Everett, WA 
Silver Lake Excalibur DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Rec/Noobie Course

2-4    4/5/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: Udon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location and easy to find.
Bathrooms on site.
Fly pads are great in the rain; no slipping or poor footing at all.
Hills and trees are used well, although a bit lacking in any serious obstacles.
Very straight forward. Some may see this as too simple and, thus, a con, but as a beginner it is a very big pro.
Each tee is easy to find and navigating is simple and intuitive.
Huge possibilities for a safari back 9.
Using pathways as OB increase the difficulty and add a few semi-island holes, particularly holes 5 & 6.
Locals are friendly.
Cons: The downside to having a DGC next to a popular park is the amount of people there on nice, sunny days. There are trails that lead out/into the park that cut through many of the fairways. Although the paths make for challenging OB rules, people are often walking through oblivious of flying discs. Not a huge con, but definitely something to consider.

Other Thoughts: I love the possibilities of a safari back 9. Some people like a more straightforward 18 hole course, but with the limited space one must get creative. This is a really nice course for beginners and recreational players; more advanced players might see this as a warm-up round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    12/21/2012   12/22/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 37  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting.
Nice park w/ playground for the kiddies.
The official nine holes plays intuitively with no hunting around for the next tee box.
Excellent use of elevation.
Baskets are in good order, and the ground cover was minimal - hard to lose a disc this time of year..
Cons: There was very little to not like here, except for maybe the course map posted here, that looks like a photo copy of a photo copy. Other than that, I didn't find anything that I didn't like.
Other Thoughts: Got off work early, so decided to come down and check this place out. As I was teeing up, I met a nice fellow named Jim, who is a course regular, and he offered to show me around and give me some tips.
We had a nice round, and Jim was very knowledgeable about how the course plays, to include the unofficial back nine.
The weather was nice, but the ground was a little soggy in spots, but I can't call that a con because this is the Pacific Northwest after all.
I would have had a good time playing here by myself, but with Jim as a guide, I really enjoyed myself, and was able to get a much better understanding of the course, had I played it alone.
The tree canopy, and the elevation changes added to the difficulty, but not so difficult, that I felt discouraged to come back - just the opposite. I will definitely be back to play again. This was one of my favorite course to play so far!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and fun

1    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The designer of the course did a wonderful job using the space provided.
- Lots of up and down hills
- Close to highway
Cons: - Only 9 holes
- The holes are very short in length. Lots of ace holes.
- There were some people walking through the park unaware of disc golf.
- Hole #2 was a bit wet
Other Thoughts: Great short course not too far from the highway. I would not travel far to go here but if you are in passing and want to get out for a quick half round this is the place for you.

- The directions on this site was a bit confusing.
- Watch hole #5 your disc can travel down to the volleyball courts below.
- Hole #7 drives close to the tee pad of hole #8

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable and Scenic Course

2-4    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a well manicured park on the banks of Silver Lake, this course is a great little "executive" course, with most of the holes playing pretty short, but providing nice challenges.

The tee pads were nice and grippy on a rainy weekend day and the navigation was very intuitive, as the tall 4x4 posts are quite visible.

This course has some of the feel of Pier Park (All the large trees and manicured feel) with the elevation of a place like Horning's Hideout. All the holes but #1 and #2 benefit from the use of a major slope that encompasses the rest of the course. The combination of elevation, trees, and varying types of shots required make this course a blast. Most experienced players will see birdie opportunities on a majority of holes, and will be inspired by the chance to rack them up.
Cons: Though there is rumor that they will expand the course to 18 holes, the fact that there's only 9 does not really bring my rating down. The current offering is quite nice and only makes us wanting for more - but only 9 holes would limit this as a frequent destination for those like me that have to drive 40 minutes.

Played once on a sunny Labor Day and the park was full of people doing everything from walking the paths to geocaching. We had some stray drives that came really close to pedestrians. I would say that I wouldn't recommend playing at all on these busy family days, as it's too terrifying to watch what "I wasn't trying to do" become reality. I surely will stick to weekday mornings!

Hole 1 & 2 (though not bad holes) suffer a bit. Hole #1 from its openness, and #2 from the wet bogginess that seems to prevail.
Other Thoughts: We played with a local who was knowlegable of the "safari back 9" which is a longer version of the current course. He showed us this course which stacks holes (like combining 1 & 2) to make for a very challenging and fun course. For obvious reasons, it can only be played when the park isn't crowded. But what fun it was!

My suggestion- if more land cannot be obtained, perhaps go the route that Northpark has and install more teepads to the existing holes if possible to create a back 9.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Feel good track

2-4    12/18/2010   12/18/2010
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great scenery
some fun tee shots
nice tee pads
park is well maintained

Cons: if you want be challenged this is not the track for you
hole 2 basket a little swampy
Other Thoughts: a nice job of making some fun holes in a compact space.
possible for less experienced players to make birdies

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Neat

5+    8/1/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: S3R14L_K1LL4
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Located in a fairly decent park. Out of the way of park activities. Maintained well. Not much congestion.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Not very challenging. Hole 2 is way too swampy around the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential! Can't wait to see if they add another 9 holes! Across the street would be a perfect location.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

silver lake

5+    8/26/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: hyrulehero96
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rubber teepads are nice, good practice course, nice use of space, teepads are labled and easy to navigate as are the baskets. Hole length has been added to teepad markers. There are also plenty of trash cans.
Cons: Not very challenging. Lots of asphalt trails to throw over so people can be in the way at times and your discs can get damaged.
Other Thoughts: A decent little 9 hole, not much difficulty here but a great warm up. Can get crowded on the weekends and its located in a busy park so people can get in the way, especially on holes 1 and 9. Hole 2 throws over a large asphalt patch and the basket sits in a swampy area of the park. There is a vollyball pit below the fairway of hole 8 that can get in the way.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/15/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Duanel
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Definitely a "feel good about yourself" course. It's short, but technical enough to provide a challenge. To add even more of a challenge, my friends and I play that if your disc lands on a paved area, it's considered OB. Even still, our average score is 1-2 over par.
Cons: Even though there is plenty of parking, you have to walk through a pretty crowded family area to get to hole 1. The fact that there's no smoking is pretty irritating. If you need to light up, however, you can step outside of the park at the tee to hole 5.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call it a destination course but more of a warm-up on the way type. The tee pads are brand new and the baskets are fresh. It is a fun course and there is enough shade and breeze to keep you cool on hot summer days!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.