Clear Lake, IA
Opportunity Village Share
Uploaded By: Porkchop Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 163ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs a change up

1    6/14/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13 Years
Pros: - Very well kept, lawns mowed etc.
- Nice baskets
- Map at first hole helps
Cons: - dirt tees marked only by rectangular stones dug into ground so they are a bit hard to see over the grass.

- First two holes are painfully short, shortest i have seen thus far.

- most holes just do not utilize the land well. It seems they could have easily made these holes longer without interference.

- perhaps 3 out of 9 offer any obstacle at all.
Other Thoughts: This course has good intentions just poor execution. They should have probably combined holes 1 and 2 and made it an eight pin course. This would have been more enjoyable.

Hole number two has two low hanging trees right in front of the tree, so you either take a knee and throw under or utilize the thumber technique and arc over. This is a very cool idea but the pin is no more then 50 feet from the tee so anyone can easily squash that obstacle.

Hole number three is the longest i believe, and probably the best hole on the course because of distance alone. The fairway does have a tight tree line to the left which adds a bit to the hole. but for anyone throwing for more than a year it offers no obstacle at all really.

Hole number 7 is easily one of the best as it offers the most challenge, both trees and a bit of elevation are in the works, although it is another shorty.

Overall I gave this course a .5. Really it is for the beginners and is just kind of lame for anyone else. I do appreciate the time that went into building and maintaining I just wish they would have laid it out a bit better. I think they would attract a lot more people this way.


mid range course

1    7/21/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 159  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sign at beginning of course marking the layout.
Baskets seemed nice and well kept.
Cons: Waaaay short. When I was standing on the 1st tee pad I thought I was in the wrong place because it was basically a long putt up hill. I wouldnt count it as an ace if i made it, it wouldnt feel right. Holes 6-9 I had to start to wander to find the tee pad (which are dirt patches amoung grass with 2 1 square ft concrete squares). No signs to help find the holes.
Other Thoughts: If they used the area around hole 1 to expand and lengthen the course it could be pretty cool.
Take a good look at the sign at the beginning, I might not have wandered as much if I took a better look.
When looking for tee pads, look for dirt patches amoung a sea of grass.
If you want to add this course to your list or are very bored go here, othewise go to a different course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Special

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: trevzilla
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.9 Years
Pros:
-I thought the course was really easy to follow. Take a look at the sign at the beginning, get a feel for the flow of the course, and it was no problem
-Nice Baskets
-Nice area to walk around. Nothing too special, but nice.
Cons:
-Very short shots. #2 is about 50 feet total. (Although there is a tree IN THE WAY which makes it O.K.)
-All in all a very easy course. Too short. Pretty much every shot could be done in two throws. I think it took two of us about 15 minutes to play the course.
Other Thoughts:
This course is O.K. It's easy to follow, and as long as you know what you are looking for for the tees, it's no problem. The tees are these tiny little cement blocks in the ground. They just mark a line, but you don't stand on them to tee off. If you are in the area, there certainly wouldn't be a problem with stopping and giving this course a shot, but it's nothing worth taking a trip for.
Oh, and I can imagine that they may be pretty strict about a no alcohol/drug rule.

 Keep Driving

1    6/15/2010   4/15/2011
Review By: homerjeebus
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ...........not too far from the mason city course....
Cons: you can find the baskets, but the pads are a mystery. the description says the first pad is by the parking lot, it is but was still not very easy to find. employees there at opportunity villiage didn't even act like they knew there was a course there......
Other Thoughts: i played a few holes, didn't know where i was going, made it up as i went, i would keep driving to mason city, not much better but not this bad

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Opportunity for aces

1    6/25/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A few good ace runs
-Baskets in decent shape
-In area that will be seen by many including children
Cons: -Tee pads are 2 square foot pavers in the ground and are not marked
-Baskets aren't marked so you are assuming sometimes
-No line to some baskets
-Some holes very short
-Holes have a few trees for challenge but nothing to challenging
-Poor layout, hard to follow
-Hard to find first tee and hard to know where to go for most of round on first time, After that it's still guesswork unless you know the course well
-5-9 are in areas around people that are ignorant that a course even exists there
-I don't know what opportunity village is but the atmosphere wasn't the most welcoming
Other Thoughts: It has nine pavers for tees and nine baskets so you can play a round. It won't be the most fun or challenging round you have ever played though. If you are trying to boost your review numbers play this course otherwise don't.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/5/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: hilleb12
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Neatly mowed grass, a few variety holes with visable and blind shots, variety in hole lengths, and good quality baskets.
Cons: Holes are not clearly marked, and the pads are no more than a few cinder blocks planted in the ground.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.