Jacksonville, FL
Fore Palms DGC Share
Uploaded By: AJ_86 Hole #11 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Short Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Jacksonville Course

1    10/24/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Sideshow
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a great time playing this course. Overall it is a pretty wide open course with a few wooded holes which test your abilities. Managed to lose 1 disc over the Hole # 9 water hole.
Cons: You need to watch out for joggers and walkers who are on the walking path that snakes throughout the course
Other Thoughts: Course only had 2 other players on it on a Monday morning which was nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Solid course

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Solid course. Good mix of technical wooded holes, Long Bomb holes, And some challenging water Hazards
2) Bag holders at every hole
3)Benches and Trash cans scattered throughout
4) Course loops back around to the parking lot after 12 holes (1-9 & A-C)
5)Fair to both righties and lefties
Cons: 1) Hole 9 is a nasty water hole, throw around if you don't have a very strong arm. watched at least 3 discs go into the lake the day i was there.
2) Pedestrians walking through the park...it is a walking path....so i can't complain...but you do have to be aware of them when throwing on a few holes
Other Thoughts: Drove 3.5 hours to play this course, and wasn't disappointed. Good solid course....and worth the play if youre within an hour or two of here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/13/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Jim West
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with even distribution of woods, open hole, or water hazards. Clean and well kept up, pets are permitted, and familys walk around the park and through the course on the Asphalt trail. The signs at the tee pads inform you of the OB's. There are a couple of blind holes where the basket is tucked away out of sight namely hole #2.. This park was an 18 hole golf course originally, so it has the look and feel of a golf course. There are an additional 9 holes after the18 on the other side of the parking lot labeled A through I.
Cons: some pads were concrete, some were stone, some even have carpet on the back side. When you enter the course when driving it is hard to find hole 1 unless someone gave you a hint. Hole #9 is a water hazard that I lost my sidewinder on, there wasnt even a way to lay up. #10 is a water hazard also but runs along the pond. After coming out of the woods on 7 looking for 8 it was kind of confusing.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for pedestrians on holes #2 #3 #8 and a couple others the Walking Path is pretty close to the baskets or run alongside the whole of the run to the basket. Easy to hit people if you arent careful and it is OB. Just a heads up!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fore a Good Time

1    7/28/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ed Austin Park is home to Fore Palms DGC, on the grounds of an old ball golf course. The amenities are good, with signs and bag holders on each hole, as well as many benches and a few trash cans throughout. The course layout is fairly easy to follow and all baskets are in good condition. There is only a couple of heavily wooded holes, but most blue tees are positioned so the drives vary in shape often. Most baskets are guarded by mature trees. There are two tees on every hole, and alternate pin placements on several holes. Elevation changes are very minimal, most holes are quite flat. Wind was a small factor on the day of my visit. Some water is present, but it is not much, and not very intimidating.
Cons: Overall, Fore Palms is a fun, solid course. The tee pads are good enough, but not the same throughout the course. Some are concrete, some block pavers, and they could be a little longer. The park is also used by other people, so occasionally pedestrians may come into play. There are some spots that are OB crossing into maintenance facilities or peoples back yards.
Other Thoughts: Fore Palms DGC in Jacksonville is a very good course with a few extra holes, in case 18 just isn't enough for you. It is located in a nice, multi-use city park that is clean and well kept. Not a terribly difficult course, but has length, and enough trees to keep it interesting. I enjoyed playing there, and would love to visit again sometime.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!!

1    7/22/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: aajpity
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Maps for each hole!
*Good beginner course
*Signs
*Bag Holders
*Benches
*Variety of hole types
*No tall grass
*Hard to lose disc on 16/18 holes!
Cons: *Two serious water hazards
*First hole can be hard to find
*Path intersecting hole #17
Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed this course. I went with my uncle and it was his first time and he also enjoyed it. It was confusing for about a minute when we got there but then it was fine (once someone helped us). Towards the end the hole's start becoming longer and more open it seemed like which was nice. I would deffinitly recomend this course to any disc golfers in the Jacksonville area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The converted ball golf to disc golf course

1    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2 Concrete tapered Tee pads for each hole with a painted strip on each (red and Blue) to identify the tees. This was a nice touch. Even signs at both tee pads!
-Bag holders at the tees. This was first for me and a very nice amenity!
-The signage at the beginning was extensive and thoughtful. There was a place for scorecards(although empty the day I was there)
-Good use of the land that has a ball golf open feel to many of the holes but with added tight wooded holes to break up the monotony of the open holes
-Two water holes add a risk/reward to the course
-Most baskets are surrounded by a sandlot which keeps your disc from rolling away when you approach
-The added bonus of palm trees on the course gave it a vacation feel(out of towner here)
The course is set in a very nice park with some open ball fields if you want to "go to the driving range" with your discs before you play.
-The open holes add a forgiveness factor on your long bomb shots with that new driver you just bought.
Cons: -With a number of open holes, there was a bit of redundancy.
- Hole #1 can be a bit hard to find (although, I always use my GPS Longitude and latitude) so it took me right to the parking lot of hole #1.
-Navigation on the front nine go slightly confusing but nothing drastic. With a little wandering, I found my way.
- The added "extra holes" a,b,c on the front and d,e,f on the back come into play in the middle of each respective 9 hole set. Due to time, I skipped these if you use the scorecard on this site, it adds them into the # of holes you played. (While I realize this if not a fault of the course, it messes up scoring on this site.
- the course tends to often play left to right so I found myself playing more sidearm than backhand. Again, not a huge problem but for those who only play backhand, you'll either be throwing a lot of anhyzer shots or playing the long way around.
Other Thoughts: Fore Palms has a "different" feel to it compared to most county park courses I have played. This is a welcomed addition to the sport. The converted ball golf course feel allows for a lot of open play with minimal trees to deal with. There are trees to deal with. The added wooded holes add a nice change of pace to the open play and forces you to really hit your line or hit a tree. You'd be hard pressed to lose a disc here other than on the two water holes. The water adds a nice touch. Hole #9 allows you to grow into throwing over water as you can go around to the left to the basket or gradually take the risk with some water and hyzer off safely or go for it straight to the basket.
The day I played it was wet and slightly rainy. Most of the ground throughout the course in sandy with grass and the small little gnats that live in the sand are everywhere so bring bug spray.
I think most who play this course will remember it for its different feel than other courses even without any signature holes. (I'm actually looking forward to playing it again.) The front nine were definitely the better nine if you had to choose.
The course is well laid out and the locals are friendly. Definitely a place to add to your wish list.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice Fla. course

1    5/30/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of an old "ball" golf course. The sign at the start of the course is great, full of information. There are flush restrooms close to hole #1. Important to my wife, playing with me that day.
I thought the course was adapted nicely from the old ball format to disc and basket. Nice use of the old tees and greens to give a little elevation to an otherwise very flat piece of property. There are both open and wooded holes available and for those of you with the big arms hole 18 is 660 feet of disc bombing pleasure. There are multiple tees and baskets for every hole, plenty of variety. I especially liked the bag rack at each hole along with many benches to rest if needed. The fact that both the red and the blue tees had signs was a nice touch also. A lot of thought and effort has gone into designing and maintaining this course.
It takes a pretty hefty throw to clear the water at 9 and 10 if you go at the basket. There is however plenty of space to play safe. This is not a driver and putter kind of course. You will need a variety of shots, both power and accuracy are required to score well here. Great test of your skill.
Cons: Without directions it is hard to find hole 1. For the most part the course is fairly easy to navigate. However, there are a few tees that can be hard to find for first timers. A few next tee signs would help greatly. Unfortunately I have to add the restrooms to the con list also as the doors would not lock. This required me standing guard outside the door.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a really fun course. Plenty of variety required and power needed also. I especially like the baskets tucked behind trees and up on the old ball tee boxes to add some
difficulty and interest. All the locals I ran into were friendly and helpful. Next time I am back in Jax I will be looking for another round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Options

1    2/10/2011   2/13/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Two Great Water Shots. Holes 9 and 10 are both 300'ish water crossings over a small shallow pond. Definitely adds a little pressure off the tee.
- Dual Tees. Every Hole had two tees: red and blue… although they were often not that different from each other (see Cons). This does however allow people the opportunity to chose the level of difficulty that fits their game.
- Multiple Pin Placements. Every Hole seemed to have multiple pin placements as well (at least 2 spots per hole). This, coupled with the dual tee-pads, allows for course variety over time… it also helps the pin placements on the grass from developing a ring of mud around them.
- Proper Kiosk. Great kiosk with a large map of the course, information about local events, their points series, a scorecard mailbox (although empty), etc…
Cons:
- Neighbors. A few of the holes on the Back-9 play along the fenceline of what I would consider the local projects. It is definitely a run-down looking apartment complex. The neighbors were a little unsavory too… making monkey noises during my drive and putts and talking smack from their second story balcony.
- Difference Between Dual Tees is Too Small. I don't understand why they went through the trouble of making dual tees and didn't take the time to make them different enough to be meaningful. Most of the "long tees" are only 30' longer than, and in-line with, the short tees.
- Labeled Pars. Two or three of the Holes should have been labeled as Par 4's. 660' Par 3? Par is an important concept to the mentality of the game, get with it people!
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. The open holes feel a little too redundant. The trees on the open holes provide some form of shot shaping qualities, but in reality good players will have no problem playing around them. The few wooded Holes are a welcome addition… and, water shots are always a plus. The little available elevation was excellently used as well. Overall, it was a good time… I wish I could have played it right handed.
- Six Extra Holes. There are three extra holes on the Front 9 (A, B, C) and three extra Holes on the Back 9 (D, E, F). I did not play any of the extra holes… but, from what I could see of them, the ones on the front side looked more interesting… the ones on the backside looked like more of the same.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around course

1    12/24/2010   12/25/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging enough for better players, but not frustrating for those learning the game. I thought this course would be harder for noobs considering it was a 24 holer, but the locals said this course was far better than the other local options.

small water hazard added to the risk on several holes.

2 pin positions and 2 concrete tee pads at each hole. Nice signs showed the holes well, but nothing designated which pin position the baskets were in.

nice use of the woods for 2 tightly wooded holes.
Cons: No amazing signature holes to write home about. Course had some redundency.

Flow is decent, but a few holes took some time to find, especially when the letter holes were near.

Walkers can occasionally get in the way, but the course is designed to minimize this issue.
Other Thoughts: This was a good course, but it was hard to think of any thing great about it, or any major flaws. When you enter the park you will see a basket, if you park in the first lot, you will be all the way over by hole 16, which is a long way from hole one. You have to drive about 1/3 of a mile further to get to the correct parking lot.
I lost 3 discs in that little pond. A nice champ valk skipped across the water almost making it to the bank but is sink over 20 feet right of the basket. a DX Shark on the opposite side as the basket 4 feet from shore, I have a large branch pointing to where it landed. a DX leopard is near the middle of the pond on the opposite side of the pond as the basket.
If you find these they are yours.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Florida Course

5+    10/17/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 82  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fore Palms is solid course. All of the amenities are there; Every hole has two sets of cement teepads, a tee-specific teesign, and a bench or two. Most holes also have multiple pin placements and carpeted areas in front of and behind the teepad to help out your ankles if you have a long run-up or step off of the pad on your follow through. There is also an informational board next to hole one with a large and detailed course map that includes special course notes (things like O.B. and other course-specific information) and the rules of the game.

The multiple pads means that the course itself caters very well to all skill levels. The shorter red pads are great for newer players and can be great tune-up course for the short game of more advanced players. The longer blue pads add considerable distance to most of the holes. There is also a gold 'layout' that converts the 24 hole standard layout into an 18 hole safari layout, which introduces some longer, true par 4s and 5s. Between the three sets of pads this is a course that is very beginner friendly, and yet continues to provide a challenge to players of higher degrees of skill.

As a Florida course, Fore Palms is mostly flat and has a plenty of palmettos and a few palm trees. The design makes great use of what little elevation there is though, and the standout example of this is hole 8.

What really sets this course apart is the local club. This is essentially the only course in Jacksonville, and so the club is fairly active and unified about the course. The locals really care about maintaining a quality disc golf environment, and this is reflected in the pristine upkeep of the course.
Cons: The first tee is hidden in the back of the park and can be hard to locate if you haven't played there before.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend hitting up the weekly action if you can. It's a really fun atmosphere and the locals are fantastic.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.