Roscommon, MI 
Kirtland Community College Share
Uploaded By: deBebbler Hole #12 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Clean campus course

1    4/23/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays across a teeny tiny community college in the middle of absolutely nowhere. about 2/3 of the course plays across the "front yard" and the other six holes are across the road near a shooting range. There is always a danger of hitting stuff here.

Teesigns-- decent. shows a basic layout of the hole. there are some issues though. there are so many baskets in some areas, you don't really know which basket is the one you're throwing at. this is most prominent when you have to cross the main entrance but the basket is to the left before the entrance road.

Routing and nav- with the map, it's a breeze. without, I can see it being a nightmare.

baskets-- in excellent condition, nice and grabby and visible on the woodier holes.
Cons:
challenge and variety-- not really a challenging or varietous course. most holes are straight forward and short. the holes that incorporate the "pond" are even short with no chance of water logging.

having to cross the road-- straight wonky.

Lack of teepads-- any sort of teepads would be helpful. the grass pads aren't thoroughly worn yet but they will be.
Other Thoughts:
This course is in the middle of the sticks, literally. if you didn't know it was there, you would never find it...seriously

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A Slice of Serenity

5+    9/2/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Dylan Peiffer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -User Friendly
-Ace able holes
-PDGA approved baskets
-Course layout (2 holes will change in 2012)
-Good variety of terrain and obstacles
-Great atmosphere and wildlife
-24 hr security
-Bathrooms
-Signs are nice and accurate
-Scenery
Cons: -Due to budget, holes 7-12 were not being mowed (In 2012 the field will continue not to be mowed, however 7-12s fairways in the field will be mowed)
-A couple of holes have more than average distance between them. (This will change in 2012 when we move a couple of holes)
-Holes 7-12 are very open
-Can't fetch disc from the pond
-Kirtland is in the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: I may be bias because I designed and built this course, however I think it is an above average course. I was working with a collage president and staff that had never heard of disc golf before. It was very challenging to come to a consensus. I had to change the layout 5 times before it was finalized (and holes 13 and 14 will be changed again in 2012). When it is all said and done Kirtland isnt to challanging but it can give you a run for your money!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A hidden gem

2-4    9/20/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: Grip_N'_Rip
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a nice surprise. This is a course that offers some well-laid out short holes and medium-length holes in and around the college campus creatively.
It presents some different challenges especially with the longer holes across the road which are laid out in a wide open field and really lets you cut loose.
Cons: The hole layout for the back nine get wonky with a couple tee boxes a bit out of the way, leaving you searching for them. The holes in the open field are cool, but it's almost so wide-open, the tee placement isn't as obvious as you'd think, and layout for a few of the holes is weird.
Other Thoughts: Hot co-eds make for good scenery, but the difficulty level goes up when they sun themselves by laying near the pins. When I was there, holes 15 and 17 had babe terrain to throw around.

The course is a little hard to find, with most of the campus surrounded by trees. The key is to get to the main school entrance and turn left. The first few holes you start at, are next to the parking lot.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 They did the best with what they had.

1    7/1/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent tee signage. Trash bins available on many holes, and plenty of benches are around.

The fountain in the pond was a surprise, and turned a murky pond into a pleasing sight, even if it wasn't a very effective hazzard.

Baskets wisely placed to increase challenge on most holes.

Marginal elevation changes used effectively.

Nice flow to the course. Holes placed in pairs and triplets to accomodate existing campus layout, and avoid most highly traveled areas of campus. This gave me the feeling of "hiding in plain sight" as I never interfered with other campus activities.

Holes 7-12 are across the main road, allowing players to easily create a 12 hole alternative layout for limited time available.
Cons: Holes 7-12 flow counter-clockwise around a rectangular field. These holes, in addition to being some of the most bland holes I've ever played, completely fail to challenge a LHBH thrower, or anyone who can effectively throw moderately straight. I played them almost exclusively with my putter. They are best skipped in a round altogether.

Holes are VERY short, with only 6 holes cresting the 300' mark, but three of those just barely hit the mark, and three off them are on the awful Lefty Loop. There are only a handful of tunnels, and the rest of the fairways are, for the most part, unobstructed. The only thing over 400' was the next tee to 14.

Posted course par is rather humorous, with some 300' holes getting par 4, and one even gets par 5.

Natural grass and gravel tees. They lacked a uniform feel.

Terrible next tee signage. Aside from the Lefty Loop sign and the vague signage to hole 14 (players can easily be directed toward hole 16), there is no next tee signage at all. Hole 2 requires you to backtrack hole 1 fairway.

It is on the inner edge of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: From the standpoint of a course that is located directly on a college campus, this is a very well designed course. Compared to Northwestern Michigan College, for example, which is cramped and frankly, dangerous, KCC is nicely spaced and enjoyable.

I would very much call this a beginner's course, and an aesthetically pleasing one at that. With that in mind, it fits in well with the job of a community college, which is to expose students to new experiences before they move on to greater challenges.

Without cement tees, any significant elevation, nor somewhat challenging distances, I am unable to give out more than a 2 disc rating. Even with cement tees, because of the highly unmemorable holes 7-12, I would be hard pressed to give more than a 2.5.

If I return, it will be the warm-up round to other courses to be played in the day (like Hanson Hills). I will play 1-6 & 13-18 only, and play them twice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was really easy to navigate, even without ever playing it before. The signs at each pad were some of the best signs I have ever seen, each having distance, par, and general hole layout. Most holes were wide open. There were some unique hole layouts, one of my favorites was hole #8 which had a narrow fairway to go through between a garage and a fenced in basketball court.
Cons: There wasn't a lot that I really didn't like. There are a few holes that have the risk of losing a disc in the thick foilage that grows near the fairway. Hole 7 has some thick foilage to the right, as does hole 11, a spotter is recommended on those holes. There are two holes that have water hazards hole 5, and hole 13, but is wasn't to hard to keep it away from the water.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun course and I recommend playing it. With the location of the course I think they did a great job with hole layout and hole placement, they even got a couple holes that have a little change in elevation.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely done

2-4    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Gonnagal
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nicely layout out hole description stating par, distance and location of the pin.

-Easily navigated the course without knowing the layout.

-Variety in shot selection.

-Open fairways
Cons: -No signs directing you to some holes, there are 2 signs telling you where the general area to the next tee is.

-Bugs can be a problem, it was cured by using off.

-Permanent tee pads would be a plus.

Other Thoughts: Overall the course is a very nice open course. Since it is placed on the College the baskets are placed in very nice places. You could go there and never be tested in shot selection. Being a RHBH, I tired sidearm due to the Forrest and other obstacles in the way. In terms of challenging it's medium of the road. The best holes are across the road into an open field, where home plate is a basket. I also enjoyed throwing around the outfield fence of the baseball field. If your in the are and would like a course to try, give it a go. It's probably 30-40 minute drive from West Branch.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.