Jacksonville, FL 
Fore Palms DGC Share
Uploaded By: AJ_86 Hole #9 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fore Palms

5+    4/26/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very big with 24 baskets including the A-C and D-F bonus holes. Decent veriety of long open holes and short holes in light woods. Plays through very tall pine trees that drop pine needles for the perfect skip shots on several holes. Park is always free. Long holes with big fairways to let it rip. New bag holders, tee signs & some new longer pin positions.
Cons: Restrooms not close enough to disc golf area for the ladies to use during round.
Other Thoughts: Popular and busy. Always someone to play with or guide you. Holes 9 and 10 bring a small drainage lake into play but it doesn't add much interest (not pretty) or difficulty (not that long).

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    5/26/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: JAX_Buckeye
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome variety of holes, some wide open, some woods, tunnel shot on #5. Course is always clean and maintained. Great feeling of safety with the police presence.
Cons: Not enough ace runs. #16 is not a fair par 3, almost 500' having to throw your drive low through a bank of trees. 8 also should be a par 4 when the basket is placed into the woods. This course is definitely for bigger arms.
Other Thoughts: Well worth travelling to play this course. I would like to see the pars on some holes reconsidered, as they are not fair to the average player.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

In Great Condition

5+    3/4/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: Mld26
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Course, because it has everything for each shot, woods, water, left to right,right to left, short or long. Cement Tees.Trash Bins, Clean.In Great Condition
Cons: Getting busy. Weekend afternoons very busy park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best in Jax

2-4    1/20/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: Rossome
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun challenging course with a mix of long and medium length holes in a beautiful park setting. Not an easy beginner course, but it does offer alternate tees around the water if your ego can handle the pressure. Fairly intuitive to figure out the course without a map, but tricky to follow when you get near the woods (after hole 5) and the back side (after hole 15) where some of the add-on holes are inserted. More terrain in play than most Florida courses, a few technical holes, and a couple of fun water shots.
Cons: A bit crowded two of the three times I played rounds there. The wind can really play with your shots on most of the course. The course favors length over accuracy most of the time. I saw several people searching for lost plastic in the lake.
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite of the four courses I played in the Jacksonville area. It was fun to see such a big park with lots of family activities and all age groups using it. There wasn't much in the way of scenery, wildlife, or uniqueness, but a fun clean course with a variety of shots required.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, give it a try

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of this course has a tight groom that feels like a ball golf course. The park is huge and nice and there were a bunch of nice looking ladies jogging when I played, so that's always a bonus.

There's plenty of opportunity to air out some long drives, including some rollers. The course is a little on the long side, but not crazy long.

Two holes are played over the water, so that's another bonus.

There's a stretch of tight, woodsy holes to balance out most of the longer, more open shots.
Cons: A few times we had to wait to throw until joggers passed on the path, which hugs a lot of the holes.

The first time we played, we missed the bonus "letter" holes. They were pointed out to us by a friendly local during our second round.
Other Thoughts: I'd say it's a very nice course and worth a visit by anyone visiting Florida.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice parkstyle course

1    2/12/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large trapezoidal concrete tees. I love this as the standard for disc golf! There is a painted strip on the tees to indicate red or blue tee so there is no confusion. Shared tees have both colors indicated.

2) Benches and bag racks available from time to time throughout the course.

3) Nice signage with Hole #, distance, par and hole maps. Always a welcome sight for the travelling disc golfer.

4) Awesome group of league players here. I showed up to meet an old friend from Wisconsin and I was welcomed into the group like I was from the area. I even took two of the 4 CTP's and $18 back . . . granted I paid $13 to play in the league $1 to play, $1 non member, $1 per CTP, $1 for the ace, and $6 for the skins game. I have never paid more than $7 for league and this one cost me $13. I ended up donating the $5 that I actually profited from back to their club because it was such a good time.

5) Great variety on this course for what was originally a short 9 hole executive golf course. The design uses the best of the wooded areas to make for a really great course.

6) There was a unique thing on this course I have never seen anywhere else. There were short little carpet strips short of the teepads. I am not sure if the design was to give you a place to kick the sand off your shoes but they seemed to do a good job of keeping the teepads fairly clean. There were even a few areas where I noticed the same material on the fallaway at the end of the teepad so if you overstep through your drive you can land on that instead of dropping down to the sand/turf.

7) 24 holes out here which is always nice for the travelling disc golfer to get in as much disc golf as possible. The course could be played any number of ways . . . front 9, front 12, back 9, back 12 or play all 24. This probably helps when events and league are going on to allow the casual players to skip ahead of the organized players.

8) There is an excellent variety of holes out here which was not really expected. Sure there are a lot of holes with wider fairways, but they use key trees to their advantage. Then there are some holes that run through the peripheral wooded areas between the old fairways. Then there are a couple of holes that are as tight as I have ever seen.

9) Very beginner friendly course because it is mostly open. The distance my get to some beginners, but what better way than to learn the game than by throwing a lot!

10) There were a lot of shots needed out here. You can throw many holes with a straight or slight hyzer, but there are also a couple of tight anhyzer lines on a couple of holes. There also are quite a few places where a roller might be a beneficial shot to have in the bag. I only threw a couple rollers because I wanted to play safe because it was league and my rollers can have a tendency to get a little wild.

11) Multiple pin placements on many of the holes makes this an even more attractive course allowing for a different layout all the time. Having dual tees is also a benefit because it allows different skill levels to enjoy this course.

12) Water is another feature on this course that comes into play really on 2 holes. It is the same type and length of shot both times, but there is a definite pucker factor. I just played safe and short and left both times and took my pars., but the true risk/reward is there for those that can throw 300'.

13) Surprisingly undulating fairways in a few places out here. Nothing outstanding but most likely the undulations were made when the golf course was constructed.

14) Practice basket available near the first tee and plenty of room to work on some approaches and longer putts too.

15) There is a nice kiosk with a hole map and distances listed on one section. There also is a lot of postings because it seems like there is a really active group of locals. Like I said the league was awesome but I also know there is a glow league out here on Wednesdays. This would be a fun course to play glow disc golf for sure.
Cons: 1) Distance variation is something I felt like could have been handled better. There is so much room out here that the holes could be varied a whole lot more than they are. This is the type of course that usually frustrates me because most of the holes are just outside my range and I end up with a lot of tap in 3's but for some reason this course didn't feel that way . . . perhaps because there were still a lot of things to make those upshots not feel simple layups everytime.

2) While the variety of the foliage was good, I would like the balance swung a little more towards balance and while this course is most heavily weighted towards the moderately open hole with key trees, I think they maybe could have used a little bit more of the tighter wooded areas to create better balance.

3) Walking path does come into play on a number of holes. I appreciate that the path was probably here before the disc golf as it was probably intended for the golf course . . .but everyone needs to be aware of everyone else. Please be careful and don't risk anyone getting hurt.

4) There was a slightly repetitive feeling on a lot of the holes because they were mostly open with key trees. It wasn't so much in the shot needed but in the look and feel of the holes.

5) A few of the areas off the fairway can get thick . . . the tight wooded holes are ultimately a 1-2 strke punishment if you are off the fairway easily. Then there are a few pockets of unkept palmetto shrubs that will gladly eat up your disc and probably also house some snakes.

6) If only the course could have been altered slightly so that the two water shots were not on back to back holes and the two tightest wooded holes were also not back to back. I'm happy for the diversity but it would be nice if you didn't have those 4 holes in a back to back type setup. Oh well, I'm just nitpicking now.

7) No way of knowing which position the basket is located . . .this is something I would highly appreciate being a travelling player.

8) DGA Mach baskets are hard to find in many places because of the surrounding foliage and dormant turf.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great experience. I played with the local weekly sunday league and an old friend of mine. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the course because I typically prefer the tight more technical holes but this course still forced you to pick a shot and execute. They used key trees throughout the course to give you lanes. It was incredibly clean and rewarded good shots. The biggest punishment of bad shots out here would have to be the OB areas and the two tightest holes in the woods. I will be back for sure unless Jacksonville puts in a couple more nice new courses by the time I return to the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Solid course

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Solid course. Good mix of technical wooded holes, Long Bomb holes, And some challenging water Hazards
2) Bag holders at every hole
3)Benches and Trash cans scattered throughout
4) Course loops back around to the parking lot after 12 holes (1-9 & A-C)
5)Fair to both righties and lefties
Cons: 1) Hole 9 is a nasty water hole, throw around if you don't have a very strong arm. watched at least 3 discs go into the lake the day i was there.
2) Pedestrians walking through the park...it is a walking path....so i can't complain...but you do have to be aware of them when throwing on a few holes
Other Thoughts: Drove 3.5 hours to play this course, and wasn't disappointed. Good solid course....and worth the play if youre within an hour or two of here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Florida Course

5+    10/17/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 88  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fore Palms is solid course. All of the amenities are there; Every hole has two sets of cement teepads, a tee-specific teesign, and a bench or two. Most holes also have multiple pin placements and carpeted areas in front of and behind the teepad to help out your ankles if you have a long run-up or step off of the pad on your follow through. There is also an informational board next to hole one with a large and detailed course map that includes special course notes (things like O.B. and other course-specific information) and the rules of the game.

The multiple pads means that the course itself caters very well to all skill levels. The shorter red pads are great for newer players and can be great tune-up course for the short game of more advanced players. The longer blue pads add considerable distance to most of the holes. There is also a gold 'layout' that converts the 24 hole standard layout into an 18 hole safari layout, which introduces some longer, true par 4s and 5s. Between the three sets of pads this is a course that is very beginner friendly, and yet continues to provide a challenge to players of higher degrees of skill.

As a Florida course, Fore Palms is mostly flat and has a plenty of palmettos and a few palm trees. The design makes great use of what little elevation there is though, and the standout example of this is hole 8.

What really sets this course apart is the local club. This is essentially the only course in Jacksonville, and so the club is fairly active and unified about the course. The locals really care about maintaining a quality disc golf environment, and this is reflected in the pristine upkeep of the course.
Cons: The first tee is hidden in the back of the park and can be hard to locate if you haven't played there before.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend hitting up the weekly action if you can. It's a really fun atmosphere and the locals are fantastic.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Forehand friendly longs, technical shorts

5+    10/11/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fore Palms DGC is what I would term a fantastic urban course. I tend to divide the courses I play into natural settings or urban settings, and Fore Palms is definitely the latter. In terms of an urban course you generally have to rank it based on how well the course designer used the land available to him.

At Fore Palms the land was used very well. The flow for the original 18 is fantastic, and even with the two extra sets of 3 holes for a full 24 the flow is very good. The course also manages to take advantage, to at least some extent, of every piece of terrain available - with holes playing through loose groves of trees, thick woods, wide open fields, and over the one water hazard available.

In terms of the shot selection: the long tees can be a challenge, but are very righty forehand or lefty friendly. The short tees on the other hand require a nice variety of shots. Straight, hyzer, forehand, and forced anhyzer are all available. The putting greens also take advantage of what is available with many of them placed amongst the sparse trees available on many of the open holes - forcing at least some putts to be more than just an easy up and down into the chains.

The course also takes great advantage of the bike/walking paths around to create some out of bounds that will alter your shot selection. In many cases it really does give a nice advantage to a player with more shots in his bag, allowing someone with a better forehand to take advantage of playing it over the OB and fading in bounds on some holes, and the person with the better backhand able to do the same on others.

The course also has fantastic teepads, great and accurate signage, and the baskets are all nice. They aren't the most modern models, but they're well taken care of with no visibly damaged targets. Overall the basic course conditions have been nothing but great - I haven't yet seen a downed branch/tree in a fairway, a screwed up tee sign, or a poor teepad. Additionally there is a convenient putting basket set up near the first tee, but out of the way enough to not interfere with any play on the course. On lighter days one can throw back and forth between one's target and the practice green for a solid mid-game tune-up.
Cons: There are also some definite downsides to playing Fore Palms. As I said - the long tees are righty forehand or lefty friendly. If you have a strong forehand for a righty or play left handed, you have a very strong advantage over the competition if you can put those shots out into the 350-375 range. For those lacking that range - the long tees could be a drag because it turns into a simple round of safe drive-upshot-drop in.

Additionally - as has been said before here: Although the course designer was given leave to use virtually every inch of space available, hole one was buried in the back corner of the park. If I had not examined the park carefully on the club website's map I probably would have wound up lost my first time out. And I drove into the wrong parking lot at least my first two times out, trying to find my way all the way back there. It isn't a true knock on the course, but working with the parks to get some directional signs is a must.

Finally - the same paved walking/biking paths that create such well placed out-of-bounds hazards, can also be viewed as a negative. The course designer did a great job using what was available, but there are numerous pedestrians on the trails every single day. The course really does bump that public area repeatedly, and it is an absolute necessity to keep an eye on the locations of pedestrians on this course or you will find yourself praying your errant shot (or even some more well placed ones) doesn't hit a pedestrian.

The only negative I can see in the use of the terrain otherwise might be that there are two back-to-back holes playing through the thick woods bordering the course, and then nothing else. Interspersing a few of those alongside (for example) 11 and 12 could help break the course up nicely just as holes 6 and 7 do early in the round.
Other Thoughts: Overall I gave this course an "Excellent" rating because it really is excellent. I understand that the negatives are strong, and could bump it down a notch - but the overall experience of the course, and the enjoyment I have for playing this style of course, are both high. Fore Palms is a very well designed course, that does what it can to take advantage of the property offered, other than the need to use a little more of those thick woods.

I recommend playing it, and for Jacksonville residents stuck with it as their only 18 hole course - it definitely could be far worse. This is a course that is strong technically, and offers fantastic enjoyability.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fine course

2-4    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: mrpbody33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple teepads with sometimes multiple basket location can provide much needed variety. The course flows pretty well even with the added "temp" holes and is fairly easy to navigate the first time around. All the teeboxes are level with the ground and have carpet before and after the pad for extra those of us who like to run up off the pad. The last few holes are pretty tough and this is a great aspect to the course.
Cons: Not much to complain about besides it can be tough to locate the DGA baskets around the course if they are hidden. Course signs could benefit from marking whether the basket is in either position. Course can be tough to find the first time. Big arms only from the long pads as most of the shots are over 350 feet. This can be a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I played the long pads twice and struggled a couple times to locate the baskets the first time through. With the majority of the holes from the blues being over 350' I found myself just chucking the straight distance driver. No real variety of shots on the long open holes but still fun. Play for par and should shoot well. Would have liked to played the reds but time didn't allow for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.