Iron River, MI 
The Tailings Share
Uploaded By: matrathvy Hole #15 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A rough mix

5+    4/12/2012   2/11/2013
Review By: leadpaint
Played: 61  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very interesting mix of elevations and direction.
Tees Fairways ans Baskets may all have a different elevation and a different direction on the same hole. deffinetly a change of pace from your traditional throw straight, throw left, or throw right course designs. let say some are go left down then up right finish flat center. It makes for a very diverse set of 18 holes that you never feel that you are replaying a hole and in fact you feel and your needed throws will show you that each hole is unique and a challenge.

elevation+

distances are good do to the great mix of difficulty

Some very Unique holes. one being a basket under a huge concrete arch and another being an extremely elevated and extremely blind rhbh 600+ hyzer that needs to flatten out for the end of it's flight.
Cons: rough. due to there being no disc golf community in the area. the course is wild and rugged. expect extra time if you play alone or if you dare throw extra discs per hole. really the only thing i feel is lacking here is nature maintenance and maybe some benches to take a break fro the rugged terrain. there also needs to be a set of stairs built for the elevated climb two holes after the arch. or maybe a rope with knots to assist in the climb. cut dirt stairs don't suffice .
Other Thoughts: An uncut diamond sitting in the middle of nowhere waiting for your boots to polish it a bit. it could be a top contender if they had a dedicated club in the town. It is worth going out of your way to play but be advised it is not a walk in the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wag your Tailings

1    10/27/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There are some incredible disc golf shots . . . shots I have never had the opportunity to throw before! Some of the shots are what make you want to come back over and over or empty your entire bag trying to execute the right shot.
2) Massive rubber tees . . . they look like they were made from conveyor belts of some sort.
3) DGA signs are acceptable for the information they can provide. Unfortunately some of the signs are missing already.
4) 2 sets of tees help to make the course a little bit more beginner friendly because some of these tee locations and throws needed are simply to tough for beginners.
5) Unique basket location using a concrete arch. The basket is set right in the opening of the arch and is protected by the concrete except for a 20-30' wide area on either end of the arch. If you throw straight at the basket and end up behind the concrete post of the arch, you will likely not be able to make the putt. You want to miss to the right or the left to have a clear shot. This is something I have never seen before and I always welcome unique things like this into the game.
6) There is another extremely unique feature of this course and that is the rock bluffs off to the side of #5 and 6. It looks as if that was an old mine because below the cliffs is a massive deep depression, so I am guessing this is where whatever was mined on the property originally came from. I took multiple pictures of this cool feature.
7) If you want a challenge . . . this is your course. I love championship level courses even if I am not a championship level player.
8) The views and scenery on this course are awesome. Although there were a few things that detracted from the overall aesthetics, overall this was a pretty course and property.
9) Awesome elevation change on quite a few holes. It mostly plays down the hills but there are a couple tough uphill holes too.
10) Nice variety of foliage density working through some tight woods, a few more open turfed holes, and some holes with just a handful of trees acting as obstacles to your throws.
11) Shot shaping has plenty of variety here. You definitely want to consider all obstacles and play placement disc golf to avoid bad skips and ending up in some of the briars and brush.
Cons: 1) The rough on this course is extremely punishing, visually unappealing, and simply dangerous in spots in terms of having to walk around or over it. In a lot of places the brush that was cut down or removed is simply piled just off to the side of the fairway making for a messy looking fairway and a difficult obstacle to climb up and over.
2) There are some really dangerous areas on this course. The walk path definitely comes into play on 5 or 6 holes to some level and it is completely blind on a couple holes. That is a recipe for disaster unless it is hardly ever used . . . however I was there late in the fall and saw at least 8 walkers or bike riders on the paths and not a single other disc golfer. If people get used to going through there without interference of disc golfers they would be more likely to get hurt because they will not expect a disc at all.
3) Hole distance variation is not that great. These are mostly longer holes in the 300' range with only a couple holes in the 200's and 3 or 4 in the 400's plus the one 600'. I would prefer to see some shorter acerun/deuce or die holes mixed in instead of some of those extra 300' holes. While there is an argument about appropriate distances by skill level, I also think an argument can be made that a large variety of hole distance can improve the design, playability, and fun factor of a course.
4) There are a few dangerous fall-a-ways around some teepads that could cause an injury. Hopefully when they have more time they can level off a larger area for the run-up and/or the follow through.
5) Compaction and erosion are every present on this course. I can only imagine what this course is built on, and I can imagine that growing turf in this ground would be very difficult. I hate to see these issues on incredible courses because it really does take an incredible course and knock it down at least 1-2 notches.
Other Thoughts: Definitely if this course had a bunch of volunteer labor and people took care of the issues that are holding it back this course would be one of the most epic courses I have played. It has the scenery, it has the challenge, it has the shot shaping needed, it has epic and uniquely memorable shots . . . it has some of everything and would definitely rise above many good to great courses out there. I am not sure it would end up as a 5 disc course, but it wouldn't be far behind. It all comes down to how much time the course workers have to invest in cleaning it up!

I am giving this course a 4.0 with the understanding that it is about 3.75 in its current conditions. I cannot give it higher than a 4 because some of the negatives are bad enough to hold it back, but with that said if I was giving the disc golf only a rating it would probably be a 4.5. There just are enough important things that I think are really lacking or holding this course back from being incredible. I think over time the course will continue to get better

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 2/14/2013 Designer Response by: superberry
Addressing the issue of distances. I cannot find my original course design notes and have not used a laser range finder recently to determine the actual distances, but I KNOW that what is listed here and on the signs is wrong, and in some cases elevation addition/deduction was made and some cases it was not made. All in all though, there are more sub-300' holes than would appear...
Hole 1 is about 290'
Hole 3 is 250' but 25-30' uphill
Hole 5 is less than 275' I believe
Hole 8 is only 250' or so.
Hole 9 is actually only 285' at best (sign says like 315' I think!)
Hole 12 is 270' but uphill.
Hole 17 is 200' but requires throwing across a 30' wide section of the river at 75-90% down the fairway.

You are absolutely correct - a stronger contingent of dedicated local volunteers would bring this course up a few notches! Those asthetics and landscaping items would work into the mix, brush would get cleared up, and you'd see a beautiful course emerge simply by being used more.

The walking path (paved) was a conscious decision to use and a joint agreement with the chamber of commerce. Overall use is relatively low, and use of disc golf was anticipated to be somewhat low so the probability of conflict was estimated to be low. Signs were supposed to be installed to alert disc golfers to yield at all times on all tees. The walking path holes were also designed with the intent to be played as OB on all holes. I think it has not been signed or played this way.

More work, more play, and more feedback will help the Tailings grow! Come play some extreme disc golf - if that's your thing!

Magical Pad fairy! Please place cement pads on this course.

1    10/26/2012   10/27/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is scenic, fun, a challenge, has unique holes that will test your long and short game and you will want to play the course again.

The map was good and any sign I looked at was good. Lots of elevation on this course!
Cons: Rubber tee pads that are sometimes too short or more like if you overstep you will have a very bad time... for the rest of your life... There is lots of water, the river and quarry come into play on many holes, gl finding your disc. Some of the rough requires climbing up and down steep slopes to get your disc, if you are prone to throwing in the rough then its going to be a painful round.
Other Thoughts: Playing doubles made the round more fun since it was my first time and I had a good deal of rough shots. A lot of the holes offer blind shots which I think are a lot of fun but also throw off disc selection and aim. Playing a course for the first time is usually more fun playing doubles or cali.

Make sure you get the course map. There is something similar to an RV park that has a Office and they had scorecards there with maps on them (yay maps!)

GOOD GOD THROW A BIG HEIZER ON 13!@!!

I know its tempting to try and park it, but that will get you in or past the river :(.

I guess highbridge or some other good courses in Wisconsin are nearby. Other than that, as I am from Michigan there is no other discgolf near this course, not until you get to the Mackinaw bridge 4 hours away. Its a good 9 hours from Lansing.

This course is probably unplayable / under snow / your going to lose every disc you throw during a good portion of the winter months.

I'm not sure if I should con the rubber pads. It would be extremely hard for them to get all cement pads on this course. Although, the few short pads I chanced to step on were a joke. The Long pads were much better.

I lost a yellow pro-d Zone somewhere between hole 7 and 13, left it in the fairway. If you find it email dhultin1@yahoo.com or call 5175154236 ill pay for shipping.

I also lost a pink opto flow on hole 13. It either went in the bend on the river or just past the river. That disc has my name and # but I doubt someone is going ot find it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A tough and enjoyable experience

2-4    6/2/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: stealthfalcon84
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Very creative hole designs
+ Hole 11 has you throwing from the top of a huge hill with a dog leg to the left. It's a blast to watch your disc sail forever (provided you get a good throw!)
+ Extremely varied terrain. Lots of rugged hills, trees and dried creek beds. The Iron River runs along the course, creating a water hazard for a few of the holes
+ Good use of obstacles (one basket is between the arch of an old railroad support, nice!)
+ Not a lot of traffic means you don't have to wait to tee off very often
+ There are usually maps of the course at the beginning
+ For the most part it is well signed, with arrows pointing to the next tee and most holes have a sign showing the layout.
+ Two sets of tees
+ Most of the tee boxes are in good shape (rubber mats)
Cons: -The terrain isn't always maintained very well. The fairways aren't cut.
- A walking path runs through the course, meaning you sometimes have to watch out for people walking. This doesn't happen often and every person we encountered on the path was very friendly.
- I believe it's hole 15 that you have to walk a long ways back up the course from 14 to get to the tee. It's the only hole that the tee isn't fairly close to the previous hole, otherwise course flows very well.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course a lot. It can be very challenging and punishing for the beginner player. This is probably not the course you want to bring someone who has never played the game before to. Make sure to wear proper footwear for going up and down steep and rocky hills. There often tends to be long grass and unless you're a really good shot, you'll probably be playing from some of the incredibly wild roughs. Bring extra discs along. We've lost a disc each time my group has played. We're definitely beginners, so intermediate/advanced players might not have this issue. I really hope a lot of people play the course and make suggestions/comments to the city of Iron River so they will stay committed to it. It's a wonderful course and I'd hate to see it go to waste.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a great experience

1    8/3/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is like no course I've played before. The variety is amazing. Long, flat and straight. Big uphill with a nearly 180 degree turn. HUGE downhill with a left dogleg. Left and right finishing holes. Elevated tees and baskets. Throwing across a river. Blind shots and a hidden basket that you can't see until you get 10 feet from it.Only 2 holes are under 300', the shortest being 208'. The longest hole according to the tee signs is 462', but hole 11 (no sign) seemed like at least 500'. Most of these are also bordered by rough that I can only describe as brutal. The terrain is rugged and beautiful.
Cons: There are no tee pads down yet, only dirt. A couple of the tee areas look like they will be kind of short for anyone who needs a lot of room. A couple tee signs were missing. A little better direction from basket to next tee might be in order. This course is a workout, a couple benches along the way would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Here are some things that I recommend you bring: extra discs (unless you plan on not making any bad throws), long pants (unless you don't plan on looking for any bad throws), sturdy shoes, preferably with good ankle support, an emergency disc repair kit (a cig lighter), and more extra discs. This course is a great experience. I'm looking forward to playing it with tee pads, should be soon! I hate to look like a copycat on my rating, but Superberry's rating of 4 is on the money at this point, in my opinion. Given the variety and level of difficulty and scenery, it has to be more than a 3.5. But without tee pads (yet), and incomplete signage, I can't give it a 4.5. When those things are complete, I'd definitely give it a 4.5. I've never played a 5 disc course, so I can't make that comparison, but I wouldn't say it's out of the question.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best in the UP - BY FAR! Local dedication and more land use could make it a 5!

2-4    7/26/2014   6/9/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2014
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Balance and Variety galore. Here you'll play along the river, throw across the river, play uphill, downhill, across hill, anhyzer, hyzer, straight, wooded, open, etc!
Blue tee design offers some amazing challenges and require a variety of shots in your bag and shot placement to avoid tricky areas.
Memorable holes such as #17 across the river, par 4 #11 downhill along the old gravel road, #13 which is just about as much elevation drop as it is distance, the elevated washout gully hole #4, and the awesome tree on #5 that really shapes your shot off the tee.
Water hazard in play with the river on #1, #2 & #16 a little, and #17 throwing over it from a narrow window off the tee. This creates a nice OB hazard, and the walking path (or across it) could introduce even more OB and require careful shot placement.
Risky greens placed near hazards, trees, and sharp elevation changes will make you contemplate your upshot and rifling your putt at the pin. I like this.
The course is strenuous and offers a workout playing uphill, dowhill, uphill, downhill.
The trees left on the wooded holes are great design elements. They offer a slightly more obvious specific route to the pin, but leave open options for other routes.
Nice flat rubber mats for tees (except tee #7 where the sign and tree are too close)
Cons: There is too much crowding in a few areas where tees and baskets are close to one another (holes 8/9 and 10-12). It shouldn't be a problem unless the course is very crowded though.
The rough is rough and thick, very full of a lot of the brush and junk that was dozed off of the fairways because construction of this course took place on a very overgrown piece of property. This is not a huge con because I believe that an errant shot should be punished and that might mean taking a stroke just to kick out to the fairway.
Just one set of permanent tees. This course is so tough, and in such a non-disc golfing community that shorter tees are a must for noobs and families.
More than 18 holes would be nice, and the property is there.
Alternate pin placements would showcase more of the neat features.
A Gold tee on a few holes would be a GREAT touch for big arms and add some par 4 or 5 holes!
The safety associated with the old mining topography keeps us from being able to utilize the land to its fullest and create some AMAZING holes!!! When you get near the ponds on hole 6, 7, etc, just imagine throwing across or up and down that elevation!!!

Other Thoughts: I first played the course without rubber tee pads installed (or even tees being levelled), and without signs. But I played the inaugural round with designer Bruce and it was great! I was looking forward to it all day, to see what had become of the course we walked down in March and just then began to clear the tons of brush and trees. It did not disappoint! I have played every other UP course (with the exception of the new one in the Sault) and this one is BY FAR the best design of them all and the best overall looking course. The UP can finally say they have a course that LOOKS like a course!
I can't wait for the signs and tees to be installed so we can make another road trip here!
I hope the paved walking path is marked and utilized as OB like we discussed. This will add another element of accuracy and shot placement required for holes 1, 18, 13, and 16!
I will be here to play numerous times. Bruce is really the designer and made all this happen, he only had me up there for a day to get some input on proposed tee and basket locations, and a couple hole designs (thank me for #4 and #13 and the elevated long tee on #7).
Some of the pictures posted right now (June 2010) are slightly off and mislabeled.
With fully installed/levelled red tees to offer all the newbies a chance to avoid the harsh punishment Tailings can offer, a bit more fine tuning of all the construction debris that has gone on, and better defined OB with the walking path on all impacted holes, this course could be a 4.5 (very close already!). A handful of VERY tight tunnel holes under a wooded canopy, a few longer tees/open holes (gold tees) to really let you rip on it, and a spattering of alternate pin placements - this course would be a 5. If more holes were added here, these types would be part of the mix and this course would be a 5 without question (more than 18 holes here would make it a destination course for the remote area)!
I love the course and hate the punk vandal kids who hang around the property wrecking things!
UPDATE: I've played numerous times now and love the challenge and thinking man's game that the Tailings lays out for you. I know that short tees may be coming and we saw some potential for them during the Rum Rebellion tournament. Once they're in, I'm bumping to a 4.5! If alternate sleeves were added in a few places to change up the already great variety and a few problem areas were smoothed out, I'd consider a 5!
10/11/2011: With the shorter RED tees we played during the Rum Rebellion annual tournament, I have a sense that these are a sign of what's to come. OB with respect to the paved walking path was also clarified at the event. I'm bumping my rating to 4.5. This is a phenominal (beatdown) course with lots of amazing terrain being fully utilized.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.