Parma, NY 
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 433ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Parma-zing

1    8/24/2014   9/17/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 261  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 12.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parma DGC is really nice. The grassy fairways (1, 10, 14), were lush and green, trimmed to perfection. There are also several wooded holes (2, 3), holes with water in play (6), and holes with a bit of elevation change (7, 11), and some with all that (9, 16). There are quite a few long holes, they tend to be more open, but still enough trees to require good throws. From the long tees, 6 holes are over 400'. Holes 4 and 5 are both over 530', the only par 4 holes on the course. The blended diversity of all of these elements is spread throughout the 18 holes very nicely. I particularly liked stream in play on hole 6 and 9. 6 has water along the entire left side, flat and drivable from the tee (333' long). 9 is more of a putter shot (242') from an elevated tee, through a gap in the trees, over the brook with a short wall on the opposite side, shielding the front of the grassy green. 10 was another fun shot, driving a stretch between two hill tops, with tall trees on both sides of a moderately wide fairway. 16 was also one of my favorites, downhill, woody, with water, around 300'. All tees were concrete, and all of the baskets were DISCatchers' in good shape. Very clean park, well kept, and utilized to maximum potential in the layout of the disc golf course.
Cons: Layout may be a little tricky, I would print a map if you don't have someone familiar with the course to help guide you. There are no major gripes for me in regards to this one. Keep your dog on a leash, Marshall said he had gotten a $200 ticket for non-compliancel.
Other Thoughts: The landscape and layout of the course is fun and challenging. I shot a 3 over par (59) my first time out, but I took a nasty roll on the steep hill where 17 basket sits. Turned a possible birdie into a bogey there. Had a great round with Mike and Marshall, who were friendly enough to let me tag along with them and show me around. I don't think the "Best of the Best" 5 star rating is appropriate, but closer to "Phenomenal" than "Very Good". The cumulative 4.3 is spot on if you ask me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    8/21/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: grotto
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful well maintained course! This course has a nice blend of technical holes and some open. I used most of the discs in my bag! Loved it.
Cons: Only con was there was no sign to the 16th tee, had to amble around to find it and when I did, there was no hole map description on the tee. Other than that, nothing what so ever.
Other Thoughts: Will go back and play it again tomorrow now that I know the lay out. Best course I have yet to play on.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this course!

5+    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Absolutely beautifully maintained park. Grass is always cut, trash picked up, fairways trimmed appropriately.
- Nice, long concrete tees in great condition
- Benches well placed throughout
- Nice tee signs
- Good balance of R>L and L>R shots
- Good variety in distances from ~250' ace run holes to ~450+ par 3s and a few par 4s.
- A nice mix of fairly open bombs (not completely open though - still enough trees to require good placement) to nice technical lines.
- The shorter holes do offer some ace run and birdie potential but all have enough trees that a bogie is definitely an option if you are offline and get a bad kick.
- There isn't a ton of elevation in play here but the design makes great use of the elevation that is there with the ace run shot of hole 9 being my favorite.
Cons: I feel like I'm nit-picking here, but:
- There are supposedly short tees (listed on dgcr at least) but I've never seen em.
- Navigation can be a bit tricky for a 1st time through. There are new additional next tee signs which help significantly. First time through I'd still bring a map though, just in case.
Other Thoughts: One of the things I love about this course is that when I look back to what I had used after the round I see that this course by far requires the biggest variety of discs and shots off the tee. There are discs I carry that I sometimes wonder why....but this course makes me break them out.

This one is the creme of the crop in Rochester as it has it all and does it all very well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course!!!

1    7/9/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Extremely well maintained. Grass is trimmed. Little if any trash.
* Signs at tees are in excellent condition and do a great job outlining each hole.
* Great mix of wide open and wooded holes.
* Great course for all playing levels. Challenging enough for the best players. Easy enough to not get beginners frustrated.
* Concrete tee boxes are great for having good footing.
* Course is absolutely beautiful!
Cons: * No arrows on baskets pointing you to the next hole. I spent a lot of time referencing the course map on my cell phone to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have ever played. Although I'm still relatively new, this course was absolutely beautiful and fun to play. I had a blast here and wish this course wasn't so far away from me (I traveled 7 hours to play this course).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 some of this and some of that

1    2/8/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is hands down one of the best courses around the area. It has it all from flat open fields with randomly placed trees to through the woods up and down hills. Also a small creek that comes into play on a handful of holes to give it the competetive edge a course should have
Cons: was a little hard to navigate the first time around. some of the hills a little steep for less athletic players
Other Thoughts: could use some extra signs pointing way to next tee for new comers. some of the steeper hills could use steps

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northern NY Beauty!

1    7/27/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 95  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of property with an amazing course designed on it. Great Hole Balance so forehand and backhand are equal. Long holes with obstacles so that on every hole accuracy is key. I love courses that balance accuracy & distance and this one does it as good as any. Shot variety is essential - I threw numerous thumbers and forehand rollers on this course and needed every shot I could think of.

Some great disc golf holes/shots that stand out:

#5 - Out of the trees through a narrow fairway, across the field through the pines & finally over the hill with a big finish to the right.
#4 - Across field to a narrow entrance into the woods. Back in the wood to a slightly elevated basket on a mound.
#1 - I loved the out of the chute in the trees and across the field & pond shot to start on #1. Only about 300' but looks a lot longer standing on the tee.
(I forget some of the other hole #'s but...)
The Hill to Hill shot across the valley is fun. You are standing at eye level to the basket but it is many feet down to where you will be playing from if you hit an early tree.

Cons: Didn't see alternate tees so it may not be very beginner friendly. If allergic to poison ivy then look out on some holes(not really a con just a warning). Watch your footing - I could be slick navigating some of the paths if wet (another warning).
Not really anything I didn't like!
Other Thoughts: This course made the Rochester Am Worlds trip worth it and it is what all course should strive to offer. Amazing design on a perfect piece of land. Would love to get back up in the area and play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An amazing course hits it's maturity

5+    7/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 235  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing terrain for disc golf and great design
-great variety of hole types and shots
-even mix of right & left holes
-variety of distance but lots of longer holes
-big open bombs (1,4,12,14,18), tight wooded technical (2,3,5,10,11,16), open fairways with tree lines (1,12,13,18), blind baskets (4,5,7,8,11,12,13,15) and the creek comes into play on 6,9,16
-supposed to have 3 tee levels
-a number of holes that make good use of the very limited elevation (5,7,8,9,10,16,17)
-plenty of parking
-porta-johns and trash cans at course entrance
-well manicured, grass regularly cut
-new layout is great, new hole 6 is awesome and picturesque and some of the repetitive holes on the old back 9 are gone now
-great new concrete tee pads and signs, finally! whiners can't whine anymore!
Cons: everything i used to have listed here is pretty much taken care of. it's too bad that the old hole 2 isn't there anymore. there's really not much to complain about here.

supposed alternate tees are no longer marked. some stakes could be put in for a shorter layout...

navigation is pretty good now with the signs but i totally missed hole 11. a next tee sign after holes 9, 10, 11, 16 are in order.

easy to miss the VFW driveway from the street, the turn comes up fast. know your directions to the course.
Other Thoughts: This course was always amazing but now it has reached a new level and is nearly perfect. It is long and challenging but totally worth it. The plot of land is large and the design ingeniously weaves around two long strips of open field lined with trees and thick brush around and between them. Some holes follow the open lines, some go through the woods, some throw from the open into the woods and vice versa, one throws out the woods across the open space and back into the trees to a dogleg right to the green. Just a great amount of variety and different kinds of lines with a gorgeous, isolated outdoors feel.

Now that this course has concrete tee pads and new signs it has the amenities to go along with the stellar golf that was always here. The navigational issues are largely rectified by the new improvements but hole 11 is easy to miss, especially if you are used to the old layout.

It is really unfortunate that hole 2 had to go. At least it still gets installed for tournaments but the logic behind removing it still irritates me. At least there are great new holes to replace it.

This is now the undisputed premiere course in Rochester. A fantastic upgrade to an area with a solid line-up of courses. If you can only play one course in Rochester, this is it.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A little bit of everything

5+    8/12/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 102  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2016
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads
- New signs with distances and pars!
- a good mix of wooden and open holes
- great scenery
- most hole require contol of throws.
- good variety of hole designs
- use of elevation on several holes
- well mantained
- the flow of the course is good but sometimes the tees are hard to find. Hole 1 starts at the parking lot and hole 18 ends near the parking lot
Cons: - can be hard to find the tees. be sure to bring a map
- alternate tees are either not available or if they are, they are not clear.
- On hole 1 there is a big patch of brush to the right that seems to suck up many discs. When leaving hole 18, dont be tempted to shoot a practice shot back towards the parking lot because a little bit of anhyzer and end up in the brush.
Other Thoughts: Like I said there is a little bit of everything on this course. Some holes are open and some are not. Some holes start in the open and go into the woods. Some holes start in the woods and lead into the open. Some holes are up hill and some are down hill. One hole start up hill and you have to shoot over a valley to the basket which is on a hill on the other side. There is water but there is not much danger of losing a disc. Probably my favorite hole is #9 where you tee off from a hill and have to shhot between two trees to the basket which is across a small streem and guarded by a wall. The only thing I can think of to make this course as good as courses like Maple Hill would to be add alternate baskets and better defined alternate tees.

After playing some courses in Michigan I realized there has to be a greater distinction between Parma and a Flip City or Leviathan kind of course so I am changing my rating of parma to a 4 as opposed to 4.5

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch

2-4    7/24/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 203  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Short holes, long holes, tight holes, open holes, lefty holes, righty holes, concrete tee pads, quality multi-chain DISCatcher baskets, legit par 4's, OB territory... Parma has most of the ingredients of a top notch course. You better collect your birdies on the short holes because the long holes loom, handing out bogies like candy on Halloween. Hole #5 is touted as "the hardest hole in Rochester" and exemplifies this course: you have ~120' RHBH anny line to hit to get out of the trees, then ~200' of field to navigate with a few pines in the way, finally the basket is tucked away downhill on a 90 degree right turn with a wall of trees and brush guarding a straight approach. Carding a 3 on this hole is quite an achievement.
Cons:
The underbrush here can get super thick which can result in lost discs. Hole #4 could lose a tree or two to open up a realistic approach line for perfectly thrown tee shot. The teebox for #7 is easily exposed to throws on hole #6. I never noticed markings for the supposed short tees. The transition from #10 to #11 is tricky.
Other Thoughts:
There's an alternate version of hole #1 that plays over a pond which is used for tournaments and (a) makes the flow of the course better and (b) is just a better risk/reward golf hole. Several of the holes have been tweaked in recent years in preparation for the 2011 PDGA AM World Championships. As of this writing the course is in fantastic shape; there's not much more you could want in a challenging golf course than what Parma has to offer.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 best in the area

5+    6/4/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: best overall course in rochester, hands down. although there are many other courses i love, this one makes the best use of land and has an excellent new layout as of last summer.
- has new cement tees in beautifully maintained park winding through two fields and woods that have some elevation changes.
- the fields and the wooded holes have no repetition, making you have to throw many different kinds of shots and giving you a great challenge.
- has 4 completely new holes with several others altered (new: 6, 11, 12, and 17).
6 goes through some trees over a winding stream to the basket not far from the water's edge; 11 is an uphill shot in the woods to a plateau with the basket protected by some small trees; 12 tees off on the edge of the woods, out over a long grass section that is o.b., across the field where the basket is in the woods with a small opening and is most likely reached by a thumber; 17 is down on the side of a ridge where the tee and the basket are on the side of the hill and the basket can be reached with a good anhyzer or sidearm
- has very memorable old holes.
have read that the original hole 1 will be used in tournaments, which involves teeing off in the woods out over a pond. On hole 4, you tee off in the field and the entrance to the fairway is several hundred feet away under a willow tree with the basket further back in the woods on a little mound. Another includes 9, where you tee off on the edge of the field, down over a plateau, over the stream and a small brick wall to the basket. There are so many others, but the last I'll describe is the valley hole, number 10, which is a short 200 something foot hole where you tee off on one side of the valley and the basket is on top of the other side.
Cons: - not much, but with all the rain we've had, some of the wooded holes are a breeding ground for mosquitoes. do NOT play this course without bug spray

Other Thoughts: this course is a must visit in rochester, along with several others. very happy to only live 10 minutes away.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.