Jacksonville, FL 
Fore Palms DGC Share
Uploaded By: AJ_86 Hole #15 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great all around course

1    12/24/2010   12/25/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging enough for better players, but not frustrating for those learning the game. I thought this course would be harder for noobs considering it was a 24 holer, but the locals said this course was far better than the other local options.

small water hazard added to the risk on several holes.

2 pin positions and 2 concrete tee pads at each hole. Nice signs showed the holes well, but nothing designated which pin position the baskets were in.

nice use of the woods for 2 tightly wooded holes.
Cons: No amazing signature holes to write home about. Course had some redundency.

Flow is decent, but a few holes took some time to find, especially when the letter holes were near.

Walkers can occasionally get in the way, but the course is designed to minimize this issue.
Other Thoughts: This was a good course, but it was hard to think of any thing great about it, or any major flaws. When you enter the park you will see a basket, if you park in the first lot, you will be all the way over by hole 16, which is a long way from hole one. You have to drive about 1/3 of a mile further to get to the correct parking lot.
I lost 3 discs in that little pond. A nice champ valk skipped across the water almost making it to the bank but is sink over 20 feet right of the basket. a DX Shark on the opposite side as the basket 4 feet from shore, I have a large branch pointing to where it landed. a DX leopard is near the middle of the pond on the opposite side of the pond as the basket.
If you find these they are yours.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Florida Course

5+    10/17/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 88  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fore Palms is solid course. All of the amenities are there; Every hole has two sets of cement teepads, a tee-specific teesign, and a bench or two. Most holes also have multiple pin placements and carpeted areas in front of and behind the teepad to help out your ankles if you have a long run-up or step off of the pad on your follow through. There is also an informational board next to hole one with a large and detailed course map that includes special course notes (things like O.B. and other course-specific information) and the rules of the game.

The multiple pads means that the course itself caters very well to all skill levels. The shorter red pads are great for newer players and can be great tune-up course for the short game of more advanced players. The longer blue pads add considerable distance to most of the holes. There is also a gold 'layout' that converts the 24 hole standard layout into an 18 hole safari layout, which introduces some longer, true par 4s and 5s. Between the three sets of pads this is a course that is very beginner friendly, and yet continues to provide a challenge to players of higher degrees of skill.

As a Florida course, Fore Palms is mostly flat and has a plenty of palmettos and a few palm trees. The design makes great use of what little elevation there is though, and the standout example of this is hole 8.

What really sets this course apart is the local club. This is essentially the only course in Jacksonville, and so the club is fairly active and unified about the course. The locals really care about maintaining a quality disc golf environment, and this is reflected in the pristine upkeep of the course.
Cons: The first tee is hidden in the back of the park and can be hard to locate if you haven't played there before.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend hitting up the weekly action if you can. It's a really fun atmosphere and the locals are fantastic.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Forehand friendly longs, technical shorts

5+    10/11/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fore Palms DGC is what I would term a fantastic urban course. I tend to divide the courses I play into natural settings or urban settings, and Fore Palms is definitely the latter. In terms of an urban course you generally have to rank it based on how well the course designer used the land available to him.

At Fore Palms the land was used very well. The flow for the original 18 is fantastic, and even with the two extra sets of 3 holes for a full 24 the flow is very good. The course also manages to take advantage, to at least some extent, of every piece of terrain available - with holes playing through loose groves of trees, thick woods, wide open fields, and over the one water hazard available.

In terms of the shot selection: the long tees can be a challenge, but are very righty forehand or lefty friendly. The short tees on the other hand require a nice variety of shots. Straight, hyzer, forehand, and forced anhyzer are all available. The putting greens also take advantage of what is available with many of them placed amongst the sparse trees available on many of the open holes - forcing at least some putts to be more than just an easy up and down into the chains.

The course also takes great advantage of the bike/walking paths around to create some out of bounds that will alter your shot selection. In many cases it really does give a nice advantage to a player with more shots in his bag, allowing someone with a better forehand to take advantage of playing it over the OB and fading in bounds on some holes, and the person with the better backhand able to do the same on others.

The course also has fantastic teepads, great and accurate signage, and the baskets are all nice. They aren't the most modern models, but they're well taken care of with no visibly damaged targets. Overall the basic course conditions have been nothing but great - I haven't yet seen a downed branch/tree in a fairway, a screwed up tee sign, or a poor teepad. Additionally there is a convenient putting basket set up near the first tee, but out of the way enough to not interfere with any play on the course. On lighter days one can throw back and forth between one's target and the practice green for a solid mid-game tune-up.
Cons: There are also some definite downsides to playing Fore Palms. As I said - the long tees are righty forehand or lefty friendly. If you have a strong forehand for a righty or play left handed, you have a very strong advantage over the competition if you can put those shots out into the 350-375 range. For those lacking that range - the long tees could be a drag because it turns into a simple round of safe drive-upshot-drop in.

Additionally - as has been said before here: Although the course designer was given leave to use virtually every inch of space available, hole one was buried in the back corner of the park. If I had not examined the park carefully on the club website's map I probably would have wound up lost my first time out. And I drove into the wrong parking lot at least my first two times out, trying to find my way all the way back there. It isn't a true knock on the course, but working with the parks to get some directional signs is a must.

Finally - the same paved walking/biking paths that create such well placed out-of-bounds hazards, can also be viewed as a negative. The course designer did a great job using what was available, but there are numerous pedestrians on the trails every single day. The course really does bump that public area repeatedly, and it is an absolute necessity to keep an eye on the locations of pedestrians on this course or you will find yourself praying your errant shot (or even some more well placed ones) doesn't hit a pedestrian.

The only negative I can see in the use of the terrain otherwise might be that there are two back-to-back holes playing through the thick woods bordering the course, and then nothing else. Interspersing a few of those alongside (for example) 11 and 12 could help break the course up nicely just as holes 6 and 7 do early in the round.
Other Thoughts: Overall I gave this course an "Excellent" rating because it really is excellent. I understand that the negatives are strong, and could bump it down a notch - but the overall experience of the course, and the enjoyment I have for playing this style of course, are both high. Fore Palms is a very well designed course, that does what it can to take advantage of the property offered, other than the need to use a little more of those thick woods.

I recommend playing it, and for Jacksonville residents stuck with it as their only 18 hole course - it definitely could be far worse. This is a course that is strong technically, and offers fantastic enjoyability.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fine course

2-4    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: mrpbody33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple teepads with sometimes multiple basket location can provide much needed variety. The course flows pretty well even with the added "temp" holes and is fairly easy to navigate the first time around. All the teeboxes are level with the ground and have carpet before and after the pad for extra those of us who like to run up off the pad. The last few holes are pretty tough and this is a great aspect to the course.
Cons: Not much to complain about besides it can be tough to locate the DGA baskets around the course if they are hidden. Course signs could benefit from marking whether the basket is in either position. Course can be tough to find the first time. Big arms only from the long pads as most of the shots are over 350 feet. This can be a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I played the long pads twice and struggled a couple times to locate the baskets the first time through. With the majority of the holes from the blues being over 350' I found myself just chucking the straight distance driver. No real variety of shots on the long open holes but still fun. Play for par and should shoot well. Would have liked to played the reds but time didn't allow for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fore...

1    5/1/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: I3ooI3oo
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fore Palms is a nice course set inside a fairly big park. 2 Concrete per hole allows for enjoyment for those of differing skill levels. There are short tight tunnel holes, along with long "big D" holes. There is good mixture of risk verse reward since there is a running path that comes into play a lot and adds OB strokes for those that can't keep in on the correct side of the path. There is also a retention pond that comes into play on back to back hole. The first time throwing with the wind the second hole playing into the wind. Since this course is close to the ocean the wind is said to be constantly coming from one direction. There are also 6 extra holes that add to the fun of this course. There is a concession stand at the park along with restrooms.
Cons: My only gripe with this course is the lack of signage coming into the park. As you come in to the park you see baskets on both sides of the entrance road. On your left are 15 & 16 and on your right are the extra holes D, E, & F. Without a sign showing you where hole one is I found myself walking from the furthest point around the course aimlessly for the better part of 30 mins until I found a local that pointed out the direction of the first pad.
Other Thoughts: When you enter the park make sure you continue to the right and go right of the first buildings you see to find the first hole.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course for all....

1    3/7/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is not enough that can be said about the River City Disc Golf Club, the local players, the creator of this course or the support behind the course. This course is loved beyond belief and if you get the privliage to play here, do so, and here is why...

There are two sets of concrete tee pads here, Rec and Pro. There is a vast difference between the two teepads on all holes that challenge all aspects of your game for anyone.

This course plays a little short from the Red pads but very long from the Blue pads.

There are open holes here, tight wooded holes, throwing into and out of gaps, lefty and righty friendley holes here. Two holes with water.

There are a ton of different ways to play this course, play the entire 24 holes, play the orginal 18, play the holes around the parking lot and so forth.
Cons: The one and only thing I can think this course needs is NexT signs out here. I will say that if I did not play with locals, then I would have been lost.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course outside of Jville and is a course that is loved and taken care of. I was there on Saturday and not only can you go play, but the guy who designed the course was there with his DG store on wheels selling discs! WHAT!!!??? Awesome. I e-mailed the club president and he contatced me back. Do yourself a favor and go play Fore Palms, you will not leave dissapointed.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

5+    4/1/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: melkman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -good variety of holes including two water holes
-well maintained
-great park with good facilities
-18 main holes plus extra holes (6 I think)
Cons: -confusing at first, hard to find hole 1


Other Thoughts: I've had a lot of fun playing here. some open holes, some wooded. beginner friendly.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    12/31/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: mattpiner
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: fun driving course. great feel and veiws of nature. a lot of great people out there. really friendly place to go and meet and play with new people
Cons: #16 and #18 should definitely be par 4's. they are the only holes i have never birdied aftermany times out there.
Other Thoughts: could have maps and stuff, if u need a bathroom look to the tree's. just don't pee on my disc

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid fun course

5+    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: adraines
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open, manageable, not too busy, 6 extra holes, extra tees for more advanced players, good mix of open/wooded holes, some challenging tee placements, forces you to mix up your shots from time to time, very well maintained, not easy to lose discs other than the two water holes around the one pond, they change pin placement around once every month
Cons: Possibly too easy (but you can always play extra tees), the map isn't extremely helpful, and the layout is a bit confusing until you've played it once or twice
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very good course, well taken care of in a large park with other activities, so good for a group. Check it out if you're in Jax!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Visit

1    6/20/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of holes, 18 permanent and 6 additional. Great open areas in some and tight greens in others. Very nice park with lots of activity. Well kept.
Cons: The first tee box was a little difficult to find at first. It could be marked a bit better and have a couple of more kiosks.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good place to play. I will return to play there when I am in Jacksonville again.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.