Charlotte, NC
Eastway Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 287ft.   4 / 582ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach (Long Position)



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice change of Charlotte Pace

1    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starts great, gets lackluster in the middle, and then finishes with a couple of solid holes. The use of elevation is splendid, and the course flows very well. The first 6-7 holes vary pretty well in terms of lines and #17 is a quirky but fun line with a "nice" steep green. #18 is tucked behind a cool V-shaped tree which is a nice finishing touch. The first 6-7 are wooded, tunnel type holes more or less, with nice creeks, basins, and ridges to navigate. The meat of this course sandwich is much more open and more like placement golf, where your only real difficulty (besides length if you're playing from the longs) is not going OB thanks to roads, roped off marshy lowlands, and other various pavement.

The park is very clean and the course is therefore clean as well. It's not the most serene and "get back to nature" course but it's fairly pretty overall. The maintenance with mowing, tee signs, and next tee signs were pretty solid. Very easy to navigate. The tees were very well laid out and well placed, job well done. It's also right next to a busy railroad and the passing trains provide interesting ambiance.
Cons: If you don't like open, avoid the OB type holes, the holes from ~7-16 may seem monotonous. The line variety isn't great, but I wouldn't call it bad. They do play along the main park road but this didn't bother me (except when I went OB obviously).

The train is loud and could be construed as annoying.

I'd like to see more in the way of some benches. They seem to be coming along though. It was wet when we played and trails b/w holes and some holes were fairly muddy. I'm more concerned about some b/w hole walks being rutted out via erosion and foot traffic more than anything but I'm reaching.

The creek on #4 or 5 has some trash (old ladder, tires, etc) that would be nice to have picked up. There's several tires half dug into the ground on #17 that are screaming to be skeeter havens in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course. I kind of teeter b/w a 3.5 and a 4 disc rating but in the end I didn't want my overt bias for very wooded courses to unfairly ding it. So consider it a "weak 4." It's a nice change-up for the Charlotte area.

Course comparison: The wide open holes of Elon Long mixed with a more elevated Cedarock. This course is kind of a tune-up for longer, tougher courses like Nevin and Elon Long.

Favorite/memorable hole: #2 if and only if I nearly aced it twice, lol. But it's a really fun downhill bomb that reminds you why you play DG in the first place.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Not Beastway..but not Leastway either

1    1/2/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Half of this course is outstanding with unique holes that employ elevation, line shaping, wind, woods, and tricky greens. I particularly enjoyed the first 6 holes and to a lesser extent, the last 6. So 2/3 of the course is excellent disc golf. From hole #1's easy hyzer warm-up to the downhill placement and uphill placement of 2 and 3 employing a spiteful stream and a retention basin oob and then fun ace runs with punishing greens on 4 & 5. To the uphill sweeping anhyzer of 6...I was having a blast. I found hole 14 to be a pro worthy tunnel shot to a more forgiving green. 15 was one of those exceptional par 3s with a cluster of routes near the basket....really made me think...it's rare that you are given lane choices so far from the tee. I kind of hope they don't thin it out too much as it makes for an interesting shot to attain a birdie here. 16 was a fun open shot to a tight green with oob punishing any short drives. 17 was thankfully the only raised basket atop a precipice and it works here as you can lay-up par or go for it birdie here. 18 was probably the best hole on the course with an uphill drive to a tunnel fairway and then another healthy shot to the green. It's good to finish strong. All the basics are here...concrete tees, signs, well maintained, and obviously improving as signs of work are evident. Long and shorts available on all holes. Course has a decent mix of placement drives, tunnel drives, and short and longer holes. Even the less fun holes do offer a challenge in distance or placement. I think one thing that could be overlooked by many is that this is a different course than other Charlotte courses where an emphasis is placed on where you land moreso than hitting a particular line through woods. Often a road, basin, oob, etc. will punish an errant big drive and you are losing strokes on what you thought was a big easy open rip it hole. Many woodsy players hate this kind of golf....it's maddening and frustrating but it's a style of golf that any decent disc golfer should attempt to master. You can't hide in the woods forever....eventually you have to grow up and face the open air and wind. Sometimes these types of courses expose woodland frauds for what they are.
Cons: I will freely admit my disdain for road disc golf. Holes 7-12 ALL play alongside or over the park access road. It's ugly, it's dangerous, and you can't really relax. Even though the holes were decent with some tricky greens and tee shots and one felt like a pro par 4...for the most part it's just wide open and playing with a road as your main obstacle. My good mood was crushed and it took the final exceptional hole 18 until I was able to forgive the designer. That's really my only complaint....the road. If you can get over it and don't mind it feel free to increase my rating in your mind. It's definetely not a true blue or bold gold course but it's not a beginner course either....has a tweener feel with some truly difficult holes amongst the par 3s.
Other Thoughts: This course offers mixed results for me. I felt some of it was too easy, some too hard, some beautiful, some ugly, some interesting holes and some bland. I think this is why I wasn't overly impressed. I will offer this support of the course in defense of the design. This course places more of a premium on open air placement drives than most. I am certain that this is the intent of the design and it does it well. Lots of oob and tiny greens after big open air will take the wind out of your sails in a hurry. I didn't have a whole lot of fun here.....but then again it's a style of disc golf I'm just not that good at. I'd suggest taking a look in the mirror before criticizing this course...but the road still sucks..lol

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 NEW FAVORITE

1    3/8/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: New Course with something for everyone! From dogleg lefts to dogleg rights, over the road throws over creeks through the woods to grandmothers house you'll throw. Really guys if in the Charlotte area CHECK THIS NEWER PLACE OUT!!!!!! New baskets, new concrete tees, 2 sets of tees on some holes and nice mulched "greens" around the baskets!
Cons: Bad part of town

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Eastway, worth the trip

5+    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2011
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The newest addition(at the time of this review) to the Queen City disc golf scene, Eastway park brings a new dimension to the East side.

Eastway gives more of an open look, while utilizing wooded areas of the park well. The layout has been tweeked slightly in the past couple of months, but the footprint right now seems to be perminent.

Each hole is equipped with concrete tee pads. Baskets are DISCatchers, one pin position per hole except for hole #2, in which there is a short basket and long basket(both in place). Currently there are 5 long tee pads in place, with more a possibility in the future. Benches are currently being constructed as the materials are donated. Perminant tee signs are not in place and awaiting donation funds for placement. Alot of the holes have laminated paper with hole number, distance and par at the short pads. Most of the holes are fairly self-explanitory off the tee, as it is fairly open by Charlotte standards and only a few tee shots that are blind.

A few holes are quite interesting, using elevation change to make up for lack of obsticles/vegetation. Out of bounds along a large portion of the course adds difficulty. Wind also comes into play a great deal, and makes things interesting.
Cons: [UPDATE 10/8/11; Course is becoming very overgrown in many spots. Holes along entrance road are manicured for the most part, but anywhere off of that part of the course is sure to be overgrown and bordering on out of control. Dropping my rating to 3 from 3.5 because some of these issues were forseen and are now coming to light. If locals who care about this course do not put any time into this course I'm sure it will be pulled sometime down the road.]

A portion of the course reminds me of the part of Hornet's Nest that I don't like. 6 consecutive holes play along the enterance road of the park, which for me takes away from the beauty of the course.

Most technical shots are going to be your "get out of trouble" shots. Most tee shots allow you to play multiple lines and don't force you to take a certain line.

Holes 9-12 vary very little, and to run consecutively gets repititious. Holes 13 and 14 long teepads are a bit out of the way. #13 long may be totally missed if you don't know its there. Makeshift signs point you to #14 long teepad. Both tees cause you to backtrack, and somewhat disrupts the flow.

A few cons that will work out over time are,
-lots of underbrush in wooded areas increases possibility of losing discs
-Sparce trash cans(carry your trash please)
-Definitely has that Stan McDaniel touch(not criticizing), take it as you will.

Other Thoughts: This course has come a long way since its birth. A few holes have been altered, added and such, but is fairly "concrete" since the pads have been poured. The course has cleaned up 1,000% just in the last two months, and with the constant work by the club, led by Stan McDaniel(Course Designer) and Robbie Kyle(Course Director) and others.

Most players I've talked to enjoy the course very much and like the change from the typical Charlotte course design. There are some very unique holes, where elevation is very much in play. The design uses every inch of the available land in excellent fashion.

This course review will be updated as conditions are improved and the course gets more use. Plenty of breaking in is still left to be done. Rating reflecting current conditions and will also be updated as the state of the course changes. Don't miss your chance to do some power driving out at Eastway Park.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: Small Paws
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -Unique Signature Holes Throughout
-Wide Open for Bid D Shots
-Tricky Elevation
-Unique Feel
-World Class Design
-Nice Grass
Cons: -Not Broken In Yet
-Lots of Excess Brush In Some Areas
-Lots of Mud
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing Eastway and look forward to playing it several more times. World Class design by famous Stan McDaniel raises the bar once again for other locations looking to be the Mecca of Disc Golf.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: hankdabank
Played: 122  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -New flavor for Charlotte players.
-Will give players in Charlotte a chance to learn how to gauge distance and choose the best shot when the choices are unlimited.
-The size of the park allows for more potential courses in the future.
-Hole 8 or 14 will be the signature hole.
-The course is brand new and will only get better with time.
-Another sweet course by the CDGC
Cons: Make sure to bring valuables with you and do not leave them in sight inside your car - goes for just about any disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This is the first "open" course in Charlotte. It has been designed for mid to upper level amateur players, but is sure to be enjoyable by anyone who can appreciate good course design.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ugly Duckling-> Beautiful Swan?

5+    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 148  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This rough course is going to bloom into a beautiful gem in the Queen City's crown. The current front 9 is technical. The holes are shorter but with a lot of trouble. The baskets rest along dropoffs that will turn birdies in to bogies. Hole 2 is awesome with its raised tee and basket resting on a ridge between a retention pond and a drop off hill. Hole 5 throwing through a gap downhill to a small green along a creek is absolutly beautiful. On the front 9 elevation is used to force technical shots as much as the woods are used. The second 9 is for power throwers with the holes all in the 300-650' range. They are mostly open but many follow the park road which is OB. The rough is ROUGH, it is effectively OB to land off the fairway. The fairways are generous and wide over 200' in many cases. The amount of work done here in such a short time is unbelievable and should be commended. The course is 2 loops and brings you back to a parking lot if bathroom breaks are needed. Loop A is 6 holes loop B 12 holes. Long 14 is a great tunnel shot needing about 350' to clear to the open. Hole 17 has an amazing terraced green carved out of a boulder rock wall. The long course will rival the Hornets nest course.
It is already getting twice the play. Charlottes first openeqsue course.
Cons: As with any new course it is rough around the edges. A lot of mowing has to be done and the park department isn't helping with a lot of it. The CDGC volunteers have to mow this by hand. Some of the future OB will seem unfair and is an attempt to make shorter holes "play" as par 4's . Longer players have a distinct advantage here. Almost half the holes can only be birdied by people who can throw 420'+. Roads can be dangerous as they line 6 holes but the number of speed bumps slows traffic. Holes 13,14,18 have bad transitions. Hole 13 you basically walk all the way back next to hole 12's tee to play 13 as 300' longer. This is the same for 14. you almost walk all the way back to short 13's pad to throw the long holes. The holes are really cool...just the transitions are no fun. Hole 18 is the same, walking back 260' up the fairway. Single chains on hole 2. Future OB on 2,3,16 are cons for me.

Tee pads are CONCRETE but vary in size based on the hole. Can take you out of your rhythm.
Other Thoughts: Long and short pads make this an awesome course. This one of the most open courses in Charlotte, people forget about Sugaw. Some of the fairways are brush hogged rasberry patches. I have a feeling that a few people wont understand what they will look like after 10-15 mowings. Right now they look a little trashy but as the stems are cut up and grass grows, these will be some of the more picturesque fairways in Charlotte. The openness of the course is a mirage. The rough is something to reckon with and as one reviewer mentioned akin to the lake that defines Winthrop. It is a little better now with the hundreds of hours spent recently. Eastway reminds me of another Sugaw. If sugaw's holes were surrounded by 6' of blackberry bushes and 400-650' long. People have talked about the roads, however if you think about it the following MORE used parks in Charlotte have roads or parking lots directly in play and the edge of a fairway. Hornets Nest - 5 roads and parking lots, Renny - 5 roads and parking lots, Sugaw - 6 roads and parking lots. This course is already getting tons of play and will be beat down in short order. Anyways, another MUST see in Charlotte.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A work in process

5+    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Mule1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I only entered a rating because it is mandatory. My post is not intended as a rating.
Other Thoughts: I am not rating this course since I am the course designer. I wanted to comment on the process of building a course. When we open a new course here in Charlotte we have found that the sooner we put baskets in the ground the sooner we get more volunteers out to assist in building the course. Unfortunately, our park department has had a %50 budget cut this year accompanied with massive layoffs. This has meant that a previous commitment to assist with a brush hog never materialized. This has meant scores of hours with a walk behind brush hog and mowers and hand scythes. We had just installed the baskets when the stuff hit the fan within our park department. However, we have been hard at it over the last few weeks, as we will for many to come, and the course is really ready for play. All we need now is to find a good commercial riding mower to make it easier for us to maintain this course. I want to thank the CDGC members who have labored diligently in the heat of this summer to make this happen. I also welcome those "lazy boy quarterbacks" to step up and help make it happen. People who back their ideas up with elbow grease have the ear of the course designer and course builder. Peace out.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Eastway

5+    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: CraigWesnofske
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Newest and most non-traditional of all the current Charlotte courses. Majority of the holes are relatively open, with strategic use of elevation, as well as some basket placements that offer errant shots a roll down the hill to increase the difficulty of the holes. Wind will be a large factor at this course, and will significantly impact scores. As of today, all holes are clearly marked, all pads are marked, and there are some brand spanking new transition trails. The longest transition on the course is roughly 350', with all others being between 50-75'. All fairways have been cleared of debris, and have been freshly mowed. The fairways look very pristine and defined now. The elevation changes are superb, and offer many risk/reward opportunities. The park being new does not get very much traffic, and as evidenced today was solely occupied by disc golfers! I do anticipate that the traffic is going to grow considering how good the course is, and the uniqueness in relation to the other Charlotte courses. The possibilities of extending the current holes are endless, and to boot, there is enough property still untouched that another two courses could be put in. I am very excited to know that The Mule has started discussing some future ideas surrounding longer pads, basket extensions, and possibly some completely new routes created on a few of the holes. I believe this will happen sooner than later, as it is really quite a great course, and can become yet another monster in the current collection the QC has to offer. Today's round after the work effort contained players who are rated between 1015 and 900. Scores ranged from 45 to 56 if that helps in understanding the skill set required to master this course. I am very grateful that Charlotte now has a course like this!
Cons: Minimal shade on half of the course so be prepared and bring lots of water and possibly an umbrella through the summer. Parks and Recreation have not assisted with any of the course mowing, and is being completely taken care of by the diehards of the CDGC. Thanks CDGC, as this is no easy feat to accomplish considering the large areas to be mowed, and that the club maintains so many other courses as well. Thanks again CDGC!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible

1    6/16/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Zaneism
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: lots of land, grass was cut
Cons: First of all, I read the other reviews for this course before I went out to play today. I had no expectations other than the fact that it was rated as a 3.5 course with a few good reviews. The guys who rated this course either don't play disc golf or they were the guys who designed it and were trying to get more people to come out and play it. I really don't see how these guys have the audacity to compare this course to Winthrop and the guy who said that you would swear you were playing a mountain course needs to lay off the drugs. Either way...very poor course. I really do not have anything good to say about it. I know it is a new course and I can't expect it to be wonderful on day one. However, the design of the course is terrible.
Hole 1: too easy, too short with plenty of room to expand. needs a mando on the left
Hole 2: potential if cleared out, not beginner friendly or forgiving but ok and could be the flagship hole if well groomed
Hole 3: too short, not challenging at all...complete redesign needed
Hole 4: needs to be longer and cleared out, too easy, felt like tossing in the back yard at a portable basket
Hole 5: better than the first few but does not follow the course. it shoots into the woods away from 4 and 6, causing you to backtrack down the fairway to get to 6 which is dangerous if the park starts to get more players
Hole 6: throws towards the road and park, making it very dangerous for non disc golfers who can't see someone shooting out of the woods, downed trees crossing fairway need to be cleared. also hard to find with no signs
Hole 7: throws across a road into traffic, very dangerous for drivers, no crosswalks to keep us safe
Hole 8: no idea where the tee box is supposed to be but the one near 17 plays perpendicular to the road and is similar to frogger with real cars and discs. neat design on the rocks though
Hole 9: not too bad, no real obstacles, simple 3 with birdie possibilities, also light posts come into play which could be a problem for parks and rec
Hole 10: very muddy, with no obstacles and a very easy 2 for right overhand throwers
Hole 11: again no crosswalks between 10 and 11 and has some very fast traffic coming into the park, still a very open hole with no challenge
Hole 12: decent hole, also open field, kinda boring and similar to playing on a football field at a school
Hole 13: needs to be cleared out, lots of thorns and brush with no trees, basically a field with a basket
Hole 14: stupid design, the tee box is on a dead end road while you have to walk past some unused land that would have made a perfect fairway instead of throwing across a road and into a paved lot where a house used to be...not sure what they were thinking
Hole 15: kinda challenging if you are going for a birdie, needs to be cleared
Hole 16: very nice, most challenging hole of the whole course, very small landing area, also needs to be groomed
Hole 17: got lost trying to find this one but after I did, I just shook my head and laughed. This hole is down in a valley with a rock wall, neat idea but the basket is just sitting at the top of the wall, easy 2 as long as you don't hit the wall, needs better paths
Hole 18: by this time I had pretty much given up but this is the only hole on the course that doesn't need any work. just a better path in and out.
Other Thoughts: lots of unnecessary walking, with all that land, why did you build such a short course with easy holes? I know that the course is still new but there are no signs on any hole to help with direction to the next hole or even what the pars are. so I assume they are all 3's. It is easy to laminate a piece of paper for short term layouts and distances. I really hope the course gets a major makeover before the Worlds....or else Charlotte could get a bad reputation

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.