Parma, NY 
Parma DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great Course

1    8/21/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: grotto
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful well maintained course! This course has a nice blend of technical holes and some open. I used most of the discs in my bag! Loved it.
Cons: Only con was there was no sign to the 16th tee, had to amble around to find it and when I did, there was no hole map description on the tee. Other than that, nothing what so ever.
Other Thoughts: Will go back and play it again tomorrow now that I know the lay out. Best course I have yet to play on.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love this course!

5+    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Absolutely beautifully maintained park. Grass is always cut, trash picked up, fairways trimmed appropriately.
- Nice, long concrete tees in great condition
- Benches well placed throughout
- Nice tee signs
- Good balance of R>L and L>R shots
- Good variety in distances from ~250' ace run holes to ~450+ par 3s and a few par 4s.
- A nice mix of fairly open bombs (not completely open though - still enough trees to require good placement) to nice technical lines.
- The shorter holes do offer some ace run and birdie potential but all have enough trees that a bogie is definitely an option if you are offline and get a bad kick.
- There isn't a ton of elevation in play here but the design makes great use of the elevation that is there with the ace run shot of hole 9 being my favorite.
Cons: I feel like I'm nit-picking here, but:
- There are supposedly short tees (listed on dgcr at least) but I've never seen em.
- Navigation can be a bit tricky for a 1st time through. There are new additional next tee signs which help significantly. First time through I'd still bring a map though, just in case.
Other Thoughts: One of the things I love about this course is that when I look back to what I had used after the round I see that this course by far requires the biggest variety of discs and shots off the tee. There are discs I carry that I sometimes wonder why....but this course makes me break them out.

This one is the creme of the crop in Rochester as it has it all and does it all very well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

You must play here!

5+    7/4/2014   9/1/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well maintained course. The grass is always mowed. The trash is always picked up. Every time I play, I see the guys in the tractor out doing trash patrol - Thanks guys!! I was chatting with them - they said if you must litter, to leave empty cans and bottles by the tee pads where they can get the cart up to (they use the $.05 to feed and maintain a cat)
-Benches everywhere!
-Practice basket
-This course has everything! Wooded, wide open, elevation changes, water hazards, left turns, right turns...you name it!
-Very little road noise from Peck RD. Very peaceful.
Cons: -I used to say navigation was the biggest con, but, they fixed that. There are a lot of new signs/next recently installed.
-The location of some of the pins can be a bit tricky. Make sure you look at a course map or pay attention the the hole description sign.
-The rough with heat seeking, poison tipped thorns all over it. Can we get some machetes in there?
Other Thoughts: -In my opinion, it's the best course in the area! A great course for all skill levels. If you haven't played it yet....PLAY IT!! Do you have friends that are considering disc golf? Take them here first!

-Here's how I see it:
1-A fairly open hole with thick trees/scrub on the left. The basket is right in front of you behind the clump of trees.
2-Short par 3 with a "S" to it in the woods.
3-A trickier wooded shot. Lots of trees in the way. The basket is currently in the "alt position" on the left.
4-A good mix of open/wooded. The basket is NOT right in front of you. It is on the left in the woods about 100'. Beware of the thorn tree in the middle of the fairway, it seems to attract plastic.
5-A tricky mix of wooded/open/wooded. You have to throw through the woods with piles of logs on either side to a clearing. From there, you have to throw across a field with a few trees to another wooded area. The basket is on the right down and behind the small hill.
6-Your first meeting with a water hazard (unless you play 1B). A small creek (it is very low right now) runs beside the entire hole on the left. There are a couple of deep, murky spots. Be careful!
7-You start with an uphill shot, which is guarded by 3 large trees, to a field with several evergreen trees.
8-As a leftie, I HATE THIS HOLE!! A dogleg left hole. Some trees on the right, a NASTY drop off with thick scrub to the left.
9-My favorite. Lefties-throw through the 2 trees on the left. Your curve will take you perfectly towards the basket. Righties-good luck! Tee pad is above the hole. Throw across the creek to a basket guarded by a retaining wall.
10-Elevated Basket and tee. Drop-off in the middle that floods when it rains. Trees everywhere. The "victory trail" is to the right.
11-Another uphill shot into the woods with an "S" to it. Lots of trees and rough!
12-If there are people ahead of you, be careful walking to the tee. It starts in the woods. Tight launch chute to a field with a few evergreens in it. There is some deeper rough to the left which is OB (and about 2-3' tall) The basket is tucked in behind to the right of the opening in the trees. It is usually swampy near the basket.
13-Another tough leftie hole. Thick trees on the left, fairly open on the right. The basket is PAST the first clearing you come to.
14-Beautiful, wide open hole. Go big!
15-Thick trees and scrub on both sides of the fairway. Trees in the middle. Basket is up on the right.
16-Another great leftie hole. Elevated tee. Curves perfectly to the right. Beware of the creek on the left. Also watch out for said poison tipped, heat seeking thorns on the left.
17-Mostly straight. Trees on the right, tall rough on the left. The basket is up on the side of the hill to the right.
18-A great finisher hole! Long and mostly open. A few trees on the left, a lot of thick scrub on the right (poison ivy!)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Challenge

5+    8/15/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 28.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging, fair layout, course is very well maintained, concrete pads are a huge plus. Tough but fair test for players of all levels, with a nice blend of woods and meadow holes requiring a wide range of different shots.
Cons: Tough to navigate the holes, even with a map.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course all around. Well worth a look.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful

1    8/5/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Jimbucket
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Amazing, well planned, good for all levels, well maintained, technical in parts. Very easy to figure out. They have maps, and nice signs.

Cons: NONE! I just wish more courses were like this one.
Other Thoughts: Pay close attention to certain holes. As with many DG courses, some holes play very close to others, I did notice this on a couple holes here.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Signature Holes, Signature Holes, Signature Holes!!

5+    4/5/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I absolutely LOVE this course. It's a bit of a hike for me from my house (about a 50 minute drive) but I've made it on multiple occasions... it's just worth it in every way!
- Giant concrete tee pads.
- More than half of the course are signature holes (memorable and unique). #10 is just something you want to ace... bad!
- Awesome course design. Every hole feels like something different than the last or the next.
- Wooded holes require a good line to not get into trouble but are also very fair.
- Practice basket
- No other usage of land which means only traffic are other DG'ers
- Great scenery and landscape!
- Very well maintained.
- Great balance of straight, left turn, right turn holes. Makes you think before you throw.
Cons: If I had to nit-pick, I'd say...
- I wish the gates were open before 7am. I'm a WAY early riser and enjoy to play at sunrise. But that has nothing to do with the course itself... which is difficult to find anything wrong with in my opinion.
- Course Layout . more navigation signs would be nice. Using a guide would be best. Where you'd think you'd go for the next hole isn't always where it actually is. Definitely recommend printing the map. Can be confusing if it's your first time. Had to skip a few holes my first time out until I came on here and got some clarification on placement. That was when the layout had changed and the map wasn't updated though. Map is up to date now.
Other Thoughts: This is a GREAT course all around. My buddy got his first ace on hole #2 which was sweet to watch and experience.

I've brought friends trying Disc Golf out for the first time (or fairly new to it). After experiencing this course, they're hooked!

If you're in the area, and you don't play this course, you have no idea what you're missing!! It's not just a round of disc golf... it's an experience.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Quality Course, can be tough to navigate

1    8/26/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 49  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge concrete Tee Pads. Big Yellow Baskets. Signs at all tees. Map at front of course. Foliage is trimmed back to precisely define fairways. Benches throughout. Lots of variety of hole distances and each hole demands a lot of technique and you will not only use every disc in your bag, but you will wish you had more. Lots of elevation, a big ravine is in play on many holes. Lots of OB (creek, ravine, paths, etc.) adds to the challenge as well, requiring tight, controlled shots. Many unique holes here too, including some unconventional lines, a drive straight up the slope of the ravine, and several elevated basket positions. Practice basket is also a plus.
Cons: Very unconventional layout. I got lost more than once with a map. Finding a guide would be best. I don't mind an unconventional flow if there are adequate next tee signs, this course could use more. Many baskets are not visible from the tee, and some are easy to mistake. I think there was a different tee for the first basket, because I could see that the pin position for the first labeled tee was empty. Maybe the course has a couple different layouts? Pretty confusing for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: This course is really great. I found it to be an interesting combination between difficult and fun. There are few holes here that I can't wait to throw again though. Also, I think there is space for more holes which would allow the course to flow better and less navigation issues. Definitely download the map, but a guide would be best for your first time here. Bring your best game and every disc you own. You'll want every last advantage you can give yourself.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course!!!

1    7/9/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Extremely well maintained. Grass is trimmed. Little if any trash.
* Signs at tees are in excellent condition and do a great job outlining each hole.
* Great mix of wide open and wooded holes.
* Great course for all playing levels. Challenging enough for the best players. Easy enough to not get beginners frustrated.
* Concrete tee boxes are great for having good footing.
* Course is absolutely beautiful!
Cons: * No arrows on baskets pointing you to the next hole. I spent a lot of time referencing the course map on my cell phone to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have ever played. Although I'm still relatively new, this course was absolutely beautiful and fun to play. I had a blast here and wish this course wasn't so far away from me (I traveled 7 hours to play this course).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really Nice

5+    3/25/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great mix of holes well kept and well mowed, great scenery and follows through nature trail good for all levels of players, very pretty during summer great signs installed help the locating of tees and baskets
Cons: can be muddy in areas early in the season,Ground bees on hole 8 right after tee box for those who dont like bees last spring that ai played.
Other Thoughts: Overal a challenging course, lost of differnt styles of holes ranging from heavy wooded to wide open. has some elivations changes but mostly flat and open water on a few holes only may be a pro for some and a con for others, again very prety to play through. best course in rochester

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Variety and Challenge

2-4    3/16/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: Mtkubit
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge variety of shots, Great scenery, Challenging, Well taken care of, concrete tee pads.
Cons: somewhat marshy in the springtime, confusing layout the first few times its played (finding the next hole takes a little exploring if you haven't been here a few times),
Other Thoughts: its a great course especially for more serious players, the Par is fair and there are woods holes, open holes (some are both), up-shots, down-shots everything you have seen before and more. i like the long distance holes and am not fond of the wooded ones but this course has a perfect ratio of both to keep an experienced player challenged and on their toes

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.