Disc Golf Store
Parma, NY
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 452ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Amazing Course!!!

1    7/9/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Extremely well maintained. Grass is trimmed. Little if any trash.
* Signs at tees are in excellent condition and do a great job outlining each hole.
* Great mix of wide open and wooded holes.
* Great course for all playing levels. Challenging enough for the best players. Easy enough to not get beginners frustrated.
* Concrete tee boxes are great for having good footing.
* Course is absolutely beautiful!
Cons: * No arrows on baskets pointing you to the next hole. I spent a lot of time referencing the course map on my cell phone to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have ever played. Although I'm still relatively new, this course was absolutely beautiful and fun to play. I had a blast here and wish this course wasn't so far away from me (I traveled 7 hours to play this course).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 some of this and some of that

1    2/8/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is hands down one of the best courses around the area. It has it all from flat open fields with randomly placed trees to through the woods up and down hills. Also a small creek that comes into play on a handful of holes to give it the competetive edge a course should have
Cons: was a little hard to navigate the first time around. some of the hills a little steep for less athletic players
Other Thoughts: could use some extra signs pointing way to next tee for new comers. some of the steeper hills could use steps

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northern NY Beauty!

1    7/27/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 78  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of property with an amazing course designed on it. Great Hole Balance so forehand and backhand are equal. Long holes with obstacles so that on every hole accuracy is key. I love courses that balance accuracy & distance and this one does it as good as any. Shot variety is essential - I threw numerous thumbers and forehand rollers on this course and needed every shot I could think of.

Some great disc golf holes/shots that stand out:

#5 - Out of the trees through a narrow fairway, across the field through the pines & finally over the hill with a big finish to the right.
#4 - Across field to a narrow entrance into the woods. Back in the wood to a slightly elevated basket on a mound.
#1 - I loved the out of the chute in the trees and across the field & pond shot to start on #1. Only about 300' but looks a lot longer standing on the tee.
(I forget some of the other hole #'s but...)
The Hill to Hill shot across the valley is fun. You are standing at eye level to the basket but it is many feet down to where you will be playing from if you hit an early tree.

Cons: Didn't see alternate tees so it may not be very beginner friendly. If allergic to poison ivy then look out on some holes(not really a con just a warning). Watch your footing - I could be slick navigating some of the paths if wet (another warning).
Not really anything I didn't like!
Other Thoughts: This course made the Rochester Am Worlds trip worth it and it is what all course should strive to offer. Amazing design on a perfect piece of land. Would love to get back up in the area and play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An amazing course hits it's maturity

5+    7/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing terrain for disc golf and great design
-great variety of hole types and shots
-even mix of right & left holes
-variety of distance but lots of longer holes
-big open bombs (1,4,12,14,18), tight wooded technical (2,3,5,10,11,16), open fairways with tree lines (1,12,13,18), blind baskets (4,5,7,8,11,12,13,15) and the creek comes into play on 6,9,16
-supposed to have 3 tee levels
-a number of holes that make good use of the very limited elevation (5,7,8,9,10,16,17)
-plenty of parking
-porta-johns and trash cans at course entrance
-well manicured, grass regularly cut
-new layout is great, new hole 6 is awesome and picturesque and some of the repetitive holes on the old back 9 are gone now
-great new concrete tee pads and signs, finally! whiners can't whine anymore!
Cons: everything i used to have listed here is pretty much taken care of. it's too bad that the old hole 2 isn't there anymore. there's really not much to complain about here.

supposed alternate tees are no longer marked. some stakes could be put in for a shorter layout...

navigation is pretty good now with the signs but i totally missed hole 11. a next tee sign after holes 9, 10, 11, 16 are in order.

easy to miss the VFW driveway from the street, the turn comes up fast. know your directions to the course.
Other Thoughts: This course was always amazing but now it has reached a new level and is nearly perfect. It is long and challenging but totally worth it. The plot of land is large and the design ingeniously weaves around two long strips of open field lined with trees and thick brush around and between them. Some holes follow the open lines, some go through the woods, some throw from the open into the woods and vice versa, one throws out the woods across the open space and back into the trees to a dogleg right to the green. Just a great amount of variety and different kinds of lines with a gorgeous, isolated outdoors feel.

Now that this course has concrete tee pads and new signs it has the amenities to go along with the stellar golf that was always here. The navigational issues are largely rectified by the new improvements but hole 11 is easy to miss, especially if you are used to the old layout.

It is really unfortunate that hole 2 had to go. At least it still gets installed for tournaments but the logic behind removing it still irritates me. At least there are great new holes to replace it.

This is now the undisputed premiere course in Rochester. A fantastic upgrade to an area with a solid line-up of courses. If you can only play one course in Rochester, this is it.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch

2-4    7/24/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Short holes, long holes, tight holes, open holes, lefty holes, righty holes, concrete tee pads, quality multi-chain DISCatcher baskets, legit par 4's, OB territory... Parma has most of the ingredients of a top notch course. You better collect your birdies on the short holes because the long holes loom, handing out bogies like candy on Halloween. Hole #5 is touted as "the hardest hole in Rochester" and exemplifies this course: you have ~120' RHBH anny line to hit to get out of the trees, then ~200' of field to navigate with a few pines in the way, finally the basket is tucked away downhill on a 90 degree right turn with a wall of trees and brush guarding a straight approach. Carding a 3 on this hole is quite an achievement.
Cons:
The underbrush here can get super thick which can result in lost discs. Hole #4 could lose a tree or two to open up a realistic approach line for perfectly thrown tee shot. The teebox for #7 is easily exposed to throws on hole #6. I never noticed markings for the supposed short tees. The transition from #10 to #11 is tricky.
Other Thoughts:
There's an alternate version of hole #1 that plays over a pond which is used for tournaments and (a) makes the flow of the course better and (b) is just a better risk/reward golf hole. Several of the holes have been tweaked in recent years in preparation for the 2011 PDGA AM World Championships. As of this writing the course is in fantastic shape; there's not much more you could want in a challenging golf course than what Parma has to offer.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 best in the area

5+    6/4/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: best overall course in rochester, hands down. although there are many other courses i love, this one makes the best use of land and has an excellent new layout as of last summer.
- has new cement tees in beautifully maintained park winding through two fields and woods that have some elevation changes.
- the fields and the wooded holes have no repetition, making you have to throw many different kinds of shots and giving you a great challenge.
- has 4 completely new holes with several others altered (new: 6, 11, 12, and 17).
6 goes through some trees over a winding stream to the basket not far from the water's edge; 11 is an uphill shot in the woods to a plateau with the basket protected by some small trees; 12 tees off on the edge of the woods, out over a long grass section that is o.b., across the field where the basket is in the woods with a small opening and is most likely reached by a thumber; 17 is down on the side of a ridge where the tee and the basket are on the side of the hill and the basket can be reached with a good anhyzer or sidearm
- has very memorable old holes.
have read that the original hole 1 will be used in tournaments, which involves teeing off in the woods out over a pond. On hole 4, you tee off in the field and the entrance to the fairway is several hundred feet away under a willow tree with the basket further back in the woods on a little mound. Another includes 9, where you tee off on the edge of the field, down over a plateau, over the stream and a small brick wall to the basket. There are so many others, but the last I'll describe is the valley hole, number 10, which is a short 200 something foot hole where you tee off on one side of the valley and the basket is on top of the other side.
Cons: - not much, but with all the rain we've had, some of the wooded holes are a breeding ground for mosquitoes. do NOT play this course without bug spray

Other Thoughts: this course is a must visit in rochester, along with several others. very happy to only live 10 minutes away.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Instant Parma Gonna Get You!

1    9/26/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was informed that this is the up and coming masterpiece of the Rochester scene. Thats an understatement. This course while still a work in progress and missing signage and prone to navigation issues still is an unforgetable mix of perfect par 3s, interesting par 4s, bombs, and a few unique holes I have never encountered anywhere else. Despite my getting lost a handful of times the quality of design and the uniqueness of the holes kept me smiling. Usually such nuisances ruin my round and kill my mojo....no bad karma here at glad Parma. For every moment I was lost I was delighted when I encountered the next tee and all was forgiven.
A mixture of tight woods and open carpet like manicured grass lawns make for the perfect canvas. There are undulating elevation shifts in the woods that form baby valley holes, cliff tee shots, fast greens, uphill basket locations, and a massive bank in your face of one tee requiring a different tee shot. A pleasant stream that steals strokes but won't steal discs meanders through a few holes. A few strategy holes where you must execute shot to shot to score well to earn your par 4. I really liked holes 4 and 5 as you transitioned into and out of the woods on these holes and placement shots were key to get par. 5 was especially difficult with a tight line out of the woods to a gusty field and then a blind approach down a bank and to a wooded green.
12 threw from woods to field and then forced a sharp anny or a tight flick back into a woodline green.
There were 2 open holes that skirted woodlines and punished early fades harshly with either a cliff drop off or thick schule (8&13).
One completely open huge drive to a semi protected basket (14)....I think if you can provide one of these holes on every course it's a good thing.
#1 provides a choice of going R or L around a schule thicket.
#7 is a wild straight up a bank to an open fairway defined by evergreens.....seems easy but how do you tee off here?
#18 is a finsher that is attainable with a good drive but is one of those long straight open shots that if you turnover or fade your sitting behind brush and wondering why you didn'y play it a tad more conservatively.
Every shot has an element of risk and uniqueness where you could birdie or bogey based strictly on your skill and execution. A completely fair design that punishes foolish players and limits lesser players to bogey golf and rewards execution and superior skill.
Where this course really shines is in the creative and wonderful par 3s. Every Par 3 here brings different elements of danger into play with danger and reward in every shot utilizing water, elevation, tightness, fast greens, and choices to make for some of the best assortment of par 3 golf I've found on one course. All could be aced or bogeyed. These holes were the strongest element of the course.
Quite simply not a badly designed hole on the course. Every hole is either forcing you to try something unconventional, demanding you perform at your highest level or tempting you try something risky. Thats good design and my hats off to whoever came up with the concepts here.
I should add very nice new concrete tees throughout the course. Will be the jewel of the Amateur Championships in 2011.
Cons: Obviously the signage was nonexistant (but I'm sure they may still be tweaking basket positions/par and the signs will be in shortly) Problem solved when I went back to my car and got my phone and used the online map.
I really wish that the old 2 was somehow allowed to exist..a very fun looking hole :(
I can't bash this course it's amongst the best use of parkland and there are no activities in the areas of the park except for a few people walking dogs. You get lost in your round out there and thats a good thing.
Other Thoughts: I would have enjoyed a few more longer woods holes of the landing zone par 4 and 5 variety. Seemed the long holes were in the open and the shorter holes were all in the woods. I am a fan of throwing big tee shots through the woods. I'm not sure these woods are capable of that as they seemed less mature and perhaps the lanes just are not there.
Some tough Transitions and a simple rule of thumb is that whenever you feel lost of where to go...simply go left. Every confusing transition you will find that if you go left you will find the next tee. Oh and print out a map or have a guide. Don't let all the comments about navigation scare you away...this is the one to play in the Roc and will be for years to come.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Soon to be Rochester's Finest, Now it is.

1    6/25/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: roclover
Played: 137  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diversity in hole length, look, elevation, and obstacles.
Holes that can actually play as legit tournament Par 4's!! (Huge bonus)
Nice long concrete pads. Very nice baskets.
Excellent mix of shots... uphill, downhill, water hazards, hyzer, anhyzer, flex, even some places for thumbers, tomahawks and rollers.
Beautifully maintained and mowed fairways, and creative and well placed pins.
Cons: No sign-age that I could see, and the map I picked up was wrong.

Awkward navigation between a few holes (especially 1 to 2 and 6 to 7 if I remember correctly)

Some of the rough contains some nasty prickers that cut up my friend pretty badly when he tried to retrieve an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: This course is extremely well balanced. One of my biggest complaints about most courses is that I always end up throwing a Roc, Gator or Rhyno off the tee. As someone who throws to lengths of 325' with a midrange 450' with a driver I often don't get to bust out the Teebird and Boss as much as I'd like to.

Right away on hole 1 I got to drive a nice 350' hyzer skip shot for an easy deuce. Hole 2 and 3 where then a nice change of pace with much shorter distances but very tight lines to follow allowing me to throw a Roc and then a Rhyno off the tee. 4 and 5 were big time highlights for me on this course. 4 is a huge 700 ft bomb that requires an accurate drive of about 430' across a mostly open field to get to the opening of the woods. Once in the woods you still have a very tight 270' to get to the well protected and perched basket. I managed a 3 on this with a Boss, Roc and 40' jump put, though I know that I just as easily could've ended up with a 5. All it would take is one slight miscalculation. #5 is the standout hole on this course in my mind... A par 4 that depends on both finesse and accurate power to achieve a birdie. RHBH (like myself) will be forced to throw a controlled 200' anhyzer on a tight line to clear through the first section of woods. If you succeed at that you still have a difficult shot across a field with scattered obstacles and down a slight hill and to the right, tucked among trees and thorns (but with a nice 30' landing zone) is the basket. I attempted a Roc anhyzer for my second shot, but left it short, missed a 30 ft putt and took a par. Next time I think I would actually play my second shot as a Teebird skip shot (RHFH) to get it down and to the right far enough.

There are other amazing holes and fun holes at this course, but I definitely enjoyed 4 and 5 the most. As Rochester continues to get ready for AM Worlds 2011 I assume signs will go up and this course will get better and better. With a little more work This course will be a 4.5 possibly a 5.0.

UPDATE!!! Played the course after it had been all fixed up with signage for AM Worlds and it was fantastic. This is now a MUST PLAY for anyone going through the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course

1    5/23/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice combination of open and wooded holes. Lots of "signature" holes, and a wide variety of right/left straight holes. The teepads are concrete and some of them are the longest I've ever seen. This is the best place around to show your stuff as each hole offers a variety of flight paths and routes. Players with strong forehand/backhand/tomahawk/thumber combinations could probably put together good rounds here.
Cons: BUGS were pretty bad, and the PRICKERS were the worst I've seen. Watch for big bushes in the fairways as these are almost completely covered in prickers. Can make retreiving a disc rather difficult.
Other Thoughts: This is in close vacinity to Baker Farm or Basil Park so you can squeeze in 2-3 rounds to make a road trip worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great just got better

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Utilizes landscaping and elevation changes to it's maximum potential. I thought the old course was one of the most aesthetically pleasing courses, but the new layout improved the courses beauty even more.
The landscaping is very well maintained.
Great variety of holes and challenges.
Nice small town course that has become a hidden gem.
New large concrete tee pads.
All of the changes improved the course, I thought I would miss the old hole 2, but all of the new holes are better than that hole.
Cons: The only real con is navigation. There are no tee signs and no navigational signs. You have to have a guide the first time playing here or you will get frustrated.
Other Thoughts: With arrows pointing to the next tee and some decent tee signs this would have been a 5 star course.

Course had to sacrifice some beginner friendliness to create a more challenging course suitable for tournaments.

Porto-potty at hole 1.

Baker and Ellison are great, but I think Parma may have surpassed them as Rochester's best course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.