Pickerington, OH 
Simsbury DGC Share
Uploaded By: crandellfamily Hole #9 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 192ft.   3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Good fun course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Most if not all holes have two cement pads (short and long). We played all the short holes for our first time but noticed how the holes significantly change in difficulty and shot selection from the long t-pads.
2) My group was able to navigate the course fairly easy with all the signage that is in place. What is great about the signage, is it faces you from your last point on the course, so there is no more walking all the way to a tee pad to check and see if you have arrived at the right hole or path.
3) Lots of good hole combinations; elevation changes, up/down hills for your drives. Great pin placements that make you think.
4) The course has a good fun factor to it. Lots of holes have that little extra something; whether its a basket put on a grassy knoll or on a mini cliff all which was manmade for the course lets you appreciate the effort and extra challenge it accounts for.
5) Course plays on some holes alongside a nice neighborhood and the general feel of the course including the parking lot seems cared for and professional.
6) Trash cans are in place on most holes.
Cons: 1) Overgrowth off most the fairways is really thick. Since this apparently seems to be a new course we saw where there has been attempts on some of the holes to clear this issue up (we could smell the gas leftover from attempted recent clear cut burns) but its still pretty bad. We found 2 discs at one time when we finally went into the rough on 18. That just seemed to prove the point that your discs have a good chance of being lost forever if you miss the fairway.
2) No tee pad signs showing distances
3) Course flow. Some of the holes require walking around other holes to reach them. Not long distances but you do need to be aware if others are playing those holes when traveling around them.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course looks fun and plays fun. We all wished we would have had time to play the course again from the long tees because I think that would raise the professional aspect of our experience (none of us are pros yet we all shot par or under on the shorts for our first time) but decided to play from the short to learn the course and prevent loosing discs. If you are coming for the first time I would proabably recommend you play the shorts first as well just because of the overgrowth off of the fairways.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Addition

5+    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Nicest Tee Pads I've Seen
Multiple Tee Pads
Multiple Pin Placements
Good Variety (Uses every shot you have.)
Beautiful Park in a Wildlife Setting
Ample Parking
Excellent Pin Placements (4B is awesome)
Signs at Every Hole
Tee Signs Make Finding Next HOle Easy
New Baskets
Well Defined Fairways
Signs Directing You to Next Tee
Cons:
Rough is VERY Rough (Briars Everywhere - Bleeding nearly everytime I went off the Fairway)
Discs Can Easily Get Lost
Hole Play Amongst One Another (No Crossing, Just Close to One Another)
Other Thoughts:
This course is another great addition to the Columbus area disc golf scene. Multiple pin placements and tee pads are just some of the great things this course has to offer. While not for beginners, mainly due to the awful rough, intermediate to advanced, and pros alike could each find a challenge here.

The course has a great layout beginning near the parking lot and winding its way through a large rather wild park setting. First three holes play rather open but if you go off the fairway be ready to pay the price. The rough between holes two and three seems especially tough. Aside from the trees, vines, ivy, and briars there is also a giant pile of old logs in the middle of the vegetation. Be careful climbing in there to retrieve discs as one of the logs started sliding on my buddy and he nearly lost it. Best advice is to avoid that patch at all costs.

From here things start to get a little more technical as more trees come into play, as well some wonderful uses of elevation. The designers really took time selecting the pin placements on this one, they are designed to make you think and execute all while still having fun.

Overall this is definitely one of the top three in the area, and with a little more clean up/play, plus the addition of the new signs, and a few benches this could work its way on up the list.

*Update: Benches and trash cans added throughout the park, could still use a few more, or better placements, but it was a great addition to the course. Still needs improved tee signs.

Rough has cleared up a bit, but I don't know if that's permanent or just due to winter. Hopefully it will remain pretty clear throughout the summer.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, even with the thorns

2-4    7/9/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: After a second trip, I've changed my mind. Pickerington isn't as friendly to beginners as I first thought. It remains forgiving from the short tees, with short to medium length at most. But the thorn-filled woods can come into play on almost every hole. It doesn't matter so much which type of fade or hook you put on your shot, as long as you can keep it straight.

The difficulty increases significantly from the long tees. My son and I played from a mix of short and long, and finished our 18 in two relaxed hours, with at least half a dozen trips into the thickets to chase our worst throws.

There's only one major slope on the parkland, but it's used to very good effect. The first four holes gradually work their way down the hill. 5-8 play along the base. 9 and 10 take a steeper line up and down. 11-16 are flat again. 17 and 18 are two tough uphills to close out the round.

Short tee drives are almost always have a clear path, with a few well-defined trees as obstacles. Beginners can stick with their most reliable shot and trajectory most of the time. Extremely thick brush lines the fairway on most holes, however. If you throw too far off line be prepared for some nasty thorns.

The basket placement when we visited was excellent. Although beginners could once again survive with their most reliable shot, it helps a lot to consider the best angle of approach. Many baskets were tucked tight against protective brush/woods either right or left. There were a couple baskets set into the trees, and two baskets set onto challenging, but very playable ledges.

One of the best visual features of Pickerington is the fairway grass. It was cut fairly short in early July. Very green and clean. The cement tees are standard and perfectly level: both long and short.


Favorite holes:

#4 - downhill for the drive, with woods on the left to restrict the best line of sight to the basket. Your approach needs to hold a fairly broad ledge, with the basket near the back-left edge.

#10 - significant downhill. Woods on the left. Scattered trees in the fairway and around the basket make this a blind shot, with a bit of luck required to get the drive close.

#11 - Short, flat and straight. Open drive, but then it shoots at least 60 feet into the woods for the approach/putt.

#17 - An extreme drive over out-of-bounds brush from the high platform long tee. From there it's another 250 feet uphill.
Cons: Some of the thickest thorns we've ever seen on a disc golf course. There were a few times we could see our disc stuck in a patch less than 10 feet away, with no easy way to get there, let along swing through a recovery toss. Our fault for finding the rough.

Course navigation isn't always intuitive, and the walks to the next tee aren't always marked. You need to swing around the 7th tee to get from 11 to 12. And you have to walk the length of the 5th hole, and more, in order to get from 16 to 17. Be sure to pick up a scorecard: it includes a map of the overall routing.
Other Thoughts: Depending upon your level of play: the short tees may seem too easy, while the long tees can add a stroke to several holes. We couldn't bring ourselves to accept the 300 foot handicap from the short tee on 13, and stuck with the long tees from that point on. Second round we played the shorts throughout.

The course still seems new, and the signage is limited, but functional. Metal posts with small green number signs on the short tees - the long tee posts are still waiting for signs.

Most holes play straight: doglegs on #8, #9, #12, and #15 from the long tee - makes for a very tough drive.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 PICK IS BEST NEW COURSE!

5+    6/20/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: * Courses has concrete tees

* Offers every type of shot you might use.

* Great elevation changes

* Does not need to "mature" or get "worn in" like the Moodgolf courses always seem to need. It's great now.

* Pro and Am tees

* Has every kind of hole from wooded, to open, uphill, and downhill.
Cons: * From what I hear it will not be open year round.

* Has some issues with location marking signs.

* The rough is really rough on some holes! Make sure you plan your shot carefully or throw a disc that is not a crucial part of your game.
Other Thoughts: Course is has everything you'd want. Even a beginner can really get some quality practice.
Keep up the good work Paul!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme happiness

2-4    6/23/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: SuperG7
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Pro and Am concrete tee pads
-Some long bombers like hole 18
-Most shots from Am are make-able in 2 or 3 shots
-Secluded area minus houses to the right of the course
Cons: -FINDING YOUR DISC IN THE ROUGH IS HARD, i suggest not playing this course if you cannot find your disc easy because you will lose it
-Trash cans
-You can physically see peoples houses starting on hole 13 or 14
Other Thoughts: In the times i have went, my friends and i have lost many discs and found many others. Even though i have lost some discs on this course it is by far my favorite 3 courses close to Columbus...

Cops do patrol the parking lot, but i do not think they will go on the course and havent ever seen them on the course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy Challenge

1    6/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Attractive Scenery
+ Challenging, but not impossible to park holes
+ Short and Long Tees
+ Signage to direct you to next tees
+ Multiple Pin Placements
+ Solid Variety of uphill/downhill/flat as well as left/right/straight shots
+ Practice basket and free scorecards
Cons: - Tee signs appear to be temporary, but as of now lack hole info
- Rough is nasty thick as of now
Other Thoughts: I very much so dug this course. It was peaceful, scenic, and challenging but not frustrating. Accuracy is of the upmost importance over distance here as going off the fairways even a little means a likely long look for your disc and at the very least a tricky stance awaits you. Some elevated pins and tees add to the fun and there was a nice overall balance of elevation changes.

This course is still quite new and as I understand it the rough will be thinned out and more informative tee signs will be put in. I'll definitely be back many more times.

*Trash cans recently added throughout the course, and are much appreciated.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course as long as you stay on the Fairway

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of available land
Visually a great course
Well Maintained, fairways are cleared out and mowed, it's a beautiful course
Good mix of shots Left/Right. Wooded/Open, some elevation changes
Multipal tee pads
Challenging but not Frustrating
Cons: Can be a little confusing to navigate but not enough to be a problem
Lots and lots of heavy thick brush.
Not so good for beginners
Other Thoughts: It's great to have another tournament quality course in the Columbus area. It looks really nice, You can tell when your playing it that a lot of work went into this course. the fairways were mowed and look great, the tee pads and disc catchers are nice

It's a lot bigger than you think when you first pull up. There are plenty of porta jons and trash cans around, also there is a mailbox there with a map in it. No signs when I was there but they are on the way.

The course is a good mix of open and wooded shots, there are wooded areas but it never feels like your in the woods until you have a misthrow. Lots of small and big hills, some stratigically placed clumps of trees and mounds to throw over and around.

A lot of people will complain (including me) about the brush. Keep your throws accurate or you will pay dearly, be ready to spend alot of time in some nearly unpassable brush. Even if you throw it a few feet off to the side of the fairway you will be digging through poison ivy, thorn bushes, and itch weed. I walked out of there with some bloody legs. I'm not gonna let it take away from my score because the word on the street is plans are in the works to clear some of it out. Of course one could make the arguement that the complainers out there wouldn't have anything to bitch about if they could just keep their discs on the fairway.

I will be a regular here. Hopefully this course becomes popular enough to pull some of the traffic away from Brent Hambrick. If you live anywhere near Columbus than this one is a must play

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better!

2-4    6/17/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: BuckeyeMike
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple Tees.
-Nice New DGA Baskets.
-Good Mix of Up & Down Hill and Flat holes.
-Good Mix of Wooded and Open holes.
-Good Mix of Left to Right and Right to Left holes.
-Elevated Baskets and Tees.
-Practice Putting Basket.
-Free Scorecards in the Mailbox.
-Porta-Johns.
-Places for Multiple Pins/Baskets.

-Pro & Experienced Level Course.
Cons: -The Rough can be thick in some places.
-Tees Signs don't show Pin Placement or Hole Distances, yet. (See the Scorecard.)
-Trash cans only in parking lot and hole 9.
-Long (distance) 18 hole course.
-Not For Beginners/Novices!
-Pro & Experienced Level Course.
Other Thoughts: Update... on the majority of the holes the Brush has been cleared away/thinned out!

-Pro through Beginner Level Disc Golf Players alike could have a hard time, trying to find their Disc in the Brush/Rough.

-This Course is NOT for Beginners!
I would recommend Beginners, go over a couple miles to Sycamore Creek DGC! http://www.dgcoursereview.com...se.php?id=850

-Pickerinton DGC, Will be a Great Course, (4/4.5 out of 5) once all signage and amenities are added!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.