Everett, WA 
Silver Lake Excalibur DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz Hole #8 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nice Park Course

1    6/6/2016   6/10/2016
Review By: Dadio
Played: 105  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 32.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This Course is in a very nice city park on the northwest side of Sliver Lake. It starts by the lakeside and works it's way back and forth along the hillside before dropping back down to the beach on 9. Most of the holes are among a large cedar grove so it is very pleasant on a hot day like when I was there.
The designers made very good use of the elevation available. There is about every variation of basic elevation change in 7 holes.
Tees are well done and the tee posts all have rudimentary hangers for bags, altho they may not work for many of the bigger modern bags.
This course well worn in so even tho there isn't very good signage it is fairly easy to follow.
There is a nice variety of shots for how compact the course is. The designers made very good use of the space available to make an interesting course that should stand up to multiple plays. It is longer than many park courses, nice to see one that the average player will need more than just a putter and a mid.
Cons: It has many disadvantages inherent in a park course. Trails enter the course in a couple places so will have to watch for pedestrians, especially by hole 4/tee 5. There is a trail there that comes in from behind a building so you can't see them until they are close to the course altho there is some room between the pin and the trail.
Since it is a less busy and shady there can be people just hanging out under trees. Also, the overthrow for 9 is to the beach, a naturally busier area. The parks dept has put up signs warning people that they are on a course and the swimming area is further away so not too bad but caution is necessary.
Because it is in a small area it is tight enough that a bad drive can easily end up on another fairway, and pin 5 is about midway along 6 fairway and close, especially if 5 is overthrown, easy to do.
Geese. 'nuff said.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It is a well appointed so you can have a picnic or a swim. good toys for the kids, plenty of parking.
The only thing this course lacked was signs but not bad. If you can use the HOV lanes off I5 it is easy to get to and worth the stop. Watch out for State Patrol if you are by yourself, they like to watch that exit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just a fun 9er

2-4    9/1/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course played well. We had printed off a map before making the drive here but it turned out that there was no need to even look at it. When you finished a hole the next tee pad was right there for you and it was not hard to spot the basket for that pad. Easy walking and in a nice park. The pads were a nice large rubber mats.
Cons: There was a walking path going through the course and we did have to stop and sit for people on the walk path to clear.
Other Thoughts: Over all I gave this a 3.5 because of how easy it was to find our way around and that it was a fun course to play. No it was not a difficult one to play and it is more for that player who wants to scratch that itch to play a quick round but there was enough to make you work and think on each shot with no big fear of loosing a disc. As there are a lot of DG courses on the west side that have an absolute ton of growth going nuts everywhere that can eat a disc fast it was great to find one that was cleared out of all of that stuff and just the big trees were the things in the way with great walking. There is a number of holes that have elevation changes to deal with. Yet more to the fun factor! The entire course was well kept and clean. This is a GREAT course to take a person who is learning the game!!!

There was only 1 hole that was one that was a head scratcher. Hole #7. You throw along a ridge/hill line. The lake is down to your left and the hill slopes upward to your right. There is a clearing 1/2 to 3/4 to the basket. Now there is a light cross wind that comes off the lake up the hill and likes to give your disc a ride to funny land. My first throw was "What the heck!?!?" So I pitched a different disc and the same thing hit me. The wind did not feel like anything big but so it was a slick sneak attack from mother nature! A local told me that he has had to deal with that many times so I'm not feeling too bad about falling into the trap. I'm sure that if I play this hole a few times I'll figure it out....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for All

2-4    8/15/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: puttputt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course to take beginners and youngsters (probably a con for some). The course plays by a beautiful lake with great food/restroom accommodations. The park official in charge of maintenance is a great guy. He told us the layout, and was working on creating paths to the next tee pads. This course will not require a driver, but does offer a few skill shots.
Cons: For what it is, it is a great course. Yeah, 18 hole courses are nice, but so are cities that decide to turn abandoned land, filled with trash, into a fun course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

2-4    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Chill Will
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice layout and challenging too! Very clean as well.
Cons: 18 holes would be nice but there's not room unfortunately. And a port-a-potty would be cool too.
Other Thoughts: It plays plenty fast. We put in 27 holes in under 2 hours. Definetly a good time!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center