Jacksonville, FL
Fore Palms DGC Share
Uploaded By: AJ_86 Hole #10 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tees



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    5/10/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: Joovie88
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very diverse, great atmosphere. lots of disc golfers around, people selling discs, pro's giving tips. Good Time.
Cons: All the holes are par 3, wish they had some more variation, very hard to drop strokes.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    3/26/2011   4/24/2009
Review By: elykmxpx1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained by local disc golf club, friendly people, you can drink beer if your careful, nice mix of open holes and technical-more narrow and water holes, 24 holes
Cons: Gets crowded sometimes and you have to wait to play, decent amount of foot traffic on path through park so be careful not to hit kids, adults and pets.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course and I love playing it. Hopefully the city of Jax will open up another course in one of its 100's of parks.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B for Boring (slightly)

1    4/9/2004   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great DGC

2-4    4/7/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is huge and very well maintained. There are 24 holes and none of them are repeats. Every hole has two tee pads, two tee locations, two benches and two tee signs. There are open holes with some distance and there are tunnel holes. The course was originally 18 holes but they added 6 holes after hole 6 and hole 15, holes A.B,C,D,E and F.
It used to be a golf course so there are elevation changes that aren't extreme but add some challenge. There is also a lake that comes into play for a couple holes and gives a nice risk/reward factor.
Lastly, there is ample parking and a nice course map to get you started. Course navigation is also not a problem.
Cons: It's hot in FLA so I would recommend sun screen and a hat. This course is also very close to the ocean and a large water way so it can be windy as hell, all of the locals have a plethora of over stable drivers, don't forget yours. The bathroom situation also sucks, they are usually locked.
Other Thoughts: I played here for the first time during the Jacksonville Open, the tournament was set up extremely well and I had a blast. The park is easy to find and fun to play. It was long and some people got a bit tired after 48 holes. I will be making the trip back up to Jacksonville a lot more often to play this course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good layout, fun course, with variety of shots, long/short. nice teepads and signs. Well kept course with a great club RCDGO. Not many wooded holes. Plays through an old ball golf course. Technical open shots require accuracy and placement. Water on a few holes.
Cons: No shade. Gets very hot in summer.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Florida Fun!

1    12/22/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes- Nice long cement for distance drives. Pro/Amateur Tee's for every hole.

"Amenities"- Trash cans, Bag holders and benches on almost every hole.

Baskets- Excellent Mach3 cages with multiple locations. All level and appropriate height.

Signage and Flow- GREAT! Each hole had a map with distance from both tees and flight path. Holes 9 & 18 loop back to the beginning for ease of play.

Shot Variety- Good. There is definitely a chance for a player to use every type of shot in his repertoire as well as all disc types.

Elevation and Foliage- There is some nice elevation changes(especially for FL) and a few wooded holes with some form of trees on almost every hole.

Lettered Holes- I didn't have time to play these, but they looked sweet!

FUN COURSE!
Cons: No scorecards that I saw. (brought my own)
There is a map at the beginning, but none to take with you. I was able to navigate by following the group in front of me, but it's not difficult either way.
Tee Obstructions- I found that there were obstructions within 30' of the tee box on a couple of holes which I didn't like, but didn't make the hole unplayable by any means.
Restrooms- There are some on-site, but they were out of commission when I was there.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty sweet course that is well maintained and beautiful to walk around. I'd highly suggest it to anyone from the pro to the amateur even if just passing through Jacksonville it's worth the stop!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Florida fun

1    12/6/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: Jonny_Dread
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is how all courses should be. Varity of open and wooded holes, long and short. 24 holes. Nice baskets, good sinage. putting green. I like the bag holders at every hole, seems to be a florida thing from what I have seen. A lot of people playing this course... thats a good thing. People brings disc's to sell at course if you hit it at the right time. Good, well balanced course.
Cons: Need some pool nets by the lake you throw over to pull your disc out. (just a thought).
Other Thoughts: Play this course! Not to many like it in this area. Drivers, midrange, and putters... you need them all.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    10/3/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Maintained course with adequate facilities.
Great flow, course loops back to starting/parking area at #9 and 18. Baskets in great shape. Many holes here favor big arms. Practice basket next to #1. Lots of benches and places to hang your bag. Course map at start of course. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Too open, few holes offer the requirement for a variety of shots.
Some "Next Tee" arrow signs would help a lot.
#1 Abutting kiddie play area
Other Thoughts: I had to throw very wide to avoid the group of kids playing touch football at the kiddie play area, or be the mean old disc golfer and chase off a dozen people so I could throw #1 drive.

Restrooms available nearby, but they are what you might expect for public municipal facilities.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in the Jax area

12/26/2006   7/5/2008
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course for pros to check out. Two holes that requires throwing disc across the pond and pray that it did not glide into the water near the holes. Nice small elevations here and there. Mostly open field for making big driving shots. Few wooded holes.
Cons: Crowded with walkers, joggers, kids, kites, R/C airplanes, etc. Watch out for them. No course map on site nor clear directions to the next tees. Need to have local players to show you around.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to contact and play a round with the course designer, Dan Berman. It is worth checking out if you are planning to visit Jax area.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, look for local guide

1    5/25/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Former golf course is an attractive venue. Very low schule factor. Course is fun for a wide range of skill levels.

A bit of course variety, with the few technical, wooded holes being the best of the bunch.
Cons: Many of the tee signs are missing and navigation is a bit confusing at times. The "letter" holes can be accidentally missed without a local guide or map.

The course is mostly wide-open and overly biased towards crushers.

Several of the holes are tight on the pedestrian sidewalk, which can be crowded at times.

The former golf greens and bunkers would serve as more dynamic basket locations, but aren't utilized.

Most of the course is too wide-open and crusher-friendly.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer, leaver the course cleaner than the way you found it.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.