golf I'm just not that good at. I'd suggest taking a look in the mirror before criticizing this course...but the road still

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    3/8/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: New Course with something for everyone! From dogleg lefts to dogleg rights, over the road throws over creeks through the woods to grandmothers house you'll throw. Really guys if in the Charlotte area CHECK THIS NEWER PLACE OUT!!!!!! New baskets, new concrete tees, 2 sets of tees on some holes and nice mulched "greens" around the baskets!
Cons: Bad part of town

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Eastway, worth the trip

5+    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2011
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The newest addition(at the time of this review) to the Queen City disc golf scene, Eastway park brings a new dimension to the East side.

Eastway gives more of an open look, while utilizing wooded areas of the park well. The layout has been tweeked slightly in the past couple of months, but the footprint right now seems to be perminent.

Each hole is equipped with concrete tee pads. Baskets are DISCatchers, one pin position per hole except for hole #2, in which there is a short basket and long basket(both in place). Currently there are 5 long tee pads in place, with more a possibility in the future. Benches are currently being constructed as the materials are donated. Perminant tee signs are not in place and awaiting donation funds for placement. Alot of the holes have laminated paper with hole number, distance and par at the short pads. Most of the holes are fairly self-explanitory off the tee, as it is fairly open by Charlotte standards and only a few tee shots that are blind.

A few holes are quite interesting, using elevation change to make up for lack of obsticles/vegetation. Out of bounds along a large portion of the course adds difficulty. Wind also comes into play a great deal, and makes things interesting.
Cons: [UPDATE 10/8/11; Course is becoming very overgrown in many spots. Holes along entrance road are manicured for the most part, but anywhere off of that part of the course is sure to be overgrown and bordering on out of control. Dropping my rating to 3 from 3.5 because some of these issues were forseen and are now coming to light. If locals who care about this course do not put any time into this course I'm sure it will be pulled sometime down the road.]

A portion of the course reminds me of the part of Hornet's Nest that I don't like. 6 consecutive holes play along the enterance road of the park, which for me takes away from the beauty of the course.

Most technical shots are going to be your "get out of trouble" shots. Most tee shots allow you to play multiple lines and don't force you to take a certain line.

Holes 9-12 vary very little, and to run consecutively gets repititious. Holes 13 and 14 long teepads are a bit out of the way. #13 long may be totally missed if you don't know its there. Makeshift signs point you to #14 long teepad. Both tees cause you to backtrack, and somewhat disrupts the flow.

A few cons that will work out over time are,
-lots of underbrush in wooded areas increases possibility of losing discs
-Sparce trash cans(carry your trash please)
-Definitely has that Stan McDaniel touch(not criticizing), take it as you will.

Other Thoughts: This course has come a long way since its birth. A few holes have been altered, added and such, but is fairly "concrete" since the pads have been poured. The course has cleaned up 1,000% just in the last two months, and with the constant work by the club, led by Stan McDaniel(Course Designer) and Robbie Kyle(Course Director) and others.

Most players I've talked to enjoy the course very much and like the change from the typical Charlotte course design. There are some very unique holes, where elevation is very much in play. The design uses every inch of the available land in excellent fashion.

This course review will be updated as conditions are improved and the course gets more use. Plenty of breaking in is still left to be done. Rating reflecting current conditions and will also be updated as the state of the course changes. Don't miss your chance to do some power driving out at Eastway Park.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


1    11/5/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: Small Paws
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -Unique Signature Holes Throughout
-Wide Open for Bid D Shots
-Tricky Elevation
-Unique Feel
-World Class Design
-Nice Grass
Cons: -Not Broken In Yet
-Lots of Excess Brush In Some Areas
-Lots of Mud
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing Eastway and look forward to playing it several more times. World Class design by famous Stan McDaniel raises the bar once again for other locations looking to be the Mecca of Disc Golf.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: hankdabank
Played: 123  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -New flavor for Charlotte players.
-Will give players in Charlotte a chance to learn how to gauge distance and choose the best shot when the choices are unlimited.
-The size of the park allows for more potential courses in the future.
-Hole 8 or 14 will be the signature hole.
-The course is brand new and will only get better with time.
-Another sweet course by the CDGC
Cons: Make sure to bring valuables with you and do not leave them in sight inside your car - goes for just about any disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This is the first "open" course in Charlotte. It has been designed for mid to upper level amateur players, but is sure to be enjoyable by anyone who can appreciate good course design.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.