Jacksonville, FL 
Fore Palms DGC Share
Uploaded By: AJ_86 Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Course

1    7/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a clean, well-maintained city park. Fairly busy. Long course requires a long walk. Tees and baskets are good. Decent variety of long open holes and short holes in woods. Plays through very tall pine trees and a couple of open water-carry shots required. Decent variety but nothing extraordinary. Mostly open to semi-open holes with a few scattered trees to avoid. Some good pin placements to make good use of natural elements.
Cons: Bathrooms very limited and way too far away from course. Signage is very lacking. I lost the "bonus holes completely. I could tell the general area where they were but was not interested in wandering the wide open area to figure out where to start and how to play. Dual tees primarily just added a little distance with no real change in the hole layout or shot required.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 B for Boring (slightly)

1    4/9/2004   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good layout, fun course, with variety of shots, long/short. nice teepads and signs. Well kept course with a great club RCDGO. Not many wooded holes. Plays through an old ball golf course. Technical open shots require accuracy and placement. Water on a few holes.
Cons: No shade. Gets very hot in summer.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, look for local guide

1    5/25/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Former golf course is an attractive venue. Very low schule factor. Course is fun for a wide range of skill levels.

A bit of course variety, with the few technical, wooded holes being the best of the bunch.
Cons: Many of the tee signs are missing and navigation is a bit confusing at times. The "letter" holes can be accidentally missed without a local guide or map.

The course is mostly wide-open and overly biased towards crushers.

Several of the holes are tight on the pedestrian sidewalk, which can be crowded at times.

The former golf greens and bunkers would serve as more dynamic basket locations, but aren't utilized.

Most of the course is too wide-open and crusher-friendly.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer, leaver the course cleaner than the way you found it.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Course

1    5/22/2008   5/22/2008
Review By: djyshadow
Played: 117  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It drains well for an area that gets a significant amount of rain. The pro tees are enough of a challenge to limit the "course is not difficult" talk. It gets more than its share amount of pro events, tournaments, and weekly random doubles/handicap/etc. The pins are almost all new and the pads are solid save for the second wooded hole (7). The blues are a serious challenge for those not concerned about birdying every hole.
Cons: There aren't many courses in Jacksonville (2), so weekends can be busy. Some unfortunate souls try to walk across holes during play to get to the cement walking path more quickly--keep an eye out for them. The second set of alternates are often taken by a pick up soccer game on the weekend.
Other Thoughts: It's a solid course that has more than its share of elevation, vegetation , and technicality changes (the tree lined holes offset the 700+ hole 18 and 500+ 16).

Bring bug spray in the late summer/fall.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.