Jacksonville, FL 
Fore Palms DGC Share
Uploaded By: AJ_86 Hole #17 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tees



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Florida Flat

1    8/6/2011   5/29/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course with some nice distance and a few narrow holes to test you as well. Great course amenities, specifically easy access to benches and trash cans.
Cons: No real negatives as you can not expect elevation in Florida, but I personally enjoy a more hilly terrain.
Be careful of the water...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice parkstyle course

1    2/12/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large trapezoidal concrete tees. I love this as the standard for disc golf! There is a painted strip on the tees to indicate red or blue tee so there is no confusion. Shared tees have both colors indicated.

2) Benches and bag racks available from time to time throughout the course.

3) Nice signage with Hole #, distance, par and hole maps. Always a welcome sight for the travelling disc golfer.

4) Awesome group of league players here. I showed up to meet an old friend from Wisconsin and I was welcomed into the group like I was from the area. I even took two of the 4 CTP's and $18 back . . . granted I paid $13 to play in the league $1 to play, $1 non member, $1 per CTP, $1 for the ace, and $6 for the skins game. I have never paid more than $7 for league and this one cost me $13. I ended up donating the $5 that I actually profited from back to their club because it was such a good time.

5) Great variety on this course for what was originally a short 9 hole executive golf course. The design uses the best of the wooded areas to make for a really great course.

6) There was a unique thing on this course I have never seen anywhere else. There were short little carpet strips short of the teepads. I am not sure if the design was to give you a place to kick the sand off your shoes but they seemed to do a good job of keeping the teepads fairly clean. There were even a few areas where I noticed the same material on the fallaway at the end of the teepad so if you overstep through your drive you can land on that instead of dropping down to the sand/turf.

7) 24 holes out here which is always nice for the travelling disc golfer to get in as much disc golf as possible. The course could be played any number of ways . . . front 9, front 12, back 9, back 12 or play all 24. This probably helps when events and league are going on to allow the casual players to skip ahead of the organized players.

8) There is an excellent variety of holes out here which was not really expected. Sure there are a lot of holes with wider fairways, but they use key trees to their advantage. Then there are some holes that run through the peripheral wooded areas between the old fairways. Then there are a couple of holes that are as tight as I have ever seen.

9) Very beginner friendly course because it is mostly open. The distance my get to some beginners, but what better way than to learn the game than by throwing a lot!

10) There were a lot of shots needed out here. You can throw many holes with a straight or slight hyzer, but there are also a couple of tight anhyzer lines on a couple of holes. There also are quite a few places where a roller might be a beneficial shot to have in the bag. I only threw a couple rollers because I wanted to play safe because it was league and my rollers can have a tendency to get a little wild.

11) Multiple pin placements on many of the holes makes this an even more attractive course allowing for a different layout all the time. Having dual tees is also a benefit because it allows different skill levels to enjoy this course.

12) Water is another feature on this course that comes into play really on 2 holes. It is the same type and length of shot both times, but there is a definite pucker factor. I just played safe and short and left both times and took my pars., but the true risk/reward is there for those that can throw 300'.

13) Surprisingly undulating fairways in a few places out here. Nothing outstanding but most likely the undulations were made when the golf course was constructed.

14) Practice basket available near the first tee and plenty of room to work on some approaches and longer putts too.

15) There is a nice kiosk with a hole map and distances listed on one section. There also is a lot of postings because it seems like there is a really active group of locals. Like I said the league was awesome but I also know there is a glow league out here on Wednesdays. This would be a fun course to play glow disc golf for sure.
Cons: 1) Distance variation is something I felt like could have been handled better. There is so much room out here that the holes could be varied a whole lot more than they are. This is the type of course that usually frustrates me because most of the holes are just outside my range and I end up with a lot of tap in 3's but for some reason this course didn't feel that way . . . perhaps because there were still a lot of things to make those upshots not feel simple layups everytime.

2) While the variety of the foliage was good, I would like the balance swung a little more towards balance and while this course is most heavily weighted towards the moderately open hole with key trees, I think they maybe could have used a little bit more of the tighter wooded areas to create better balance.

3) Walking path does come into play on a number of holes. I appreciate that the path was probably here before the disc golf as it was probably intended for the golf course . . .but everyone needs to be aware of everyone else. Please be careful and don't risk anyone getting hurt.

4) There was a slightly repetitive feeling on a lot of the holes because they were mostly open with key trees. It wasn't so much in the shot needed but in the look and feel of the holes.

5) A few of the areas off the fairway can get thick . . . the tight wooded holes are ultimately a 1-2 strke punishment if you are off the fairway easily. Then there are a few pockets of unkept palmetto shrubs that will gladly eat up your disc and probably also house some snakes.

6) If only the course could have been altered slightly so that the two water shots were not on back to back holes and the two tightest wooded holes were also not back to back. I'm happy for the diversity but it would be nice if you didn't have those 4 holes in a back to back type setup. Oh well, I'm just nitpicking now.

7) No way of knowing which position the basket is located . . .this is something I would highly appreciate being a travelling player.

8) DGA Mach baskets are hard to find in many places because of the surrounding foliage and dormant turf.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great experience. I played with the local weekly sunday league and an old friend of mine. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the course because I typically prefer the tight more technical holes but this course still forced you to pick a shot and execute. They used key trees throughout the course to give you lanes. It was incredibly clean and rewarded good shots. The biggest punishment of bad shots out here would have to be the OB areas and the two tightest holes in the woods. I will be back for sure unless Jacksonville puts in a couple more nice new courses by the time I return to the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Jacksonville Course

1    10/24/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Sideshow
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a great time playing this course. Overall it is a pretty wide open course with a few wooded holes which test your abilities. Managed to lose 1 disc over the Hole # 9 water hole.
Cons: You need to watch out for joggers and walkers who are on the walking path that snakes throughout the course
Other Thoughts: Course only had 2 other players on it on a Monday morning which was nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Solid course

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Solid course. Good mix of technical wooded holes, Long Bomb holes, And some challenging water Hazards
2) Bag holders at every hole
3)Benches and Trash cans scattered throughout
4) Course loops back around to the parking lot after 12 holes (1-9 & A-C)
5)Fair to both righties and lefties
Cons: 1) Hole 9 is a nasty water hole, throw around if you don't have a very strong arm. watched at least 3 discs go into the lake the day i was there.
2) Pedestrians walking through the park...it is a walking path....so i can't complain...but you do have to be aware of them when throwing on a few holes
Other Thoughts: Drove 3.5 hours to play this course, and wasn't disappointed. Good solid course....and worth the play if youre within an hour or two of here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/13/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Jim West
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with even distribution of woods, open hole, or water hazards. Clean and well kept up, pets are permitted, and familys walk around the park and through the course on the Asphalt trail. The signs at the tee pads inform you of the OB's. There are a couple of blind holes where the basket is tucked away out of sight namely hole #2.. This park was an 18 hole golf course originally, so it has the look and feel of a golf course. There are an additional 9 holes after the18 on the other side of the parking lot labeled A through I.
Cons: some pads were concrete, some were stone, some even have carpet on the back side. When you enter the course when driving it is hard to find hole 1 unless someone gave you a hint. Hole #9 is a water hazard that I lost my sidewinder on, there wasnt even a way to lay up. #10 is a water hazard also but runs along the pond. After coming out of the woods on 7 looking for 8 it was kind of confusing.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for pedestrians on holes #2 #3 #8 and a couple others the Walking Path is pretty close to the baskets or run alongside the whole of the run to the basket. Easy to hit people if you arent careful and it is OB. Just a heads up!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fore a Good Time

1    7/28/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ed Austin Park is home to Fore Palms DGC, on the grounds of an old ball golf course. The amenities are good, with signs and bag holders on each hole, as well as many benches and a few trash cans throughout. The course layout is fairly easy to follow and all baskets are in good condition. There is only a couple of heavily wooded holes, but most blue tees are positioned so the drives vary in shape often. Most baskets are guarded by mature trees. There are two tees on every hole, and alternate pin placements on several holes. Elevation changes are very minimal, most holes are quite flat. Wind was a small factor on the day of my visit. Some water is present, but it is not much, and not very intimidating.
Cons: Overall, Fore Palms is a fun, solid course. The tee pads are good enough, but not the same throughout the course. Some are concrete, some block pavers, and they could be a little longer. The park is also used by other people, so occasionally pedestrians may come into play. There are some spots that are OB crossing into maintenance facilities or peoples back yards.
Other Thoughts: Fore Palms DGC in Jacksonville is a very good course with a few extra holes, in case 18 just isn't enough for you. It is located in a nice, multi-use city park that is clean and well kept. Not a terribly difficult course, but has length, and enough trees to keep it interesting. I enjoyed playing there, and would love to visit again sometime.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!!

1    7/22/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: aajpity
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Maps for each hole!
*Good beginner course
*Signs
*Bag Holders
*Benches
*Variety of hole types
*No tall grass
*Hard to lose disc on 16/18 holes!
Cons: *Two serious water hazards
*First hole can be hard to find
*Path intersecting hole #17
Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed this course. I went with my uncle and it was his first time and he also enjoyed it. It was confusing for about a minute when we got there but then it was fine (once someone helped us). Towards the end the hole's start becoming longer and more open it seemed like which was nice. I would deffinitly recomend this course to any disc golfers in the Jacksonville area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The converted ball golf to disc golf course

1    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2 Concrete tapered Tee pads for each hole with a painted strip on each (red and Blue) to identify the tees. This was a nice touch. Even signs at both tee pads!
-Bag holders at the tees. This was first for me and a very nice amenity!
-The signage at the beginning was extensive and thoughtful. There was a place for scorecards(although empty the day I was there)
-Good use of the land that has a ball golf open feel to many of the holes but with added tight wooded holes to break up the monotony of the open holes
-Two water holes add a risk/reward to the course
-Most baskets are surrounded by a sandlot which keeps your disc from rolling away when you approach
-The added bonus of palm trees on the course gave it a vacation feel(out of towner here)
The course is set in a very nice park with some open ball fields if you want to "go to the driving range" with your discs before you play.
-The open holes add a forgiveness factor on your long bomb shots with that new driver you just bought.
Cons: -With a number of open holes, there was a bit of redundancy.
- Hole #1 can be a bit hard to find (although, I always use my GPS Longitude and latitude) so it took me right to the parking lot of hole #1.
-Navigation on the front nine go slightly confusing but nothing drastic. With a little wandering, I found my way.
- The added "extra holes" a,b,c on the front and d,e,f on the back come into play in the middle of each respective 9 hole set. Due to time, I skipped these if you use the scorecard on this site, it adds them into the # of holes you played. (While I realize this if not a fault of the course, it messes up scoring on this site.
- the course tends to often play left to right so I found myself playing more sidearm than backhand. Again, not a huge problem but for those who only play backhand, you'll either be throwing a lot of anhyzer shots or playing the long way around.
Other Thoughts: Fore Palms has a "different" feel to it compared to most county park courses I have played. This is a welcomed addition to the sport. The converted ball golf course feel allows for a lot of open play with minimal trees to deal with. There are trees to deal with. The added wooded holes add a nice change of pace to the open play and forces you to really hit your line or hit a tree. You'd be hard pressed to lose a disc here other than on the two water holes. The water adds a nice touch. Hole #9 allows you to grow into throwing over water as you can go around to the left to the basket or gradually take the risk with some water and hyzer off safely or go for it straight to the basket.
The day I played it was wet and slightly rainy. Most of the ground throughout the course in sandy with grass and the small little gnats that live in the sand are everywhere so bring bug spray.
I think most who play this course will remember it for its different feel than other courses even without any signature holes. (I'm actually looking forward to playing it again.) The front nine were definitely the better nine if you had to choose.
The course is well laid out and the locals are friendly. Definitely a place to add to your wish list.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice Fla. course

1    5/30/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of an old "ball" golf course. The sign at the start of the course is great, full of information. There are flush restrooms close to hole #1. Important to my wife, playing with me that day.
I thought the course was adapted nicely from the old ball format to disc and basket. Nice use of the old tees and greens to give a little elevation to an otherwise very flat piece of property. There are both open and wooded holes available and for those of you with the big arms hole 18 is 660 feet of disc bombing pleasure. There are multiple tees and baskets for every hole, plenty of variety. I especially liked the bag rack at each hole along with many benches to rest if needed. The fact that both the red and the blue tees had signs was a nice touch also. A lot of thought and effort has gone into designing and maintaining this course.
It takes a pretty hefty throw to clear the water at 9 and 10 if you go at the basket. There is however plenty of space to play safe. This is not a driver and putter kind of course. You will need a variety of shots, both power and accuracy are required to score well here. Great test of your skill.
Cons: Without directions it is hard to find hole 1. For the most part the course is fairly easy to navigate. However, there are a few tees that can be hard to find for first timers. A few next tee signs would help greatly. Unfortunately I have to add the restrooms to the con list also as the doors would not lock. This required me standing guard outside the door.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a really fun course. Plenty of variety required and power needed also. I especially like the baskets tucked behind trees and up on the old ball tee boxes to add some
difficulty and interest. All the locals I ran into were friendly and helpful. Next time I am back in Jax I will be looking for another round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Options

1    2/10/2011   2/13/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Two Great Water Shots. Holes 9 and 10 are both 300'ish water crossings over a small shallow pond. Definitely adds a little pressure off the tee.
- Dual Tees. Every Hole had two tees: red and blue… although they were often not that different from each other (see Cons). This does however allow people the opportunity to chose the level of difficulty that fits their game.
- Multiple Pin Placements. Every Hole seemed to have multiple pin placements as well (at least 2 spots per hole). This, coupled with the dual tee-pads, allows for course variety over time… it also helps the pin placements on the grass from developing a ring of mud around them.
- Proper Kiosk. Great kiosk with a large map of the course, information about local events, their points series, a scorecard mailbox (although empty), etc…
Cons:
- Neighbors. A few of the holes on the Back-9 play along the fenceline of what I would consider the local projects. It is definitely a run-down looking apartment complex. The neighbors were a little unsavory too… making monkey noises during my drive and putts and talking smack from their second story balcony.
- Difference Between Dual Tees is Too Small. I don't understand why they went through the trouble of making dual tees and didn't take the time to make them different enough to be meaningful. Most of the "long tees" are only 30' longer than, and in-line with, the short tees.
- Labeled Pars. Two or three of the Holes should have been labeled as Par 4's. 660' Par 3? Par is an important concept to the mentality of the game, get with it people!
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. The open holes feel a little too redundant. The trees on the open holes provide some form of shot shaping qualities, but in reality good players will have no problem playing around them. The few wooded Holes are a welcome addition… and, water shots are always a plus. The little available elevation was excellently used as well. Overall, it was a good time… I wish I could have played it right handed.
- Six Extra Holes. There are three extra holes on the Front 9 (A, B, C) and three extra Holes on the Back 9 (D, E, F). I did not play any of the extra holes… but, from what I could see of them, the ones on the front side looked more interesting… the ones on the backside looked like more of the same.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.