Roscommon, MI 
Kirtland Community College Share
Uploaded By: deBebbler Hole #13 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A winter wonderland

1    12/30/2016   12/30/2016
Review By: nemdisc7
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.7 Years
Pros: It does a great job of using the campus and getting in 18 holes.

The baskets are all in good shape and caught the disc well. Had no bounce outs.

Tee signs while basic, were helpful and the distances seemed accurate.

Trash cans were well placed.

A good course to play in the winter.

I think this is the perfect course for a community college where you're sure to attract a lot of beginners that aren't able to throw long holes- yet it is still long enough that it won't be a waste of time either.

I know it was winter break so no one was around but I felt like I was in my own winter wonder disc golf land. It was beautiful.
Cons: Navigation- There were no maps so it was up to me to find my way from hole to hole. Had to search for a couple holes. A couple more next hole signs with an arrow pointing would help greatly.

No benches or anything else along the way. Perhaps they are put away in the winter.

Not really any risk vs reward. They did what they could with the land they had but it was a little too open aside from a couple holes.

Tee boxes- Yes, there was snow on the ground but I had a hard time of understanding where a couple were even supposed to be.
Other Thoughts: I really loved my winter round here and can't wait to go back on a beautiful, warm and sunny day.

I wonder what options they have for teepads? Of course we'd love cement ones, but maybe the school will not allow that since the course is right through campus.

 Clean campus course

1    4/23/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays across a teeny tiny community college in the middle of absolutely nowhere. about 2/3 of the course plays across the "front yard" and the other six holes are across the road near a shooting range. There is always a danger of hitting stuff here.

Teesigns-- decent. shows a basic layout of the hole. there are some issues though. there are so many baskets in some areas, you don't really know which basket is the one you're throwing at. this is most prominent when you have to cross the main entrance but the basket is to the left before the entrance road.

Routing and nav- with the map, it's a breeze. without, I can see it being a nightmare.

baskets-- in excellent condition, nice and grabby and visible on the woodier holes.
Cons:
challenge and variety-- not really a challenging or varietous course. most holes are straight forward and short. the holes that incorporate the "pond" are even short with no chance of water logging.

having to cross the road-- straight wonky.

Lack of teepads-- any sort of teepads would be helpful. the grass pads aren't thoroughly worn yet but they will be.
Other Thoughts:
This course is in the middle of the sticks, literally. if you didn't know it was there, you would never find it...seriously

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem

2-4    9/20/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: Grip_N'_Rip
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a nice surprise. This is a course that offers some well-laid out short holes and medium-length holes in and around the college campus creatively.
It presents some different challenges especially with the longer holes across the road which are laid out in a wide open field and really lets you cut loose.
Cons: The hole layout for the back nine get wonky with a couple tee boxes a bit out of the way, leaving you searching for them. The holes in the open field are cool, but it's almost so wide-open, the tee placement isn't as obvious as you'd think, and layout for a few of the holes is weird.
Other Thoughts: Hot co-eds make for good scenery, but the difficulty level goes up when they sun themselves by laying near the pins. When I was there, holes 15 and 17 had babe terrain to throw around.

The course is a little hard to find, with most of the campus surrounded by trees. The key is to get to the main school entrance and turn left. The first few holes you start at, are next to the parking lot.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely done

2-4    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Gonnagal
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nicely layout out hole description stating par, distance and location of the pin.

-Easily navigated the course without knowing the layout.

-Variety in shot selection.

-Open fairways
Cons: -No signs directing you to some holes, there are 2 signs telling you where the general area to the next tee is.

-Bugs can be a problem, it was cured by using off.

-Permanent tee pads would be a plus.

Other Thoughts: Overall the course is a very nice open course. Since it is placed on the College the baskets are placed in very nice places. You could go there and never be tested in shot selection. Being a RHBH, I tired sidearm due to the Forrest and other obstacles in the way. In terms of challenging it's medium of the road. The best holes are across the road into an open field, where home plate is a basket. I also enjoyed throwing around the outfield fence of the baseball field. If your in the are and would like a course to try, give it a go. It's probably 30-40 minute drive from West Branch.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.